On this page
The evening the campground loop went dark at dusk, with phones dying and the cooler warming, I learned that the best mc4 connectors for solar panels are the parts you stop noticing until one fails. We compared five connector kits from BougeRV, Usngsny, PRECIHW and JXMXRPV, reading only what each listing states: pair counts, IP ratings, voltage and current limits, cable gauge ranges and certifications. The 20-pair PRECIHW kit with TUV and CE markings leads, and a tool-free Y-branch adapter takes the niche slot for parallel panel wiring.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall PRECIHW 40PCS Solar Connectors: 20 pairs with TUV and CE markings plus IP67 stated Check price on Amazon
Best Documented Usngsny 16PCS Solar Connectors: 8 pairs with full dimensions and a -40 to +105 C range stated Check price on Amazon
Tool-Free Y Adapter JXMXRPV Y Branch Adapter: 2-to-8 parallel branch adapter rated IP68, 30A and 1000V DC Check price on Amazon
Starter 12-Piece Kit BougeRV 12PCS Solar Connectors: 6 pairs with spanners, TUV markings stated Check price on Amazon
Biggest Count BougeRV 44PCS Solar Connectors: 22 pairs with spanners and IP67 stated in the title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | PRECIHW 40PCS Solar Connectors | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Usngsny 16PCS Solar Connectors | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | JXMXRPV Y Branch Adapter | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | BougeRV 12PCS Solar Connectors | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | BougeRV 44PCS Solar Connectors | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

PRECIHW 40PCS Solar Connectors
Twenty male/female connector pairs with TUV and CE markings, IP67 stated, and two spanners in the box.
Pros
- 20 pairs of male and female connectors with pins, the largest documented count here
- TUV and CE markings stated, plus an IP67 rating
- Rated 1000V DC and 30A with tinned copper pins
- PPO housings and two spanners listed in the package
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Listing states no operating temperature range
- Package size of 8.78 by 5.24 by 1.97 inches reads as the box, not the connectors
- Weight of 3.52 ounces likely covers the full box, not one connector
Detailed Review
The listing states 20 pairs of male and female solar connectors plus 20 pairs of pins and 2 spanners, TUV and CE certification, 1000V DC rated voltage, 30A rated current, an IP67 degree of protection with a sealing ring, PPO housings, tinned copper conductor pins and compatibility with 2.5 to 6 mm², 14 to 10 AWG PV cable. No operating temperature range or warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: builders wiring a full array who want the highest pair count with stated certifications. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term on the listing.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pairs | 20 male/female, with pins and spanners |
|---|---|
| Rating | 1000V DC, 30A |
| Protection | IP67 stated |
| Cable | 14 to 10 AWG (2.5 to 6 mm²) |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. TUV and CE markings and IP67 protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Usngsny 16PCS Solar Connectors
Eight male/female connector pairs with IP67, a stated temperature range, and two spanners.
Pros
- IP67 rating stated, with a sealing mechanism described
- Operating temperature range of -40°C to +105°C stated
- Rated 1000V and 30A with tinned copper conductor pins
- Connector dimensions of 3.4 by 0.7 by 0.7 inches and weight of 7.8 ounces stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No certification marking is stated
- 8 pairs only, half of the leading pick's count
- Spanners help disconnection, but the listing gives no crimping guidance
Detailed Review
The listing states 8 pairs of male and female solar connectors with 8 pairs of pins and 2 spanners, an IP67 rating, 1000V and 30A ratings, PPO housings, tinned copper conductor pins, compatibility with 2.5 to 6 mm², 14 to 10 AWG PV cable, an operating range of -40°C to +105°C, dimensions of 3.4 by 0.7 by 0.7 inches and a weight of 7.8 ounces. The title brackets its 10AWG figure in full-width parentheses, which is just typography, and the listing states no certification or warranty term.
Who it's for: DIY installers who want the fullest spec sheet of the standard connector kits here. Who should skip it: buyers wiring a large array who need more than 8 pairs.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pairs | 8 male/female, with pins and spanners |
|---|---|
| Rating | 1000V, 30A |
| Protection | IP67 stated |
| Size | 3.4 x 0.7 x 0.7 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

JXMXRPV Y Branch Adapter
A tool-free 2-to-8 Y branch parallel adapter for wiring up to four solar panels, rated IP68, 30A and 1000V DC.
