Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
DC to DC Chargers

Best Dc to Dc Converter Under $25 (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four DC to DC step-down converters compared on input and output voltage, current, protections and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Dc to Dc Converter Under $25 (2026): 4 Picks Compared
On this page

A dead phone at a campsite at dusk, a fridge that must keep running through a power outage, a van battery bank that must feed a low-voltage load: each of these jobs comes down to getting the right voltage to the right load. This guide compares the best dc to dc converter under 25 for step-down jobs, using only what the listings state about input range, output range, current, protections and warranty terms. Four converters made the cut: a 10-pack of LM2596 modules, two Seloky packs with voltmeter displays, and a step-down unit known only by its title.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Valefod LM2596 10-Pack
    Best Overall Valefod LM2596 10-Pack: 10-pack buck modules with a 1 year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • Seloky LM2596 3-Pack
    Three-Pack Pick Seloky LM2596 3-Pack: LED voltmeter display with 0.1V measurement error stated Check price on Amazon
  • Seloky LM2596 2-Pack
    Two-Pack Pick Seloky LM2596 2-Pack: 150KHz regulator with terminal blocks and input diodes Check price on Amazon
  • DC HOUSE 20A 240W Converter
    High-Current Pick DC HOUSE 20A Step-Down: 20A and 240W step-down from 48V or 36V to 12V Check price on Amazon

The picks

Valefod LM2596 10-Pack

Valefod LM2596 10-Pack

Valefod9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Ten LM2596 buck modules with a 3.2V to 35V input range, a 1.25V to 30V adjustable output and a 3A maximum output current.

Pros

  • 10 modules in the box
  • 3A maximum output current stated
  • 36u thickened circuit boards with solid-state capacitors
  • 1 year limited warranty stated

Cons

  • Input must sit 1.5V above the output voltage
  • Needs about 7 to 15 turns of the potentiometer before the voltage ramps down from the factory default
  • No numeric voltage display is stated
  • No reverse polarity protection is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states ten LM2596 buck modules with a 3.2V to 35V input range, a 1.25V to 30V adjustable output and a 3A maximum output current, on 36u thickened circuit boards with solid-state capacitors and an output LED indicator. The input must sit 1.5V above the output, the module does not boost, and the factory default sits high, needing about 7 to 15 turns of the blue potentiometer before the voltage ramps down. The spec table adds RoHS and a 1 year limited warranty, and gives a size of 45 x 23 x 14 mm with the potentiometer.

Who it's for: builders who want a bench stock of identical buck modules for many small projects. Who should skip it: buyers who want a numeric voltage display or stated reverse polarity protection.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input3.2V to 35V
Output1.25V to 30V, 3A
Pack10 modules
Size45 x 23 x 14 mm

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. RoHS specification stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 Year Limited Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Seloky LM2596 3-Pack

Seloky LM2596 3-Pack

Seloky9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Three LM2596 buck modules with an LED voltmeter display, a 4V to 40V input range and a 1.25V to 37V adjustable output.

Pros

  • LED voltmeter display with 0.1V measurement error
  • Overheat and short-circuit protection stated
  • Reverse polarity protection from two input diodes
  • Terminal blocks for solder-free connections

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Voltmeter display stops below 4V of input
  • Heat dissipation needed for loads above 15W
  • Title says Pack of 3 while the spec table lists 2 items
Detailed Review

The listing states an LM2596 buck module with an LED voltmeter display accurate to 0.1V, a 4V to 40V input range, a 1.25V to 37V output range and a 150KHz internal oscillation frequency. Two diodes guard the input against reverse polarity, and the module includes overheat and short-circuit protection, with terminal blocks for solder-free connections. The title says Pack of 3 while the spec table lists the number of items as 2, so trust the title for the pack count, and the spec table adds RoHS.

Who it's for: builders who want a voltmeter on the module and a spare or two in the same order. Who should skip it: buyers who want a written warranty term on the listing.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input4V to 40V
Output1.25V to 37V
DisplayLED voltmeter, 0.1V error
Frequency150KHz

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. RoHS specification and overheat and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Seloky LM2596 2-Pack

Seloky LM2596 2-Pack

Seloky9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Two LM2596 buck modules with an LED voltmeter display, a 4V to 40V input range and a 1.25V to 37V adjustable output.

Pros

  • LED voltmeter display with 0.1V measurement error
  • Overheat and short-circuit protection stated
  • Reverse polarity protection from two input diodes
  • Terminal blocks for solder-free connections

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Voltmeter display stops below 4V of input
  • Heat dissipation needed for loads above 15W
  • No certification is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states an LM2596 buck module with an LED voltmeter display accurate to 0.1V, a 4V to 40V input range, a 1.25V to 37V output range and a 150KHz internal oscillation frequency. Two diodes guard the input against reverse polarity, and the module includes overheat and short-circuit protection, with terminal blocks for solder-free connections. The display stops below 4V of input, and loads above 15W need heat dissipation.

Who it's for: builders who want a voltmeter on the module in a two-pack for a pair of projects. Who should skip it: buyers who want a written warranty term or a stated certification.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input4V to 40V
Output1.25V to 37V
DisplayLED voltmeter, 0.1V error
Frequency150KHz

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overheat and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DC HOUSE 20A 240W Converter

DC HOUSE 20A 240W Converter

DC HOUSE9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20A, 240W step-down converter: 20-60V in, 12V out, with IP68 and stated protections.

