Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Battery Chargers and Maintainers

Best Battery Charger for Trolling Motor: 5 Compared by Spec

Five battery chargers for trolling motors compared on amps, banks, battery modes, weather rating and warranty terms, all from the listings.

Best Battery Charger for Trolling Motor: 5 Compared by Spec
On this page

Dawn on the lake is when the trolling motor earns its battery, and the best battery charger for trolling motor setups is what has it ready. We compared five chargers from current listings: amps, banks, battery modes, weather rating and warranty terms. Total output runs from 5 to 30 amps across 1 to 4 banks. Every number below comes from the listings, with gaps marked as not stated.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • NOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank
    Top Pick NOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank: 30A across 3 banks, 10A each, with IP68 and 3-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • Minn Kota MK-440PCL 4-Bank
    Best 4-Bank Minn Kota MK-440PCL 4-Bank: 4 independent banks with auto multi-stage charging and UL/CE/FCC stated Check price on Amazon
  • NOCO GENPRO10X2 2-Bank
    Best 2-Bank NOCO GENPRO10X2 2-Bank: 20A across 2 banks with IP68 and 3-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • Battery Tender 15A Selectable
    Strongest Single Bank Battery Tender 15A Selectable: 15A selectable with LCD and 5 year warranty, the longest here Check price on Amazon
  • Battery Tender 5A 12V/24V
    12V/24V Pick Battery Tender 5A 12V/24V: Selectable 12V/24V with screw mounting and 2 year warranty Check price on Amazon

The picks

NOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank

NOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank

NOCO9.8/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 30A 3-bank onboard charger with 10A per bank, IP68 rated housing and a 3-year warranty stated.

Pros

  • 30A total with 10A per bank, the most output here
  • Per-bank mode selection including lithium and repair modes
  • IP68 rated fully-sealed housing
  • 3-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 13.4 pounds
  • 10A per bank is slower than the 15A single-bank charger
  • No LCD display is stated
  • 12V only
Detailed Review

The listing states a 3-bank onboard marine battery charger rated at 30 amps total, 10 amps per bank, with selectable modes for each bank: 12V, 12V AGM, 12V Lithium and 12V Repair Mode. An integrated thermal sensor adjusts charging with ambient temperature, it charges batteries from as low as 1 volt and Force Mode recovers batteries down to zero volts, and the fully-sealed housing is rated IP68. Mounting works in any orientation including upside down with an anti-vibration backing, and the box includes 72-inch DC cables with 3/8-inch eyelets and a 72-inch AC cable. NOCO backs it with a 3-year warranty. It is 27% smaller and 33% more powerful than the GEN3, measures 2.83D x 10.51W x 8.11H inches and weighs 13.4 pounds.

Who it's for: trolling rigs with three 12V batteries that want the most output. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 3 banks or 24V.

Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 5/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Amperage30A total / 10A per bank
Banks3
Weather ratingIP68
Weight13.4 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL, CEC and FCC stated; IP68 rated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-year warranty stated, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Minn Kota MK-440PCL 4-Bank

Minn Kota MK-440PCL 4-Bank

Minn Kota9.8/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-bank onboard charger with 10 amps per bank, automatic multi-stage charging and UL/CE/FCC stated.

Pros

  • 4 independent banks, the most here
  • Automatic multi-stage charging with digital control
  • Battery equalization for flooded lead-acid batteries
  • UL, CE and FCC stated

Cons

  • 11.5 pounds
  • 4-hour charge time is the slowest stated figure here
  • No repair mode is stated
  • 12V only
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4-bank on-board marine battery charger with 10 amps per bank, where each bank independently selects its battery type: 12V AGM, flooded lead-acid, gel or lithium LiFePO4. A microprocessor design controls voltage and current through the charging cycle, automatic temperature compensation keeps performance consistent, and battery equalization cleans and protects flooded lead-acid batteries with every charge, with a push-button activation for a deeper cycle. The shock and vibration resistant construction includes LED indicators for charge stage, maintenance mode, errors and full charge. It is UL, CE and FCC stated and carries a 3 year manufacturer warranty. It measures 9.88D x 3.5W x 9.88H inches and weighs 11.5 pounds.

Who it's for: rigs with four batteries that want per-bank chemistry selection. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a faster stated charge time or 24V.

Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 5/5: 88 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Amperage4 x 10A
Banks4
Charge time4 hours
Weight11.5 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL, CE and FCC stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3 year manufacturer warranty stated, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NOCO GENPRO10X2 2-Bank

NOCO GENPRO10X2 2-Bank

NOCO9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20A 2-bank onboard charger with 10A per bank, IP68 rated housing and a 3-year warranty stated.

