On this page
A chain link gate at the end of a long drive leaves no easy wire run, so the best solar gate opener for chain link gate owners has to charge from the sun, pull a heavy sliding gate, and stop when something blocks the path. This article compares what each listing states: gate weight, gate length, power source and warranty term, with the solar pick first and the shorter listings last. The guide below walks through power, weight, safety, and warranty in that order, so the right opener is easy to spot for a wire-free drive.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall TOPENS DKC1100S Solar Opener: Solar panel included, drives gates up to 2600lbs and 40ft Check price on Amazon
AC-Powered Option TOPENS CK2500 AC Opener: AC-powered opener for gates up to 5700lbs and 40ft Check price on Amazon
Smart Ready Option Mighty Mule MM571W Opener: Solar and smart ready stated in the title Check price on Amazon
Solar Ready Option Mighty Mule MM271 Opener: Solar ready stated in the title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mighty Mule MM571W Gate Opener | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | TOPENS DKC1100S Solar Opener | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Mighty Mule MM271 Opener | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | TOPENS CK2500 AC Opener | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Mighty Mule MM571W Gate Opener
A heavy duty single gate opener for gates up to 18ft or 850lb, UL325 certified with an 18 month warranty.
Pros
- UL325 safety certification is stated.
- An 18 month warranty is stated, the longest here.
- Handles single gates up to 18ft or 850lb.
- Smart and solar ready with app control.
Cons
- The spec table lists 12ft and 300lb, contradicting the title.
- Solar panel is not included, only solar ready.
- Battery is not included in the box.
- Single gate only, no dual option.
Detailed Review
The Mighty Mule MM571W is the safety pick: a single gate opener with UL325 certification and an 18 month warranty stated. The title lists gates up to 18ft or 850lb, with smart app control and solar readiness.
One listing wrinkle: the spec table lists 12ft and 300lb, contradicting the title; the brief says to trust the title and bullets. The solar panel and battery are not included.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Gate size | 18ft / 850lb |
|---|---|
| Gate type | Single |
| Warranty | 18 month |
| Certification | UL325 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL325 safety certified, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18 month. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TOPENS DKC1100S Solar Opener
A solar sliding gate opener with a chain drive for gates up to 2600lbs and 40ft, with a 30W solar panel included.
Pros
- 30W solar panel included for charging wherever there is sunlight
- Drives gates up to 2600lbs and 40ft
- Stop-and-reverse module plus auto-close and midway mode
- 20ft roller chain included
Cons
- Battery is not included; 2 12V batteries are needed for 24V
- Spec table lists 1300lbs and 180W beside the 2600lbs and 450W bullet figures
- 12-month warranty stated
- DIY installation takes a few hours
Detailed Review
The listing states a solar sliding gate opener with a chain drive, a 450W DC motor, gates up to 2600lbs and 40ft, a 30W solar panel included, a 20ft roller chain included, 2 remote controls, a stop-and-reverse module, auto-close, midway mode, and soft start and soft stop. It also lists 110-120VAC power and a 24V 12Ah battery to add, with 2 12V batteries connected in series. The spec table lists gate capabilities of 1300lbs and a motor of 180W beside the bullet figures, so trust the bullets for weight and motor power.
Who it's for: chain link gate owners who want solar charging without AC wiring to the gate. Who should skip it: buyers who want the battery included, since the listing says the battery is not included. The midway mode also lets the gate open partially for a vehicle, which suits a quick entry without a full cycle. The listing also states a 30-day exchange and return window.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 1/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Motor | 450W DC |
|---|---|
| Gate | 2600lbs, 40ft |
| Solar | 30W solar panel included |
| Chain | 20ft roller chain included |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Stop-and-reverse module, auto-close, and soft start and soft stop stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Mule MM271 Opener
Solar ready automatic gate opener for single gates up to 12 ft or 300 lb, with a single-button remote included.
Pros
- Fits single gates up to 12 ft or 300 lb.
- Single-button remote included; supports up to 10 remotes.
- Solar compatible with FM123 or FM125 panels.
