Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Batteries and Charging

Best Battery Cable for Trolling Motor: 5 Compared (2026)

Five trolling motor battery cables and extension kits compared on gauge, length, stated current, connectors, safety listings and warranty, with every figure from the listings.

Best Battery Cable for Trolling Motor: 5 Compared (2026)
On this page

Launch day starts with the battery box strapped in the stern and the trolling motor clamped on the transom, farther apart than the factory leads allow. That gap is exactly what the best battery cable for trolling motor solves: an extension kit that carries full current from battery to motor without the voltage drop that slows a long day of fishing. We compared five extension kits and cables on gauge, length, stated current, connectors and warranty.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • NOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit
    Best Overall NOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit: 8 gauge 10 ft kit with a 2 year warranty and CE conformity stated. Check price on Amazon
  • Newport 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit
    Best High Current Newport 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit: 75 amp stated input current with ring terminals and heat shrink included. Check price on Amazon
  • iGreely 4 Ft 8 AWG Battery Cable
    Best Listed Wire iGreely 4 Ft 8 AWG Battery Cable: UL listed tinned copper with crimped 3/8 in ring terminals. Check price on Amazon
  • DC HOUSE 50A Quick Connector
    Best Quick Connect DC HOUSE 50A Quick Connector: 50 amp quick disconnect on 7 AWG leads with M8 terminals. Check price on Amazon
  • GaiRen 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit
    Most Complete Kit GaiRen 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit: 10 ft kit with crimped terminals, screws, tape and heat shrink tubes. Check price on Amazon

The picks

NOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit

NOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit

NOVINO9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10 ft 8 gauge trolling motor battery cable extension kit with connecting hardware and electrical tape, listed for a maximum 55 amps at 12 volts with CE conformity and a 2 year warranty.

Pros

  • 2 year warranty, the longest stated warranty here
  • CE specification stated
  • 55 amp maximum current stated for the 8 gauge wire
  • Connecting hardware and electrical tape included

Cons

  • Spec table lists 60 watts next to the 55 amp figure, which does not line up
  • No tinned copper or strand count stated
  • Color listed as black only in the spec table
  • Maker's no power loss claim cannot be checked from the listing
Detailed Review

The NOVINO is a 10 ft 8 gauge trolling motor battery cable extension kit in red and black, with connecting hardware and electrical tape. The title states a maximum of 55 amps and the spec table states 12 volts, CE conformity, male-to-female connectors and a 2 year warranty. One contradiction: the spec table lists 60 watts next to the 55 amp maximum current, which does not fit, so trust the title's 55 amp figure.

Who it's for: boat owners who want a 10 ft extension with a stated 2 year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who wants tinned copper wire or a stated strand count.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 2/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Gauge8
Length10 feet
Max current55 amps
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE specification stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. 2 years. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Newport 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit

Newport 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit

Newport Vessels9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10 ft 8 AWG marine-grade trolling motor battery cable extension kit with ring terminals, butt connectors and heat shrink, listed for a 75 amp input current at 12 volts with a 1 year limited warranty.

Pros

  • 75 amp input current, the highest stated current here
  • Marine-grade wire stated for harsh conditions
  • Ring terminals, butt connectors and heat shrink included
  • Stated to reduce voltage drop over longer distances

Cons

  • Spec table lists 7500 watts next to the 75 amp current, which does not line up
  • No safety certification such as UL or CE is stated
  • 1 year limited warranty is shorter than the NOVINO 2 year term
  • Made for Newport motors, so check fit with other brands
Detailed Review

The Newport is a 10 ft 8 AWG marine-grade trolling motor battery cable extension kit made for Newport motors. The listing states a 75 amp input current, 12 volts, flexible wire with rugged abrasion and corrosion resistant insulation, plus ring terminals, butt connectors and heat shrink tubing. One contradiction: the spec table lists 7500 watts next to the 75 amp input current, which does not fit a 12 volt kit, so trust the title and bullets. The warranty is 1 year limited.

Who it's for: Newport motor owners who want the highest stated current and a full connector kit. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated safety certification.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Gauge8 AWG
Length10 feet, 120 inches
Max current75 amps
Warranty1 year limited

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Limited Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

iGreely 4 Ft 8 AWG Battery Cable

iGreely 4 Ft 8 AWG Battery Cable

iGreely9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 ft red and black pair of 8 AWG battery cables in UL listed tinned copper with 3/8 in ring terminals crimped on, 169 strands and 600 volt PVC insulation.