Pros

  • 20A total with 10A per bank and per-bank mode selection
  • IP68 rated fully-sealed housing
  • 3-year warranty stated
  • Mounts in any orientation, even upside down

Cons

  • Only 2 banks
  • 12V only
  • No weight is stated
  • No LCD display is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-bank onboard marine battery charger rated at 20 amps total, 10 amps per bank, with selectable modes for each bank: 12V, 12V AGM, 12V Lithium and 12V Repair Mode. An integrated thermal sensor adjusts charging with ambient temperature, it charges batteries from as low as 1 volt and Force Mode recovers batteries down to zero volts, and the fully-sealed housing is rated IP68. The simplified mounting system installs in any orientation including upside down with an integrated anti-vibration backing, and the box includes 72-inch DC cables with 3/8-inch eyelets and a 72-inch AC cable. NOCO backs it with a 3-year warranty. It is 19% smaller and 33% more powerful than the GEN2 and measures 10.28D x 9.25W x 6.06H inches.

Who it's for: two-battery trolling setups that want IP68 sealing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 2 banks.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 5/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Amperage20A total / 10A per bank
Banks2
Weather ratingIP68
Warranty3-year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL, CEC and FCC stated; IP68 rated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-year warranty stated, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Battery Tender 15A Selectable

Battery Tender 15A Selectable

Battery Tender9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15A selectable charger with 15, 8 and 2 amp settings, an LCD display and a 5 year warranty stated.

Pros

  • 15A output, the strongest single-bank charger here
  • Switchable 15, 8 and 2 amp with selectable battery chemistry
  • 5 year warranty, the longest here
  • 3.5 pounds with an LCD display

Cons

  • Only 1 bank
  • No mounting system is stated
  • 12V only
  • No certification is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V battery charger and maintainer with switchable 15 amp, 8 amp and 2 amp output, an LCD display showing the charging rate, battery type, percentage charged and error messages, selectable chemistry covering lithium LiFePO4, lead-acid, flooded and sealed maintenance free batteries including AGM and gel, spark-proof lead connection, reverse polarity detection, and ISM adaptive charging that resumes full output if battery voltage drops under load. The box includes alligator clips and the unit carries a 5 year manufacturer warranty with lifetime customer service. It measures 7.64D x 9.39W x 5.28H inches and weighs 3.5 pounds.

Who it's for: single trolling batteries that want the fastest charge and the longest warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs multiple banks.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 5/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Amperage15, 8 and 2 amp selectable
ChemistryLithium, AGM, gel, lead-acid
Warranty5 year
Weight3.5 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Spark-proof connection and reverse polarity detection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 5 year manufacturer warranty stated, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Battery Tender 5A 12V/24V

Battery Tender 5A 12V/24V

Battery Tender9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5A screw-mountable charger with selectable 12V/24V, weather resistance and a 2 year warranty stated.

Pros

  • Selectable 12V/24V, the only one here
  • Screw-mountable onboard design
  • Switchable 5 and 2.5 amp output
  • Weather resistant build

Cons

  • 5A is the lowest output here
  • Only 1 bank
  • 2 year warranty is the shortest here
  • No LCD is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a selectable 12V/24V battery charger and maintainer with switchable 5 amp and 2.5 amp output, a screw-mountable heavy-duty design for onboard installation, ring terminals and alligator clips included, spark-proof lead connection, reverse polarity detection, and automatic float mode to maintain proper voltage without overcharging. It is weather resistant for industrial, automotive and marine use and carries a 2 year manufacturers warranty. It measures 1.75D x 5.5W x 7.5H inches and weighs 3.8 pounds.

Who it's for: 24V trolling motor banks that need a compact onboard maintainer. Who should skip it: anyone who needs fast charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Voltage12V/24V selectable
Amperage5 and 2.5 amp selectable
MountingScrew-mountable
Warranty2 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Spark-proof connection and reverse polarity detection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 year manufacturers warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Amps Banks Weather rating Warranty Amazon
NOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank 9.8/10 30A total / 10A per bank 3 IP68 3-year View on Amazon
Minn Kota MK-440PCL 4-Bank 9.8/10 4 x 10A 4 Sealed 3 year View on Amazon
NOCO GENPRO10X2 2-Bank 9.7/10 20A total / 10A per bank 2 IP68 3-year View on Amazon
Battery Tender 15A Selectable 9.7/10 15, 8 and 2 amp 1 Not stated 5 year View on Amazon
Battery Tender 5A 12V/24V 9.5/10 5 and 2.5 amp 1 Weather resistant 2 year View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trolling charger, safety means the certifications or protection features the listing actually states. All five state a warranty term: 5 year on the Battery Tender 15A, 3-year or 3 year on the three onboard units, and 2 year on the Battery Tender 5A. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
NOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank 9.8 33 22 21 8 5
Minn Kota MK-440PCL 4-Bank 9.8 33 22 20 8 5
NOCO GENPRO10X2 2-Bank 9.7 30 22 21 8 5
Battery Tender 15A Selectable 9.7 28 20 22 7 5
Battery Tender 5A 12V/24V 9.5 23 19 20 7 4

