On this page
Running a cable from a panel to a charge controller sounds simple until the run is longer than the built-in leads, the connectors do not match, or the wire gauge is wrong for the controller, and the best mc4 cable for charge controller use is the cable that matches length, gauge and connectors to your setup. We compared what each listing states: length, gauge, current, IP protection and TUV marks. The 10AWG extension cable states 1000V and IP67 protection, while the adaptor kits cover short links between panels and controllers.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall ECO-WORTHY 10FT 10AWG Cable: 10AWG cable with 30A 1000V DC and IP67 protection stated Check price on Amazon
Adaptor Kit Pick Renogy 10ft 12AWG Adaptor Kit: 10ft 12AWG pair with female and male connectors for panels and controllers Check price on Amazon
Short Extension Pick Renogy 1.5ft 12AWG Extension: 1.5ft 12AWG cable with exposed ends for charge controller connection Check price on Amazon
Long Extension Pick iGreely 10ft 10AWG Extension: 10 feet 10 AWG extension cable with 1500V Check price on Amazon
Short Cable Pick Geosiry 3ft 10AWG Extension: 3FT 10AWG extension cable for short runs Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ECO-WORTHY 10FT 10AWG Cable | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | iGreely 10ft Extension Cable | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Renogy 10ft 12AWG Adaptor Kit | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Geosiry 3FT 10AWG Cable | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Renogy 1.5ft 12AWG Extension | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

ECO-WORTHY 10FT 10AWG Cable
A 10FT 10AWG solar extension cable with 30A 1000V DC, IP67 protection and pre-attached red and black wires.
Pros
- 10AWG tinned copper core with tin-plated surface stated
- 30A 1000V DC power transfer stated
- IP67 protection stated for use in rainy and snowy conditions
- UV-resistant HDPE jacket with 2000+ bend cycles stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No TUV mark is stated
- Spec table lists 10AWG under Color, which reads like a listing error
- Title mentions a tool, but no separate tool is listed in the spec table
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10FT 10AWG solar extension cable with a tinned copper core, tin-plated surface, 30A 1000V DC transfer, IP67 protection, a UV-resistant HDPE jacket, 2000+ bend cycles and pre-attached red and black wires for polarity. It states a temperature range of -40°F to 185°F and 98% dustproof efficiency. The spec table lists 10AWG under Color, which reads like a listing error, but the gauge figure itself matches the title.
Who it's for: buyers who need a 10FT extension with high voltage and IP67 protection for panels and controllers. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated warranty term or a TUV mark.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 10FT |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 10AWG |
| Current | 30A, 1000V DC |
| Protection | IP67 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

iGreely 10ft Extension Cable
A 10ft pair of 10 AWG extension cables with 30 A and 1500V stated, tinned copper, TUV certification, RoHS and IP67.
Pros
- 30 A maximum current and 1500 volts stated
- TUV-certified with RoHS stated
- IP67 with UV resistance stated
- Tinned copper wire with a self-locking system stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Model given as 6mm2-3m against the 10ft title
- Unit count of 20 feet against the 10ft pair
- Single pair only, no 2-pack option
Detailed Review
The listing states a pair of iGreely 10 feet 10 AWG solar panel extension cables, one black and one red, with tinned copper PV wire, 1500V DC, TUV certification, UV resistance, IP67, a maximum current of 30 A and a maximum voltage of 1500 volts. It lists a stable self-locking system, weather-resistant outer material, RoHS and 3 meters. The model line gives 6mm2-3m against the 10ft title; trust the title. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: buyers who want the fullest stated certification set on a 10ft pair. Who should skip it: buyers who need a longer run.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Gauge | 10 AWG |
|---|---|
| Length | 10 ft, red and black |
| Current | 30 A |
| Voltage | 1500 V |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67, TUV-certified and RoHS stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Renogy 10ft 12AWG Adaptor Kit
One pair of 10ft 12AWG solar adaptor kit cables with female and male connectors for panels and charge controllers.