Pros

  • UL listed tinned copper wire stated
  • 3/8 in ring terminals crimped on each cable
  • 169 strands stated for flexibility
  • 600 volt rugged PVC insulation jacket

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 4 ft pair is the shortest red and black set here
  • Stated for inverters and off-grid projects, not trolling motors by name
  • No maximum current stated
Detailed Review

The iGreely is a 4 ft red and black pair of 8 AWG battery cables in UL listed tinned copper wire with 3/8 in ring terminals crimped on. The spec table states 169 strands, 600 volts, a rugged PVC insulation jacket and 1.2 m length. The bullets name inverters, trucks and off-grid projects rather than trolling motors, so check the use fits your boat.

Who it's for: anyone who wants UL listed tinned copper with crimped lugs for a short run. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a 10 ft extension to reach the transom.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Gauge8 AWG
Length4 ft, 1.2 m, red and black
Terminals3/8 in ring, crimped
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL listed tinned copper wire stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DC HOUSE 50A Quick Connector

DC HOUSE 50A Quick Connector

DC HOUSE9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 50 amp quick battery connectors on 0.98 ft 7 AWG tinned copper leads with M8 terminals, silver-plated copper contacts, spring steel construction and CE conformity.

Pros

  • 7 AWG tinned copper, the thickest gauge here
  • 50 amp quick disconnect design with M8 terminals
  • Silver-plated copper terminals and spring steel contact stated
  • Flame-retardant housing and CE conformity stated

Cons

  • Warranty field says only 1 with no unit, so no warranty score
  • 0.98 ft leads suit quick connections, not extensions
  • Heat resistance to 200 C is the maker's claim
  • Two-pack quantity may exceed what one boat needs
Detailed Review

The DC HOUSE is a 2-pack of 50 amp quick battery connectors on 0.98 ft 7 AWG tinned copper leads with M8 terminals. The listing states silver-plated copper terminals, spring steel contact, a flame-retardant housing, 12 volt DC at 50 amps maximum, 600 volt insulation and heat resistance to 200 C, plus CE conformity. The warranty field says only 1 with no unit, which is not a concrete term, so it scores nothing on warranty.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a quick disconnect for battery charging or swapping. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a long extension to the transom.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Gauge7 AWG
Length0.98 ft, 30 cm
Max current50 amps
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE specification stated with flame-retardant housing, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GaiRen 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit

GaiRen 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit

GaiRen9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10 ft 8 AWG trolling motor battery cable extension kit in red and black for 12, 24, 36 and 48 volt systems, with crimped ring terminals, copper screws and nuts, electrical tape and heat shrink tubes.

Pros

  • Listed for 12, 24, 36 and 48 volt systems
  • Ring terminals crimped on, with copper screws and nuts
  • Electrical tape and heat shrink tubes included
  • Rugged PVC insulation jacket stated for abrasion resistance

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification such as UL or CE is stated
  • 50 amp maximum is lower than the NOVINO and Newport figures
  • Maker's no power loss claim cannot be checked from the listing
Detailed Review

The GaiRen is a 10 ft 8 AWG trolling motor battery cable extension kit in red and black, listed for 12, 24, 36 and 48 volt systems. The listing states a 50 amp maximum current, copper wire with a rugged PVC insulation jacket, ring terminals already crimped, copper screws and nuts, two electrical tapes and two heat shrink tubes.

Who it's for: owners running 24, 36 or 48 volt trolling motor systems who want a full hardware kit. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or certification.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Gauge8 AWG
Length10 feet
Max current50 amps
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • NOVINO 6 Ft Trolling Motor Cable KitNOVINO 6 Ft Trolling Motor Cable KitShorter 6 ft kit with 2 year warranty for close battery mounts.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Cable Solar Score Gauge Length Max current Connectors Warranty Amazon
NOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 9.5/10 8 AWG 10 ft 55 amps Hardware, tape 2 years View on Amazon
Newport 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 9.5/10 8 AWG 10 ft 75 amps Terminals, heat shrink 1 year limited View on Amazon
iGreely 4 Ft 8 AWG Battery Cable 9.5/10 8 AWG 4 ft Not stated 3/8 in lugs Not stated View on Amazon
DC HOUSE 50A Quick Connector 9.4/10 7 AWG 0.98 ft 50 amps M8, quick disconnect Not stated View on Amazon
GaiRen 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 9.4/10 8 AWG 10 ft 50 amps Terminals, tape, heat shrink Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For battery cables, safety means stated certifications and safety-relevant construction the listing actually names, such as UL listing, CE conformity or flame-retardant housing. Two of the five kits state a warranty term: two years on the NOVINO and one year limited on the Newport. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
NOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 9.5 29 20 20 3 2
Newport 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 9.5 30 21 20 0 2
iGreely 4 Ft 8 AWG Battery Cable 9.5 28 20 19 4 0
DC HOUSE 50A Quick Connector 9.4 27 20 19 3 0
GaiRen 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 9.4 28 19 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery cable for trolling motor

Match the gauge to the motor’s current

Four kits here use 8 AWG wire with stated maximum currents of 50, 55 or 75 amps, and the DC HOUSE pair steps up to 7 AWG at 50 amps. The Newport listing claims the highest stated current at 75 amps, while the NOVINO lists 55 amps and the GaiRen 50 amps. Our 6 AWG vs 8 AWG solar cable comparison explains what a thicker gauge buys you in a cable run.

