Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
DC to DC Chargers

Best Step Down Buck Converter (2026): 6 Compared

Six buck converter modules compared by input and output voltage, current, size and stated safety listings, for stepping down DC power.

Best Step Down Buck Converter (2026): 6 Compared
On this page

At a campsite at dusk with a dead phone and a battery bank that runs higher than the phone wants, the best step down buck converter is the module that drops the voltage to what the load needs. We compared six modules by input and output voltage, current, size, stated listings and warranty, using only what each listing publishes. The five products here cover fixed USB output and adjustable LM2596 modules, plus one more option with a display.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

UCTRONICS 5V USB Converter

UCTRONICS 5V USB Converter

UCTRONICS9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 9 to 36V to 5V USB buck converter modules with dual USB and terminal outputs, suited to USB 5V uses such as phone charging and Raspberry Pi power.

Pros

  • 9 to 36V input to USB 5V output
  • Dual USB and terminal outputs at the same time
  • FCC and UL stated
  • 6 month warranty stated

Cons

  • Title lists 5A while bullets list 6A, 5A and 3.5A by input range
  • Output limited to 5 to 5.3V
  • Lowest input is 9V
  • 2-pack only
Detailed Review

The UCTRONICS is a 2-pack module taking 9 to 36V in and giving 5 to 5.3V out through USB and wiring terminals at the same time, with 18W to 30W output power. Its title lists 5A while its bullets list 6A, 5A and 3.5A by input range, so the current figure depends on the input voltage. The listing states FCC and UL and a 6 month warranty.

Who it's for: anyone needing USB 5V power from a 9 to 36V source. Who should skip it: anyone needing an adjustable output above 5V.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 1/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input9-36V
Output5-5.3V
Power18-30W
Pack2

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. FCC and UL stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 6 months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BULVACK LM2596 10-Pack

BULVACK LM2596 10-Pack

BULVACK9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10-pack of LM2596 buck converter modules with 3.2 to 35V input, 1.25 to 30V adjustable output and 3A output, suited to adjustable-voltage projects.

Pros

  • 10-pack of LM2596 modules
  • 3.2 to 35V input, 1.25 to 30V adjustable output
  • CE and UL stated
  • SANYO solid capacitors and LED indicator stated

Cons

  • No warranty is stated
  • Input must be 1.5V higher than the output
  • No display or meter stated
  • PCB mount only
Detailed Review

The BULVACK is a 10-pack of LM2596 modules taking 3.2 to 35V in and giving 1.25 to 30V adjustable output at up to 3A, with SANYO solid capacitors and an LED indicator. The listing states CE and UL, and its warranty description states no warranty.

Who it's for: anyone wanting ten adjustable LM2596 modules for projects. Who should skip it: anyone needing a warranty term or a display.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input3.2-35V
Output1.25-30V
Current3A
Pack10

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE and UL stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Teyleten 100W Converter

Teyleten 100W Converter

Teyleten Robot9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100W 6A buck converter module with 10 to 90V input and 1.5 to 60V output, suited to higher-power step-down uses.

Pros

  • 100W 6A output stated
  • Wide 10 to 90V input range
  • 1.5 to 60V output range
  • CE, NEMA and RoHS stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Potentiometer needs at least 20 turns to adjust
  • No display or meter stated
  • Single module only, not a pack
Detailed Review

The Teyleten Robot is a 100W 6A module taking 10 to 90V in and giving 1.5 to 60V out, with synchronous rectification and a 180 KHz frequency. The listing states CE, NEMA and RoHS, and no warranty term is stated. Its potentiometer needs at least 20 turns to adjust.

Who it's for: anyone needing up to 100W and a wide input range. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a pack, a display or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input10-90V
Output1.5-60V
Power100W
Current6A

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE, NEMA and RoHS stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AITRIP LM2596 5-Pack

AITRIP LM2596 5-Pack

AITRIP9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-pack of LM2596 buck converter modules with 3 to 40V input, 1.5 to 35V adjustable output and 3A output, suited to adjustable-voltage projects.

Pros

  • 5-pack of LM2596 modules
  • 3 to 40V input, 1.5 to 35V adjustable output
  • Size of 45 by 20 by 14 mm stated
  • SANYO solid capacitors and LED indicator stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists 100 volts input against the 3 to 40V bullets
  • Warranty description of 1 has no stated unit
  • No safety listing is stated
  • Input must be 1.5V higher than the output
Detailed Review

The AITRIP is a 5-pack of LM2596 modules taking 3 to 40V in and giving 1.5 to 35V adjustable output at up to 3A, measuring 45 by 20 by 14 mm, with SANYO solid capacitors and an LED indicator. Its spec table lists 100 volts input against the 3 to 40V bullets, and its warranty description of 1 has no stated unit, so no warranty term is counted.

Who it's for: anyone wanting five adjustable LM2596 modules in a small size. Who should skip it: anyone needing a stated warranty or a safety listing.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input3-40V
Output1.5-35V
Current3A
Size45x20x14 mm

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No protection feature or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DORHEA LM2596 2-Pack

DORHEA LM2596 2-Pack

DORHEA9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of LM2596 buck converter modules with 3.2 to 35V input, 1.25 to 30V adjustable output and 3A output, suited to adjustable-voltage projects.

Pros

  • 2-pack of LM2596 modules
  • 3.2 to 35V input, 1.25 to 30V adjustable output
  • 3A maximum output current
  • Heat-dissipation note above 2.5A or 10W stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety listing is stated
  • No size is stated
  • Input must be 1.5V higher than the output
Detailed Review

The DORHEA is a 2-pack of LM2596 modules taking 3.2 to 35V in and giving 1.25 to 30V adjustable output at up to 3A. Its bullets note heat dissipation should be enhanced above 2.5A or 10W for long working times. No warranty term and no safety listing are stated.

