On this page
When a campsite phone dies at dusk and the only charger nearby is a USB-C PD power bank, the best usb-c to 12v cable under 10 is the link between that charger and gear with a DC jack. We compared the cables in this roundup on what each listing states: output, plug size, cable length and stated cover, and the listings differ most on plug choice and length.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall HSZJsto USB-C to DC Cable: 8 converter plugs cover common DC jack sizes on one cable Check price on Amazon
Best Supported DSD TECH SH-CP12B Cable: 1 year product replacement service stated, plus a 1.2 m cable Check price on Amazon
Car Socket Option J&D Car Socket Converter: Car cigarette lighter socket output for gear with that socket Check price on Amazon
Alternate Plug Option DSD TECH SH-CP12A Cable: 5.5 x 2.5 mm DC plug for gear that needs the wider jack Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | HSZJsto USB-C to DC Cable | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | J&D 12V Socket Adapter | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | DSD TECH SH-CP12A Cable | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | DSD TECH SH-CP12B Cable | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

HSZJsto USB-C to DC Cable
USB-C to DC cable with a PD smart chip and 8 converter plugs for gear with a DC jack needing 12V.
Pros
- 8 converter plugs cover 6.0 x 4.0 mm through 3.5 x 1.35 mm jacks
- PD smart chip converts a PD charger into DC 12V output
- Stated for indoor and outdoor use
- Lightweight and portable for office, studio and travel
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Needs a PD charger or power bank that supports 12V output
- Charger power must exceed the output end power
- No certification is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a USB-C input to DC 12V output cable with a built-in PD smart chip, 12V 3A max at 36W, a 1 m cable and 8 converter plugs in 6.0 x 4.0 mm, 6.3 x 3.0 mm, 5.5 x 2.5 mm, 5.5 x 2.1 mm, 5.5 x 1.7 mm, 4.7 x 1.7 mm, 4.0 x 1.7 mm and 3.5 x 1.35 mm sizes. The title, bullets and spec table agree on 12V, 3A and 36W, and the listing describes the cable as lightweight and portable for office, studio and travel, for indoor and outdoor use. It also states the cable is only a conversion device: the PD charger or power bank must support 12V output, and the charger power must exceed the output end power.
Who it's for: owners of gear with varied DC jacks who already carry a PD charger or power bank that supports 12V output. Who should skip it: anyone whose charger or power bank lacks 12V output, since the cable alone cannot create it.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 12V, 3A, 36W |
|---|---|
| Length | 1 m |
| Connector | USB-C to DC 5.5 x 2.1 mm plus 8 plugs |
| Use | Indoor, Outdoor |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

J&D 12V Socket Adapter
A braided USB-C to 12V cigarette socket cable for dash cams, GPS units and LED strips, in red.
Pros
- 18W output at 12V and 1.5A, with over 95% conversion efficiency
- Braided jacket with PVC insulation and copper conductors
- Built-in short-circuit, over-voltage and over-current protection
- 1 ft length keeps the run short and tidy
Cons
- 18W ceiling rules out vacuums, refrigerators and electric jacks
- Input power at the Type-C port must exceed the connected device's draw
- Red only, no other color stated
- Socket only, no barrel plug option
Detailed Review
The listing states a USB-C male to 12V cigarette socket female converter cable with a maximum output of 18W at 12V and 1.5A, an input of 5V at 2.4A to 4A, over 95% conversion efficiency, a braided jacket with PVC insulation and copper conductors, and built-in short-circuit, over-voltage and over-current protection, with a 1-Year Limited Warranty. The 1 ft length is stated in the title.
Who it's for: a driver who wants a short, braided socket adapter for a dash cam, GPS unit or LED strip. Who should skip it: anyone powering a vacuum, refrigerator or electric jack, or a device with a barrel jack.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 12V/1.5A, 18W |
|---|---|
| Input | 5V USB-C, 2.4-4A |
| Length | 1 ft |
| Warranty | 1-Year Limited |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Built-in short-circuit, over-voltage and over-current protection, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-Year Limited Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DSD TECH SH-CP12A Cable
A USB-C PD to DC barrel cable that asks a PD charger for 12V, for DC-powered gear with a 5.5 x 2.5 mm jack.
