On this page
Verdict: pick a solar Y connector for joining two to four panels in parallel on a small array; pick a combiner box when the array has multiple strings that need fusing, surge protection and a single disconnect. On these listings, solar y connector vs combiner box is a scale question: the BougeRV examples join panels directly, while the ELNUIMEX and LiuTaoWMX examples protect and combine whole strings.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
The two sides, side by side
The solar Y connector side is two BougeRV parallel adapter kits. The 1 to 2 example joins 2 solar panels with a rated current of 20A and a rated voltage of DC 1000V, compatible with 14-10AWG cables, with an IP67 rating. The 1 to 4 example joins four solar panels in parallel with 1 male to 4 female and 1 female to 4 male connectors, a maximum current of 30A, an IP67 rating, CE and TUV certification, and an extra long 24.81-inch (63 cm) body. A figure from one listing describes that listing only: the 1 to 4 example is rated 30A; the 1 to 2 example is rated 20A.
The combiner box side is two PV combiner boxes. The ELNUIMEX example is a 6-string metal box with 20A rated current fuses, a surge protective device and a 63A air circuit breaker, with an IP65 rating. The LiuTaoWMX example is a 4-string plastic box with a 15A rated current fuse, a 63A circuit breaker, a lightning arrester and an IP65 rating. A figure from one listing describes that listing only: the ELNUIMEX example has 20A fuses; the LiuTaoWMX example has 15A fuses.
Where the sides differ
Fusing and protection appear only on the combiner box side: both combiner listings state fuses, circuit breakers and surge or lightning protection. The Y connector listings state no fuses and no breakers. Panel-count scaling differs too: the Y connectors join 2 or 4 panels directly, while the combiner boxes take 4 or 6 strings into one housing. The Y connector listings state an IP67 rating and the combiner box listings state an IP65 rating; each rating describes its own listing.
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BougeRV 1 to 4 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | BougeRV 1 to 2 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | ELNUIMEX 6-String | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | LiuTaoWMX 4-String | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

BougeRV 1 to 4
The BougeRV solar Y branch connectors, 1 to 4, extra long, with 30A maximum current and an IP67 rating.
Pros
- Joins 4 panels
- 30A maximum current
- IP67 rating
- 18-month tech support
Cons
- Y connector, no box
- No voltage stated
- 4.8 ounces
- Support term only 18 months
Detailed Review
The listing states a pair of solar Y branch parallel connectors joining four solar panels in parallel, with 1 male to 4 female and 1 female to 4 male, a maximum current of 30A, compatibility with 10AWG to 14AWG cables, an IP67 rating, CE and TUV certification, an extra long 24.81-inch (63 cm) body, and no-hassle 18-month tech support.
Who it is for: four panels in parallel without extensions. Who should skip it: anyone needing fused strings.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 1/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Current | 30A |
|---|---|
| Panels | 4 |
| Rating | IP67 |
| Length | 24.81 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE and TUV certified, IP67 rating, so safety scores 9 of 10. 18-month tech support. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BougeRV 1 to 2
The BougeRV solar connectors Y branch parallel adapter cable kit, 1 to 2, with 20A rated current.
Pros
- Joins 2 panels
- 20A, 1000V DC
- IP67 rating
- Tool-free install
Cons
- 2 panels only
- No support term stated
- 4.6 ounces
- No fuse stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 1 to 2 Y branch cable joining 2 solar panels in parallel, with 1 male to 2 female and 1 female to 2 male connectors, a rated current of 20A and a rated voltage of DC 1000V, compatibility with 14-10AWG cables, an IP67 rating, PPO material, and quick installation with no tools.
Who it is for: a simple two-panel parallel join. Who should skip it: anyone needing more than 2 panels.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Current | 20A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 1000V DC |
| Panels | 2 |
| Rating | IP67 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IEC and UL, IP67 rating, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ELNUIMEX 6-String
The ELNUIMEX 6-string metal solar combiner box with 20A fuses, surge protective device and 63A breaker.
