On this page
The short answer on 12V refrigerator vs propane refrigerator: a 12V compressor fridge runs off your vehicle or power station battery and cools fast, while a propane absorption fridge stores far more food with no compressor noise. Pick the 12V side if you camp from a vehicle with battery or solar power. Pick the propane side if you run an off-grid cabin or RV with an LPG line and need a full-size fridge.
We compared three listings as examples of the two sides: two 12V compressor fridges and one propane absorption fridge. We looked at what each listing states: capacity, power, temperature range, noise and warranty. The 12V pair wins on cooling speed and portability; the propane example wins on capacity with 9.4 cubic feet.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
12V vs propane: side by side
Capacity
The SMETA propane example states 9.4 cubic feet with a freezer. The two 12V examples state 30 quarts each. That is a different class: the propane fridge is an apartment-size unit, while the 12V pair are portable chests. Note the SMETA spec table lists 13.4 cubic feet and the bullets say 9.5, so trust the title and bullets.
Power and temperature
The BougeRV CRPRO 30QT states 60W in Max mode and 45W in Eco mode, with a -8°F to 50°F range. The BougeRV CR28 states about 36W in Eco and 45W in Max, with fast cooling from 77°F to 32°F in 15 minutes and a -8°F to 50°F range. The SMETA states approximate gas use of 1.6 pounds of propane per day with absorption cooling, no compressor and no fan. The 12V pair needs a charged battery; the propane example needs an LPG supply.
Noise and size
Both 12V examples state 45dB low noise with shock-proof design for off-road inclines. The SMETA states no noise and no vibration, since absorption cooling has no compressor and no fan. The 12V pair weighs 26.1 and 24.14 pounds; the SMETA is a stand-alone unit that needs 4 inches of clearance on top and 1 inch on the back and sides. See our best 12V refrigerator for van for more portable options.
What the listings leave unclear
Neither 12V listing states a runtime figure for a given battery, so we cannot say how long either runs on one charge. The SMETA lists no watt or volt figure beyond 110V gas operation, so we cannot compare energy cost between the sides. The 12V listings state no noise difference between the two sides, since the propane example’s “no noise” is a different claim than 45dB, not a measured comparison.
Three examples
| 12V vs Propane | BougeRV CRPRO 30QT Fridge | BougeRV CR28 Cover Fridge | SMETA Propane 9.4 cu ft Fridge | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Side | 12V compressor | 12V compressor | Propane absorption | |
| Capacity | 30 quarts | 30 quarts | 9.4 cu ft | |
| Power | Max 60W, Eco 45W | Max 45W, Eco 36W | 1.6 lb propane/day | |
| Temperature | -8°F to 50°F | -8°F to 50°F | Not stated | |
| Noise | 45dB | 45dB | No noise stated | |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BougeRV CR28 Cover Fridge | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | BougeRV CRPRO 30QT Fridge | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SMETA Propane 9.4 cu ft Fridge | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 2-year warranty stated
- Insulated cover included
- 3-level battery protection stated
- 36W Eco / 45W Max stated
Cons
- 24.14 pounds
- No runtime figure for a battery stated
- Rotary scroll compressor, not inverter
- Cover only fits this model
Detailed Review
The listing states a 30-quart 12V refrigerator with compressor refrigeration, fast cooling from 77°F to 32°F in 15 minutes, 36W in Eco mode and 45W in Max mode, -8°F to 50°F range, 45dB low noise, a 3-level battery monitor, an insulated cover, 12/24V DC and 110V AC power, CE listing and a 2-year warranty.
Who it's for: campers on the 12V side who want an insulated cover. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a full-size fridge.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 30 quarts |
|---|---|
| Power | Max 45W, Eco 36W |
| Cooling | 77°F to 32°F in 15 min |
| Cert | CE |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 2-year tech support stated
- 60W Max / 45W Eco stated
- 4 tie-down points stated
- Built-in storage compartment stated
Cons
- 26.1 pounds, the heaviest here
- No runtime figure for a battery stated
- Manual defrost
- 217 kWh annual consumption stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 30-quart 12V refrigerator with compressor refrigeration, -8°F to 50°F range, 60W in Max mode and 45W in Eco mode, 45dB low noise, shock-proof design for 30° inclines, a built-in storage compartment, 4 tie-down points, an LED interior light, 12/24V DC and 110V AC power and 2-year tech support.