Pros
- Requests 5V, 9V, 12V, 15V or 20V from a PD charger
- 45W wattage with a 3A maximum current
- 12-month manufacturer warranty and permanent technical support
- Flat cable shape for packing
Cons
- Outputs 12V only when the PD charger supports 12V output
- No length is stated in the listing
- Barrel plug only, no cigarette socket
- No protection or certification is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a USB-C PD to DC cable that sends a voltage request to the charger, with outputs of 5V, 9V, 12V, 15V and 20V through a 5.5 x 2.5 mm barrel plug, a 3A maximum current, 45W wattage, and a manufacturer warranty for 12 months from the date of purchase. No length is stated.
Who it's for: a reader with a PD charger who wants to power DC gear with a barrel jack. Who should skip it: anyone whose charger lacks 12V output, or who needs a cigarette socket.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 5V/9V/12V/15V/20V |
|---|---|
| Current | 3A max |
| Wattage | 45W |
| Warranty | 12 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 12 months manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DSD TECH SH-CP12B Cable
USB-C PD to DC 5.5 x 2.1 mm cable that requests 12V from a PD charger, with a stated 1 year replacement service.
Pros
- 1 year product replacement service stated
- Permanent technical support stated
- Lists PD supply support at 100W, 90W, 60W and 40W
- 36 g cable with a 1.2 m length
Cons
- Spec table lists 3 milliamps beside 36 watts, a mismatch to note
- Single 5.5 x 2.1 mm plug, with no converter set stated
- Indoor use only, per the spec table
- No certification is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a USB-C PD to DC cable that sends a request to the charger for 12V, converts a PD supply into a DC 5.5 x 2.1 mm interface, and lists PD supply support at 100W, 90W, 60W and 40W, with 36 watts, a 1.2 m length, 36 g weight, 24 pins and indoor use. It also states permanent technical support and a 1 year product replacement service. One contradiction sits in the spec table: it lists a maximum current of 3 milliamps beside 36 watts at 12 volts, figures that sit oddly together, so the review leans on the stated 12V output and 36W figure and treats the spec table current figure with caution.
Who it's for: owners of gear with a 5.5 x 2.1 mm DC jack and a PD charger that supports 12V output who value a stated replacement term. Who should skip it: anyone needing several plug sizes or outdoor use, since the listing states a single plug and indoor use only.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 12V, 36W |
|---|---|
| Length | 1.2 m |
| Connector | USB-C to DC 5.5 x 2.1 mm |
| Weight | 36 g |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year product replacement service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Tpenod USB-C to DC CableSuits gear with several DC jack sizes, with 8 converter tips included.Check on Amazon
PDEEY USB-C to 12V CableSuits a router, fan or speaker with a DC 5.5 x 2.1 mm port.Check on Amazon
MECCANIXITY Bare Wire Plug12V 3A bare-wire USB-C plug pair, 0.25 m long.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Cable | Solar Score | Output | Length | Connector | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSZJsto USB-C to DC Cable | 9.6/10 | 12V, 3A, 36W | 1 m | 5.5 x 2.1 mm plus 8 plugs | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| DSD TECH SH-CP12B Cable | 9.5/10 | 12V, 36W | 1.2 m | 5.5 x 2.1 mm | 1 year replacement | View on Amazon |
| J&D Car Socket Converter | 9.6/10 | 12V, 18W | 1 ft | Car cigarette lighter socket | Not stated | |
| DSD TECH SH-CP12A Cable | 9.5/10 | 12V | Not stated | 5.5 x 2.5 mm | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build and value most, with safety where it applies, and warranty. For a cable, safety means certifications and protections the listing actually states; a cable that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its output. A single pick states a warranty term, and none of the picks states a certification. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSZJsto USB-C to DC Cable | 9.6 | 32 | 22 | 22 | 0 | 0 |
| DSD TECH SH-CP12B Cable | 9.5 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best usb-c to 12v cable under 10
Match the plug to the jack
Plug size decides fit before anything else. The HSZJsto cable ships with 8 converter plugs covering 6.0 x 4.0 mm, 6.3 x 3.0 mm, 5.5 x 2.5 mm, 5.5 x 2.1 mm, 5.5 x 1.7 mm, 4.7 x 1.7 mm, 4.0 x 1.7 mm and 3.5 x 1.35 mm, while the DSD TECH SH-CP12B ends in a single 5.5 x 2.1 mm plug and the DSD TECH SH-CP12A ends in a single 5.5 x 2.5 mm plug. Read the jack size on the gear first, then pick the cable whose plug matches it, and see the best USB-C to 12V cable roundup for the wider cable range.