Pros
- 6 strings
- 20A fuses, 63A breaker
- Surge protective device
- Metal lockable housing
Cons
- No support term stated
- Metal housing, heavier
- 20A fuses only
- No cable length stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-string metal solar combiner box with built-in 20A rated fuses, a surge protective device, a 63A air circuit breaker, pre-wired cables, a ground connector, a lock and key, an indicator window, and an IP65 rating.
Who it is for: six strings needing fused protection. Who should skip it: anyone joining only 2 panels.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Strings | 6 |
|---|---|
| Fuse | 20A |
| Breaker | 63A |
| Rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating, overload and surge protection, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LiuTaoWMX 4-String
The LiuTaoWMX 4-string plastic solar combiner box with 15A fuse, 63A breaker and lightning arrester.
Pros
- 4 strings
- 15A fuse, 63A breaker
- Lightning arrester
- Pre-wired cables
Cons
- No support term stated
- Plastic housing
- 15A fuses only
- 4 strings only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4-string plastic solar combiner box with a 15A independent fuse, a 63A circuit breaker, a high voltage lightning arrester, pre-wired cables, a ground wire, mounting clips, a lock and screws, with an IP65 rating.
Who it is for: four strings with lightning protection. Who should skip it: anyone needing six strings.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Strings | 4 |
|---|---|
| Fuse | 15A |
| Breaker | 63A |
| Rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating, lightning arrester, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Listing | Solar Score | Rated current | Strings | Protection | IP rating | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BougeRV 1 to 4 | 9.7/10 | 30A | 4 panels | Not stated | IP67 | View on Amazon |
| BougeRV 1 to 2 | 9.7/10 | 20A | 2 panels | Not stated | IP67 | View on Amazon |
| ELNUIMEX 6-String | 9.6/10 | 20A fuse | 6 strings | Surge, breaker | IP65 | View on Amazon |
| LiuTaoWMX 4-String | 9.6/10 | 15A fuse | 4 strings | Lightning arrester | IP65 | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. Where the listing states no figure, that field reads “Not stated”.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For connectors, performance means stated current and voltage ratings; safety means stated protection and IP ratings. One listing states 18-month tech support; the others state no warranty term, so those scored zero on warranty.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BougeRV 1 to 4 | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 1 |
| BougeRV 1 to 2 | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 0 |
| ELNUIMEX 6-String | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 9 | 0 |
| LiuTaoWMX 4-String | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar Y connector vs combiner box setup
Panel count
The 1 to 2 Y connector joins 2 panels; the 1 to 4 joins 4. The 4-string and 6-string combiner boxes take whole strings. Count the strings before choosing.
Protection
The combiner boxes state fuses, breakers and surge protection; the Y connectors state none. Arrays that need protection need the box.
Ratings
The Y connectors list 20A and 30A maximum current with an IP67 rating; the combiner boxes list 15A and 20A fuses, 63A breakers and an IP65 rating. Match ratings to the array’s current.
Sizing Notes
Size conductors and fuses to the array’s short-circuit current and follow the breaker ratings the combiner listings state. Confirm connector compatibility with the panel leads before ordering.
Frequently Asked Questions
When do I need a combiner box instead of a Y connector?
The combiner listings state fuses, circuit breakers and surge protection for 4 or 6 strings. A Y connector joins 2 or 4 panels with no protection stated.
What current are the Y connectors rated for?
The 1 to 2 example is rated 20A and the 1 to 4 example 30A. Both list an IP67 rating.
Do the combiner boxes include breakers?
The ELNUIMEX states a 63A air circuit breaker; the LiuTaoWMX states a 63A circuit breaker.
Are the Y connectors compatible with my cables?
The 1 to 2 example is compatible with 14-10AWG cables; the 1 to 4 example with 10AWG to 14AWG cables.
Which listings state support terms?
The 1 to 4 Y connector states no-hassle 18-month tech support. The other three state no warranty or support term.
Related guides
See every solar panels guide.
More picks: solar extension cables for campers, MC4 connectors for solar panels.








