On this page
When the lights go out at dinner time and the house goes quiet, the best 12v battery for home backup is the part of the plan that keeps an alarm panel and small backup loads alive through the outage. We compared sealed lead acid batteries for alarm and backup use, plus a battery backup sump pump that needs its own battery, on capacity, size, terminals, construction and warranty terms. The alarm batteries here state 7Ah or 7.2Ah at 12V, while the Wayne pick is a pump that moves water rather than a battery that stores charge. The picks below are ranked by the Solar Score, with the complete alarm battery listings at the top.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT: UL certified and mounts in any position stated Check price on Amazon
Best Spill Proof Casil CA1270: spill proof AGM with deep discharge recover stated Check price on Amazon
Best Genuine Listing Yuasa NP7-12: F1 terminals and a 1 year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Capacity Mighty Max ML7-12: 7.2Ah sealed lead acid with any position mounting stated Check price on Amazon
Backup Pump Option Wayne ESP25n Pump: pump only, battery not included, with alarm and LED display stated Check price on Amazon
The kits we chose
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Casil CA1270 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Yuasa NP7-12 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Mighty Max ML7-12 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Wayne ESP25n Pump | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Casil CA1270
A 12V sealed lead acid battery for home alarm systems, with spill proof AGM construction and deep discharge recover stated.
Pros
- Spill proof SLA / AGM construction with deep discharge recover stated
- Mounts in any position and resists shocks and vibration
- Long lasting performance in high and low temperatures stated
- Named as a replacement for several alarm battery models
Cons
- Spec table lists a 12 Pack size while the item count is 1, against bullets that say the listing is for the battery only
- No wire harness or mounting accessories included
- Height differs between bullets at 3.7 inches and the spec table at 3.68 inches
- No cycle life figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 7Ah sealed lead acid battery with F1 terminals, dimensions of 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.7 inches in the bullets, spill proof SLA / AGM construction, deep discharge recover, mounting in any position, resistance to shocks and vibration, long lasting performance in high and low temperatures, and a 1 year prorated warranty. The spec table height of 3.68 inches differs from the bullets height of 3.7 inches, and the spec table size field says 12 Pack while the item count is 1; the bullets figures are used here.
Who it's for: owners replacing an alarm battery who want spill proof AGM construction and deep discharge recover stated. Who should skip it: owners who need a harness or mounting accessories in the listing, since this listing is for the battery only.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 7Ah |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 12V |
| Size | 5.94 x 2.56 x 3.7 in |
| Terminal | F1 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Spill proof SLA / AGM, mounts in any position, resists shocks and vibration, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year prorated warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT
A 12V sealed lead acid battery for home alarm systems, with UL certification stated.
Pros
- UL Certified stated in the listing
- Spill proof SLA / AGM construction with a high discharge rate stated
- Mounts in any position and resists shocks and vibration
- Long service life stated, with F1 terminals
Cons
- Title states 7Ah while the bullets state 7.2Ah, so the capacity line is not consistent
- No wire harness or mounting accessories included
- No cycle life figure is stated
- Stated use is alarm systems, not larger home backup loads
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V sealed lead acid battery with F1 terminals, dimensions of 5.90 by 2.50 by 3.90 inches, spill proof SLA / AGM construction, a high discharge rate, long service life, plus UL certification. The title states 7Ah while the bullets state 7.2Ah, so the capacity figure differs inside the listing; the bullets figure is used here. The spec table gives the same dimensions as the bullets.
Who it's for: owners replacing a home alarm battery who want UL certification. Who should skip it: owners who need a battery for a sump pump or a larger home backup load, since this listing names alarm systems.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 7.2Ah |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 12V |
| Size | 5.90 x 2.50 x 3.90 in |
| Terminal | F1 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL Certified, spill proof SLA / AGM, mounts in any position, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Yuasa NP7-12
A genuine Yuasa 12V sealed lead acid battery with F1 terminals and a 1 year warranty stated.
Pros
- Genuine Yuasa listing with F1 terminals stated
- Compact size of 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.7 inches stated
- 1 Year Manufacturers Warranty stated
- Stated uses include lights, photo equipment, and transportation devices
Cons
- Weight differs between the bullets at 5.2 lbs and the spec table figure
- No spill proof or shock resistance wording is stated
- No mounting position guidance is stated
- Listing title ends mid-sentence, so the stated uses read as incomplete
Detailed Review
The listing states a genuine Yuasa 12V 7Ah sealed lead acid battery with F1 terminals, dimensions of 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.7 inches, and a 1 Year Manufacturers Warranty. The bullets list a weight of 5.2 lbs while the spec table lists a different weight figure; the bullets figure is used here. The listing title ends mid-sentence, so the stated uses are lights, photo equipment, and transportation devices as far as the visible title goes.
