Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Rigid and Flexible Panels

Polycrystalline vs Thin Film Solar Panel: Which One Should You Buy?

A polycrystalline and a thin-film panel compared on four listings: wattage, size, flexibility, ratings and who each suits.

Polycrystalline vs Thin Film Solar Panel: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on polycrystalline vs thin film solar panel: choose thin film if your roof is curved, because the Yuma example is a flexible sheet that tapes down, and choose polycrystalline if you want a rigid framed panel, with the caveat that the HQST example’s listed wattage is unclear. We compared four listings, two tagged to each side, on what each listing states.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Polycrystalline vs thin film solar panel: side by side

Polycrystalline vs thin film BougeRV Yuma 100W CIGS HQST 50W Poly Panel SUNYIMA Mini Poly Cells BougeRV Butyl Tape Amazon
Side Thin film Polycrystalline Polycrystalline Thin-film accessory
Rated power 100 watts 50 watts in title, 10W in spec table 0.3 watts Not a panel
Panel size 42.59 by 25.98 inches 13.38 by 9.44 by 0.66 inches 2.67 by 1.45 inches 3.98 in by 32.8 feet
Weight 4.3 pounds 1.98 lbs; 8.4 pounds in second measure 0.11 kg Not stated
Water rating IP68 IP65 junction box Not stated Not stated
Warranty stated 18 months After-sales service only Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

Power and size

The Yuma is the clearest panel here: 100 watts, 42.59 by 25.98 inches, 4.3 pounds, with 4.01A and 25 volts maximum stated. The HQST title states a 50W 12V polycrystalline panel for off-grid battery charging, but its spec table lists 10W maximum power, so compare on neither figure until the listing is fixed.

The other two listings are not full-size panels. The SUNYIMA example is ten mini polycrystalline cells at 5V 60mA each, 2.67 by 1.45 inches, with 0.3 watts maximum power for the set, made for DIY solar toys and displays. The BougeRV tape example is a 3.98-inch by 32.8-foot roll of butyl rubber tape for mounting flexible panels; it generates no power.

Flexibility and mounting

The Yuma lists 360-degree flexibility for RVs, marine, yachts and curved surfaces, with pre-applied adhesive tape on the back for quick installation. The HQST is a rigid panel with an anodized aluminum frame and pre-drilled holes for mounting. The tape listing states its roll suits two 100W flexible panels or one 200W panel, applied to metal or glass surfaces.

Water and weather ratings

The Yuma listing states IP68 for the panel, the connectors and the junction box, with improved rainfall drainage. The HQST junction box is IP65-rated, and the panel is described as windproof and rainproof, but the listing warns it cannot be immersed in water. The tape is listed as corrosion-resistant for outdoor mounting.

What the listings leave unclear

The HQST listing contradicts itself: the title states 50W while the spec table states 10W maximum power; it lists 1.98 lbs next to an 8.4-pound item weight; and it gives two different dimension sets, 13.38 by 9.44 by 0.66 inches and 25.87 by 1.18 by 18.58 inches. Treat its wattage, weight and size as unknown.

On the thin-film side, only the Yuma is a panel. The BougeRV tape is a mounting accessory, and the SUNYIMA example is a set of DIY cells. The Yuma claims at least 25 years of panel life while stating an 18-month manufacturer warranty; the other three listings state no warranty term at all beyond the Yuma’s 10-year product tech support.

Four examples

BougeRV Yuma 100W CIGS

BougeRV Yuma 100W CIGS

BougeRV9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100W CIGS thin-film flexible panel, IP68-rated, for RVs, marine and curved surfaces.

Pros

  • 100 watts stated
  • IP68-rated
  • 360-degree flexible
  • 18-month warranty stated

Cons

  • 4.3 pounds listed weight
  • Tape mounting only
  • 25-year claim vs 18-month warranty
  • No rigid frame option
Detailed Review

The listing describes a 100W CIGS thin-film panel at 42.59 by 25.98 inches and 4.3 pounds, with 360-degree flexibility for RVs, marine, yachts and curved surfaces. Pre-applied adhesive tape on the back allows quick installation, and the panel, connectors and junction box are stated as IP68-rated.

The listing claims the panel can last at least 25 years and promises 10-year product tech support, while the stated manufacturer warranty is 18 months from date of purchase. It lists 4.01A and 25 volts maximum.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 1/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power100 watts
Size42.59 by 25.98 inches
Weight4.3 pounds
Water ratingIP68

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68-rated panel, connectors and junction box; no third-party safety listing stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. Manufacturer warranty for 18 months from date of purchase. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HQST 50W Poly Panel

HQST 50W Poly Panel

HQST9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V polycrystalline panel with an IP65-rated junction box, stated for off-grid battery charging.

Pros

  • IP65-rated junction box
  • Bypass diodes pre-installed
  • Anodized aluminum frame
  • 12V and 24V array use stated

Cons

  • 50W title vs 10W spec table
  • Two conflicting size sets
  • Two conflicting weights
  • No warranty term stated
Detailed Review

The title states a 50W 12V polycrystalline panel for off-grid battery charging, with grade A polycrystalline cells, an anodized aluminum frame and pre-installed bypass diodes. The junction box is IP65-rated and the listing includes 1.2in 12AWG cables.

