Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans

Solar Motion Light vs Hardwired Motion Light: Which One Should You Buy?

Two solar and two hardwired motion lights compared on power, brightness, detection, weather codes and warranty terms.

Solar Motion Light vs Hardwired Motion Light: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on solar motion light vs hardwired motion light: pick solar when the spot has no wiring and the job is light traffic areas with the sun to feed it, and pick hardwired when a junction box is handy and the job needs full brightness on demand. The solar pair here clips on with no drilling; the hardwired pair brings certifications and 2-year terms.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar motion light vs hardwired motion light: side by side

Solar vs Hardwired Onforu 32W OREiN Dual-Head LUHLEE 2-Pack LIFENGSOLER 2-Pack Amazon
Power Hardwired, 32W Hardwired, 110V Solar + USB-C Solar
Lumens 3200 1600 in data 3000 600 per light
Detection 180°, 19-72 ft Not stated Not stated 10-16.5 ft, 120°
Modes Dusk to dawn, motion 3 modes Remote 3 PIR modes
Weather IP65 IP65, CE, FCC, RoHS IP65 IP65
Warranty 2 years 2-year guarantee Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

Power source and install

The solar pair runs on solar with USB-C or panel charging and clips onto fences, rails and gutters with no drilling. The hardwired pair needs a 110V or 120V junction box and an electrician’s visit. On power, the Onforu states 32W and 3200LM, the OREiN states a 150W equivalent, the LUHLEE states 3000LM from solar and the LIFENGSOLER states 600 lm per light.

Detection and modes

The Onforu states 180 degree detection over 19-72 ft; the LIFENGSOLER states 10-16.5 ft in a 120 degree field; the OREiN and LUHLEE state motion sensing without a stated range. For modes, the OREiN states 3 (motion, manual, dusk to dawn), the Onforu states dusk to dawn at 30% plus motion, the LIFENGSOLER states 3 PIR modes and the LUHLEE states a remote with modes not fully detailed.

Brightness

Brightness is stated on all four, but the units match: the Onforu at 3200LM and the LUHLEE at 3000LM are the brightest stated; the OREiN data shows 1600 lumens while its title claims only a 150W equivalent; the LIFENGSOLER states 600 lm per light. Compare the figures as stated, not across sides.

Weather and warranty

All four state IP65. On warranty, the hardwired pair states terms: 2 years on the Onforu and a 2-year guarantee on the OREiN. The LUHLEE states no term, and the LIFENGSOLER warranty type says “Lifetime” with no stated terms, which is not concrete.

What the listings leave unclear

The OREiN title claims a 150W equivalent with no lumen figure, while its data shows 1600 lumens. The LIFENGSOLER “Lifetime” warranty has no stated terms. The LUHLEE states 8-12 hours of light from 6-8 hours of sun without a stated panel size.

Four examples

Onforu 32W Motion Light

Onforu 32W Motion Light

Onforu9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hardwired 32W motion light with 3200LM, 3CCT, 180 degree detection and 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 3200LM stated with 32W
  • 3CCT: 3000K, 4000K, 6500K stated
  • 180 degree detection with 19-72 ft range stated
  • 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Hardwired: needs a 120V junction box
  • No solar: no stated output in an outage
  • Up to 1150 sq ft is a maker claim
  • E26 bulb base noted in the spec table
Detailed Review

The listing states a hardwired dual-head motion light with 32W, 3200LM, 3 color temperatures (3000K, 4000K, 6500K), 180 degree detection over 19-72 ft, dusk-to-dawn at 30% brightness and IP65. It states a 2-year warranty. This is corded electric, not solar.

Who it's for: owners with a junction box who want bright constant power. Who should skip it: anyone without wiring access or who needs solar.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 1/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power32W, hardwired
Output3200LM
Detection180°, 19-72 ft
WeatherIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OREiN Dual-Head Light

OREiN Dual-Head Light

OREiN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hardwired dual-head light with 3 modes, 150W equivalent, CE/FCC/RoHS and 2-year guarantee.

Pros

  • 3 modes: motion, manual, dusk to dawn
  • 150W equivalent stated
  • CE, FCC and RoHS stated
  • 2-year guarantee stated

Cons

  • Hardwired 110V: needs a junction box
  • 1600 lumens in facts vs no lumen claim in the title
  • Wattage line in the spec table is unclear
  • Dual heads only, no third head
Detailed Review

The listing states a hardwired dual-head LED flood light with 3 modes (motion, manual, dusk to dawn at 30% then 100% on motion), 150W equivalent at 5000K, IP65, CE, FCC and RoHS, and a 110V hardwired install. It states a 2-year guarantee. The lumen figure appears in the data at 1600 but not in the title.

