Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
DC to DC Chargers

Best DC to DC Charger for Jeep (2026): 4 Compared

Four on-board DC to DC battery chargers compared for Jeep builds by amp rating, battery types, stated protections and warranty terms.

Best DC to DC Charger for Jeep (2026): 4 Compared
On this page

A Jeep parked at a trailhead at dusk, the auxiliary battery sagging after a long night of running lights and a fridge: that is where the best dc to dc charger for jeep earns its place. A DC to DC charger takes power from the vehicle side and feeds a second battery in a controlled way. We compared four on-board chargers by what each listing states: current, battery types, protections and warranty.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • LiTime 12V 40A Charger
    Best Overall LiTime 12V 40A DC-DC Charger: 40A output with built-in MPPT and a 2 Years Warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Renogy 12V 20A DC-DC Charger
    Best Certified Listing Renogy 12V 20A DC-DC Charger: 20A with UL, CE, FCC and IEC stated and a 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Renogy 60A DC-DC
    Best High Output Renogy 60A DC-DC Charger: 60A and 750W output with 3-stage charging Check price on Amazon
  • VEVOR 12V 20A Charger
    Best for Mixed Batteries VEVOR 12V 20A DC-DC Charger: 20A, 250W with LiFePO4 and lead-acid charging modes Check price on Amazon

The picks

Renogy 12V 20A DC-DC Charger

Renogy 12V 20A DC-DC Charger

Renogy9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 20A DC to DC battery charger with multi-stage charging for flooded, gel, AGM and lithium batteries, UL/CE/FCC/IEC marks and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 20A multi-stage charging for 4 battery chemistries
  • UL, CE, FCC and IEC specification met
  • Alternator detection charges only when the engine runs
  • LiFePO4 activation with one-touch control

Cons

  • Bluetooth needs the BT-2 module, sold separately
  • 12V only, no 24V
  • 3.3 lb wall-mount unit, not portable
  • 2 ports, no solar input stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 20A DC to DC battery charger with multi-stage charging for flooded, gel, AGM and lithium batteries, built-in alternator detection that charges only when the engine runs, intelligent LiFePO4 activation with one-touch on/off, and protection against overload, short circuit, over-temperature and over-voltage. It lists 12V DC input and output, 20A, 2 ports, 2.3 by 9.31 by 5.17 inches and 3.3 lb. The spec table states UL, CE, FCC and IEC under specification met and a 2-year material and workmanship warranty; Bluetooth monitoring needs the BT-2 module, sold separately.

Who it's for: RV, boat and commercial vehicle owners charging a 12V auxiliary battery from the alternator. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 24V or a portable unit.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current20A
Input/Output12V DC / 12V DC
BatteriesFlooded, gel, AGM, lithium
Size2.3 x 9.31 x 5.17 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL, CE, FCC and IEC specification met, plus overload, short circuit, over-temperature and over-voltage protection, so safety scores 9 of 10. 2-year material and workmanship warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Renogy 60A DC-DC

Renogy 60A DC-DC

Renogy9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 60A DC-DC charger with 750W output, 3-stage smart charging, smart alternator support and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 60A with 750W output
  • 3-stage smart charging (Bulk, Boost, Float)
  • Smart alternator ready with starter battery protection
  • AGM, Flooded, Gel and Lithium compatible

Cons

  • No certification body is stated
  • 5.3 lb for a 60A unit
  • Spec table lists 16V input against 12V charging
  • No fixed-voltage mode stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 60A DC to DC charger with 750W output for AGM, Flooded, Gel and Lithium batteries, using 3-stage charging (Bulk, Boost and Float) to charge house batteries from the starter battery. It lists overvoltage, overtemperature, short circuit and reverse polarity protection, isolated input and output, and identification of whether the generator is started to prevent over-discharge of the starting battery. The spec table gives 12V output, 16V input, ring terminals or bare wires, 6.9 by 12.2 by 2.7 inches, 5.3 lb, and a 1-year material and workmanship warranty.

Who it's for: RV and boat owners who want alternator charging with starter protection. Who should skip it: anyone who needs AC-to-DC conversion.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output60A, 750W
Stages3-stage (Bulk, Boost, Float)
BatteriesAGM, Flooded, Gel, Lithium
Warranty1-year stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overvoltage, short circuit, overtemperature and reverse polarity protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year material and workmanship warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LiTime 12V 40A Charger

LiTime 12V 40A Charger

Litime9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 40A 12V charger with stated MPPT and a 2-year warranty, but the listing warns it is not for marine use.

Pros

  • 40A output with built-in MPPT at 99% tracking stated
  • Emergency reverse charging from the auxiliary battery stated
  • FCC, CE and RoHS stated
  • 2 years warranty stated

Cons

  • Listing warns it is not suitable for marine environments such as boats
  • Output voltage conflict: 14.6V in bullets, 15.4V in spec table
  • 50A Anderson connector on a 40A charger, per the listing
  • Black color only stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 40A DC to DC charger with built-in MPPT at 99% tracking, up to 93% conversion efficiency, emergency reverse charging, over-voltage, reverse polarity, over-temperature and charging timeout protection, FCC, CE and RoHS, and a 2 years warranty. It warns that the charger is not suitable for marine environments such as boats, ships and yachts. It states 2.4 pounds.