Who it's for: owners who want a genuine Yuasa battery for lights, photo equipment, or transportation devices. Who should skip it: owners who need stated spill proof construction or mounting guidance, since neither is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 2/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 7Ah |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 12V |
| Size | 5.94 x 2.56 x 3.7 in |
| Weight | 5.2 lbs |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Sealed lead acid construction stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturers Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML7-12
A 12V sealed lead acid battery with 7.2Ah capacity, maintenance free construction, and mounting in any position stated.
Pros
- 7.2Ah capacity with maintenance free sealed lead acid construction
- Mounts in any position and resists shocks and vibration
- Long lasting performance in high and low temperatures stated
- Rechargeable battery with F1 terminals stated
Cons
- Bullets dimensions differ from the spec table dimensions of 6.25 by 2.75 by 4.25 inches
- No wire harness or mounting accessories included
- No concrete warranty term is stated; the listing only says a manufacturer warranty can be requested
- No certification wording is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 7.2Ah sealed lead acid battery with F1 terminals, maintenance free construction, mounting in any position, resistance to shocks and vibration, and long lasting performance in high and low temperatures, with a package quantity of 1 and no wire harness or mounting accessories included. The spec table dimensions are 6.25 by 2.75 by 4.25 inches, while the bullets give different dimensions. The listing states no concrete warranty term, only that a manufacturer warranty can be requested.
Who it's for: owners replacing a 7.2Ah alarm battery who accept a battery-only listing. Who should skip it: owners who want a stated warranty term or a harness in the listing, since neither is stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 7.2Ah |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 12V |
| Size | 6.25 x 2.75 x 4.25 in |
| Terminal | F1 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Sealed lead acid, mounts in any position, resists shocks and vibration, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Wayne ESP25n Pump
A 12V battery backup sump pump for basement flood protection, with the battery not included and a 2 year limited term stated.
Pros
- Pumps up to 2,700 GPH at 0 ft and 1,680 GPH at 10 ft stated
- Reed float switch turns the pump on automatically when water rises
- Protective battery case includes an LED display and audible alarm
- Top suction design helps prevent clogs from dirt and debris
Cons
- Battery is not included; the WSB1275 battery is recommended and not included
- This is a sump pump, not a battery, so it cannot serve as a standalone battery pick
- Intended for indoor use only
- Removes up to 10,000 gallons of water per hour only on a single battery charge with the recommended battery
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V DC motor sump pump with coated steel and cast iron construction, pumping of 2,700 GPH at 0 ft and 1,680 GPH at 10 ft, removal of up to 10,000 gallons of water per hour on a single battery charge with the WSB1275 battery, a reed float switch, a protective battery case with an LED display and audible alarm, a top suction design that helps prevent clogs, indoor use only, and a 2 Year Limited term. The title calls it a battery backup sump pump, but the battery itself is not included, so it is ranked here as flood protection that needs a battery, not as a battery.
Who it's for: homeowners who need basement flood protection during an outage and already plan to add the recommended battery. Who should skip it: owners shopping for a battery itself, since this listing is a pump and the battery is not included.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 18/25, value 12/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 59 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Motor | 12V DC |
|---|---|
| Pumping | 2,700 GPH at 0 ft |
| Size | 17.0 x 10.5 x 14.0 in |
| Weight | 13.5 Pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Coated steel and cast iron construction, LED display and audible alarm stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 Year Limited. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Casil CA-1240Suits alarm panels needing a smaller 12V 4Ah backup battery.Check on Amazon
Casil CA-1240 VistaSuits Vista 20P and ADT alarm panels needing 12V 4Ah backup.Check on Amazon
Upstart UB1250Suits alarm panels and garage door openers needing 12V 5Ah backup.Check on Amazon
Numbers side by side
| Battery | Solar Score | Capacity | Type | Size | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Casil CA1270 | 9.6/10 | 7Ah | SLA / AGM | 5.94 x 2.56 x 3.7 in | 1 year prorated | View on Amazon |
| Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT | 9.6/10 | 7.2Ah | SLA / AGM | 5.90 x 2.50 x 3.90 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Yuasa NP7-12 | 9.6/10 | 7Ah | Sealed lead acid | 5.94 x 2.56 x 3.7 in | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Mighty Max ML7-12 | 9.6/10 | 7.2Ah | Sealed lead acid | 6.25 x 2.75 x 4.25 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Wayne ESP25n Pump | 9.3/10 | Not stated | Sump pump | 17.0 x 10.5 x 14.0 in | 2 Year Limited | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.
