Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
DC to DC Chargers

Best Dc to Dc Converter Usb C (2026): 5 Compared

Five USB-C converters compared on output current, input range, protection lists and stated figures, from a 3A single-port module to a dual-port 6A unit.

Best Dc to Dc Converter Usb C (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

The job is simple: a vehicle or battery bank gives a DC voltage, and a phone, a small board or a camera needs a USB-C feed at a lower voltage. This guide compares the best dc to dc converter usb c options on what each listing states: output, input range, protections and pack count.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

YIPIN HEXHA 6A Converter

YIPIN HEXHA 6A Converter

YIPIN HEXHA9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A dual-port step-down module that takes 10-32V in and gives 5V out at 6A total, with a wide protection list.

Pros

  • 6A total output with 30W max
  • Dual Type-C ports at 3A per port
  • Wide protection list including reverse and short circuit protection
  • 12.2 inch Type-C cable stated

Cons

  • Per-port output capped at 3A each
  • No weather code stated
  • No weight figure stated
  • No warranty term stated
Detailed Review

The strongest output in this group: 6A total across two Type-C ports, each at 3A, with reverse, overvoltage, undervoltage, short circuit and overheat protection. The dual-port layout is the point; the per-port cap is the limit.

Who it's for: charging two 5V devices at once from a 12V or 24V source. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a single port above 3A, or a stated weather code.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input10-32V
Output5V, 6A total, 30W
PortsDual Type-C, 3A per port
Cable12.2 inches
Size1.73 x 1.65 x 0.83 inches
ProtectionReverse, overvoltage, undervoltage, short circuit, overheat

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Reverse, overvoltage, undervoltage, short circuit and overheat protection stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

YIPIN HEXHA 5A Converter

YIPIN HEXHA 5A Converter

YIPIN HEXHA9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A silicone-sealed step-down module that takes 8-32V in and gives 5V USB-C out at 5A, with an IP68 code stated.

Pros

  • 5A output with 25W max
  • Widest input range here at 8-32V
  • IP68 code stated with silicone-sealed design
  • Overload, overcurrent, low voltage and overheat protection stated

Cons

  • No weight figure stated
  • No cable length stated
  • No size figure stated
  • No warranty term stated
Detailed Review

The sealed option: a 5A module with the widest input range in this group and the only IP68 code stated, in a silicone-sealed housing. The protection list covers overload, overcurrent, low voltage and overheat, which keeps the safety line full.

Who it's for: 5V devices in damp or dusty spots where a sealed housing matters. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated weight, cable length or size figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input8-32V
Output5V, 5A, 25W
SealingIP68 code stated, silicone-sealed
ProtectionOverload, overcurrent, low voltage, overheat

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 code, overload, overcurrent, low voltage and overheat protection stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Acridine 3A Converter

Acridine 3A Converter

Acridine9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack step-down module that takes 10-32V in and gives 5V USB-C out at 3A, with a 96% conversion figure stated.

Pros

  • 2-pack for two installs
  • 96% conversion figure stated
  • Full protection list including reverse and short circuit protection
  • 14.37 inch USB-C cable stated

Cons

  • 3A output, below the 5A and 6A examples here
  • No weather code stated
  • No weight figure stated
  • No warranty term stated
Detailed Review

The value option: two 3A modules with a full protection list and a stated 96% conversion figure, each with a 14.37 inch USB-C cable. Output is modest next to the 5A and 6A examples, but the pack count covers two installs.

Who it's for: two low-power 5V devices, such as a small board and a phone. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 3A from one port, or a stated weather code.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input10-32V
Output5V, 3A, 15W
Cable14.37 inches
Wire20 AWG
Conversion96% stated
ProtectionReverse, overvoltage, overcurrent, low voltage, overtemperature, short circuit
Pack2-pack

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Reverse, overvoltage, overcurrent, low voltage, overtemperature and short circuit protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FARSENSE Trigger Cable

FARSENSE Trigger Cable

FARSENSE9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A USB-C to DC barrel trigger cable that negotiates PD power up to 100W across 5 voltages, with a voltage display and 10 connector tips.

Pros

  • 100W max output with 5 voltages from 5V to 20V
  • LED display shows the selected voltage
  • Memory mode keeps the last voltage setting
  • 10 connector tips for different DC jacks

Cons

  • Direction is USB-C to DC, opposite to the buck converters here
  • Requires a PD charger, stated in the listing
  • No protection list stated
  • No warranty term stated
Detailed Review

The odd one out, and the only reverse-direction product here: it takes USB-C PD in and gives DC barrel output at 5V, 9V, 12V, 15V or 20V, up to 100W, with a display and a button for switching. Note the tip count: the title and bullets list 10 connector tips while the spec table lists 11.

Who it's for: PD charger owners who need DC barrel output at several voltages. Who should skip it: anyone needing DC to USB-C conversion, since this cable runs the other way.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
InputUSB-C PD
Output5V/9V/12V/15V/20V, 100W max
Current5A max
Cable3.3 feet
Tips10 connector tips
DisplayLED voltage display
Weight4.8 ounces
UseIndoor

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No protection feature or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Maixbomr Adapter

Maixbomr Adapter

Maixbomr9.3/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of small DC to USB-C plug adapters that pass 5V through, with no voltage change and no data transfer.

Pros

  • 4-pack for several devices
  • Only 5g per adapter, stated
  • 5.5 x 2.1mm female to USB-C male plug
  • 10W nominal power stated

Cons

  • No voltage conversion, 5V in and out only
  • No protection list stated
  • No current figure stated
  • No warranty term stated
Detailed Review

Not a converter at all: a small plug adapter that changes a 5.5 by 2.1mm DC plug to a USB-C plug at the same 5V, for low-power devices. The 4-pack and the 5g weight are the appeal; the lack of conversion, current figure and protection list are the limits.

