On this page
When the panels sit in the only sunny patch and the power station waits in the shade by the door, the 15 ft vs 30 ft solar extension cable decision is what bridges the gap. We compared a 15 ft example and a 30 ft example on what each listing states, from length and wire to connectors, weather sealing and warranty. The short verdict is blunt: the BougeRV 30 ft cable is the only true solar extension cable here, a 10AWG red-and-black pair with solar connectors on both ends, while the POWSAV 15 ft example is a surge-protector power strip with a 15-foot cord. Pick the BougeRV to extend a panel; pick the POWSAV when you need more outlets near the plug.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
15 ft vs 30 ft: side by side
| 15 ft vs 30 ft | POWSAV 15 Ft Power Strip | BougeRV 30 Ft Solar Cable | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cable length | 15 ft cord | 30 ft per cable | BougeRV states the longer cable |
| Wire | Not stated | 10AWG pure copper, tinned | Only BougeRV states the wire |
| Connectors | Type B flat plug | Solar connectors both ends, extra pair | BougeRV includes a spare pair |
| Weather sealing | Not stated | IP67 ring on male connector | Only BougeRV states a code |
| Outlets | 18 AC + 4 USB | None | POWSAV is a power strip |
| Surge protection | 2100 joules, 3-level | Not stated | POWSAV only |
| Certifications | ETL listed | Not stated | POWSAV only |
| Cord power | 1875W, 15A | Not stated | POWSAV only |
| Warranty | 1 year | Not stated | POWSAV states 12 months |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
Length and what it connects
Length is the headline difference, but what each length connects to matters more. The POWSAV example is an 18-outlet surge-protector power strip with 4 USB ports, and its 15 ft measurement is the flat-plug power cord running from the strip to the plug. The BougeRV example is one pair of cables, one red and one black, each 30 feet long, with solar connectors on both ends, built to sit between a panel and an off-grid power system. In short, the 15 ft side stretches outlet access from one plug, while the 30 ft side stretches how far the panel itself can sit.
Wire, connectors and weather sealing
Only the BougeRV states wire details: 10AWG pure copper, tinned for corrosion, with dual thick insulation, which the listing calls the largest of the typical 14, 12 and 10 AWG solar cable sizes. Its connectors are solar connectors on both ends of each cable, and the box adds an extra pair of separate solar connectors. Weather sealing is also a BougeRV-only claim: an IP67 ring on the male connector with a built-in lock, plus PPO material and PVC sheeting the listing calls weather-resistant and UV resistant. The POWSAV states no wire gauge for its 15 ft cord, no solar connectors and no weather code; its plug is a Type B flat plug.
Protection and certifications
The POWSAV carries the certifications: ETL listed, with the cord and major components certified, a 3-level surge circuit built from TVS, MOV and GDT parts and rated at 2100 joules, overload protection and an over-current protection switch, on a cord rated 1875W and 15A. Its shell is PC with flame retardant at 1382 degrees Fahrenheit stated. The BougeRV states no ETL, UL or other listing; its safety story is the IP67 connector ring and the built-in lock that keeps the connection sealed.
What the listings leave unclear
Two things stay murky. The POWSAV never states the wire gauge of its 15 ft cord, so there is no stated copper figure to set against the BougeRV 10AWG. The BougeRV never states a voltage or current figure for the cable, and it promises 18 months of tech support rather than a warranty term, so the POWSAV 1-year term is the only warranty stated. Neither listing contradicts itself: the POWSAV title, bullets and spec table agree on 18 outlets, 15 ft and ETL, and the BougeRV title and bullets agree on 30 ft, 10AWG and the extra connector pair.
Two examples

POWSAV 15 Ft Power Strip
An 18-outlet surge-protector power strip with 4 USB ports on a 15-foot flat-plug cord, with 2100 joules of surge protection and ETL listing stated.
Pros
- 18 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports at 5V/3.0A stated
- 2100 joules with 3-level TVS, MOV and GDT protection stated
- ETL listed with overload and over-current protection stated
- 15 ft flat-plug cord with reusable cable ties stated
Cons
- No solar connectors stated, so it cannot extend a panel
- Wire gauge of the 15 ft cord is not stated
- Strip body measures 11.7 by 4.9 inches
- USB ports are 5V/3.0A only
Detailed Review
The listing states an 18-outlet surge-protector power strip with 4 USB ports at 5V/3.0A and 17W, on a 15-foot flat-plug cord rated 1875W and 15A. It states 2100 joules of surge protection through a 3-level TVS, MOV and GDT circuit, ETL listing with the cord and major components certified, an over-current protection switch, overload protection, a flame-retardant PC shell rated at 1382 degrees Fahrenheit, and reusable cable ties. The spec table lists 125 volts, a Type B plug, 22 total ports, an 11.7 by 4.9 inch body and a 1-year warranty, while the bullets state a 30-day return and 12-month warranty service.
