On this page
When an extra battery joins a camper, a boat or a truck, the best dual battery tray under 30 is the tray that holds the battery firm through rough roads and rough water without fuss. A loose battery damages terminals and cables, so fit, strap and material matter more than headline figures. We compared what each listing states about battery group, material, hold-down and warranty terms, and ranked the picks by those stated figures.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall NOCO BT27S Group 27 Tray: USCG and ABYC specifications with a 1-year term Check price on Amazon
Best Two-Pack NSBGPSD Group 27 Tray: 2-pack Group 27 tray with quick-release buckle Check price on Amazon
Best Steel Kit QWORK Battery Hold-Down Kit: Corrosion-resistant steel kit with adjustable width Check price on Amazon
Group 31 Option NOCO BT31S Group 31 Tray: Group 31 heavy-duty tray in the title Check price on Amazon
Large Tray Option Camco Group 27 Hold-Down Tray: Large hold-down tray for Group 27 in the title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NOCO BT27S Group 27 Tray | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | NOCO BT31S Tray | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Camco 55404 Battery Tray | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | NSBGPSD Group 27 Tray | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | QWORK Battery Hold-Down Kit | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

NOCO BT27S Group 27 Tray
A heavy-duty Group 27 battery tray with a nylon webbing strap, stated specifications and a 1-year limited term.
Pros
- USCG 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications stated
- 42 inch nylon webbing strap with a heavy-duty buckle stated
- Tensile load of over 120 kilograms force stated for the strap
- Impact resistance down to minus 20 degrees Fahrenheit stated
Cons
- No tray material figure is stated
- Single battery tray, not a pack
- No strap adjustment figure beyond the buckle is stated
- No mounting hardware count is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a heavy-duty Group 27 tray for marine, RV, camper and trailer batteries, with a 42 inch nylon webbing strap, a heavy-duty buckle, a tensile load of over 120 kilograms force, USCG Code of Federal Regulations 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications, impact resistance down to minus 20 degrees Fahrenheit, and resistance to acid, gas, oil and UV exposure. The spec table gives 13.3 inches by 8.4 inches by 1.3 inches, 0.57 pounds and a 1-year limited warranty.
Who it's for: owners who want a documented Group 27 tray with a stated strap and specification figures. Who should skip it: buyers who want a pack, a stated tray material or a longer warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Group | Group 27 |
|---|---|
| Strap | 42 inch nylon webbing |
| Specifications | USCG 183.420, ABYC E-10.7 |
| Size | 13.3 x 8.4 x 1.3 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. USCG 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications, strap retention and impact resistance stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1-year limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 42-inch strap, 120 kg tensile load.
- Minus 20 degree impact resistance.
- Acid, gas, oil and UV resistant.
- Meets USCG 183.420.
Cons
- Group 31 only; not for group 24.
- No mounting point count stated.
- No tray dimensions stated.
- No warranty term is stated.
Detailed Review
The NOCO BT31S listing describes a rugged group 31 battery tray for marine, RV, camper and trailer batteries, with a heavy-duty 42-inch hold-down strap in nylon resistant webbing rated over 120 kilograms of tensile force. The tray is impact-resistant down to minus 20 degrees Fahrenheit, withstands acid, gas, oil and other contaminants, is immune to UV exposure, and meets United States Coast Guard Code of Federal Regulations 183.420.
Who it's for: a buyer with group 31 batteries who wants stated strength and certification. Who should skip it: anyone with group 24 batteries.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 25/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Fits | Group 31 |
|---|---|
| Strap | 42 in, 120 kg |
| Rating | -20F |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Camco 55404 Battery Tray
A large plastic tray for Group 27 automotive, RV and marine batteries with stainless steel hardware.
Pros
- Fits Group 27 batteries up to 12 11/16 by 6 ¾ by 8 ¾ inches
- Heavy-duty acid-resistant plastic with stainless steel hardware
- Meets Coast Guard CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 stated
- Includes tray, 2 rods, cross bar and 2 knobs
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Fixed size, not adjustable for taller batteries
- Plastic tray, not metal
- 15.4 ounces with no hardware weight split
Detailed Review
The listing states a large battery hold-down tray for Group 27 automotive, RV and marine batteries, made of heavy-duty acid-resistant plastic with stainless steel hardware. It fits batteries up to 12 11/16 inches long by 6 ¾ inches wide by 8 ¾ inches high, and includes 1 tray, 2 rods, 1 cross bar and 2 knobs. It meets U.S. Coast Guard CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications, and the design is patented.