Who it's for: truck and RV travelers on the 12V side. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a full-size fridge.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 30 quarts |
|---|---|
| Power | Max 60W, Eco 45W |
| Temperature | -8°F to 50°F |
| Noise | 45dB |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 2-year tech support stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 9.4 cu ft stated
- No noise stated
- UL stated
- 2-way 110V and gas LPG stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 1.6 lb propane per day stated
- Spec table claims 13.4 cuft against the title
- Needs 4in top clearance stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a propane refrigerator with 9.4 cubic feet, a freezer, absorption cooling with no compressor, no fan and no Freon, no noise and no vibration, 110V or gas LPG operation, about 1.6 pounds of propane per day, a reversible door, adjustable shelves, a UL listing and dimensions of 29.1 by 23.6 by 64.2 inches. The spec table claims 13.4 cubic feet against the title, so trust the title and bullets.
Who it's for: off-grid cabins and RVs on the propane side. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a portable fridge.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 9.4 cu ft |
|---|---|
| Fuel | 1.6 lb propane/day |
| Cooling | Absorption |
| Cert | UL |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. In a head-to-head, a figure from one listing describes that listing only. Two of the three examples state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BougeRV CR28 Cover Fridge | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 7 | 2 |
| BougeRV CRPRO 30QT Fridge | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| SMETA Propane 9.4 cu ft Fridge | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 19 | 4 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose: 12V refrigerator vs propane refrigerator
Pick the 12V side if you camp from a vehicle
The BougeRV CRPRO 30QT states a built-in storage compartment for a 266Wh power station, 4 tie-down points, an LED interior light and 2-year tech support. The BougeRV CR28 includes an insulated cover, a 3-level battery monitor to protect your vehicle battery, and a 2-year warranty. Both run on 12/24V DC and 110V AC, so they work from a car, truck, RV or power station.
Pick the propane side if you need a full-size fridge off the grid
The SMETA example states 9.4 cubic feet, a freezer, 4 adjustable shelves, a vegetable crisper, reversible door and a UL listing. It runs on 110V or gas LPG, uses about 1.6 pounds of propane per day, and has no compressor, no fan and no Freon. That makes it a candidate for cabins, farms and off-grid homes where a portable chest cannot hold enough food.
| 12V vs Propane | BougeRV CRPRO 30QT Fridge | BougeRV CR28 Cover Fridge | SMETA Propane 9.4 cu ft Fridge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Side | 12V compressor | 12V compressor | Propane absorption |
| Capacity | 30 quarts | 30 quarts | 9.4 cu ft |
| Power | 60W Max / 45W Eco | 45W Max / 36W Eco | 1.6 lb propane/day |
| Temperature | -8°F to 50°F | -8°F to 50°F | Not stated |
| Noise | 45dB | 45dB | No noise stated |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years | Not stated |
Sizing Notes
- Match the capacity: 30 quarts on the 12V examples vs 9.4 cubic feet on the propane example.
- Match the power source: 12/24V DC and 110V AC for the 12V pair, LPG or 110V for the propane example.
- Check the clearance: the SMETA asks for 4 inches on top and 1 inch on the back and sides.
- Check the weight: 26.1 pounds on the CRPRO 30QT vs 24.14 pounds on the CR28.
- Check warranty lines before ordering: 2 years on both 12V examples, none stated on the propane example.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which side cools food faster?
The 12V examples state fast cooling: the CR28 states 15 minutes from 77°F to 32°F. The propane example states no cooling-time figure.
Which side is quieter?
The SMETA states no noise and no vibration, since absorption cooling has no compressor and no fan. The two 12V examples state 45dB low noise.
Which examples state a warranty term?
Both 12V examples state 2 years of tech support or warranty. The propane example states none.
Can a propane fridge run on electricity?
The SMETA example is a 2-way fridge: it states 110V or gas LPG operation.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide. Also see our 12V cooler vs 12V refrigerator. Also see our best 12V refrigerator for camping. Also see our best 12V refrigerator for van.