- 1 Year Manufacturer Warranty is stated.
Cons
- Battery is required but not included.
- Solar panels are optional, not included.
- No motor power figure is stated.
- Smart phone control is not stated for this model.
Detailed Review
The Mighty Mule MM271 listing describes an automatic gate opener for single gates up to 12 ft or 300 lb, working with ornamental, chain link, tube, panel, vinyl and wood gates. It includes a single-button remote, supports up to 10 remotes, and offers programmable obstruction sensing, gate sequencing and auto-close. It is UL325 safety certified and solar compatible with FM123 or FM125 panels.
Who it's for: a homeowner automating a standard single gate with remote control and a stated safety certification. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the battery and solar panel in the box.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 5/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Max gate | 12 ft / 300 lb |
|---|---|
| Remote | Single-button, up to 10 |
| Cert | UL325 |
| Warranty | 1 Year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL325 Safety Certified, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer Warranty, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TOPENS CK2500 AC Opener
An AC-powered chain drive sliding gate opener for gates up to 5700lbs and 40ft, with no solar compatibility stated.
Pros
- Drives gates up to 5700lbs and 40ft
- 1000W AC motor stated
- Photo eye beam sensor reverses the gate on obstruction
- 20ft roller chain included
Cons
- AC powered only; not solar compatible
- Spec table lists 1300lbs and 300W beside the 5700lbs and 1000W bullet figures
- 12-month warranty stated
- No battery backup is stated for this unit
Detailed Review
The listing states an AC-powered chain drive sliding gate opener with a 1000W AC motor, gates up to 5700lbs and 40ft, a 20ft roller chain, a TC102 photo eye beam sensor that reverses the gate on obstruction, midway mode, and auto-close. It operates only on 110-120VAC electricity, with no solar compatibility and no battery power source stated. The spec table lists gate capabilities of 1300lbs and a motor of 300W beside the bullet figures, so trust the bullets for weight and motor power.
Who it's for: owners with AC power at the gate who want a heavy gate opener for a large slide gate. Who should skip it: buyers who want solar power, since this unit is AC powered only. The smart chip lets the gate open toward left or right, which suits a drive layout that favors one side.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 18/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 1/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Motor | 1000W AC |
|---|---|
| Gate | 5700lbs, 40ft |
| Chain | 20ft roller chain included |
| Power | 110-120VAC only |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Photo eye beam sensor, auto-close, and midway mode stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
TOPENS CK1100 OpenerAC-powered opener for gates up to 2800lbs and 40ftCheck on Amazon
Blütezeit 1400lb OpenerSolar powered chain drive opener with WiFi control and backup batteryCheck on Amazon
1300lb Sliding Gate OpenerChain drive opener with solar power for 40ft gates and backup batteryCheck on Amazon
TOPENS XD852S OpenerSmart solar dual swing gate opener for heavy duty useCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Gate opener | Solar Score | Gate weight | Gate length | Power | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TOPENS DKC1100S Solar Opener | 9.6/10 | 2600lbs | 40ft | Solar or 110-120VAC | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| TOPENS CK2500 AC Opener | 9.5/10 | 5700lbs | 40ft | 110-120VAC only | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| Mighty Mule MM571W Opener | 9.7/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Solar ready | Not stated | |
| Mighty Mule MM271 Opener | 9.6/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Solar ready | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a gate opener, safety means the stop-and-reverse, sensor, and auto-close features the listing actually states; an opener that states none scores zero on that line. Only the TOPENS listings state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TOPENS DKC1100S Solar Opener | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 6 | 1 |
| TOPENS CK2500 AC Opener | 9.5 | 26 | 21 | 18 | 5 | 1 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar gate opener for chain link gate
Solar first, AC as fallback
Power source is the first filter for a chain link gate with no wire run. The DKC1100S includes a 30W solar panel and also lists 110-120VAC power, while the CK2500 operates only on 110-120VAC electricity with no solar compatibility stated. If AC power already reaches the gate, the AC-only pick stays in play; if it does not, the solar pick is the only full-data option here. The DKC1100S also lists a manual release key for backup use, which matters when the battery runs low. For a different gate shape, see the best solar gate opener for swing gate.