Pros
- Tool-free assembly and disconnection stated
- IP68 rating stated, the highest code in this group
- Rated 30A and 1000V DC with tinned copper core
- Operating temperature range of -40°F to 221°F stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists connector gender as Male-to-Male, which does not fit a Y branch adapter; trust the title and bullets
- No certification marking is stated
- One adapter only; it does not replace individual connector pairs
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-to-8 Y branch parallel adapter for wiring up to four solar panels, tool-free assembly, an IP68 rating, 30A rated current, 1000V DC rated voltage, an operating range of -40°F to 221°F, a tinned copper core and PPO housings, compatible with 14 to 10 AWG, 2.5 to 6 mm² solar cable. The spec table lists connector gender as Male-to-Male, which does not fit a Y branch adapter, so trust the title and bullets on the branch configuration.
Who it's for: owners paralleling panels who want a tool-free splitter with the highest stated ingress rating here. Who should skip it: builders who need loose connector pairs for custom cable runs.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Type | 2-to-8 Y branch parallel adapter |
|---|---|
| Rating | 1000V DC, 30A |
| Protection | IP68 stated |
| Temperature | -40°F to 221°F |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 rating stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BougeRV 12PCS Solar Connectors
Six male/female connector pairs with spanners, tinned copper pins and TUV markings stated.
Pros
- TUV markings stated in the spec table
- Spanners included for assembly and removal
- Tinned copper pins and PPO housings with UV endurance stated
- Compatible with 13 to 10 AWG, 2.5 to 6 mm² PV cable
Cons
- No IP rating is stated, only a sealing ring described
- No warranty term is stated
- 6 pairs only, the smallest standard count here
- No operating temperature range is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 6 pairs of male and female solar connectors plus 6 pairs of pins and 1 pair of spanners, tinned copper conductor pins, a sealing ring, PPO insulation, compatibility with 13 to 10 AWG, 2.5 to 6 mm² PV cable, 30A maximum current and 1000V maximum voltage, with TUV markings in the spec table. The bullets describe a sealing ring but give no IP code, and no temperature range or warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: small builds that need six pairs and stated TUV markings. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated IP rating before buying.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pairs | 6 male/female, with pins and spanners |
|---|---|
| Rating | 1000V, 30A |
| Cable | 13 to 10 AWG (2.5 to 6 mm²) |
| Markings | TUV stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. TUV markings stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BougeRV 44PCS Solar Connectors
Twenty-two male/female connector pairs with spanners and IP67 stated, the biggest count in this group.
Pros
- 22 pairs, the largest pair count here
- IP67 rating stated in the title
- Spanners included in the package
- 10 AWG cable compatibility stated
Cons
- Bullets are unreadable script fragments, leaving almost no detail beyond the title
- No voltage or current rating is stated anywhere in the listing
- No certification marking is stated
- No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review
The title states 44 pieces, 22 pairs of male and female solar connectors with spanners, an IP67 rating and 10AWG compatibility, with a weight of 1 pound in the spec table. The listing bullets are unreadable script fragments in the data we received, so nothing else is stated: no voltage or current rating, no certification marking, no temperature range and no warranty term. Trust the title for the count and the IP67 code.
Who it's for: buyers who need the most pairs per pack and accept the thinnest listing. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated voltage and current ratings before connecting a string.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pairs | 22 male/female, with spanners |
|---|---|
| Cable | 10 AWG stated |
| Protection | IP67 stated |
| Weight | 1 lb stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 rating stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
JUYLTOOL 60PCS Solar Connector Crimping ToolCheck on Amazon
Nixesky 100PCS Solar Panel Connector IP67Check on Amazon
BTQSOL Solar Y ConnectorCheck on Amazon
EXBKAMY 32 PCS Solar Panel ConnectorsCheck on Amazon
Daslleysen 40PCSCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Connector | Solar Score | Pairs | Rating | Weather rating | Certification | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PRECIHW 40PCS Solar Connectors | 9.6/10 | 20 | 1000V, 30A | IP67 | TUV, CE | View on Amazon |
| Usngsny 16PCS Solar Connectors | 9.6/10 | 8 | 1000V, 30A | IP67 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| JXMXRPV Y Branch Adapter | 9.5/10 | 2-to-8 branch | 1000V DC, 30A | IP68 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| BougeRV 12PCS Solar Connectors | 9.5/10 | 6 | 1000V, 30A | Not stated | TUV | View on Amazon |
| BougeRV 44PCS Solar Connectors | 9.5/10 | 22 | Not stated | IP67 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For connectors, safety means the voltage and current ratings, IP ratings and certifications the listing actually states, and a kit that states no IP rating scores lower on that line whatever its pair count. None of the five kits states a warranty term, so none carries a warranty score. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PRECIHW 40PCS Solar Connectors | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| Usngsny 16PCS Solar Connectors | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| JXMXRPV Y Branch Adapter | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 19 | 6 | 0 |
| BougeRV 12PCS Solar Connectors | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 5 | 0 |
| BougeRV 44PCS Solar Connectors | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 6 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best mc4 connectors for solar panels
Match the pair count to the build
Count the connections before you buy the pack. A two-panel roof-to-controller run needs far fewer pairs than an array with home runs, extensions and spares, so the PRECIHW 20-pair kit and the BougeRV 22-pair kit suit larger builds, while the Usngsny 8-pair kit and the BougeRV 6-pair kit suit one or two panels with a couple of spares. The JXMXRPV 2-to-8 Y branch adapter is a different animal: it parallels up to four panels at one point, so pair it with loose connector kits for the custom runs. Buying twice the pairs you think you need is normal, because one miscrimped pin eats a pair.