Where the points went
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery, safety means sealed or spill proof construction, stated certifications, and features such as mounting in any position and resistance to shocks and vibration where the listing states them; a battery that states none of those scores lower on that line. Three of the five picks state a warranty term, and the two Mighty Max listings state no concrete term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Casil CA1270 | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 2 |
| Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT | 9.6 | 30 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| Yuasa NP7-12 | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 4 | 2 |
| Mighty Max ML7-12 | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Wayne ESP25n Pump | 9.3 | 21 | 18 | 12 | 5 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best 12v battery for home backup
Match capacity and terminal to the device
Start with the device the battery backs up. The alarm batteries here state 7Ah or 7.2Ah at 12V with F1 terminals, so a replacement should match the capacity and terminal the old battery states. The Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT listing states UL certification, while the Casil CA1270 listing states spill proof AGM construction with deep discharge recover. For charging, see our best 12v battery charger with USB-C guide.
Check the size before ordering
Several picks share a compact footprint, but the figures differ enough to matter in a tight compartment. Compare the stated size and terminal for each pick before ordering, since a battery that does not fit the compartment is of little use even with the right voltage.
| Battery | Size | Terminal |
|---|---|---|
| Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT | 5.90 x 2.50 x 3.90 in | F1 |
| Casil CA1270 | 5.94 x 2.56 x 3.7 in | F1 |
| Yuasa NP7-12 | 5.94 x 2.56 x 3.7 in | F1 |
| Mighty Max ML7-12 | 6.25 x 2.75 x 4.25 in | F1 |
| Wayne ESP25n Pump | 17.0 x 10.5 x 14.0 in | Not stated |
Read the warranty and the battery-only lines
Warranty terms vary across the picks. The Wayne pick states a 2 Year Limited term, the Yuasa pick states a 1 year term, and the Casil pick states a 1 year prorated term, while the two Mighty Max listings state no concrete term. Several listings also state that the listing is for the battery only, with no wire harness or mounting accessories included, so check what else the install needs before ordering. For cold weather comparisons, see our gel vs AGM battery for cold weather guide.
Keep the pump pick in its own lane
The Wayne ESP25n is a sump pump, not a battery, and its listing states that the recommended WSB1275 battery is not included. It states pumping of 2,700 GPH at 0 ft and 1,680 GPH at 10 ft, a reed float switch, an LED display and an audible alarm, and indoor use only. Treat it as flood protection that needs a battery, not as a battery pick, and see our best portable power station for alarm system guide for a different kind of backup.
Sizing Notes
- Match the 12V figure and the stated amp-hours to the device the battery backs up: the alarm batteries here state 7Ah or 7.2Ah.
- Match the F1 terminal and the stated size to the compartment: the Yuasa and Casil picks state 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.7 inches.
- For the Wayne pick, plan on a 12V battery such as the WSB1275, which the listing says is recommended and not included.
- Check the stated warranty term before ordering: three picks state a term, and the two Mighty Max listings state no concrete term.
- Keep the pump pick indoors, since its listing states indoor use only.
FAQ: power away from the grid
Which pick here is UL certified?
The Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT pick, which states UL certification in its bullets.
Which picks state a 7.2Ah capacity?
The Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT bullets and the Mighty Max ML7-12 bullets state 7.2Ah, while the ADT title states 7Ah.
Does the Wayne pick include a battery?
No, the listing states that the WSB1275 battery is recommended and not included. With that battery, the listing states removal of up to 10,000 gallons of water per hour on a single battery charge.
Which picks can mount in any position?
The Mighty Max ML7-12 ADT, Casil CA1270, and Mighty Max ML7-12 listings state mounting in any position, while the Yuasa listing states no mounting position.
What warranty terms do the picks state?
The Wayne pick states a 2 Year Limited term, the Yuasa pick states a 1 year term, and the Casil pick states a 1 year prorated term. The two Mighty Max listings state no concrete term.
Related solar guides
See every Batteries and Charging guide. Also see our best portable power station for alarm system. Also see our best 12v battery charger with USB-C. Also see our gel vs AGM battery for cold weather.




