On this page
A kennel yard after dark can feel uncertain when a trip to check on the dogs means crossing a dark run, and the best solar motion light for dog kennel use puts light where movement happens without a cable run to the house. The picks below were compared on stated LED count, lumens, detection range and angle, modes, mounting, battery detail, enclosure code and warranty term, so differences rest on listing facts rather than on looks alone.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall OrbitShell 92 LED Clip Light: 92 LEDs, 600LM, remote and IP65 stated Check price on Amazon
Best Adjustable Akynite 92 LED Clip Light: Dual charging with solar and Type-C, plus IP65 Check price on Amazon
Clip-On Pick sunlight encounter Clip Light: Clip-on light that lists kennel use, 26 feet detection Check price on Amazon
Highest LED Count Thumok 176 LED Clip Light: 176 LEDs with 600LM and IP65 stated Check price on Amazon
Alarm Pick Qualirey Alarm Detector: 13 sounds and 4 modes for a deterrent, not a light Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | OrbitShell 92 LED Clip Light | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Akynite 92 LED Clip Light | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | sunlight encounter Clip Light | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Thumok 176 LED Clip Light | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Qualirey Alarm Detector | 9.2/10 | Buy on Amazon |

OrbitShell 92 LED Clip Light
A 2-pack clip-on light with 92 LEDs, 600LM, 3 colour temperatures, a remote, and an IP65 shell for fences, gutters, decks and kennels.
Pros
- 92 LEDs give up to 600LM across up to 800 square feet
- 3 colour temperatures with a remote for colour and mode changes
- Clip-on base plus octopus tripod for fences, rails and branches
- 1500mAh battery with solar and USB-C charging, up to 10 to 14 hours
Cons
- Spec table lists 7000 Kelvin while bullets list 3 colour temperatures
- 2-pack format only, with no single-pack option stated
- Warranty term is only 1 year as stated in the spec table
- Colour temperature figure in the spec table does not match the bullets
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack clip-on light with 92 LEDs, up to 600LM, 3 colour temperatures, a remote control, a PIR sensor with a 16ft detection range and a 120° angle, 3 modes, a clip opening of 3.54 inches, a 360° rotational head with 45° vertical adjustment, a 1500mAh battery, solar and USB-C charging, up to 10 to 14 hours of illumination, and IP65 with ABS materials. The spec table lists a colour temperature of 7000 Kelvin, which conflicts with the 3 colour temperatures in the bullets, and the bullets are trusted over the spec table here.
Who it's for: owners who want a versatile clip and tripod light with a remote for fences, decks and kennel runs. Who should skip it: owners who want a single-pack option or a single fixed colour temperature.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 92 |
|---|---|
| Lumens | 600LM |
| Detection | 16ft |
| Battery | 1500mAh |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Akynite 92 LED Clip Light
A 2-piece clip-on light with 92 LEDs, 600LM at 6500K, 3 modes, a 360° rotating head and IP65 for yards, gutters and decks.
Pros
- 92 LEDs give 600LM at 6500K daylight with a 120° PIR sensor
- 3 modes include dim-bright-dim, off-bright-off and steady dim
- 360° horizontal rotation with tilt adjustment for directional light
- Solar and Type-C charging with 6 to 8 hours of lighting time
Cons
- Detection range is listed both as 16ft and as a 10 to 16 ft range
- Mode timing of 15 seconds applies only to one mode, not all modes
- No battery capacity figure is stated in the listing
- Warranty term is only 6 months as stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-piece clip-on light with 92 LEDs, 600LM at 6500K daylight, a 120° PIR sensor, a detection range listed as 16ft and also as 10 to 16 ft, 3 modes, a 360° horizontal rotation with tilt adjustment, an adjustable clamp mount, solar charging in 6 to 8 hours and Type-C charging in 3 to 4 hours, 6 to 8 hours of lighting time, ABS plastic and IP65. The two detection figures are both stated in the listing, so both are noted here rather than treated as a single figure.
Who it's for: owners who want an adjustable clip light with dual charging for yards, gutters and decks. Who should skip it: owners who need a stated battery capacity figure or a longer warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 92 |
|---|---|
| Lumens | 600LM |
| Colour temperature | 6500K |
| Enclosure | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 6 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

sunlight encounter Clip Light
A clip-on light with 36 LEDs, 400 lumens at 6000K, 3 modes, a 26 feet detection range and IP55 for fences, garages and kennels.