Pros

  • 20A, 240W stated output
  • 20-60V input range stated
  • Up to 95% efficiency stated
  • IP68 with over-voltage, over-current, over-temperature and short-circuit protection stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 12V output is fixed, not adjustable
  • Silver color only
  • No key-switch wire is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a DC 48V/36V/24V to 12V converter with a 20-60V input range and a stable 12V output at 20A (240W), up to 95% conversion efficiency, a die-cast aluminum housing with IP68, over-voltage, over-current, over-temperature and short-circuit protection, a fuse, and four-wire plug-and-play connectors in a 2.91 x 2.91 x 1.26 inch, 9.12 ounce silver package. It suits golf carts, trucks, LED lights, audio systems, monitoring systems, motors and DIY projects.

Who it's for: owners who want the strongest stated output and harsh-condition housing here. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated warranty term or an adjustable output voltage.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Input20-60V
Output12V, 20A, 240W
EfficiencyUp to 95%
ProtectionOver-voltage, over-current, over-temp, short-circuit, IP68

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 and stated electrical protections, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Converter Solar Score Input Output Pack Warranty Amazon
Valefod LM2596 10-Pack 9.7/10 3.2V to 35V 1.25V to 30V, 3A 10 1 year View on Amazon
Seloky LM2596 3-Pack 9.7/10 4V to 40V 1.25V to 37V 3 Not stated View on Amazon
Seloky LM2596 2-Pack 9.7/10 4V to 40V 1.25V to 37V 2 Not stated View on Amazon
DC HOUSE 20A Step-Down 9.6/10 48V, 36V 12V, 20A Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 24 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a step-down converter, safety means stated protections and certifications the listing actually states; a converter that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its voltage range. Three of the four converters state a protection or a certification, and only the Valefod states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Valefod LM2596 10-Pack 9.7 30 21 22 5 3
Seloky LM2596 3-Pack 9.7 32 22 21 9 0
Seloky LM2596 2-Pack 9.7 32 22 21 8 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best dc to dc converter under 25

Match the input range to your source

The Seloky modules accept 4V to 40V, the Valefod modules accept 3.2V to 35V, and the DC HOUSE title gives 48V or 36V in. The Valefod listing adds a condition the others do not: the input voltage must sit 1.5V higher than the output voltage, and the module does not boost. Check your source voltage against the input range before anything else, since a converter cannot output a voltage its input range does not cover.

Check the output range and the current

The Valefod modules output 1.25V to 30V at up to 3A, the Seloky modules output 1.25V to 37V, and the DC HOUSE title gives 12V at 20A and 240W. Output current matters as much as voltage: a module that covers your voltage but not your load current will not run the load. The table below lines up the four converters on the figures the listings state.

Converter Input Output
Valefod LM2596 10-Pack 3.2V to 35V 1.25V to 30V, 3A
Seloky LM2596 3-Pack 4V to 40V 1.25V to 37V
Seloky LM2596 2-Pack 4V to 40V 1.25V to 37V
DC HOUSE 20A Step-Down 48V, 36V 12V, 20A

Read the protections and the warranty lines

The Seloky modules state the fullest protection detail here: two diodes against reverse polarity, plus overheat and short-circuit protection. The Valefod states RoHS and a 1 year limited warranty. The DC HOUSE title states neither a protection nor a warranty term. If a stated protection matters for your install, the Seloky pair is the documented choice; if a written warranty term matters, only the Valefod gives one. See also our best DC to DC converter guide for the wider field.

Mind the voltmeter and the heat limits

The Seloky modules carry an LED voltmeter display with a 0.1V measurement error, but the display stops below 4V of input, and holding the switch for 1 to 4 seconds turns it off. The same listings warn that loads above 15W need heat dissipation. The Valefod modules adjust with a blue potentiometer and a mini screwdriver, and the factory default sits high: expect about 7 to 15 turns before the voltage ramps down. These small handling details decide whether a module is pleasant to live with after install.

Check pack size against your project list

The Valefod listing gives 10 modules, the Seloky listings give packs of 3 and 2, and the DC HOUSE title gives a single converter. A 10-pack suits a bench stock for many small builds, while a 2-pack or 3-pack suits one or two projects with a spare on hand. Count the builds on your list before you choose a pack size, since extra modules only help if you have projects for them.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the converter input range to the source voltage: Seloky modules accept 4V to 40V, the Valefod accepts 3.2V to 35V, and the DC HOUSE title gives 48V or 36V in.
  • Match the output to the load: Valefod outputs 1.25V to 30V at up to 3A, Seloky outputs 1.25V to 37V, and the DC HOUSE title gives 12V at 20A.
  • Keep the Valefod input 1.5V above the output voltage, since the module does not boost.
  • Plan heat dissipation for Seloky loads above 15W, as the listing states.
  • Check the stated warranty and protections before ordering: only the Valefod states a warranty term.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which converters here include a voltmeter display?

The two Seloky packs include an LED voltmeter display with a 0.1V measurement error. The display stops when the input drops below 4V, and holding the switch for 1 to 4 seconds turns it off.

Can the Valefod modules boost a low input voltage?

The listing states the input voltage must be 1.5V higher than the output voltage, and that the module does not boost. The input must stay above the output voltage for the module to work.

What protections do the Seloky modules state?

Two diodes on the input side guard against reverse polarity, and the modules include overheat and short-circuit protection. For loads above 15W, the listing states that heat dissipation measures should be used.

Which converter here states a warranty term?

Only the Valefod states a warranty term: a 1 year limited warranty. Neither Seloky listing states a warranty term, and the DC HOUSE title states none either.

What does the DC HOUSE title state?

The title states a 20A 240W DC-DC step-down converter from 48V or 36V to 12V. No bullets, spec table or warranty text accompany it, so every figure beyond the title is unstated.

Valefod LM2596 10-Pack
Still deciding? Our top pickValefod LM2596 10-Pack
Check price on Amazon

See every DC to DC Chargers guide and all Controllers and Inverters guides. Also see our DC to DC charger vs MPPT charge controller comparison.

More picks: best DC to DC converter, best 12V USB outlet adapter.