Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Battery Chargers and Maintainers

Best 12V Battery Charger Under $50 (2026): 5 Compared

Five 12V battery charger picks under $50 for cars, RVs and motorcycles, compared on stated current, battery types, features and warranty terms.

Best 12V Battery Charger Under $50 (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

A dead 12V battery at the worst moment is usually preventable: a smart charger keeps cars, RVs, motorcycles and boats topped up through the off-season. These are the best 12V battery charger under 50 for cars, RVs, motorcycles and boats, compared on stated current, battery types, features and warranty terms. The five picks range from a 12A smart charger to 750mA maintainers, with no outside options in this one.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • AeternaSol 12A Smart Charger
    Best Overall AeternaSol 12A Smart Charger: 12A, 12, 24V, LiFePO4 and lead-acid, 1 year stated Check price on Amazon
  • helloleiboo 12, 24V Charger
    Lead-Acid Pick helloleiboo 12, 24V Charger: 12, 24V with LCD, trickle maintenance, AGM and gel stated Check price on Amazon
  • NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger
    2A Pick NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger: 2A smart charger and maintainer, title only Check price on Amazon
  • NOCO GENIUS1 1A Charger
    1A Pick NOCO GENIUS1 1A Charger: 1A for 6V/12V lead-acid and LiFePO4, title only Check price on Amazon
  • Battery Tender Junior 750mA
    Maintainer Pick Battery Tender Junior 750mA: 750mA charger and maintainer, title only Check price on Amazon

The picks

AeternaSol 12A Smart Charger

AeternaSol 12A Smart Charger

AeternaSol9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12A smart battery charger for 12V/24V with LiFePO4 and lead-acid modes, pulse repair, LCD and a 1 year warranty stated.

Pros

  • 12A for 12V and 6A for 24V stated
  • LiFePO4 with 14.6V mode plus AGM, GEL, SLA, Flooded and EFB stated
  • Pulse repair with winter and summer modes stated
  • 1 year manufacturer warranty stated

Cons

  • Needs a power socket: not solar stated
  • Cannot charge batteries below 0.3V stated
  • 1.5 pounds is the heaviest here
  • LCD modes need the manual to master
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12A smart battery charger for 12V and 24V with automatic detection, 12A output for 12V and 6A for 24V, LiFePO4 with a 14.6V mode plus AGM, GEL, SLA, Flooded and EFB, a pulse repair mode with desulfation, winter and summer modes, temperature compensation, an LCD display, multi-protection against reverse polarity, short circuits, over-current, over-voltage and over-heating, a 6.49 by 2.36 by 3.46 inch size, and a 1 year manufacturer warranty. Everything quoted here comes from the listing itself.

Who it's for: car, RV and boat owners who want the most documented features here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs solar charging instead of a socket.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current12A / 6A
Voltages12V/24V
Battery typesLiFePO4 + lead-acid
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Multi-protection chip stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1 year manufacturer stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger

NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger

NOCO9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2A smart charger and maintainer for 6V/12V AGM, gel and lithium batteries with desulfation and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 6V and 12V with AGM, Gel, SLA, VRLA and LiFePO4 support
  • Force mode charges dead batteries down to zero volts
  • Temperature compensation via thermal sensor
  • 3-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 2A only, the slowest charging current here
  • No safety certification is stated
  • 72-inch AC and 80-inch DC cables are fixed lengths
  • Lithium support is LiFePO4 only
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2A smart charger for 6V and 12V lead-acid (AGM, Gel, SLA, VRLA) and lithium (LiFePO4) batteries, including flooded, deep-cycle, marine and powersport types. It has pulse charging to reverse sulfation and acid stratification, an integrated thermal sensor for temperature compensation, a force mode that charges batteries from 1 volt down to zero, and maintenance monitoring that allows indefinite connection. The box includes 72-inch AC and 80-inch DC cables with clamps and eyelets, a mounting bracket and screws at 1.2 pounds, with a 3-year warranty. No safety certification is stated.

Who it's for: owners tending mixed fleets of 6V and 12V batteries, including lithium, who want the longest warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs faster charging, since 2A is the slowest current here.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current2A
Voltage6V/12V
ChemistryAGM, Gel, SLA, LiFePO4
Cables72 in AC, 80 in DC

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overcharge protection and temperature compensation stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Battery Tender Junior 750mA

Battery Tender Junior 750mA

Battery Tender9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 750mA charger and maintainer with a 4-step program, float mode and a stated 5-year warranty.