Who it's for: anyone wanting two adjustable LM2596 modules. Who should skip it: anyone needing a stated warranty, a safety listing or a stated size.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input3.2-35V
Output1.25-30V
Current3A
Pack2

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No protection feature or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Seloky LM2596 with DisplaySeloky LM2596 with DisplayFor those wanting an LED voltmeter display and overheat and short-circuit protection.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Converter Solar Score Input Output Current Warranty Amazon
UCTRONICS 5V USB Converter 9.6/10 9-36V 5-5.3V 5A 6 months View on Amazon
BULVACK LM2596 10-Pack 9.6/10 3.2-35V 1.25-30V 3A Not stated View on Amazon
Teyleten 100W Converter 9.6/10 10-90V 1.5-60V 6A Not stated View on Amazon
AITRIP LM2596 5-Pack 9.4/10 3-40V 1.5-35V 3A Not stated View on Amazon
DORHEA LM2596 2-Pack 9.4/10 3.2-35V 1.25-30V 3A Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 24 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For buck converters, safety means stated listings such as UL, FCC or CE, and protections the listing states. Only one of the five products states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
UCTRONICS 5V USB Converter 9.6 30 21 21 7 1
BULVACK LM2596 10-Pack 9.6 30 21 22 7 0
Teyleten 100W Converter 9.6 32 21 20 5 0
AITRIP LM2596 5-Pack 9.4 28 20 21 0 0
DORHEA LM2596 2-Pack 9.4 29 20 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best step down buck converter

Adjustable output or fixed 5V

The LM2596 modules give adjustable output: the BULVACK and DORHEA give 1.25 to 30V, and the AITRIP gives 1.5 to 35V, all adjusted with a potentiometer. The UCTRONICS is different, giving a fixed 5 to 5.3V through USB and wiring terminals at the same time, which suits USB loads directly. If the load needs one voltage only, a fixed 5V module is simpler; if the load varies, an adjustable module covers more uses. The BULVACK and DORHEA share the same 1.25 to 30V range and 3A current, while the AITRIP stretches to 1.5 to 35V from a 3 to 40V input. Size also differs: the AITRIP states 45 by 20 by 14 mm, the UCTRONICS states 0.39 by 2.48 by 0.08 inches, and the Teyleten states 1.22 by 2.76 by 1.22 inches and 70 g.

Input range and current

Input ranges differ widely: the AITRIP takes 3 to 40V, the BULVACK and DORHEA take 3.2 to 35V, the UCTRONICS takes 9 to 36V, and the Teyleten takes 10 to 90V. Current differs too: the LM2596 modules list 3A, the UCTRONICS lists 5A in its title with 6A, 5A and 3.5A by input range in its bullets, and the Teyleten lists 6A at 100W. Check heat guidance as well: the DORHEA note calls for enhanced heat dissipation above 2.5A or 10W. The Teyleten is stated at 100W, the highest here, and the UCTRONICS at 18W to 30W.

Converter Input Output Current
UCTRONICS 9-36V 5-5.3V 5A
BULVACK 3.2-35V 1.25-30V 3A
Teyleten 10-90V 1.5-60V 6A
AITRIP 3-40V 1.5-35V 3A
DORHEA 3.2-35V 1.25-30V 3A

Displays, listings and warranty

None of the five products lists a display. The Seloky more option below lists an LED voltmeter display with overheat and short-circuit protection, for those who want to read the voltage on the module. On listings, the BULVACK states CE and UL, the UCTRONICS states FCC and UL, and the Teyleten states CE, NEMA and RoHS, while the AITRIP and DORHEA state none. On warranty, only the UCTRONICS states a term, 6 months. For more converter options, see DC to DC converters and DC to DC converters under 25.

Sizing Notes

  • Match input to the source: the LM2596 modules take 3 to 40V or 3.2 to 35V, the UCTRONICS takes 9 to 36V, and the Teyleten takes 10 to 90V.
  • Match output to the load: adjustable modules give 1.25 to 30V or 1.5 to 35V, while the UCTRONICS gives 5 to 5.3V USB.
  • Check current and heat: the DORHEA note calls for enhanced heat dissipation above 2.5A or 10W.
  • Check the listing for safety listings: CE and UL, FCC and UL, or CE, NEMA and RoHS are stated on three of the five products.
  • Check size where stated: the AITRIP is 45 by 20 by 14 mm and the Teyleten is 1.22 by 2.76 by 1.22 inches.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the use of a buck converter?

A buck converter drops a higher DC voltage to a lower DC voltage, such as 9 to 36V down to USB 5V on the UCTRONICS, without boosting.

Do these converters boost voltage?

No: the LM2596 listings state the input must be higher than the output and cannot boost.

Which converters have a display?

None of the five products lists a display; the Seloky more option lists an LED voltmeter display.

Which listings state a safety listing?

The BULVACK states CE and UL, the UCTRONICS states FCC and UL, and the Teyleten states CE, NEMA and RoHS; the AITRIP and DORHEA state none.

What sizes are stated?

The AITRIP states 45 by 20 by 14 mm, the UCTRONICS states 0.39 by 2.48 by 0.08 inches, and the Teyleten states 1.22 by 2.76 by 1.22 inches; the BULVACK and DORHEA state no size.

Do any state a warranty?

Only the UCTRONICS states a warranty term, 6 months; the others state none.

UCTRONICS 5V USB Converter
Still deciding? Our top pickUCTRONICS 5V USB Converter
Check price on Amazon

See every DC to DC charger guide and all controllers and inverters guides.

More picks: see DC to DC converters, converters under 25 and inverter vs converter charger.