On this page
Solar vs alternator charging comes down to a campsite at dusk with a dead phone: the sun is gone, the engine is off, and the only power left is what was banked during the day. The short answer: choose the alternator charger when the engine runs daily and the power station needs a fast refill, and choose the solar bank when the loads are phones and small devices away from the vehicle. The two listings below make the trade concrete.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Solar vs Alternator: side by side
| Solar vs Alternator | BLAVOR PN-W05 Solar Bank | Anker SOLIX 800W Charger | Stated by |
|---|---|---|---|
| Device type | Solar power bank | Alternator charger | Title |
| Capacity stated | 10,000mAh | Not stated | Spec table |
| Charge rate stated | 20W USB-C | 800W | Title |
| Wireless charging | Qi stated | Not stated | Spec table |
| App control | Not stated | Bluetooth and Wi-Fi stated | Bullets |
| Weather rating | IPX5 stated | Not stated | Bullets |
| Certifications stated | Not stated | UL, CE, FCC, IEC | Spec table |
| Warranty stated | 3 years | Not stated | Spec table |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.
Charge rate and what gets charged
On raw charge rate the figures are 800W against 20W, but they describe different jobs. The Anker is an 800W alternator charger that the listing says fills a 2kWh Anker SOLIX power station in 3 hours, up to 8 times faster than a car auxiliary port. The BLAVOR is a 10,000mAh bank with 20W USB-C that the listing says takes an iPhone 15 to 65% in 30 minutes, charging 3 devices at once with Qi wireless. Compare them as methods, not as rivals: one refills a power station, the other tops up phones.
Where each method works
The Anker only charges while the vehicle runs. It mounts with a battery connection cable and a 100A fuse wire, and the listing claims compatibility with 99% of RVs and gas vehicles. The BLAVOR works anywhere: pocket-size at 9.3 ounces with an IPX5 rating, a solar panel for trickle top-ups, and dual flashlights. The listing does not state the solar panel wattage, so treat the solar input as a slow top-up, not a primary charge source.
Certifications and warranty
The Anker spec table lists UL, CE, FCC and IEC, but states no warranty term. The BLAVOR lists an IPX5 rating and a flame-retardant ABS and PC housing, with a 3-year warranty in the spec table. Note the BLAVOR spec table also says Warranty Description: no, which contradicts the 3-year entry; the longer, specific entry is the one to go by, and the contradiction is worth knowing before purchase.
What the listings leave unclear
The BLAVOR listing has the most internal friction: lithium-cobalt in the bullets against Lithium Polymer in the spec table, and dimensions as both 5.91 x 3.07 x 0.87 and 5.9 x 3.1 x 0.8 inches. The Anker listing is cleaner but leaves the warranty unstated and ties the charger to Anker SOLIX power stations. Neither listing states what the other side would need to be judged against it, so the honest read is two separate tools, not two versions of one tool.
Two examples

Anker SOLIX 800W Charger
800W alternator charger that the listing says charges up to 8 times faster than a car auxiliary port, filling a 2kWh power station in 3 hours.
Pros
- 800W charging, up to 8 times faster than a car auxiliary port per the listing
- Charges a 2kWh power station to full in 3 hours, per the listing
- Compatible with 99% of RVs and gas vehicles, per the listing
- Bluetooth and Wi-Fi app control with three charging modes
Cons
- Needs an Anker SOLIX power station; not a standalone charger
- No warranty term is stated
- Requires installation with a 100A fuse and battery connection
- Only charges while the vehicle runs
Detailed Review
The listing describes an 800W alternator charger that charges up to 8 times faster than a car auxiliary port, filling a 2kWh Anker SOLIX power station in 3 hours. It offers three charging modes, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi app control, and compatibility with 99% of RVs and gas vehicles. The box includes an XT-60i port cable, battery connection cable, 100A fuse wire, installation board and screws. The spec table lists UL, CE, FCC and IEC.
Who it's for: RV and van owners with an Anker SOLIX power station who want fast charging while driving. Who should skip it: anyone without a compatible power station or who wants charging while parked.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charge rate | 800W |
|---|---|
| Compatibility | 99% of RVs and gas vehicles, per the listing |
| Control | Bluetooth and Wi-Fi app |
| In the box | 100A fuse wire, XT-60i cable |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL, CE, FCC and IEC stated in the spec table, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BLAVOR PN-W05 Solar Bank
10,000mAh solar power bank with 20W USB-C, Qi wireless charging, IPX5 rating and dual flashlights.