Pros

  • 4-step charging program ending in float mode for storage
  • Compatible with 12V lead-acid, flooded, AGM and gel batteries stated
  • Spark-proof circuitry with reverse hook-up detection stated
  • 5-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 750mA charge rate suits maintenance, not fast charging
  • Bullets state 3.3 x 1.3 x 2.4 inches while the spec table states 2.9 x 2.15 x 4.4
  • 1 pound stated for the charger only, cables add more
  • Single port, one battery at a time
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 750mA charger and maintainer with a 4-step charging program (initialization, bulk charge, absorption, float), compatibility with 12V lead-acid, flooded, AGM and gel cell batteries, a 12-foot output cord, a fused ring terminal harness and alligator clip cables, spark-proof circuitry, reverse hook-up detection, a two-color charge status LED and a 5-year warranty with lifetime customer support. The bullets state 3.3 by 1.3 by 2.4 inches while the spec table states 2.9 by 2.15 by 4.4 inches, so trust the bullets for the size.

Who it's for: owners keeping a motorcycle, ATV or stored vehicle battery at full charge for months. Who should skip it: anyone who needs to recharge a large drained battery quickly, since 750mA is a maintenance rate.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output12V, 750mA
Program4-step: init, bulk, absorb, float
Cord12-ft output cord
Size3.3 x 1.3 x 2.4 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CSA, ETL and FCC listings stated; spark-proof circuitry and reverse hook-up detection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NOCO GENIUS1 1A Charger

NOCO GENIUS1 1A Charger

NOCO9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1A smart charger and maintainer for 6V and 12V lead-acid and LiFePO4 batteries, with temperature compensation and Force Mode.

Pros

  • Charges and maintains 6V and 12V lead-acid and LiFePO4 batteries
  • Temperature compensation and overcharge protection stated
  • Force Mode charges batteries down to zero volts, per the listing
  • 3-year warranty stated; direct wall plug-in included

Cons

  • 1A output is the slowest here; the listing states a 10-hour charge time
  • Suited to maintenance rather than recharging a depleted RV house battery
  • Desulfator and pulse repair target lead-acid, not LiFePO4
  • Charges one battery at a time
Detailed Review

The listing states a 1A smart charger for 6V and 12V lead-acid (AGM, Gel, SLA, VRLA) and lithium LiFePO4 batteries, with temperature compensation, overcharge protection, a desulfator and Force Mode for dead batteries down to zero volts. It lists RVs, campers and trailers as compatible, states a 10-hour charge time, and the box includes a direct wall plug-in, a 110-inch DC cable with clamps and eyelets, and a 3-year warranty. The spec table marks UL, FCC and CEC compliance.

Who it's for: RV owners who park for weeks and want a set-and-forget maintainer for the starter or house battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs to recharge a large LiFePO4 bank in a day.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output1A, 6V/12V
Battery typesLead-acid (AGM, Gel, SLA) and LiFePO4
Charge time10 hours stated
Weight15.2 oz

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL, FCC and CEC listed; overcharge protection, temperature compensation and Force Mode stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 3-year limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

helloleiboo 12, 24V Charger

helloleiboo 12, 24V Charger

helloleiboo9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V/24V smart battery charger with an LCD, trickle maintenance and temperature compensation, for AGM and gel only.

Pros

  • 12V and 24V battery systems stated
  • LCD with real-time voltage and progress stated
  • Trickle maintenance mode stated
  • Temperature compensation stated

Cons

  • Not for LiFePO4 batteries stated
  • No current figure stated
  • Warranty description of just '1' is not a term
  • 1 by 0.98 by 1 inch size seems small for a charger
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V/24V smart battery charger with an LCD display, automatic charging with trickle maintenance, temperature compensation, multi-protection against overcharge, short-circuit, reverse-polarity, overheating and sparks, compatibility with AGM and gel batteries, and explicit exclusion of LiFePO4 batteries. The warranty description of just '1' is not a specific term, so it is scored as no warranty. Everything quoted here comes from the listing itself.

