Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Deep Cycle and RV Batteries

Best Deep Cycle Battery for Generator (2026): 4 Compared

Four 12V deep cycle batteries compared by amp-hour capacity, terminal type, warranty and safety listings, for generator backup power.

Best Deep Cycle Battery for Generator (2026): 4 Compared
On this page

When the power goes out, the best deep cycle battery for generator backup comes down to stated voltage, amp-hour capacity, terminal type, warranty terms and safety listings. We compared the picks on stated voltage, amp-hour capacity, terminal type, warranty terms and safety listings. The goal is simple: a replacement that fits the generator you own and holds a charge between outages. A battery that fits, holds its charge and carries a stated warranty is the one to buy.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Mighty Max 35Ah

Mighty Max 35Ah

Mighty Max Battery9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 35Ah AGM battery with UL certification, spill-proof build and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 35Ah AGM with UL certification stated
  • Spill-proof, mounts in any position
  • 1-year warranty stated
  • High discharge rate stated

Cons

  • 35Ah, the smallest here
  • Spec table lists 24lbs and 23.2lbs; trust 24lbs
  • No cranking amps stated
  • No IP rating stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 35Ah AGM battery with UL certification, spill-proof construction, mounting in any position, high discharge rate, wide operating temperatures, 7.76 by 5.12 by 7.01 inches, and a 1-year warranty. The spec table lists 24lbs and 23.2lbs; trust the 24lbs battery weight.

Who it's for: small 12V inverter setups and solar storage. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 35Ah.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 35Ah
CertUL stated
MountAny position
Size7.76 x 5.12 x 7.01 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL certified, spill-proof AGM stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML18-12 AGM Battery

Mighty Max ML18-12 AGM Battery

Mighty Max Battery9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-volt 18AH sealed AGM battery with nut and bolt terminals, UL certification and deep discharge recovery.

Pros

  • 18AH sealed AGM with deep discharge recovery stated
  • UL Certified stated
  • Full one-year warranty stated in the bullets
  • Mounts in any position and resists shocks and vibration

Cons

  • No cranking amp figure is stated
  • Spec table warranty says to request it from customer service; trust the bullets' full year
  • Battery and screws only; no wire harness or mounting accessories
  • 6.7 pounds stated with no reserve capacity figure
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12-volt 18AH sealed lead acid AGM battery with nut and bolt terminals, UL certification, 7.12 by 3.00 by 6.50 inches, 6.7 pounds, a high discharge rate, wide operating temperatures, long service life and deep discharge recovery, mounting in any position and resistance to shocks and vibration. The bullets state a full one-year warranty while the spec table says to request it from customer service; trust the bullets.

Who it's for: buyers who want a mid-size sealed AGM with a real certification stated. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated cranking figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity18 AH, 12 volts
Size7.12 x 3.00 x 6.50 in
TerminalsNut and bolt
RatingUL Certified, 6.7 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL Certified stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Casil 12V 18Ah AGM

Casil 12V 18Ah AGM

Casil9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 18Ah AGM deep cycle battery with nut and bolt terminals and a 1 year prorated warranty, per the listing.

Pros

  • 18Ah capacity at 12V with a 20-hour capacity figure, per the listing
  • AGM construction for maintenance-free operation, per the listing
  • Nut and bolt terminals with extension hardware stored in the case
  • The listing states a 1 year prorated warranty

Cons

  • Bullets state 7.13 x 2.99 x 6.57 inches; the spec table states 7.16 x 3.03 x 6.53 inches
  • No safety listing such as UL is stated
  • The listing does not state a cycle life figure
  • Lead acid cell type rather than lithium
Detailed Review

The listing describes a 12V 18Ah AGM deep cycle battery with nut and bolt terminals, a 20-hour capacity figure and a 1 year prorated warranty. It lists 7.13 x 2.99 x 6.57 inches in the bullets against 7.16 x 3.03 x 6.53 inches in the spec table, a small mismatch to confirm before buying. The listing names many uses, from scooters and wheelchairs to solar power and standby power.

Who it's for: a buyer who wants an 18Ah AGM battery with a stated warranty for a generator or backup setup. Who should skip it: a buyer who needs a generator-specific fit or a stated safety listing.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Voltage12V
Capacity18Ah
Warranty1 year prorated
Weight12.7 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year prorated warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

UPLUS LP12-20 20Ah

UPLUS LP12-20 20Ah

UPLUS NEW TECHNOLOGY BATTERY9.2/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For small devices and replacements: a compact 12V 20Ah AGM at 12.46 lbs, sized to replace a long list of SLA batteries.