Pros
- 10ft length with female and male connectors stated
- 40A maximum current and 400W wattage stated
- TUV standards for PV solar application stated, with a TUV logo print stated
- UV resistant and weatherproof stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists 10AWG under Size while the title and bullets state 12AWG
- 6.4 ounces stated without saying if it covers the pair or one cable
- Maximum voltage of 12 volts stated, lower than the 1000V extension cable in this group
Detailed Review
The listing states one pair of 10ft 12AWG adaptor kit cables with female and male connectors, hard plastic connectors at one end and bare wire at the other, black sunlight-resistant cable and TUV standards for PV solar application. The spec table lists 40A maximum current, 400W wattage, 12 volts maximum and 6.4 ounces. The spec table lists 10AWG under Size, which does not match the 12AWG in the title and bullets, so trust the title and bullets for the gauge.
Who it's for: buyers who need a short adaptor pair between a panel and a charge controller with a high stated current. Who should skip it: buyers who need a longer run or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 10ft |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 12AWG |
| Current | 40A, 400W |
| Protection | TUV standards stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. TUV standards for PV solar application stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- TÜV and UL certified, per the listing
- IP67 rating stated
- UV resistant stated
- Plug-and-play stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certification is stated
- 3 ft is the only length stated
- No extra connectors are stated
Detailed Review
Geosiry lists a 3 ft 10AWG solar extension cable with TÜV and UL certification and an IP67 rating. The listing states PVC and PPO insulation, UV resistance and -31F to 90F operation. No warranty term is stated and no safety certification appears in the listing.
Who it's for: short panel-to-controller runs. Who should skip it: long runs.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 71 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Gauge | 10AWG |
|---|---|
| Length | 3 ft |
| Rating | IP67 |
| Cert | TÜV, UL |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Renogy 1.5ft 12AWG Extension
A 1.5ft 12AWG solar adaptor extension cable with male and female connectors and exposed ends for charge controller connection.
Pros
- 1.5ft length for short links to a charge controller stated
- Black sunlight-resistant cable with insulated wiring stated
- TUV mark stated in the spec table
- Weatherproof, insulated wiring stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists 20FT length and 10AWG gauge, which do not match the 1.5ft 12AWG title
- Spec table lists 1 Pair quantity while the title says 1 PCS
- Spec table lists 18 inches as well as 20FT, adding another length figure
Detailed Review
The listing states a 1.5ft 12AWG solar adaptor extension cable with male and female connectors, hard plastic connectors at each end, exposed ends for connection to the solar charge controller, black sunlight-resistant cable and insulated wiring. The spec table lists a TUV mark, 12A maximum current and 12 volts. The spec table also lists 20FT length, 10AWG gauge, 1 Pair quantity and 18 inches, which do not match the 1.5ft, 12AWG and 1 PCS figures in the title, so trust the title and bullets for length, gauge and quantity.
Who it's for: buyers who need a very short link to a charge controller with exposed ends for connection. Who should skip it: buyers who need a longer cable or a listing without conflicting length figures.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 1.5ft |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 12AWG |
| Current | 12A, 12 volts |
| Protection | TUV mark stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. TUV mark stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
GEYA 10AWG 10FT Solar Cable10AWG 10FT solar cable with 2 pairs of connectors and IP67 protection stated.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Cable | Solar Score | Length | Gauge | Current | Protection | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ECO-WORTHY 10FT 10AWG Cable | 9.7/10 | 10FT | 10AWG | 30A | IP67 | View on Amazon |
| Renogy 10ft 12AWG Adaptor Kit | 9.6/10 | 10ft | 12AWG | 40A | TUV standards stated | View on Amazon |
| Renogy 1.5ft 12AWG Extension | 9.5/10 | 1.5ft | 12AWG | 12A | TUV mark stated | View on Amazon |
| iGreely 10ft 10AWG Extension | 9.7/10 | 10 feet | 10 AWG | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Geosiry 3ft 10AWG Extension | 9.6/10 | 3FT | 10AWG | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build and value most, with safety where it applies, and warranty. For a cable, safety means the TUV marks and IP codes the listing actually states; a cable that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its gauge. No pick in this group states a warranty term, and only the ECO-WORTHY pick states IP67 protection. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ECO-WORTHY 10FT 10AWG Cable | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| Renogy 10ft 12AWG Adaptor Kit | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| Renogy 1.5ft 12AWG Extension | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best mc4 cable for charge controller
Match length to the run
Length is the first filter, since a cable that is too short cannot bridge the gap and a cable that is far too long leaves slack to manage. Lengths stated here are 10FT, 10ft, 1.5ft, 10 feet and 3FT, so measure the run between the panel leads and the controller before choosing. The 10FT and 10 feet options suit longer runs, while the 1.5ft and 3FT options suit close links. The ECO-WORTHY and Renogy adaptor cables state the same 10ft length, so gauge, current and protection decide between those two rather than length. See the mounts, cables and connectors guides for the wider category.
