On this page
A quiet mountain property, empty between visits, still needs watching, and the best solar trail camera for mountain use fills that gap with photos sent to a phone. We compared what each listing states for cameras and a power pack built for that job: cellular or wireless connection, solar power, video resolution, night vision and stated warranty terms. The picks below cover a bundled cellular camera with a solar panel, an auxiliary power pack for trail cameras, and solar cameras described by title alone, so the limits of each listing stay visible.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall TACTACAM Reveal X 3.0: cellular connection with a bundled solar panel and built-in GPS Check price on Amazon
Best Power Pack HME 12V Solar Power Pack: 12-volt auxiliary power for trail cameras, sold as a 3-pack Check price on Amazon
4K Option MAXDONE 4K 64MP Solar: 4K video with a 6000mAh battery and an IP66 code Check price on Amazon
WiFi Option MAXDONE PH970S Solar: WiFi and Bluetooth connection with 64MP photos Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MAXDONE 4K 64MP Trail Camera | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | MAXDONE PH970S Solar Camera | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | TACTACAM Reveal X 3.0 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | HME 12V Solar Power Pack | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 6000mAh battery stated, the largest here
- 0.1s trigger stated
- 64MP/4K with 65ft night vision stated
- IP66 stated
Cons
- The warranty description states only '2' with no term
- Wifi is local hotspot only (33-50ft); no home WiFi or cellular
- The split solar panel design is described with a broken sentence
- No detection angle is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4K trail camera with 64MP photos, 6000mAh battery, 0.1-second trigger, infrared night vision to 65 feet, IP66, a split solar panel design, Type-C charging and a 32GB card, with the TrailCamGO app. Wifi is a local hotspot at 33-50 feet; it states no home WiFi, cellular or real-time alerts. The warranty description states only '2' with no term.
Who it's for: owners who want the biggest stated battery with fast trigger. Who should skip it: owners who want a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Photo / Video | 64MP / 4K |
|---|---|
| Battery | 6000mAh |
| Trigger | 0.1s |
| Weather | IP66 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP66 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MAXDONE PH970S Solar Camera
A solar trail camera with 64MP photos, 4K video, a 6000mAh battery and a 32GB card included.
Pros
- 64MP photos and 4K video with 65 ft night vision
- 0.1s trigger with 100 degrees detection angle and 5-shot burst
- 6000mAh battery with solar charging and a 32GB card included
- WiFi 6 and Bluetooth app connection with a 55 ft hotspot range
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Phone must be within 0.5ft of the camera for first-time setup
- Built-in hotspot only, with no home WiFi connection
- No panel watt figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 64MP photos, 4K video at 30fps, a 6000mAh battery with solar charging, a 32GB card included with support to 256GB, WiFi 6 and Bluetooth with a 55 ft hotspot range, 65 ft night vision, a 0.1s trigger, a 100 degrees detection angle and a 5-shot burst mode, plus an IP66 code. The spec table lists 3.7 volts with no panel watt figure. The box lists a stand mount with bolts and an installation belt.
Who it's for: first-time buyers who want a complete solar trail camera with a card included and app viewing. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or home WiFi connection.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Photo | 64MP |
|---|---|
| Video | 4K at 30fps |
| Battery | 6000mAh, solar charging |
| Night vision | 65 ft |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP66 code stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TACTACAM Reveal X 3.0
Cellular trail camera bundled with a solar panel, built-in GPS and low-glow IR flash, sending photos to a phone app.
Pros
- Cellular connection over multiple networks with photos sent to a phone app
- Solar panel included in the bundle
- Built-in GPS stated
- Low-glow IR flash for night viewing
Cons
- Spec table lists Wi-Fi while the bullets describe a cellular connection
- No weather code is stated
- Size figure does not say if it covers the camera alone or the bundle
- Battery powered, so the panel supports rather than replaces the battery
Detailed Review
The listing states a cellular trail camera bundled with a solar panel, built-in GPS, a pre-installed antenna, low-glow IR flash, a 3-shot burst mode and built-in storage with an optional SD card slot, plus 1080p video and a tree mount. It states a one year comprehensive warranty and delivery of photos to a mobile device through the REVEAL app. The spec table lists Wi-Fi under wireless technology while the bullets and connectivity protocol describe a cellular connection, so trust the bullets for the connection type. The spec table gives 9 x 5 x 3 inches without saying whether that size covers the camera alone or the bundle.
Who it's for: owners of a remote mountain property who want photos sent to a phone without visiting the camera. Who should skip it: owners who need a stated weather code on the listing, since this listing states none.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Connectivity | Cellular, multi-carrier |
|---|---|
| Video | 1080p |
| Mount | Tree mount |
| Size | 9 x 5 x 3 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HME 12V Solar Power Pack
Auxiliary power pack for trail cameras, listed at 12 volts and 120 watts, sold as a 3-pack with a hard case, cables and a lead.
Pros
- 120 watts with 10 A output stated
- 12 volts input and output stated
- 3-pack for multiple cameras
- Hard case, USB cables and auxiliary lead included
Cons
- No camera in the box
- No warranty term is stated
- Plastic enclosure
- Wall mount listed rather than a tree mount
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V solar auxiliary power pack with 120 watts, 10 A output and 12 volts output, compatible with trail cameras and wireless trail cameras, with a hard case, USB cables and an auxiliary lead in the box. The title says 3-Pack while the spec table lists Number of Items as 1 and Unit Count as 3 Count, so trust the title for the pack count. The spec table lists a wall mount, which suits a fixed mounting point rather than a tree strap setup.