Length and voltage drop

The NOVINO, Newport and GaiRen kits are 10 ft extensions, the iGreely is a 4 ft red and black pair, and the DC HOUSE leads are 0.98 ft quick-connector cables. The Newport listing states its kit reduces voltage drop over longer distances, and the NOVINO listing claims no power loss when extending. Measure the battery-to-motor run on your boat first, then pick the shortest kit that reaches.

Connectors and terminals

What comes in the box differs. The Newport kit includes ring terminals, butt connectors and heat shrink tubing. The GaiRen kit includes ring terminals already crimped, copper screws and nuts, electrical tape and heat shrink tubes. The iGreely pair has 3/8 in ring terminals crimped on each cable, and the DC HOUSE pair uses M8 terminals with a 50 amp quick-disconnect design. Buy the kit whose ends match your battery posts.

Read the spec table twice

Two listings have numbers that do not line up. The Newport spec table lists 7500 watts next to a 75 amp input current, which does not fit a 12 volt kit, so trust the title and bullets. The NOVINO spec table lists 60 watts next to a 55 amp maximum current, which does not fit either, so trust the title’s 55 amp figure. The DC HOUSE warranty field says only “1” with no unit, which is not a concrete term, so it scores nothing on warranty.

Kit Gauge Length Stated max current
NOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 8 AWG 10 ft 55 amps
Newport 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 8 AWG 10 ft 75 amps
iGreely 4 Ft 8 AWG Battery Cable 8 AWG 4 ft Not stated
DC HOUSE 50A Quick Connector 7 AWG 0.98 ft 50 amps
GaiRen 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit 8 AWG 10 ft 50 amps

Sizing Notes

  • Match the cable’s stated maximum current, 50, 55 or 75 amps here, to your motor’s draw as the motor manual gives it.
  • Match system voltage: the GaiRen kit lists 12, 24, 36 and 48 volt systems, while the others state 12 volts.
  • Match length to the run: 10 ft kits, a 4 ft red and black pair, or 0.98 ft quick-connector leads.
  • Match terminals: 3/8 in ring lugs on the iGreely pair, M8 terminals on the DC HOUSE pair, ring terminals in the Newport and GaiRen kits.
  • Check the stated warranty before you buy: 2 years on the NOVINO, 1 year limited on the Newport, and no term stated on the rest.

Frequently Asked Questions

What gauge wire does a trolling motor need?

The kits here use 8 AWG or 7 AWG wire with stated maximum currents from 50 to 75 amps. Match the gauge and the stated current to your motor’s draw as the motor manual gives it.

How long can a trolling motor battery cable be?

The extension kits here are 10 ft, and the Newport listing states its kit reduces voltage drop over longer distances. Measure your battery-to-motor run and pick the shortest kit that reaches.

Do trolling motor extension kits include connectors?

The Newport kit includes ring terminals, butt connectors and heat shrink tubing, and the GaiRen kit includes crimped ring terminals, copper screws and nuts, electrical tape and heat shrink tubes. The NOVINO kit includes connecting hardware and electrical tape.

Can I use these cables with a 24 volt trolling motor system?

The GaiRen kit lists 12, 24, 36 and 48 volt systems. The other four kits state 12 volts, so check your motor’s voltage before choosing. See our 24V vs 36V trolling motor battery comparison for the battery side.

What terminals fit a trolling motor battery cable?

The iGreely pair has 3/8 in ring terminals crimped on each cable, and the DC HOUSE pair uses M8 terminals. Buy the kit whose ends match your battery posts.

Which cables here state a warranty?

The NOVINO kit states 2 years and the Newport kit states a 1 year limited warranty. The iGreely, DC HOUSE and GaiRen listings state no concrete warranty term.

NOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit
Still deciding? Our top pickNOVINO 10 Ft Trolling Cable Kit
Check price on Amazon

See every Batteries and Charging guide and all Deep Cycle and RV Batteries guides.

More picks: battery cable for inverter, RV battery cables, solar cable vs battery cable, LiFePO4 vs gel battery for trolling motor.