Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Security Cameras

Arlo vs Ring Solar Camera: Which One Should You Buy?

Arlo and Ring solar cameras compared by resolution, field of view, night vision, solar charging, storage and warranty, with a verdict on which side to pick.

Arlo vs Ring Solar Camera: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on arlo vs ring solar camera: pick the Arlo side for higher stated resolution, and pick the Ring side for longer stated video storage. This comparison covers two Arlo and two Ring listings on resolution, field of view, night vision, lights and siren, solar charging, storage and warranty.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Arlo vs Ring: side by side

Arlo vs Ring Arlo Ultra 4K 3-Cam Bundle Arlo Essential 2K 2-Cam Ring Spotlight Cam Plus Ring Solar Panel 4W Amazon
Side Arlo Arlo Ring Ring
Resolution 4K HDR 2K 1080p HD Not applicable
Field of view 180° 130° Not stated Not applicable
Night vision Low-light scenes Color night vision Color night vision Not applicable
Spotlight / siren Not stated Spotlight, remote siren 2 LED spotlights, siren Not applicable
Solar charging 3 solar panels included Not stated With separate panel 4W, USB-C
Storage 60 days, paid plan 60 days, paid plan Up to 180 days, subscription Not applicable
Power Battery, lithium ion Battery powered Quick release battery pack Solar, 4W
Warranty Not stated 1-year limited Not stated Not stated
IP code Not stated IP65 Not stated Not stated
Detection Person, vehicle, package, audio Person, vehicle, package, animals, fire People, package Not applicable

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.

Resolution and field of view

Resolution is the clearest stated gap. The Arlo Ultra example records 4K HDR video and the Arlo Essential example records 2K video, while the Ring camera example records 1080p HD video. Field of view is stated on the Arlo side only: the Ultra example lists 180 degrees and the Essential example lists 130 degrees, while the Ring camera example says wide-angle without a figure. The Ring field of view stays unclear, since its listing gives no figure.

Lights, siren and night vision

Both sides state lights and a siren. The Essential example has an integrated spotlight with remote siren activation, and the Ring camera example has 2 motion-activated LED spotlights with a built-in security siren. The Ultra example states no spotlight or siren. Color night vision is stated on the Essential example and the Ring camera example, while the Ultra example describes low-light scenes without naming color night vision.

Solar charging

Solar charging splits the two sides differently. The Arlo Ultra example bundles 3 solar panels with 3 cameras and a SmartHub, while the Arlo Essential example states no solar panel. On the Ring side, solar charging comes as a separate 4W panel with a USB-C connector, and the panel listing names the Spotlight Cam Plus among the cameras it works with. The Ring panel listing recommends at least 2 to 3 hours of direct sunlight per day for best performance.

Storage, detection and plans

Both sides keep video behind paid plans. The Arlo examples state 60 days of video history with an Arlo plan: 6 months included on the Ultra example and a 1-month trial on the Essential example. The Ring camera example stores video for up to 180 days with a Ring Home subscription. Detection is stated on both sides: the Arlo examples name person, vehicle and package detection, and the Ring camera example names people and package alerts. The Essential example adds animal and fire detection, while the Ultra example adds audio detection and activity zones.

What the listings leave unclear

Several figures are missing on one side or the other. The Ring camera example gives no field of view figure, no warranty term and no range figure. The Ultra example states a 300 feet maximum range that no other listing matches, so range cannot be compared across the group. The Essential example lists a bullet form factor in one field and a dome shape in another, and its camera model number differs from its kit part number. The Ring panel listing has an empty spec table, so every panel figure comes from its title and bullets.

Four examples

Arlo Ultra 4K 3-Cam Bundle

Arlo Ultra 4K 3-Cam Bundle

Arlo9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-camera 4K HDR bundle with 3 solar panels, a SmartHub, a 180 degree field of view and a 6-month plan included.

Pros

  • 4K HDR video with a 180 degree field of view
  • 3 solar panels and a SmartHub included
  • Emergency response connects to the local emergency team
  • 6-month plan included with 60-day video history

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No IP code is stated
  • Paid plan required after 6 months
  • Maximum range of 300 feet is stated without further detail
Detailed Review

The listing states 3 cameras with 4K HDR video, a 180 degree field of view, a SmartHub, 3 solar panels and a 6-month plan. Detection covers person, vehicle, package and audio, with activity zones and emergency response. The title, bullets and spec table agree on 4K, 180 degrees, 3 cameras and 3 solar panels.

Who it's for: someone who wants 4K cameras with solar panels and a hub in one bundle. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term or a single camera.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 22/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Resolution4K HDR
Field of view180°
Cameras3
Solar panels3

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Emergency response connects to the local emergency team, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Arlo Essential 2K 2-Cam

Arlo Essential 2K 2-Cam

Arlo9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-camera 2K set with color night vision, an integrated spotlight, 2-way audio and a 130 degree field of view.

Pros

  • 2K video with color night vision
  • 130 degree field of view with an integrated spotlight
  • Person, vehicle, package, animal and fire detection
  • 1-year limited warranty stated

Cons

  • Paid plan required for 60-day storage and detection
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
  • Solar panel not included
  • White color only, with no other color stated
Detailed Review

The listing states 2 cameras with 2K video, a 130 degree field of view, color night vision, an integrated spotlight and 2-way audio. Detection covers person, vehicle, package, animals and fire with an Arlo plan, and storage runs up to 60 days. The spec table lists a bullet form factor in one field and a dome shape in another, and the camera model number differs from the kit part number; the title and bullets win on the 2-camera 2K set.