Who it's for: owners who want a certified hardwired light with mode choice. Who should skip it: anyone without wiring access or who needs solar.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 1/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power110V hardwired
Modes3
Color temp5000K
WeatherIP65, CE, FCC, RoHS

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65, CE, FCC and RoHS stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year guarantee stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LUHLEE Clip-On 2-Pack

LUHLEE Clip-On 2-Pack

LUHLEE9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A solar 2-pack with 275 LEDs, 3000LM, 3000mAh, 3 heads and IP65.

Pros

  • 3000LM stated with 275 LEDs
  • 3000mAh battery, 8-12 hours stated
  • Solar and USB-C charging stated
  • Clip-on install, no drilling stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 6-8 hour charge needs full sun
  • 1.5 pounds per light
  • Remote included but modes not detailed in full
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of clip-on solar lights with 275 LEDs, 3000LM at 6500K, 3 heads, a 3000mAh battery charging in 6-8 hours of sun for 8-12 hours of light, motion sensor, remote control, IP65 and both solar and USB-C charging. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: owners who want bright solar light with no wiring. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output3000LM
LEDs275
Battery3000mAh, 8-12 h
WeatherIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LIFENGSOLER Clip-On 2-Pack

LIFENGSOLER Clip-On 2-Pack

LIFENGSOLER9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A solar 2-pack with 128 LEDs, 600 lm per light, 3 PIR modes and IP65.

Pros

  • 600 lm per light stated
  • 3 PIR modes stated
  • 10-16.5 ft detection with 120 degree field
  • Clip fits edges up to 2.44 in stated

Cons

  • No concrete warranty term is stated
  • 6000K cool white only
  • 600 lm, far dimmer than the LUHLEE
  • No battery figure stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of clip-on solar lights with 128 LEDs, 600 lm per light at 6000K, 3 PIR modes, a 10-16.5 ft detection range in a 120 degree field, 6-8 hours of sun charging for more than 8 hours of light and IP65. The warranty type says 'Lifetime' with no stated terms, which is not a concrete term.

Who it's for: owners who want small clip lights for stairs and fences. Who should skip it: anyone who wants high brightness or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output600 lm per light
LEDs128
Detection10-16.5 ft, 120°
WeatherIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety here means the stated weather code and marks: IP65 on all four, plus CE, FCC and RoHS on the OREiN. Warranty goes to the hardwired side: 2 years on the Onforu and a 2-year guarantee on the OREiN; the solar pair states no concrete term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Onforu 32W Motion Light 9.6 30 21 20 6 1
OREiN Dual-Head Light 9.6 28 21 19 7 1
LUHLEE Clip-On 2-Pack 9.5 29 20 20 6 0
LIFENGSOLER Clip-On 2-Pack 9.5 26 19 20 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Solar motion light vs hardwired motion light: which should you choose?

Choose solar for unwired spots with good sun. Choose hardwired for bright, always-on security at a wired fixture.

If you need Look at
No-drill install The LUHLEE or LIFENGSOLER 2-packs
Brightest stated output The Onforu, 3200LM stated
A stated warranty term The Onforu or OREiN, 2 years
Certifications stated The OREiN, CE, FCC and RoHS
Small clip lights for stairs The LIFENGSOLER, 600 lm per light

Sizing Notes

  • Match power to the site: sun and USB-C on the solar pair, a 110V or 120V junction box on the hardwired pair.
  • Match brightness to the job: 600 to 3200LM stated across these four.
  • Check the detection range: 19-72 ft on the Onforu, 10-16.5 ft on the LIFENGSOLER.
  • Note the warranty: 2-year terms only on the hardwired pair.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which works without wiring?

The solar pair: both clip on with no drilling and run on solar.

Which states the most lumens?

The Onforu at 3200LM, then the LUHLEE at 3000LM.

Which states a warranty term?

The Onforu at 2 years and the OREiN with a 2-year guarantee. The solar pair states no concrete term.

Which has the widest detection?

The Onforu, at 180 degrees over 19-72 ft.

Which is best for stairs and fences?

The LIFENGSOLER, a clip-on 2-pack made for rails and stair risers.

Onforu 32W Motion Light
Still deciding? Our top pickOnforu 32W Motion Light
Check price on Amazon

See every Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guide. Also see our best solar motion light for porch and solar motion lights vs solar flood lights.