On this page
The short answer on mc4 vs xt60 connectors: MC4 connectors are the standard for solar panel wiring, with weather codes and high voltage ratings, while XT60 connectors are built for RC hobby use with high current handling and gold plated contacts. We compared four listings, two per side, on what each listing states: pairs, current, weather codes and use case. The MC4 pair wins on weather protection and solar ratings; the XT60 pair wins on current handling for RC builds.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
MC4 vs XT60 connectors: side by side
| Connector | Solar Score | Pairs | Current | Weather code | Use | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MC4 100PCS Connector Set | 9.6/10 | 50 pairs | 30A | IP67, IP68 | Solar panel systems | View on Amazon |
| MC4 10-Pair Kit | 9.5/10 | 10 pairs | Not stated | IP65 | Panel extension | View on Amazon |
| Amass XT60H 20 Pair | 9.3/10 | 20 pairs | 60A | Not stated | RC parts | View on Amazon |
| Amass XT60H 10 Pair | 9.3/10 | 10 pairs | 60A | Not stated | RC parts | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
Current and voltage
The MC4 100PCS example states 30A and 1000V with 10AWG wire, which suits solar panel systems. The MC4 10-pair kit states no current and no voltage figure, so it cannot be compared on those specs. Both XT60 examples state 60 amp current handling with gold plated connections, which suits RC parts like drones, airplanes and cars. The two sides target different jobs, so the higher XT60 current is not a win for solar wiring.
Weather codes
Both MC4 listings state a weather code: the 100PCS example states IP67 in its title and IP68 in its bullets, a conflict the listing itself creates, while the 10-pair kit states IP65 watertight pins in its bullets. Neither XT60 listing states a weather code, which is normal for indoor RC connectors but means the safety line of the score is empty for both. For Y connector options, see our solar Y connector vs combiner box comparison.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Solar panel wiring with a weather code | MC4 100PCS set with IP67 in the title, IP68 in the bullets, 30A and 1000V stated |
| MC4 extension on a budget | MC4 10-pair kit with IP65 stated |
| RC connectors with high current | Amass XT60H 20 pair with 60A stated |
| A smaller RC connector pack | Amass XT60H 10 pair with 60A stated |
Use case
The MC4 listings describe solar panel systems and panel cable extension. The XT60 listings describe RC lipo batteries, drones, airplanes, cars and vehicles. A figure from one listing describes that listing only: the 100PCS example is for solar panel systems, never RC parts in general. Pick the side that matches the job, not the spec sheet.
What the listings leave unclear
The 100PCS MC4 example states IP67 in its title and IP68 in its bullets, so compare it on the lower figure. The 10-pair MC4 kit states no current and no voltage. Neither XT60 listing states a voltage figure or a weather code. None of the four listings states a warranty term. For two-panel Y options, see our best solar Y connector for two panels picks.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MC4 100PCS Connector Set | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | MC4 10-Pair Kit | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Amass XT60H 20 Pair | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Amass XT60H 10 Pair | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

MC4 100PCS Connector Set
100 pieces MC4 solar connectors with 50 pairs, IP67 in the title, IP68 in the bullets, 30A and 1000V stated.
Pros
- 100 pieces with 50 pairs and 2 spanners stated
- TUV certified and UL Listed stated in the bullets
- 30A and 1000V stated
- IP67 in the title and IP68 in the bullets
Cons
- IP67 and IP68 conflict between title and bullets
- No warranty term stated
- 10AWG wire stated with no length
- Solar systems use only stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 100 pieces of MC4 solar panel connectors with 50 pairs male and female plus 2 spanners, TUV certified and UL Listed PV connectors, 30A and 1000V, 10AWG, IP67 in the title and IP68 in the bullets, for solar panel systems. No warranty term is stated. Everything quoted here comes from the listing itself.
Who it's for: solar installers who want a large MC4 set with stated certifications. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a single weather code.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pieces | 100 |
|---|---|
| Current | 30A |
| Voltage | 1000V |
| Weather | IP67 title, IP68 bullets |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. TUV certified and UL Listed in the bullets, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 10 pairs male and female stated
- IP65 watertight pins stated in the bullets
- Low contact resistance stated
- Temperature stability stated
Cons
- No current figure stated
- No voltage figure stated
- No warranty term stated
- Extension use only stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 10 pairs of male and female MC4 solar panel cable connectors with sealed pins, IP65 watertight in the bullets, low contact resistance, and temperature stability. No current, voltage or warranty term is stated. Everything quoted here comes from the listing itself.
Who it's for: solar owners who want a small MC4 extension kit. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated current.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pairs | 10 |
|---|---|
| Weather | IP65 |
| Use | Panel extension |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated in the bullets, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 20 pairs stated
- 60 amp current handling stated
- Gold plated connections stated
- Genuine Amass with snap on covers stated
Cons
- No weather code stated
- No voltage figure stated
- No warranty term stated
- RC parts use only stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 20 pairs of genuine Amass XT60H bullet connector plugs with sheath female and male, 60 amp current handling, gold plated connections, snap on covers, for RC lipo batteries, drones, airplanes, cars and vehicles. No weather code, voltage or warranty term is stated. Everything quoted here comes from the listing itself.
Who it's for: RC builders who want the larger pack with high current. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a weather code.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pairs | 20 |
|---|---|
| Current | 60A |
| Contacts | Gold plated |
| Use | RC parts |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 10 pairs stated
- 60 amp current handling stated
- Gold plated connections stated
- Genuine Amass with snap on covers stated
Cons
- No weather code stated
- No voltage figure stated
- No warranty term stated
- RC parts use only stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 10 pairs of genuine Amass XT60H bullet connector plugs with sheath female and male, 60 amp current handling, gold plated connections, snap on covers, for RC lipo batteries, drones, airplanes, cars and vehicles. No weather code, voltage or warranty term is stated. Everything quoted here comes from the listing itself.
Who it's for: RC builders who want a smaller pack with high current. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a weather code.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 62 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pairs | 10 |
|---|---|
| Current | 60A |
| Contacts | Gold plated |
| Use | RC parts |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For connectors, safety means a stated weather code or certification; the MC4 100PCS states TUV certified and UL Listed plus weather codes, the MC4 kit states IP65, and neither XT60 states a code. None of the four states a warranty term, so the warranty line is empty for all.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MC4 100PCS Connector Set | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| MC4 10-Pair Kit | 9.5 | 24 | 19 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| Amass XT60H 20 Pair | 9.3 | 24 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Amass XT60H 10 Pair | 9.3 | 23 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which side suits solar panels?
The MC4 side. The 100PCS example states 1000V, 30A and weather codes for solar panel systems, while the XT60 listings describe RC parts.
Which side suits RC builds?
The XT60 side. Both Amass examples state 60 amp current handling with gold plated connections for RC lipo batteries, drones and cars.
Which listing states the highest current?
The two XT60 examples, at 60 amps each. The MC4 100PCS states 30A and the MC4 kit states no current.
Which listings state a weather code?
The MC4 100PCS states IP67 in its title and IP68 in its bullets, and the MC4 10-pair kit states IP65. The XT60 listings state none.
Related guides
See every Mounts, Cables and Connectors guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides.
More picks: solar Y connector vs combiner box, best solar Y connector for two panels, best battery cable connectors.