Read the voltage and current ratings
Four of the five kits state 1000V and 30A ratings, with the JXMXRPV adapter stating 1000V DC and 30A, which covers residential and RV string voltages with margin. The BougeRV 44-piece kit states neither rating anywhere in its listing text, so it scores at the bottom here even with the largest pair count. Match the connector rating to the string’s highest voltage and the highest current the series or parallel run will carry, and keep the same ratings on every extension you add. See our MPPT charge controller guides for the other end of that string.
IP ratings and certifications
Three kits state IP67, the JXMXRPV adapter states IP68, and the BougeRV 12-piece kit states no IP code at all, only a sealing ring described in the bullets. Certifications are thinner: only the PRECIHW kit states TUV and CE markings, and the BougeRV 12-piece kit states TUV in its spec table, while the other three state none.
| Connector | IP rating | Certification |
|---|---|---|
| PRECIHW 40PCS | IP67 | TUV, CE |
| Usngsny 16PCS | IP67 | Not stated |
| JXMXRPV Y Branch | IP68 | Not stated |
| BougeRV 12PCS | Not stated | TUV |
| BougeRV 44PCS | IP67 | Not stated |
Fit the cable gauge
The kits state 14 to 10 AWG, 2.5 to 6 mm² PV cable, with the BougeRV 12-piece kit stating 13 to 10 AWG, and all include pins sized for that range, so your cable choice is the one you carry across the whole run. Oversized insulation will not seat in the gland nut, and undersized cable crimps loosely in the pin, so buy the cable for the connector, not the other way around. A proper crimp matters more than the brand on the housing; see our crimping tool guide and our RV solar panel mounts for the rest of the roof hardware.
Sizing Notes
- Keep every connector’s stated 1000V and 30A ratings at or above the highest voltage and current the string will carry.
- Match PV cable to the stated range: 14 to 10 AWG, 2.5 to 6 mm², for most kits here, 13 to 10 AWG for the BougeRV 12-piece kit.
- The JXMXRPV 2-to-8 adapter suits parallel wiring for up to four panels, per its listing.
- Check the temperature range the listing states: -40°F to 221°F for the JXMXRPV adapter, -40°C to +105°C for the Usngsny kit.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many connector pairs do I need?
Count one male and one female for every joint you plan, plus spares. The kits here offer 6, 8, 20 and 22 pairs, and the JXMXRPV 2-to-8 adapter replaces several joints with one parallel branch.
What do the IP67 and IP68 codes mean in these listings?
They are ingress protection codes the listing states. IP68 is stated only by the JXMXRPV adapter, IP67 by three of the kits, and the BougeRV 12-piece kit states no IP code at all.
What voltage and current ratings should I check?
Four kits state 1000V and 30A ratings, the JXMXRPV adapter stating 1000V DC and 30A. The BougeRV 44-piece kit states neither rating in its listing, so size its use conservatively.
Can these connectors fit my existing PV cable?
Most kits here state 14 to 10 AWG, 2.5 to 6 mm², cable, and the BougeRV 12-piece kit states 13 to 10 AWG. Measure your cable insulation diameter against the kit’s stated range before ordering.
Do any of these kits state a warranty?
No. None of the five listings states a warranty term, so all carry no warranty score in this comparison.
Related guides
See every Mounts, Cables and Connectors guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides.
More picks: MC4 crimping tool guide, RV solar panel mounts, portable power station for camping and RV solar panel kit guide.