Who it's for: RV, camper, trailer and off-grid owners who want MPPT in a 40A charger. Who should skip it: boat owners, per the listing's own warning.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 18/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output40A, 12V
MPPT99% tracking stated
Efficiency93% stated
Warranty2 years stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. FCC, CE and RoHS stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 years warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VEVOR 12V 20A Charger

VEVOR 12V 20A Charger

VEVOR9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20A 12V 250W on-board charger with multi-stage charging, UL stated, for smaller battery banks.

Pros

  • 20A output at 250W stated
  • Multi-stage charging: 2-stage for LiFePO4, 3-stage for lead-acid stated
  • Lithium battery activation for deeply discharged batteries stated
  • UL stated with aluminum alloy housing

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 20A, the lowest stated output here
  • No efficiency figure is stated
  • Single port stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 20A DC to DC charger at 250W with smart multi-stage charging, lithium battery activation, protection against over and under voltage, high temperature and reverse polarity, an isolated input and output, and UL stated. It states 2.7 pounds and 6.5 by 5.7 by 3.3 inches. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: smaller boats and vehicles that need a compact 20A charger. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output20A, 12V
Power250W stated
ProtectionOver/under voltage, reverse polarity
CertUL stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Current Input Warranty Amazon
LiTime 12V 40A DC-DC Charger 9.7/10 40 A 12V DC 2 Years
Renogy 12V 20A DC-DC Charger 9.7/10 20 A 12V DC 2 years View on Amazon
Renogy 60A DC-DC Charger 9.7/10 60 A 12V (title) 1 year
VEVOR 12V 20A DC-DC Charger 9.6/10 20 A 12V Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed by each seller, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a DC to DC charger, safety means the stated protections and any listed certifications such as UL, CE or FCC. Three of the four state a warranty term, and the VEVOR does not. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best dc to dc charger for jeep

Match the current to the battery bank

The listings span three current ratings: 20A on the Renogy 12V and the VEVOR, 40A on the LiTime and 60A on the larger Renogy. A higher rating charges a larger house bank faster, but it also asks more of the vehicle side and the cabling, so check the maker’s manual for the cable gauge and fuse it calls for. Our DC to DC chargers category collects every guide of this kind.

Match the battery chemistry

All four list lead-acid style and lithium support. The LiTime names 12.8V LiFePO4, AGM, Gel, SLA and Calcium batteries. The VEVOR lists a 2-stage LiFePO4 mode and a 3-stage lead-acid mode. The 60A Renogy lists AGM, flooded, gel and lithium with bulk, boost and float stages.

Check the protections and listings

Protections and certifications differ more than output does. The Renogy 12V lists UL, CE, FCC and IEC, the VEVOR lists UL, and the LiTime lists FCC, CE and RoHS. The 60A Renogy lists protections but no certification.

Charger Stated protections Certifications
LiTime 12V 40A DC-DC Charger Over-voltage, reverse polarity, over-temperature, charging timeout FCC, CE, RoHS
Renogy 12V 20A DC-DC Charger Overload, short circuit, over-temperature, over-voltage UL, CE, FCC, IEC
Renogy 60A DC-DC Charger Over-voltage, over-temperature, reverse polarity Not stated
VEVOR 12V 20A DC-DC Charger Over and under voltage, high temperature, reverse polarity UL

Figures as stated in the listings.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the current: 20A, 40A or 60A against the size of your auxiliary battery.
  • Match the chemistry: LiFePO4, AGM, gel and flooded modes differ by listing.
  • Read the spec table against the title: the LiTime lists 14.6V in the title and 15.4V in the table, and the 60A Renogy lists a 16 volt input against a 12V title.
  • Check connectors and cable gauge as the manual gives them: the LiTime lists a 50A Anderson connector, the 60A Renogy ring terminals or bare wires.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which charger here has the highest current?

The Renogy 60A, which lists 60A and 750W output. The LiTime lists 40A, and the Renogy 12V and VEVOR list 20A each.

Which of these state a warranty?

The LiTime lists 2 Years Warranty, the Renogy 12V lists a 2-year material and workmanship warranty, and the Renogy 60A lists 1 year. The VEVOR states no warranty term.

Does the Renogy 12V 20A include Bluetooth?

No. The listing says Bluetooth control requires the Renogy BT-2 module, sold separately.

Which of these list UL?

The VEVOR and the Renogy 12V 20A list UL. The LiTime lists FCC, CE and RoHS, and the Renogy 60A lists no certification.

Can the LiTime also take solar input?

Yes. The listing states a built-in MPPT and describes charging by DC input, solar panels or both in hybrid mode.

Renogy 12V 20A DC-DC Charger
Still deciding? Our top pickRenogy 12V 20A DC-DC Charger
Check price on Amazon

See every DC to DC Chargers guide and all Controllers and Inverters guides.

More picks: best DC to DC charger for trailer, best DC to DC charger for truck.