Who it's for: owners who already run trail cameras and want auxiliary power for them. Who should skip it: owners looking for a camera itself, since this listing is a power pack only.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 12 volts, 10 A |
|---|---|
| Power | 120 watts |
| In the box | Hard case, USB cables, auxiliary lead |
| Compatibility | Trail cameras, wireless trail cameras |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating or FCC statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Misstech 4G LTE Trail CameraCellular camera with a 4W solar panel and no-glow night vision for remote land.Check on Amazon
Moultrie Edge Solar 2-PackTwo-pack cellular camera with integrated solar and a removable battery.Check on Amazon
Moultrie Edge 3 Solar KitCellular camera with a 3.4W solar power pack and low-glow flash.Check on Amazon
Cinnado 4G LTE Trail CameraCellular camera with pan-tilt live view; subscription required after trial.Check on Amazon
SEHMUA 4G LTE Trail CameraCellular camera with a 4W solar panel and 48MP photos.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Camera | Solar Score | Video | Power | Weather code | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TACTACAM Reveal X 3.0 | 9.5/10 | 1080p | Battery, solar panel | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| HME 12V Solar Power Pack | 9.4/10 | Not stated | 12 volts, 120 watts | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| MAXDONE 4K 64MP Solar | 9.6/10 | 4K | 6000mAh | IP66 | Not stated | |
| MAXDONE PH970S Solar | 9.6/10 | 4K | Solar | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trail camera, safety means a stated weather code or certification the listing actually names; a camera that states no weather code scores zero on that line, whatever its video resolution. Only the TACTACAM pick states a warranty term, and only the MAXDONE 4K pick states a weather code. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TACTACAM Reveal X 3.0 | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| HME 12V Solar Power Pack | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar trail camera for mountain use
Cellular connection or WiFi
The TACTACAM pick connects over cellular networks and sends photos to a phone through the REVEAL app, with a preactivated SIM card in the box. That suits a mountain property with no WiFi router on site, since the camera uses a cellular network rather than a home network. The MAXDONE PH970S pick lists WiFi and Bluetooth in its title instead, which suits a site where a wireless network already reaches the camera location. Check which connection type your property supports before choosing, and see our best solar trail camera for ranch guide for a similar remote-property comparison.
Solar power and the auxiliary pack
The TACTACAM pick bundles a solar panel with the camera, so the panel tops up power between visits rather than leaving the camera on battery power alone. The HME pick is different: it is an auxiliary power pack, not a camera, listed at 12 volts, 120 watts and 10 A output, with a hard case, USB cables and an auxiliary lead in the box. It suits owners who already own trail cameras and want auxiliary power for them. The MAXDONE 4K pick states a 6000mAh battery in its title, but no panel figure, so compare its battery figure against the bundled-panel approach rather than assuming a match. See our best 12v battery for trail camera guide for the power side.
Video resolution and night vision
Video resolution splits this group cleanly. The TACTACAM pick lists 1080p video, while the MAXDONE picks list 4K video with 64MP photos in their titles. Higher resolution shows more detail in each frame, but it does not change the connection type or the power source, so weigh it after those two points. For night viewing, the TACTACAM pick lists a low-glow IR flash, which the maker describes as hard for humans or animals to notice. Neither MAXDONE title states a night-vision detail, so treat that point as not stated for those picks.
| Camera | Video | Night vision |
|---|---|---|
| TACTACAM Reveal X 3.0 | 1080p | Low-glow IR flash |
| MAXDONE 4K 64MP Solar | 4K | Not stated |
| MAXDONE PH970S Solar | 4K | Not stated |
| HME 12V Solar Power Pack | Not a camera | Not a camera |
Weather codes and warranty terms
Only the MAXDONE 4K pick states a weather code, IP66, in its title. The TACTACAM and MAXDONE PH970S listings state no weather code, and the HME pack lists a plastic enclosure with no weather code either. Treat a missing code as not stated rather than as a weakness the listing hides: the listing simply does not name one. On warranty, only the TACTACAM pick states a term, a one year comprehensive warranty, while the other picks state no term. See our best solar trail camera for garden guide for another use-case comparison.
Placement on a mountain property
Mounting shapes where each pick works. The TACTACAM pick lists a tree mount, which fits a trunk along a trail or at a property boundary, while the HME pack lists a wall mount, which fits a fixed structure such as a cabin wall or a post shelter. A camera on a tree moves with nothing but the wind, so check that the mount holds the camera steady and that the bundled solar panel faces open sky rather than dense canopy. The MAXDONE titles state no mount, so plan the mounting point separately for those picks and confirm the bracket suits a tree or a wall before ordering. A cellular camera also needs a usable signal at the exact tree or wall you choose, so the multi-carrier connection on the TACTACAM pick is worth weighing alongside the mount itself.
Sizing Notes
- Match the HME pack’s 12-volt output to a camera that lists a 12-volt auxiliary input before pairing them.
- Compare stated video figures directly: 1080p on the TACTACAM pick against 4K on the MAXDONE picks.
- Treat the 6000mAh figure as a stated battery size only; the title states no panel figure for that pick.
- Match the camera’s stated connection type to the network at the site: cellular for the TACTACAM pick, WiFi and Bluetooth for the MAXDONE PH970S pick.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick here sends photos to a phone over a cellular network?
The TACTACAM pick, which lists a preactivated SIM card, multi-carrier connection and the REVEAL app for photo delivery to a mobile device.
Does the HME pick include a camera?
No. It is an auxiliary power pack for trail cameras, with a hard case, 2 USB cables, an auxiliary lead and a battery pack in the box.
Which pick states an IP66 code?
The MAXDONE 4K pick, whose title states IP66 alongside 4K video, 64MP photos and a 6000mAh battery.
Which pick states a warranty term?
The TACTACAM pick, which states a one year comprehensive warranty. The other picks state no warranty term.
Related guides
See our best solar trail camera for ranch, best solar trail camera for garden and best solar security camera for hunting camp guides.





