Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

5000mAh vs 12000mAh Emergency Radio: Which Should You Buy?

5000mAh vs 12000mAh emergency radio: four Raynic radios compared by battery, power sources, NOAA alerts and warranty.

5000mAh vs 12000mAh Emergency Radio: Which Should You Buy?
On this page

5000mAh vs 12000mAh emergency radio verdict: Choose 12000mAh for longer runtime and more phone charges; the 12000mAh models list 44400mWh versus 18500mWh. Choose 5000mAh for a lighter, more compact radio; both 5000mAh models list 1-year warranty.

5000mAh vs 12000mAh emergency radio is a choice between runtime and portability. The 12000mAh radios hold more than twice the energy; the 5000mAh radios are smaller and lighter. We compared four Raynic emergency radios, two of each capacity, by stated battery, power sources, features and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

5000mAh vs 12000mAh emergency radio: side by side

Factor 5000mAh 12000mAh Amazon
Example listings Raynic x2 Raynic x2
Battery 5000mAh/18500mWh 12000mAh/44400mWh
Power sources Solar, crank, Li-ion Crank, 6 ways
NOAA alerts Stated Stated
Warranty 1 year 1 year

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

Battery and runtime

The 5000mAh side lists 5000mAh/18500mWh on both models. The 12000mAh side lists 12000mAh/44400mWh on both. The 12000mAh side lists more stored energy: 12000mAh/44400mWh versus 5000mAh/18500mWh. For charging phones during an outage, the larger capacity matters. For a go-bag, the smaller may suit better. For backup power, see our portable power stations guides.

Power sources

Both 5000mAh models list solar and hand crank plus built-in Li-ion. The B0CBTVM5Y7 lists 5-way power sources including hand crank, solar panel and rechargeable battery. The 12000mAh models list hand crank and 6 ways powered. All four are Raynic weather radios with NOAA alerts.

Features

All four list automatic NOAA weather alert radio with auto-scan. The listings emphasize night-time alerts. All four state a 1-year warranty. None state a certification.

Four examples

Raynic 12000mAh Radio

Raynic 12000mAh Radio

Raynic9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12000mAh emergency radio with 44400mWh, NOAA alerts and 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 12000mAh/44400mWh
  • NOAA alerts stated
  • 1-year warranty
  • Battery operated

Cons

  • Larger by capacity
  • Power sources not detailed
  • No certification stated
  • Price not stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a Raynic emergency radio with 12000mAh/44400mWh battery, automatic NOAA weather alert with auto-scan. It is battery operated. The warranty is 1 year. No certification is stated.

Who it's for: those who want maximum battery. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the most compact radio.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery12000mAh/44400mWh
AlertsNOAA, auto-scan
Warranty1 year
BrandRaynic

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Raynic 12000mAh Crank Radio

Raynic 12000mAh Crank Radio

Raynic9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12000mAh hand crank emergency radio with 6 ways powered and 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 12000mAh
  • Hand crank
  • 6 ways powered
  • 1-year warranty

Cons

  • mWh not stated
  • Larger by capacity
  • No certification stated
  • AM/FM only stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12000mAh hand crank emergency radio, 6 ways powered, with AM/FM and automatic NOAA weather alert. The warranty is 1 year. No mWh or certification is stated.

Who it's for: those who want crank power with large battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated mWh.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery12000mAh
PowerHand crank, 6 ways
BandsAM/FM
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Raynic 5000mAh Radio

Raynic 5000mAh Radio

Raynic9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5000mAh emergency radio with solar and hand crank, NOAA alerts and 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 5000mAh/18500mWh
  • Solar and crank
  • NOAA alerts
  • 1-year warranty

Cons

  • Smaller battery
  • No certification stated
  • Price not stated
  • Compact, fewer features
Detailed Review

The listing states a NOAA weather radio with 5000mAh/18500mWh, solar and hand crank power, automatic alert with auto-scan. The warranty is 1 year. No certification is stated.

Who it's for: those who want a compact emergency radio. Who should skip it: anyone who needs maximum runtime.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery5000mAh/18500mWh
PowerSolar, crank
AlertsNOAA, auto-scan
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Raynic 5000mAh 5-Way Radio

Raynic 5000mAh 5-Way Radio

Raynic9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5000mAh emergency radio with 5-way power sources and 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 5000mAh/18500mWh
  • 5-way power
  • Solar and crank
  • 1-year warranty

Cons

  • Smaller battery
  • No certification stated
  • Price not stated
  • Basic features
Detailed Review

The listing states a Raynic weather radio with 5000mAh/18500mWh and 5-way power sources including hand crank, solar panel and built-in Li-ion. The warranty is 1 year. No certification is stated.

Who it's for: those who want multiple power options in a compact radio. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the largest battery.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery5000mAh/18500mWh
Power5-way
SourcesCrank, solar, Li-ion
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance (battery capacity and power sources), build (construction), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For an emergency radio, safety means a stated certification; none state one. All four state a 1-year warranty. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Raynic 12000mAh Radio 9.6 32 21 21 0 3
Raynic 12000mAh Crank Radio 9.5 30 20 20 0 3
Raynic 5000mAh Radio 9.5 29 20 20 0 3
Raynic 5000mAh 5-Way Radio 9.5 28 20 20 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Which should you choose?

Choose 12000mAh if you want maximum runtime and phone charging; the 44400mWh is the largest here. Choose 5000mAh if you want a more compact radio; both list 1-year warranty and solar plus crank.

Sizing Notes

  • Pick capacity by outage length; 12000mAh lasts longer.
  • Confirm NOAA alerts; all four list them.
  • Check power sources; solar and crank are on all four.
  • Note the 1-year warranty on all four.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which has more battery?

The 12000mAh models at 44400mWh. The 5000mAh models list 18500mWh.

Which have NOAA alerts?

All four. Each lists automatic NOAA weather alert with auto-scan.

Which have solar and crank?

All four list solar and hand crank power.

Which have a warranty?

All four state a 1-year warranty.

Which is most portable?

The 5000mAh models are smaller by capacity; the listings do not state dimensions.

Raynic 12000mAh Radio
Still deciding? Our top pickRaynic 12000mAh Radio
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide.

More picks: portable power stations, emergency gear.