Who it's for: low-power 5V devices with worn ports that need a fresh plug. Who should skip it: anyone needing voltage conversion, higher power, or data transfer.

Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input5V DC, 5.5 x 2.1mm female
OutputUSB-C male, 5V
Power10W
Weight5g
Pack4-pack
DataNo data transfer

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No protection feature or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • 2-Pack DC 12V/24V to 5V 5A 25W USB-C Step Down Converter2-Pack DC 12V/24V to 5V 5A 25W USB-C Step Down Converter2-pack converter with 12V/24V to 5V, 5A and 25W in the titleCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Converter Solar Score Output Input Protection Warranty Amazon
YIPIN HEXHA 6A Converter 9.7/10 5V, 6A, 30W 10-32V Reverse, overvoltage, short circuit, overheat Not stated View on Amazon
YIPIN HEXHA 5A Converter 9.6/10 5V, 5A, 25W 8-32V Overload, overcurrent, low voltage, overheat Not stated View on Amazon
Acridine 3A Converter 9.6/10 5V, 3A, 15W 10-32V Reverse, overvoltage, overcurrent, low voltage, overheat, short circuit Not stated View on Amazon
FARSENSE Trigger Cable 9.5/10 5V to 20V, 100W USB-C PD Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
Maixbomr Adapter 9.3/10 5V, 10W 5V DC Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For converters, safety means the protection list and any weather code each listing states; three modules state full protection lists and one states an IP68 code, while the trigger cable and the plug adapter state neither. None of the five states a warranty term, so every warranty score is zero. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
YIPIN HEXHA 6A Converter 9.7 33 21 21 9 0
YIPIN HEXHA 5A Converter 9.6 32 21 20 9 0
Acridine 3A Converter 9.6 29 20 21 8 0
FARSENSE Trigger Cable 9.5 30 20 20 0 0
Maixbomr Adapter 9.3 23 19 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best dc to dc converter usb c

What a DC to DC converter does

A step-down converter takes a higher DC input voltage and gives a lower DC output voltage. The three buck modules here take 10-32V or 8-32V in and give 5V USB-C out, while the trigger cable takes USB-C PD in and the plug adapter takes 5V DC in. Two products in this group are not converters in that sense: the Maixbomr adapter passes 5V through unchanged, and the FARSENSE cable runs the other way, from USB-C to DC. Input range matters as much as output: a module rated 10-32V and a module rated 8-32V cover different low-end sources, and the trigger cable needs a PD charger rather than a plain DC source. For more step-down options, see the best step down buck converter.

How much output current do you need

Output current is the main split: the dual-port module gives 6A total at 3A per port, the sealed module gives 5A, and the 2-pack module gives 3A. The trigger cable states 5A at 20V for its highest output, and no current figure is stated for the plug adapter. Match the figure to the device, not to the pack count: a 3A port will not cover a device that needs 5A, however many units come in the pack.

What protections and sealing are stated

Three modules state protection lists: reverse, overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, short circuit and overheat protection in various combinations, with overload protection on the sealed module. The dual-port module and the 2-pack module share the widest lists, while the sealed module adds overload protection to its own list. Only the sealed module states a weather code, IP68. The trigger cable and the plug adapter state no protection list and no weather code, so their safety lines are empty on this score.

Which direction does it convert

Direction decides fit before any other figure. The buck modules take DC in and give USB-C out, the plug adapter takes DC in and gives USB-C out at the same 5V, and the trigger cable takes USB-C in and gives DC barrel out. For the wider converter range, see the best DC to DC converter.

If you need Look at
Dual-port output YIPIN HEXHA 6A Converter, 6A total
Sealed housing YIPIN HEXHA 5A Converter, IP68 code stated
USB-C to DC direction FARSENSE Trigger Cable, 100W
Connector only, no voltage change Maixbomr Adapter, 5V

Sizing Notes

  • Match the input range: 10-32V on two modules, 8-32V on the 5A module, 5V on the Maixbomr adapter, USB-C PD on the FARSENSE cable.
  • Match the output: 3A, 5A or 6A total, with the dual-port module capped at 3A per port.
  • Check the direction: the buck modules and the Maixbomr adapter take DC in, while the FARSENSE cable takes USB-C in.
  • Count the pack: 2-pack on the Acridine module, 4-pack on the Maixbomr adapter, single units elsewhere.
  • Check the cable: 14.37 inches on the 2-pack module, 12.2 inches on the dual-port module, 3.3 feet on the trigger cable; no cable length is stated for the sealed module or the plug adapter.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a DC to DC converter?

A converter changes one DC voltage to another. The buck modules here change 12V or 24V DC input to a 5V USB-C output, while the plug adapter passes 5V through unchanged.

How does a DC to DC converter work?

A step-down converter takes a higher DC input voltage and gives a lower DC output voltage. The buck examples here take 10-32V or 8-32V in and give 5V out.

What output currents do these converters state?

The buck examples state 3A, 5A and 6A, and the trigger cable states 5A at 20V. No current figure is stated for the plug adapter.

Which converters state protection lists?

The dual-port module, the sealed module and the 2-pack module state protection lists. The trigger cable and the plug adapter state no protection list.

Which converter states an IP68 code?

The sealed 5A module states an IP68 code. No other product in this group states a weather code.

YIPIN HEXHA 6A Converter
Still deciding? Our top pickYIPIN HEXHA 6A Converter
Check price on Amazon

See every DC to DC Chargers guide and all Controllers and Inverters guides. Also see the best step down buck converter, the best DC to DC converter and the best DC fuse block for RV.