Match gauge and current to the controller
Gauge and current figures are stated per listing, so compare them side by side rather than assuming a thicker cable always carries more current here. The ECO-WORTHY listing states 10AWG with 30A, the Renogy adaptor kit listing states 12AWG with 40A, and the Renogy extension listing states 12AWG with 12A. Check the current figure against the controller input you plan to use, and note that the title-only picks state no current figure at all.
| Cable | Gauge | Current stated |
|---|---|---|
| ECO-WORTHY 10FT 10AWG Cable | 10AWG | 30A |
| Renogy 10ft 12AWG Adaptor Kit | 12AWG | 40A |
| Renogy 1.5ft 12AWG Extension | 12AWG | 12A |
| iGreely 10ft 10AWG Extension | 10 AWG | Not stated |
| Geosiry 3ft 10AWG Extension | 10AWG | Not stated |
Read the protection lines closely
Protection detail varies more than length does. The ECO-WORTHY listing states IP67 protection, both Renogy listings state a TUV mark, and the title-only picks state no protection code at all. UV resistance and sunlight resistance are stated on the full listings, so buyers who plan outdoor runs should weigh the IP code and the TUV mark together. The Renogy adaptor kit also states a TUV logo print, while the Renogy extension states a TUV mark in its spec table, so both Renogy picks carry a TUV mark even though their lengths differ. For the panel side, see the solar panels and kits guides.
Check the connectors and the listing contradictions
Connector detail decides whether the cable fits without an extra adaptor. The Renogy adaptor kit states female and male connectors, the Renogy extension states male and female connectors with exposed ends for charge controller connection, and the ECO-WORTHY cable states pre-attached red and black wires for polarity. The Renogy extension listing is the one to read twice: its spec table lists 20FT, 10AWG, 1 Pair and 18 inches against a 1.5ft 12AWG 1 PCS title, so trust the title and bullets for that pick.
Sizing Notes
- Match length to the measured run: 10FT, 10ft, 1.5ft, 10 feet and 3FT are the lengths stated here.
- Match gauge and current figures across listings: 10AWG with 30A, 12AWG with 40A and 12AWG with 12A are the stated pairs.
- Match the IP code and TUV mark to outdoor use: IP67 is stated on the ECO-WORTHY cable, and a TUV mark is stated on both Renogy cables.
- Check the connector count and pair quantity before ordering, since the listings state pairs and single cables differently, and no pick states a warranty term.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which cable states the highest voltage?
The ECO-WORTHY listing states 30A 1000V DC, the highest voltage figure in this group. Both Renogy listings state 12 volts in their spec tables, and the title-only picks state no voltage figure.
Which cables state a TUV mark?
The 2 Renogy listings state TUV marks, while the ECO-WORTHY listing states IP67 protection without a TUV mark. The title-only picks state no TUV mark.
What length options are in this group?
Lengths stated are 10FT, 10ft, 1.5ft, 10 feet and 3FT. The Renogy extension title states 1.5ft, even though its spec table lists other length figures, so trust the title for that pick.
Do any picks state a warranty term?
No pick in this group states a warranty term, so compare them on the figures they do state, such as length, gauge, current and protection.
Related guides
See every Mounts, Cables and Connectors guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides.