Who it's for: desks and work areas that need many outlets and USB charging from one plug with stated surge protection. Who should skip it: anyone who needs to extend a solar panel, since no solar connectors are stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Cord | 15 ft flat plug |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 18 AC, 4 USB |
| Protection | 2100J, TVS/MOV/GDT |
| Listing | ETL listed |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed; 3-level TVS, MOV, GDT surge protection with overload and over-current protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BougeRV 30 Ft Solar Cable
A pair of 30-foot 10AWG solar extension cables in red and black with solar connectors on both ends, an extra connector pair, tinned pure copper and an IP67 connector ring stated.
Pros
- 10AWG pure copper wire, tinned for corrosion, stated
- IP67 ring on the male connector with built-in lock stated
- Extra pair of solar connectors included
- UV-resistant PPO and PVC with dual thick insulation stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated, only 18 months of tech support
- No voltage or current figure is stated for the cable
- Pair weighs 3.83 pounds
- Only one red and one black cable in the pair
Detailed Review
The listing states one pair of cables, one red and one black, each 30 feet long, in 10AWG with solar connectors on both ends, plus an extra pair of separate solar connectors. It states pure copper wire, tinned for corrosion, with dual thick insulation, an IP67 ring on the male connector with a built-in lock, and PPO material with PVC sheeting that is weather-resistant and UV resistant. The pair weighs 3.83 pounds. The listing notes 10 AWG is the largest of the typical 14, 12 and 10 AWG solar cable sizes and that larger diameter minimizes power loss. It promises 18 months of tech support; no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: RV, van, boat and off-grid owners who need a 30-foot cable run from the panel. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term or a shorter cord.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 30 ft, red + black |
|---|---|
| Wire | 10AWG pure copper, tinned |
| Connectors | Both ends, extra pair |
| Weight | 3.83 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 ring on male connector with built-in lock stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For cables and cable-like gear, safety means stated certifications, weather sealing and protection features: the POWSAV states ETL listing with 3-level surge and overload protection, and the BougeRV states an IP67 connector ring with a built-in lock. One of the two states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| POWSAV 15 Ft Power Strip | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| BougeRV 30 Ft Solar Cable | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
15 ft vs 30 ft solar extension cable: which should you choose?
Choose the BougeRV 30 ft cable when the job is extending a solar panel: it is the only example here with solar connectors, stated 10AWG wire and a stated IP67 seal, and the extra connector pair covers a spare. Choose the POWSAV 15 ft example when the job is powering many devices from one plug: 18 AC outlets and 4 USB ports with 2100 joules of surge protection and ETL listing, on a 15 ft cord. Do not buy the POWSAV to extend a panel; it states no solar connectors. For shorter cable runs see our 10 ft vs 15 ft solar extension cable comparison, and for panel-side wiring see best solar extension cable for RV. Connector questions are covered in MC4 vs XT60 connectors.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| A true panel extension cable | BougeRV 30 Ft Solar Cable, 10AWG pair |
| More outlets from one plug | POWSAV 15 Ft Power Strip, 18 AC + 4 USB |
| Stated weather sealing | BougeRV 30 Ft Solar Cable, IP67 ring |
| Stated surge protection | POWSAV 15 Ft Power Strip, 2100 joules |
Sizing Notes
- Match the wire to the run: the BougeRV states 10AWG pure copper, while the POWSAV states no gauge for its 15 ft cord.
- Count the connections: the BougeRV includes solar connectors on both ends plus one spare pair.
- Size the load on the strip: the POWSAV states 1875W and 15A with overload protection.
- Check the warranty line: 1 year stated on the POWSAV; the BougeRV states 18 months of tech support, not a warranty.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the POWSAV 15 ft example a solar extension cable?
No. The listing describes an 18-outlet surge-protector power strip with 4 USB ports and a 15-foot cord. It states no solar connectors.
What does the BougeRV 30 ft cable state for wire and connectors?
10AWG pure copper wire, tinned, with solar connectors on both ends of each 30-foot cable, plus an extra pair of solar connectors. The male connector states an IP67 ring with a built-in lock.
Which of the two states a warranty?
The POWSAV states a 12-month warranty, given as 1 year in the spec table. The BougeRV states 18 months of tech support, which is not a warranty term.
Which states weather sealing?
The BougeRV states an IP67 ring on the male connector and UV-resistant sheeting. The POWSAV states no weather code.
How many outlets does the 15 ft example provide?
18 AC outlets and 4 USB ports at 5V/3.0A, 22 ports in total per the spec table, on a cord rated 1875W and 15A.
Related guides
See every Mounts, Cables and Connectors guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides. For more cable runs see our best solar extension cable for van and best solar extension cable for boat.
More picks: solar extension cable for camper, solar extension cable for trailer, MC4 extension cable under 15, MC4 extension cable for solar panels.