Pros
- Clip shape fits fences, decks, garages, glass and kennels, plus screws and a bracket
- Detection up to 26 feet within a 120° angle, above the 16ft figures here
- 1500mAh battery with a full charge in 5 to 6 hours and 30 hours of brightness
- 3 modes include strong sensor, strong sensor with dim, and constant dim
Cons
- IP55 code is below the IP65 code stated for the other lights here
- Only 36 LEDs and 400 lumens, below the 92 and 176 LED picks here
- Spec table lists 1 light source while title and bullets state 36 LEDs
- Bullets state a 24-month term while the spec warranty line reads as a single year
Detailed Review
The listing states a clip-on light with 36 LEDs at 6000K, 400 lumens, a detection range up to 26 feet within a 120° angle, 3 light modes, a 1500mAh battery, a full charge in 5 to 6 hours, 30 hours of brightness, high-strength ABS material, IP55, a clip shape with screws, adhesive tape and a wall bracket, and a 24-month term in its bullets. The spec table lists the number of light sources as 1, which conflicts with the 36 LEDs in the title and bullets, and the title and bullets are trusted over the spec table here. The spec table warranty line reads as a single year figure, which conflicts with the 24-month term in the bullets, and the bullets are trusted here.
Who it's for: owners who want a clip light that lists kennel use with a long detection range. Who should skip it: owners who need IP65 or a higher lumen figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 36 |
|---|---|
| Lumens | 400 |
| Detection | 26 feet |
| Battery | 1500mAh |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP55 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 24-month term stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Thumok 176 LED Clip Light
A clip-on light with 176 LEDs, 600 lumens in its bullets, 3 modes, a 16 feet detection range and IP65 for fences, patios and decks.
Pros
- 176 LEDs, the largest LED count stated in this set
- 600 lumens in the bullets for everyday patio and driveway use
- Clamp fits surfaces up to 2.4 inches thick, with no drilling stated
- 3 modes with a PIR sensor detecting up to 16 feet within 120°
Cons
- Spec table lists 800 lumens, conflicting with 600 lumens in the bullets
- Spec table lists 1 light source while title states 176 LEDs
- Spec warranty figure of 2 gives no unit, so no term is counted
- No battery capacity figure is stated in the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a clip-on light with 176 LEDs, 600 lumens in its bullets, 3 modes, a PIR sensor detecting motion up to 16 feet within a 120° angle, a clamp fitting surfaces up to 2.4 inches thick, plastic material, and IP65. The spec table lists brightness as 800 lumens and light output maximum as 800 lumens, which conflict with the 600 lumens in the bullets, and the bullets are trusted over the spec table here. The spec table also lists the number of light sources as 1, which conflicts with the 176 LEDs in the title, and the title is trusted here.
Who it's for: owners who want the largest LED count here with a clamp fit for fences and rails. Who should skip it: owners who need a stated warranty term or a stated battery capacity figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 176 |
|---|---|
| Lumens | 600 |
| Detection | 16 feet |
| Enclosure | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Qualirey Alarm Detector
A solar motion alarm detector with 13 sounds, 4 modes and a red and blue strobe flash, listed here as a deterrent rather than a light.
Pros
- 13 sounds in a loop when motion detection is triggered
- 4 modes cover day, night, sound-only and flash-only use
- 4 sets in the package for wider coverage across a property
- Pole, ground, fence or wall mounting as stated in the title
Cons
- No lumens figure is stated, so it cannot be compared as a light
- No enclosure code is stated in the listing
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- No detection range figure is stated in the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a solar motion sensor alarm detector with 13 sounds, 4 modes, a red and blue flashing strobe, a 3.7V battery, a package of 4 sets, a pole mount format, dimensions of 8.66 by 7.87 by 3.66 inches, and a weight of 1.7 pounds. No lumens figure, enclosure code, detection range figure or warranty term is stated, so this pick is scored below the lights in this set and is described here as a deterrent rather than as a conventional light.
Who it's for: owners who want a sound and strobe deterrent beside a fence or garden. Who should skip it: owners who need a light with stated lumens and a detection range figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 18/35, build 15/25, value 15/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 48 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Modes | 4 |
|---|---|
| Sounds | 13 |
| Pack | 4 sets |
| Mount | Pole Mount |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Sumaote Motion Sensor LightMotion sensor light with 2000mAh battery for sheds and dog housesCheck on Amazon
BRIGHTICONIC Motion LightSolar motion light for porta potty, chicken coop and dog houseCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Light | Solar Score | LEDs | Lumens | Detection | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OrbitShell 92 LED Clip Light | 9.7/10 | 92 | 600 | 16ft | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Akynite 92 LED Clip Light | 9.7/10 | 92 | 600 | 16ft | 6 months | View on Amazon |
| sunlight encounter Clip Light | 9.6/10 | 36 | 400 | 26 feet | 24-month | View on Amazon |
| Thumok 176 LED Clip Light | 9.6/10 | 176 | 600 | 16 feet | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Qualirey Alarm Detector | 9.2/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For motion lights, safety means the enclosure code the listing states, and a pick that states no enclosure code scores zero on that line. 3 picks state a warranty term, and the rest state none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OrbitShell 92 LED Clip Light | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| Akynite 92 LED Clip Light | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 2 |
| sunlight encounter Clip Light | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 4 |
| Thumok 176 LED Clip Light | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| Qualirey Alarm Detector | 9.2 | 18 | 15 | 15 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar motion light for dog kennel
Match detection range and angle to the kennel run
Detection range sets how far from the light movement still triggers a bright response, and angle sets how wide that zone spreads. The sunlight encounter pick detects motion up to 26 feet within a 120° angle, while the OrbitShell, Thumok and Akynite picks each list a 120° angle with a 16ft or 16 feet figure, and the Akynite pick also lists a 10 to 16 ft range. A longer run benefits from the wider detection figure, while a short kennel gate benefits from a tighter zone that avoids triggers from beyond the fence. The Qualirey pick states no detection range figure, so its zone stays unstated in this comparison. For a barn layout with a similar animal housing need, see the best solar motion light for barn guide.