Pros
- 20W USB-C fast charging; iPhone 15 to 65% in 30 minutes per the listing
- Charges 3 devices at once, plus Qi wireless
- IPX5 rating with flame-retardant ABS and PC housing
- 3-year warranty stated
Cons
- Bullets say lithium-cobalt, spec table says Lithium Polymer
- Dimensions listed as both 5.91 x 3.07 x 0.87 and 5.9 x 3.1 x 0.8 inches
- Spec table says both 3-year warranty and Warranty Description: no
- Solar panel wattage is not stated
Detailed Review
The listing describes a 10,000mAh solar power bank with 20W USB-C output that charges an iPhone 15 to 65% in 30 minutes, Qi wireless charging, and simultaneous charging of 3 devices. The housing is flame-retardant ABS and PC with an IPX5 rating, dual flashlights and a compass carabiner, at 9.3 ounces. The bullets say the battery is lithium-cobalt while the spec table says Lithium Polymer; dimensions appear as both 5.91 x 3.07 x 0.87 and 5.9 x 3.1 x 0.8 inches; and the spec table lists both a 3-year warranty and Warranty Description: no.
Who it's for: campers and hikers who want a pocket-size bank with a solar trickle top-up for phones. Who should skip it: anyone who needs to charge a power station or power larger devices.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 10,000mAh |
|---|---|
| Output | 20W USB-C, Qi wireless |
| Rating | IPX5 |
| Weight | 9.3 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX5 rating and flame-retardant ABS and PC housing stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. The listing states a 3-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How the picks are scored
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For charging gear, safety means stated certifications, ratings or protections; the Anker lists UL, CE, FCC and IEC, and the BLAVOR lists an IPX5 rating and flame-retardant housing. Only the BLAVOR states a warranty term, 3 years. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anker SOLIX 800W Charger | 9.6 | 33 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| BLAVOR PN-W05 Solar Bank | 9.5 | 27 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Solar vs alternator charging: which should you choose?
Choose the alternator charger if the engine runs every day and the goal is refilling a power station fast: 800W with app control, at the cost of installation and a running engine. Choose the solar bank if the loads are phones, earbuds and small USB devices and the priority is pocket-size portability with a trickle of solar. For a mixed setup, the two methods complement each other: alternator for the big refill on driving days, solar bank for the small devices at camp. See how charging methods compare in the DC to DC charger vs MPPT charge controller guide.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Fast power station refills while driving | Anker SOLIX 800W Charger, 800W |
| Pocket-size phone charging with solar top-up | BLAVOR PN-W05 Solar Bank, 10,000mAh |
| Stated certifications | Anker, UL, CE, FCC and IEC |
| Stated warranty | BLAVOR, 3 years |
Sizing Notes
- Match the charger’s stated output to the power station it feeds: the Anker is built for Anker SOLIX stations.
- Size the bank to the loads: the BLAVOR is a 10,000mAh phone-scale bank, not a power station charger.
- Fuse the alternator charger’s positive lead as the manual directs; the box includes a 100A fuse wire.
- Check the 99% compatibility claim against your own RV or vehicle before buying.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can an alternator charger replace solar panels?
It replaces the wait on sun while driving: the Anker charges at 800W whenever the engine runs. It does not charge while parked, which is where panels or a bank help. See solar vs AC charging for portable power stations for the parked side.
Will the BLAVOR bank charge a power station?
No. It is a 10,000mAh phone-scale bank with 20W USB-C and Qi wireless; the listing does not state power station charging.
Does the Anker work with any power station?
The listing names Anker SOLIX portable power stations and 99% of RVs and gas vehicles. It does not state compatibility with other brands.
How fast is 800W alternator charging?
The listing says up to 8 times faster than a car auxiliary port, filling a 2kWh station in 3 hours.
What does the IPX5 rating mean?
It is the listing’s stated ingress rating for the BLAVOR bank, paired with a flame-retardant ABS and PC housing.
Related guides
See every Solar Chargers and Power Banks guide and all DC to DC Chargers guides.
More picks: solar charger vs wall charger, solar power bank vs power bank, smart vs trickle charger, power station vs power bank.