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery charger for trolling motor use

Banks for a trolling setup

A trolling rig often runs two or three batteries, and an onboard multi-bank charger charges each independently. The Minn Kota MK-440PCL leads with 4 banks at 10 amps each, the NOCO GENPRO10X3 has 3 banks at 10 amps each, and the NOCO GENPRO10X2 has 2 banks at 10 amps each. The two Battery Tender units are single-bank chargers at 15 and 5 amps. Pick bank count to match the batteries on the boat; our best 12 volt deep cycle battery for trolling motor picks pair well with any of these chargers.

Charger Amps Banks Weather rating Warranty
NOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank 30A total / 10A per bank 3 IP68 3-year
Minn Kota MK-440PCL 4-Bank 4 x 10A 4 Sealed, not numbered 3 year
NOCO GENPRO10X2 2-Bank 20A total / 10A per bank 2 IP68 3-year
Battery Tender 15A Selectable 15, 8 and 2 amp 1 Not stated 5 year
Battery Tender 5A 12V/24V 5 and 2.5 amp 1 Weather resistant 2 year

Amps and charging time

The Battery Tender 15A is the strongest single-bank charger here at 15 amps with 8 and 2 amp settings. The NOCO and Minn Kota units deliver 10 amps per bank across multiple banks, so total output runs 20 to 40 amps depending on the model. The Battery Tender 5A is the slowest at 5 amps. The Minn Kota states a 4-hour battery charge time, the slowest stated figure here.

12V only or 12V/24V?

Four of the five are 12V chargers. Only the Battery Tender 5A is selectable between 12V and 24V, which suits a 24V trolling motor bank on one charger. Both NOCO units offer per-bank modes for 12V, 12V AGM, 12V Lithium and 12V Repair Mode, and the Minn Kota lets each bank pick AGM, flooded lead-acid, gel or lithium LiFePO4. The Battery Tender 15A covers lithium LiFePO4, lead-acid, flooded and AGM/gel through its selectable chemistry; see our best battery charger for LiFePO4 picks for more lithium-capable options.

Read the weather and warranty lines closely

Both NOCO units state an IP68 rated fully-sealed housing. The Minn Kota claims a sealed, shock-resistant construction without a number, and the Battery Tender 5A claims weather resistance. The Battery Tender 15A states no weather rating. For warranty, the Battery Tender 15A leads with 5 year, the three onboard units state 3-year or 3 year, and the Battery Tender 5A states 2 year. The Minn Kota also states UL, CE and FCC, and both NOCO units state UL, CEC and FCC.

Sizing Notes

  • Note the banks: 4 on the Minn Kota MK-440PCL, 3 on the NOCO GENPRO10X3, 2 on the NOCO GENPRO10X2, 1 on both Battery Tender units.
  • Note the amps: 15 amps selectable on the Battery Tender 15A, 10 amps per bank on the NOCO and Minn Kota units, 5 amps on the Battery Tender 5A.
  • Note the voltage: 12V/24V selectable only on the Battery Tender 5A; the others are 12V.
  • Note the warranty: 5 year on the Battery Tender 15A, 3-year or 3 year on the three onboard units, 2 year on the Battery Tender 5A.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which charges the most batteries at once?

The Minn Kota MK-440PCL with 4 independent banks. The NOCO GENPRO10X3 has 3 banks and the GENPRO10X2 has 2 banks.

Which is strongest per bank?

The Battery Tender 15A at 15 amps on its single bank. The NOCO and Minn Kota units deliver 10 amps per bank.

Which state the longest warranty?

The Battery Tender 15A with 5 year. The three onboard units state 3-year or 3 year, and the Battery Tender 5A states 2 year.

Which state the highest weather rating?

Both NOCO GENPRO units with an IP68 rated housing. The Minn Kota claims sealed construction without a number.

Which work with lithium batteries?

Four: both NOCO units with a 12V Lithium mode per bank, the Minn Kota with a LiFePO4 setting per bank, and the Battery Tender 15A with lithium chemistry selection. The Battery Tender 5A lists no chemistry.

Which support 24V?

Only the Battery Tender 5A, with selectable 12V/24V. The other four are 12V chargers.

NOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank
Still deciding? Our top pickNOCO GENPRO10X3 3-Bank
Check price on Amazon

See every battery charger and maintainer guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best 12 volt deep cycle battery for trolling motor. Also see our best battery charger for LiFePO4.

More picks: battery charger for lead acid and lithium, battery charger for deep cycle battery. Also considered, as a more option only: the LiTime 2-bank 12V and 24V 10A charger for LiFePO4 batteries.