Who it's for: someone who wants a 2-camera Arlo set with a stated warranty term. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a solar panel in the box or 5GHz Wi-Fi.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Resolution2K
Field of view130°
Cameras2
Warranty1-year limited

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Remote siren activation stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year limited. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ring Spotlight Cam Plus

Ring Spotlight Cam Plus

Ring9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A battery spotlight camera with 1080p HD video, color night vision, 2 LED spotlights, a security siren and two-way talk.

Pros

  • 1080p HD video with color night vision
  • 2 motion-activated LED spotlights
  • Built-in security siren
  • Customizable motion zones

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No field of view figure is stated
  • Storage up to 180 days needs a Ring Home subscription
  • No solar panel included
Detailed Review

The listing states a battery spotlight camera with 1080p HD video, color night vision, 2 LED spotlights, a security siren and two-way talk. Motion zones are customizable, and storage runs up to 180 days with a Ring Home subscription. The title, bullets and spec table agree on 1080p, the spotlights and the siren.

Who it's for: someone who wants a Ring spotlight camera with a siren and long stated storage. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated field of view figure, a warranty term or a solar panel in the box.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Resolution1080p HD
Lights2 LED spotlights
SirenBuilt-in
PowerQuick release battery pack

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Built-in security siren stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ring Solar Panel 4W

Ring Solar Panel 4W

Ring9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4W solar panel with a USB-C connector, an adjustable arm and a 6.5 ft cable for compatible Ring cameras.

Pros

  • 4W panel with USB-C connector
  • Works with Outdoor Cam Plus, Stick Up Cam, Stick Up Cam Pro, Spotlight Cam Plus and Spotlight Cam Pro
  • Adjustable arm with 360-degree rotation and 180-degree tilt
  • USB-C to barrel plug adapter included for older cameras

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table is empty, so all figures come from the title and bullets
  • Best performance needs at least 2 to 3 hours of direct sunlight per day
  • 60% faster charging claim names no previous-generation figure to check
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4W solar panel with a USB-C connector, an adjustable arm, a 6.5 ft cable and a USB-C to barrel plug adapter. The panel works with Outdoor Cam Plus, Outdoor Cam (Stick Up Cam), Stick Up Cam Pro, Spotlight Cam Plus and Spotlight Cam Pro. The spec table is empty, so every figure here comes from the title and bullets; the 60% faster charging claim names no previous-generation figure to check.

Who it's for: someone who owns a compatible Ring camera and wants solar charging. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a camera in the box or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power4W
ConnectorUSB-C
Cable6.5 ft
Rotation360-degree

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No IP weather rating or FCC statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For cameras, safety means a siren, an emergency response feature or another protection the listing names: the Ultra example states emergency response, and the Essential and Ring camera examples state a siren. Only the Essential example states a warranty term, at 1 year limited. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Arlo Ultra 4K 3-Cam Bundle 9.7 33 22 22 9 0
Arlo Essential 2K 2-Cam 9.6 29 20 21 7 3
Ring Spotlight Cam Plus 9.5 28 20 20 7 0
Ring Solar Panel 4W 9.4 26 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Arlo vs Ring solar camera: which should you choose?

Choose the Arlo side if stated resolution matters most, and if you want solar panels in the bundle: the Ultra example pairs 4K HDR video with 3 solar panels and a SmartHub. Choose the Ring side if longer stated storage matters most, and if you want a separate 4W panel that works with several Ring cameras. Choose the Essential example if you want a 2-camera Arlo set with a stated warranty term.

If you need Look at
Highest stated resolution Arlo Ultra example, 4K HDR
Longest stated storage Ring camera example, up to 180 days
Solar panels in the box Arlo Ultra example, 3 solar panels
Stated warranty term Arlo Essential example, 1-year limited

Sizing Notes

  • Match the camera to its app and plan: Arlo examples use the Arlo app and plan, and the Ring camera example uses a Ring Home subscription.
  • Match solar charging to the camera: the Ultra bundle includes 3 solar panels, and the Ring panel works with the Spotlight Cam Plus through USB-C.
  • Match the field of view to the spot: 180 degrees on the Ultra example and 130 degrees on the Essential example, with no figure stated for the Ring camera example.
  • Match storage to the plan: 60 days on the Arlo examples and up to 180 days on the Ring camera example, both behind paid plans.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which side records in higher resolution?

The Arlo side, on stated figures. The Ultra example records 4K HDR video and the Essential example records 2K video, while the Ring camera example records 1080p HD video.

Do these cameras need a hub?

The Ultra example includes a SmartHub. The other listings state no hub.

Can the Ring camera run on solar power?

Yes, with the separate panel. The Ring panel listing names the Spotlight Cam Plus among the cameras it works with, and recommends at least 2 to 3 hours of direct sunlight per day.

How long is video stored?

The Arlo examples state 60 days with an Arlo plan, and the Ring camera example states up to 180 days with a Ring Home subscription.

Which listings state a warranty term?

Only the Essential example, at 1-year limited. The other three listings state no warranty term.

Arlo Ultra 4K 3-Cam Bundle
Still deciding? Our top pickArlo Ultra 4K 3-Cam Bundle
Check price on Amazon

See every solar security cameras guide and all solar lights, cameras and fans guides. Also see our best solar security camera with zoom. Also see our best solar camera with alarm. Also see our solar camera sd card vs cloud storage. Also see our solar security camera vs indoor security camera.