Compare lumens and LED count, not just the headline
Lumens and LED count together give a fuller picture than either figure alone. The OrbitShell and Akynite picks each list 92 LEDs and 600LM, the Thumok pick lists 176 LEDs with 600 lumens in its bullets, and the sunlight encounter pick lists 36 LEDs with 400 lumens. The Thumok spec table lists 800 lumens, which conflicts with the 600 lumens in its bullets, and the bullets are trusted over the spec table here. The Qualirey pick lists no lumens figure, because it is an alarm detector with a strobe flash rather than a conventional light, so it cannot be compared on lumens at all. See solar motion light vs battery motion light for how solar and battery formats differ.
| Light | LEDs | Lumens | Detection |
|---|---|---|---|
| OrbitShell 92 LED Clip Light | 92 | 600 | 16ft |
| Akynite 92 LED Clip Light | 92 | 600 | 16ft |
| sunlight encounter Clip Light | 36 | 400 | 26 feet |
| Thumok 176 LED Clip Light | 176 | 600 | 16 feet |
| Qualirey Alarm Detector | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Check mounting and charging
Mounting decides whether a light fits a kennel fence, gate or post without extra hardware. The OrbitShell pick gives both a clip-on base and an octopus-style tripod, with a clip opening of 3.54 inches, while the Thumok pick gives a clamp that fits surfaces up to 2.4 inches thick, and the sunlight encounter pick gives a clip shape plus screws and a wall bracket. Charging differs too: the OrbitShell pick supports solar and USB-C charging with a 1500mAh battery and up to 10 to 14 hours of illumination, the Akynite pick supports solar and Type-C charging with 6 to 8 hours of lighting time, and the sunlight encounter pick gives a 1500mAh battery with a full charge in 5 to 6 hours and 30 hours of brightness. For a garden layout, the best solar motion lights for garden guide covers similar mounting points.
Read the warranty line before ordering
Warranty terms split this set into three groups. The sunlight encounter pick states a 24-month term in its bullets, while its spec table gives a manufacturer warranty line that reads as a single year figure, and the bullets are trusted over the spec table here. The OrbitShell pick states a 1 year term and the Akynite pick states a 6 months term. The Thumok spec table gives a warranty figure of 2 with no unit, so no term is counted for that pick, and the Qualirey pick states no warranty term. A stated term does not change the light, but it does change what recourse the listing offers if the light fails early, so weigh it beside detection, lumens and enclosure code.
Sizing Notes
- Match detection to the kennel run: up to 26 feet on the sunlight encounter pick, and 16ft or 16 feet on the OrbitShell, Thumok and Akynite picks, all within a 120° angle.
- Match lumens to the area: 600LM on the OrbitShell, Akynite and Thumok picks, and 400 lumens on the sunlight encounter pick.
- Match battery detail to the night need: 1500mAh on the OrbitShell and sunlight encounter picks, with up to 10 to 14 hours stated for the OrbitShell pick.
- Match enclosure code to outdoor use: IP65 on the OrbitShell, Thumok and Akynite picks, and IP55 on the sunlight encounter pick.
- Check the warranty line: 24-month term stated for the sunlight encounter pick, 1 year for the OrbitShell pick, and 6 months for the Akynite pick.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick lists kennel use?
The sunlight encounter pick, whose clip-anywhere list includes kennel use beside fence, garage, deck and driveway use.
Which pick is an alarm detector, not a light?
The Qualirey pick, which gives 13 sounds and 4 modes as an animal deterrent with a red and blue strobe flash, and lists no lumens figure.
Which pick lists the longest detection range?
The sunlight encounter pick, with motion detection up to 26 feet within a 120° angle.
Which picks state a warranty term?
The sunlight encounter pick states a 24-month term, the OrbitShell pick states a 1 year term, and the Akynite pick states a 6 months term.
Do any picks charge by USB or Type-C?
Yes. The OrbitShell pick supports solar and USB-C charging, and the Akynite pick supports solar and Type-C charging.
Related guides
See every Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guide. Also see Best Solar Motion Light for Deck. Also see Best Solar Motion Lights.