Pros

  • Compact 7.14 x 3.01 x 6.59 inch case
  • 12.46 lbs, light for a lead-acid battery
  • Up to 600 cycles stated
  • Replaces many named SLA models, per the listing

Cons

  • 20Ah is the joint smallest capacity here
  • 600 cycles is far below the lithium figure
  • No warranty term is stated in the data
  • A replacement fit; check your compartment first
Detailed Review

The UPLUS LP12-20 is the replacement battery of the list: a 20Ah AGM in a compact case, sold against a long list of SLA models it can stand in for, with nut and bolt terminals. At 12.46 lbs it is the lightest lead-acid here and suits feeders, alarms and small devices.

Its stated cycle life is up to 600, respectable for AGM and far short of the lithium's 4000. No warranty term is stated in the data. For keeping existing 12V gear running on the same chemistry it was built for, it is the tidy choice.

Its Solar Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 16/25, value 16/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 56 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity20Ah
Size7.14 x 3.01 x 6.59 inches
Weight12.46 lbs
CyclesUp to 600

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Battery Solar Score Voltage Capacity Type Warranty Amazon
Casil 12V 18Ah AGM 9.5/10 12V 18Ah AGM 1 year prorated View on Amazon
Mighty Max ML35-12 9.6/10 12V 35Ah AGM Not stated
UPLUS LP12-20 9.2/10 12V 20Ah AGM Not stated
Mighty Max ML18-12 9.6/10 12V 18Ah AGM Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a generator battery, safety means stated listings such as UL, ETL or a battery management system; none of the listings state one, so safety scored zero across the picks. The Casil listing states a 1 year prorated warranty, while the Mighty Max and UPLUS listings state no warranty term. Listings without a stated warranty scored zero on warranty. Capacity runs from 18Ah to 35Ah across the picks. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Casil 12V 18Ah AGM 9.5 29 20 20 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best deep cycle battery for generator backup

Match the battery box first

Generator battery boxes are built for one size, so check the listing dimensions before anything else. The Casil 18Ah lists 7.13 x 2.99 x 6.57 inches in its bullets. A battery that does not fit the tray is no use, however strong its other specs. The UPLUS and Mighty Max listings state no dimensions, so measure the tray before buying those.

Battery Capacity Size (in) Warranty
Casil 18Ah 18Ah 7.13 x 2.99 x 6.57 1 year prorated
Mighty Max 35Ah 35Ah Not stated Not stated

AGM, SLA and the terminals

All four picks are sealed lead acid types, with AGM named on most of them. Nut and bolt terminals are the common type here; match them to the generator cables, and confirm the hardware is included. The Casil 18Ah listing states the terminal extension hardware is stored inside the battery case. See the 12V battery for generator guide for more 12V options.

Read the warranty before the outage

The Casil listing states a 1 year prorated warranty. The Mighty Max and UPLUS listings state no warranty term, so weigh that in the decision. A stated warranty still beats none when the battery sits unused for months between outages. A battery that sits idle all summer is exactly when the warranty matters.

What the thin listings do not say

The Mighty Max and UPLUS listings state only voltage, capacity, terminal type and chemistry, so compare them on those figures alone. None of the four listings state a cycle life figure or a UL listing. For the lead acid versus lithium question, see LiFePO4 versus deep cycle.

How much capacity the generator needs

The picks run from 18Ah to 35Ah as listed. More amp-hours means more stored charge, but the load and the battery tray set the required size and type. The Mighty Max 35Ah is the largest here. Buy the capacity the setup asks for, not the biggest battery on the shelf.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the battery voltage to the generator: all four picks are 12V.
  • Match amp-hours to the load: the picks run from 18Ah to 35Ah as listed.
  • Check the battery box against the listing dimensions before buying.
  • Confirm the terminal type against the generator cables; nut and bolt is the common type here.
  • Compare warranty terms: the Casil picks state 1 year prorated, the others state none.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between the two 18Ah batteries?

Both list 12V and 18Ah with nut and bolt terminals. The Casil listing adds a 20-hour capacity figure, dimensions of 7.13 x 2.99 x 6.57 inches and a 1 year prorated warranty. The Mighty Max listing states no dimensions and no warranty term.

Do these batteries need maintenance?

The Casil 18Ah listing states its AGM technology ensures maintenance-free operation. The other listings make no maintenance claims.

How long will a 12V 18Ah battery run my generator?

The listing does not state a run time. It carries a 20-hour capacity figure, which describes how capacity is measured, not how long a load runs.

Which pick has the largest capacity?

The Mighty Max ML35-12 at 35Ah, followed by the UPLUS LP12-20 at 20Ah. Both state no warranty term, unlike the Casil picks. The Casil 18Ah and Mighty Max 18Ah both list 18Ah.

Can I charge these batteries with a solar panel?

The Casil 18Ah listing names solar power among its uses. Any charging setup must match the 12V battery voltage; check the charger manual for the correct settings.

Mighty Max 35Ah
Still deciding? Our top pickMighty Max 35Ah
Check price on Amazon

See every deep cycle and RV batteries guide and all batteries and charging guides.

More picks: battery box for truck, battery monitor with shunt, 12V vs 24V deep cycle battery.