Match weight and length to the gate
Gate weight and length decide whether the motor can pull the gate at all. The DKC1100S lists gates up to 2600lbs and 40ft, while the CK2500 lists gates up to 5700lbs and 40ft. Neither title-only pick states a gate weight or length, so measure the gate and compare only the figures the full listings give. Both full listings also list a rack of 13ft included in the drive mode, which is part of the chain drive setup to check against the gate length.
| Gate opener | Gate weight | Gate length | Power |
|---|---|---|---|
| TOPENS DKC1100S Solar Opener | 2600lbs | 40ft | Solar or AC |
| TOPENS CK2500 AC Opener | 5700lbs | 40ft | AC only |
| Mighty Mule MM571W Opener | Not stated | Not stated | Solar ready |
| Mighty Mule MM271 Opener | Not stated | Not stated | Solar ready |
Safety features that stop the gate
A sliding gate must stop when blocked. The DKC1100S lists a stop-and-reverse module, auto-close, midway mode, and soft start and soft stop. The CK2500 lists a photo eye beam sensor that reverses the gate on obstruction, plus midway mode and auto-close. Neither title-only pick states a safety feature, so the full listings carry this section on their own. The CK2500 also includes a manual release key for power outages or a lost remote, which covers the case where the motor cannot run.
Warranty and the missing battery
The TOPENS listings state a warranty term, and both state 12 months: the DKC1100S and the CK2500. The DKC1100S battery is not included, so plan on adding the 24V 12Ah battery the listing names, with 2 12V batteries connected in series. The CK2500 lists no battery power source at all, which fits its AC-only design. For a solar setup, the battery plan matters as much as the panel. Both TOPENS listings also mention tech support for questions on the install, which helps when a gate differs from the standard case. For driveway setups in general, see the best solar gate openers for driveways.
Chain drive and the roller chain
Both full listings use a chain drive, and both include a 20ft roller chain, so the drive hardware is one area where the two sides agree. The chain length still needs a check against the gate: a longer slide gate needs more chain travel, and the listing for each opener states the same 20ft chain figure, so a gate at the top of the stated length range deserves a careful measure before ordering. The DKC1100S and CK2500 both list full mounting hardware as included, which covers the install basics, but the chain itself is the part that must match the gate run. Neither title-only pick states a chain figure, so chain length is another figure where only the full listings give a number to work with.
Sizing Notes
- Match gate weight to the opener: 2600lbs is listed for the DKC1100S and 5700lbs for the CK2500.
- Match gate length to the opener: 40ft is listed for both full-data picks.
- Match power to the site: a 30W solar panel is included with the DKC1100S, while the CK2500 needs 110-120VAC electricity.
- Match the chain to the gate: a 20ft roller chain is included with both full-data picks.
- Match the remote count to the household: 2 remote controls are included with the DKC1100S and 2 with the CK2500.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick includes a solar panel?
The DKC1100S, with a 30W solar panel included. The CK2500 states no solar compatibility, and the title-only picks state no panel detail.
Which pick drives the heaviest gate?
The CK2500, at gates up to 5700lbs. The DKC1100S lists gates up to 2600lbs.
Does the solar pick include a battery?
No. The DKC1100S listing says the battery is not included, and names a 24V 12Ah battery to add, with 2 12V batteries connected in series.
Which picks state a warranty term?
The DKC1100S and the CK2500, both at 12 months. The title-only picks state no term.
Which pick lists a manual release key?
Both full listings: the DKC1100S lists a manual release key for backup use, and the CK2500 includes one for power outages or a lost remote. The title-only picks state no release key detail.
Do these openers fit chain link gates?
Both full listings name chain-link gates among the gate types they suit, and the DKC1100S and CK2500 both list chain drive operation.
Related guides
See every Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guide. Also see our best solar gate opener for swing gate. Also see our best solar gate openers for driveways.