Who it's for: AGM and gel owners who want trickle maintenance through storage. Who should skip it: anyone with LiFePO4 batteries.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Voltages12V/24V
Battery typesAGM, gel
ModesTrickle maintenance

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Multi-protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Current Voltages Battery types Warranty Amazon
AeternaSol 12A Smart Charger 9.7/10 12A 12, 24V LiFePO4 + lead-acid 1 year View on Amazon
helloleiboo 12, 24V Charger 9.5/10 Not stated 12, 24V AGM, gel Not stated View on Amazon
NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger 9.7/10 2A 6, 12V Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
NOCO GENIUS1 1A Charger 9.6/10 1A 6, 12V Lead-acid, LiFePO4 Not stated View on Amazon
Battery Tender Junior 750mA 9.7/10 750mA 12V Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a charger, safety means the stated protections; both full-data picks state multi-protection chips. One pick states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
AeternaSol 12A Smart Charger 9.7 30 20 20 9 3
helloleiboo 12, 24V Charger 9.5 26 19 20 8 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best 12V battery charger under 50

Match current and voltages

Size the current to the battery. The AeternaSol delivers 12A for 12V and 6A for 24V systems, charging twice as fast as standard 5A or 6A trickle chargers per the listing. The helloleiboo states 12, 24V with no current figure. The NOCO GENIUS2 states 2A for 6V and 12V, the GENIUS1 states 1A for 6V and 12V, and the Battery Tender Junior states 750mA for 12V. Higher current means faster charging; the small ones are for maintenance. For compact options, see our best compact battery charger picks.

Read the battery types

The AeternaSol states both LiFePO4 with a 14.6V mode and all lead-acid types: AGM, GEL, SLA, Flooded and EFB. The helloleiboo states AGM and gel only, and says it is not for LiFePO4 batteries. The NOCO GENIUS1 states 6V/12V lead-acid and LiFePO4. If you only charge lead-acid, any pick works; for lithium you need the AeternaSol or the GENIUS1. For solar charging options, see our best solar charger for deep cycle battery picks.

Charger Current Battery types Extras
AeternaSol 12A Smart Charger 12A LiFePO4 + lead-acid Repair, LCD, temp comp
helloleiboo 12, 24V Charger Not stated AGM, gel Trickle, LCD, temp comp
NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger 2A Not stated Smart maintainer
NOCO GENIUS1 1A Charger 1A Lead-acid, LiFePO4 Smart charger
Battery Tender Junior 750mA 750mA Not stated Maintainer

Check the extras: repair, temperature, display

The AeternaSol states a pulse repair mode for desulfating old batteries, winter and summer modes, temperature compensation, and an LCD that cycles through voltage, current, temperature and battery percentage. The helloleiboo states trickle maintenance, temperature compensation and an LCD. The small maintainers are simpler: plug in and let them work. For multi-battery setups, see our best multi battery charger picks.

Compare warranties

The AeternaSol states a 1 year manufacturer warranty in its spec table. The helloleiboo spec table lists a warranty description of just “1”, which is not a specific term, so it is scored as no warranty stated. The three title-only picks state no warranty term. Connect red to positive and black to negative: all picks warn about polarity, and the AeternaSol stops automatically when the battery is fully charged.

Sizing Notes

  • Match stated current: 12A on the AeternaSol, 2A on the GENIUS2, 1A on the GENIUS1, 750mA on the Tender Junior.
  • Check battery types: LiFePO4 plus lead-acid on the AeternaSol; AGM and gel only on the helloleiboo.
  • Read the extras: pulse repair, LCD and temperature compensation on the AeternaSol; trickle and LCD on the helloleiboo.
  • Note the warranties: 1 year on the AeternaSol, none specific on the other four picks.
  • Remember the use: the small ones are maintainers for storage; the 12A is for active charging.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which pick has the most current?

The AeternaSol, at 12A for 12V systems. The GENIUS2 states 2A, the GENIUS1 states 1A, and the Tender Junior states 750mA.

Which picks work with LiFePO4 batteries?

The AeternaSol, with a 14.6V LiFePO4 mode, and the NOCO GENIUS1, per its title. The helloleiboo is not for LiFePO4.

Which pick has a repair mode?

The AeternaSol, with a pulse repair mode using high-frequency pulse technology to remove sulfation.

Which picks state a warranty?

Only the AeternaSol, with a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The other four picks state no specific term.

Which pick suits long-term storage?

The helloleiboo with trickle maintenance, or the Battery Tender Junior. The AeternaSol also stops automatically at full charge.

AeternaSol 12A Smart Charger
Still deciding? Our top pickAeternaSol 12A Smart Charger
Check price on Amazon

See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.

More picks: best compact battery charger, best solar charger for deep cycle battery, best multi battery charger, solar trickle charger comparison.