Check that the charger can output 12V
Every pick here is a conversion cable, not a charger, so the PD source must support 12V output or the cable cannot deliver 12V. The HSZJsto listing states the charger power must exceed the output end power, and the DSD TECH SH-CP12B listing states the cable sends a request to the charger for 12V and warns that a charger without 12V output will not output 12V. Pair these cables with a PD charger or a portable power station that lists 12V output, and confirm that output before ordering.
Compare length and output at a glance
| Cable | Output | Length |
|---|---|---|
| HSZJsto USB-C to DC Cable | 12V, 3A, 36W | 1 m |
| DSD TECH SH-CP12B Cable | 12V, 36W | 1.2 m |
| J&D Car Socket Converter | 12V, 18W | 1 ft |
| DSD TECH SH-CP12A Cable | 12V | Not stated |
Use the stated device lists as a starting point
The device lists in the listings narrow the field further. The HSZJsto spec table names camera, tablet and mobile phone as compatible devices, and its bullets add office, studio and travel use, so it suits small gear that already runs from a DC jack. The DSD TECH SH-CP12B spec table names laptop as a compatible device, which fits its single 5.5 x 2.1 mm plug and its PD supply support, while the J&D converter suits gear that takes a car cigarette lighter socket instead of a barrel plug. Treat these lists as the listing’s own claim, not a promise for every device in the group, and confirm the jack size and the 12V need on the gear itself before ordering.
Read the stated cover before you order
Stated cover is thin across this roundup. Only the DSD TECH SH-CP12B listing states a term, a 1 year product replacement service alongside permanent technical support, while the other listings state no warranty term at all. If stated cover matters to the purchase, that single stated term is the clearest line in the roundup, and the Controllers and Inverters guides cover the conversion gear around these cables.
Sizing Notes
- Match the DC plug to the jack on the gear: the picks cover 5.5 x 2.1 mm and 5.5 x 2.5 mm, and the HSZJsto cable adds the other sizes in its 8-plug set.
- Match the PD charger or power bank to the 12V output: every pick here needs a source that supports 12V output, and the HSZJsto listing states the charger power must exceed the output end power.
- Match cable length to the gap between source and gear: the picks state 1 m, 1.2 m and 1 ft, while the DSD TECH SH-CP12A length is not stated.
- Match stated watts to the load: the HSZJsto and DSD TECH SH-CP12B listings state 36W, and the J&D title states 18W.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do these cables work with any USB-C charger?
No. Each listing states the PD charger or power bank must support 12V output, and the DSD TECH SH-CP12B listing states a charger without 12V output will not output 12V.
Which plug size fits the widest range of jacks here?
The 5.5 x 2.1 mm plug appears on the HSZJsto cable and the DSD TECH SH-CP12B cable, and the HSZJsto cable adds a set of 8 converter plugs for other jack sizes, while the DSD TECH SH-CP12A uses a 5.5 x 2.5 mm plug.
Why does one listing state a current figure that sits oddly with its watts?
The DSD TECH SH-CP12B spec table lists 3 milliamps beside 36 watts at 12 volts, figures that sit oddly together, so lean on the stated 12V output and 36W figure and treat the spec table current figure with caution.
Does any pick state a warranty term?
Only the DSD TECH SH-CP12B listing states one, a 1 year product replacement service with permanent technical support. The other listings state no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Controllers and Inverters guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: USB-C to 12V cable roundup, DC to DC chargers, Mounts, Cables and Connectors.