The spec table conflicts with the title: it lists 10W maximum power, 1.98 lbs against 8.4 pounds item weight, and 13.38 by 9.44 by 0.66 inches against 25.87 by 1.18 by 18.58 inches. Treat the wattage and size as unclear.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Cell typePolycrystalline
Voltage12 volts
Open circuit voltage21.4V
Junction boxIP65-rated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65-rated junction box stated; no third-party safety listing stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNYIMA Mini Poly Cells

SUNYIMA Mini Poly Cells

SUNYIMA9.3/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Ten 5V 60mA mini polycrystalline cells for DIY solar toys and projects.

Pros

  • 10 cells included
  • 21.5-23.5% efficiency stated
  • 0.11 kg listed weight
  • DIY project use stated

Cons

  • 0.3 watts maximum power
  • No cable included
  • No warranty stated
  • Not a full-size panel
Detailed Review

The listing describes ten mini polycrystalline cells at 5V 60mA each, measuring 2.67 by 1.45 inches, for DIY powered models, solar toys and solar displays. It states 21.5-23.5% conversion efficiency and a 0.11 kg weight.

The spec table lists 0.3 watts maximum power and 5 volts maximum, with a USB connector and no cable. These are components for projects, not a panel for charging a battery bank.

Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Cells10
Cell power5V 60mA
Cell size2.67 by 1.45 inches
Weight0.11 kg

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, TÜV or IEC listing and no weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BougeRV Butyl Tape

BougeRV Butyl Tape

BougeRV9.3/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Butyl rubber mounting tape for flexible solar panels, 3.98 inches by 32.8 feet.

Pros

  • 32.8 feet of tape
  • Cut-to-fit installation
  • Corrosion-resistant stated
  • For Yuma CIGS panels

Cons

  • Not a solar panel
  • Smooth surfaces only
  • Residue risk on removal
  • No warranty stated
Detailed Review

The listing is for butyl rubber tape to mount flexible solar panels, in a 3.98-inch by 32.8-foot roll. It is stated to suit two 100W flexible panels or one 200W panel, applied to metal or glass surfaces on RVs, boats and roofs.

The tape is an accessory on the thin-film side, not a panel: it generates no power. The listing warns that removal needs 98% alcohol or diesel and may leave residue.

Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 18/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 59 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size3.98 in by 32.8 feet
MaterialButyl rubber
UseFlexible panel mounting
ColorBlack

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety here covers the stated electrical and weather protections: the IP68 rating on the Yuma and the IP65-rated junction box on the HQST. The Yuma is the only listing with a stated warranty term, at 18 months.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
BougeRV Yuma 100W CIGS 9.6 30 21 21 5 1
HQST 50W Poly Panel 9.5 28 20 20 5 0
SUNYIMA Mini Poly Cells 9.3 26 19 19 0 0
BougeRV Butyl Tape 9.3 23 18 18 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Polycrystalline vs thin film solar panel: which should you choose?

Choose the Yuma if you need a flexible 100W sheet for a curved RV or boat roof, with tape mounting and an IP68 rating. Choose the HQST if you want a small rigid panel for off-grid battery charging and can live with its unclear wattage. The SUNYIMA cells suit DIY toys, and the BougeRV tape suits mounting a flexible panel on a smooth surface.

If you need Look at
Rigid framed panel HQST 50W Poly Panel
Flexible curved-roof sheet BougeRV Yuma 100W CIGS
DIY toy cells SUNYIMA Mini Poly Cells
Mounting tape BougeRV Butyl Tape

Sizing Notes

  • Match the panel’s stated voltage to your battery and charge controller before buying.
  • The Yuma is a 100W flexible sheet; the HQST title claims 50W but its spec table says 10W, so confirm before sizing a system.
  • Mount flexible panels only on smooth surfaces, per the tape listing, and expect residue if you ever remove the tape.
  • Leave roof penetrations and wiring to a qualified installer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a thin-film panel mount on a curved RV roof?

The Yuma listing describes 360-degree flexibility for RVs, marine, yachts and curved surfaces, with pre-applied adhesive tape on the back for quick installation.

What does the IP68 rating cover on the Yuma?

The listing states the panel, the connectors and the junction box are IP68-rated, with improved rainfall drainage to lessen the influence of partial shade.

Why does the HQST listing show two wattages?

The title states 50W while the spec table states 10W maximum power. Treat the wattage as unclear, along with the weight and dimensions, which also conflict.

Is the BougeRV tape a solar panel?

No. It is butyl rubber tape for mounting flexible solar panels, in a 3.98-inch by 32.8-foot roll. It generates no power.

What warranty does the Yuma state?

A manufacturer warranty of 18 months from date of purchase, plus 10-year product tech support. The other three listings state no warranty term.

BougeRV Yuma 100W CIGS
Still deciding? Our top pickBougeRV Yuma 100W CIGS
Check price on Amazon

See every solar panels guide and the rigid and flexible panels section. For wiring, see the series vs parallel solar panels comparison.

More picks: solar panels, rigid and flexible panels and solar panel kits for RV.