Who it's for: RV and marine owners with Group 27 batteries who want a complete kit. Who should skip it: owners who need an adjustable-height tray.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Fits | Group 27, up to 12 11/16 x 6 ¾ x 8 ¾ in |
|---|---|
| Material | Acid-resistant plastic, stainless hardware |
| Includes | Tray, 2 rods, cross bar, 2 knobs |
| Weight | 15.4 oz |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Meets U.S. Coast Guard CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NSBGPSD Group 27 Tray
A 2-pack of Group 27 battery trays in high-strength plastic with a quick-release buckle and strap.
Pros
- 2-pack format for two Group 27 batteries
- Quick-release buckle stated to hold the battery firmly in place
- Adjustable buckles stated for positioning on rough seas or bumpy roads
- High-strength plastic stated with impact resistance
Cons
- No warranty term is counted, since the warranty description gives 1 with no unit
- No strap length figure is stated
- No tray dimensions figure is stated beyond fit up to 7 inches by 12.5 inches
- No specification code figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a Group 27 tray 2-pack for automotive, marine, boat and RV use, with a quick-release buckle, adjustable buckles, high-strength plastic, impact resistance and fit for Group 27 batteries up to 7 inches by 12.5 inches, with 4 screws stated for mounting. The spec table states a warranty description of 1 with no unit, so no warranty term is counted, and states no strap length or specification code figure.
Who it's for: owners who want two Group 27 trays with buckle hold-downs for boats and RVs. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term, a strap length figure or a specification code.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Group | Group 27 |
|---|---|
| Format | 2-pack |
| Material | High-strength plastic |
| Fit | Up to 7 x 12.5 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Quick-release buckle and impact-resistant plastic stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

QWORK Battery Hold-Down Kit
A corrosion-resistant steel battery hold-down kit with a J-bolt, groove design and adjustable width.
Pros
- Corrosion-resistant steel with a vinyl coating stated
- Groove design stated to keep the battery off the fasteners
- Adjustable width of 161-221mm stated
- Fits battery groups 65, 48 and 94R as listed
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No specification code figure is stated
- Bullets state two inner-size figures: 340mm and 337mm
- No strap figure is stated, since hold-down is by J-bolt
Detailed Review
The listing states a steel hold-down kit with a vinyl coating, a groove design, a J-bolt size of 23cm, an adjustable width of 161-221mm and fit for battery groups 65, 48 and 94R. The bullets state an inner size of 188mm by 337mm and also a tray inner size of 340mm, so the two inner-size figures differ slightly and the 188mm by 337mm figure reads as the usable inner size. No warranty term or specification code figure is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want a steel hold-down kit with adjustable width for several battery groups. Who should skip it: buyers who want a strap hold-down, a stated warranty term or a Group 27 tray.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Material | Corrosion-resistant steel |
|---|---|
| J-bolt | 23cm |
| Width | 161-221mm adjustable |
| Groups | 65, 48, 94R |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
NSBGPSD Group 24 TrayGroup 24 tray with quick-release buckle and strapCheck on Amazon
United Pacific Truck TrayStamped steel tray for 1973-80 Chevy and GMC trucksCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Tray | Solar Score | Battery group | Material | Strap or hold-down | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NOCO BT27S Group 27 Tray | 9.7/10 | Group 27 | Not stated | Nylon webbing strap, 42 inches | 1-year limited | View on Amazon |
| NSBGPSD Group 27 Tray | 9.5/10 | Group 27 | High-strength plastic | Quick-release buckle, strap | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| QWORK Battery Hold-Down Kit | 9.4/10 | Groups 65, 48, 94R | Corrosion-resistant steel | J-bolt hold-down | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| NOCO BT31S Group 31 Tray | 9.7/10 | Group 31 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Camco Group 27 Hold-Down Tray | 9.6/10 | Group 27 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery tray, safety means strap retention, impact resistance or stated specifications the listing actually states; a tray that states none of those scores zero on that line. 1 of the 5 picks states a concrete warranty term, and the other picks state no term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NOCO BT27S Group 27 Tray | 9.7 | 30 | 22 | 20 | 8 | 2 |
| NSBGPSD Group 27 Tray | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 4 | 0 |
| QWORK Battery Hold-Down Kit | 9.4 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best dual battery tray under 30
Start from battery group
Battery group decides fit before anything else. The NSBGPSD, NOCO BT27S and Camco picks are Group 27 trays, and the NSBGPSD pick states fit for Group 27 batteries up to 7 inches by 12.5 inches. The limited NOCO pick is a Group 31 tray, while the QWORK pick suits battery groups 65, 48 and 94R with an adjustable width. For the wider dual tray choice, see our best dual battery tray guide.
| Tray | Group | Hold-down |
|---|---|---|
| NOCO BT27S Group 27 Tray | Group 27 | Nylon strap |
| NSBGPSD Group 27 Tray | Group 27 | Quick-release buckle |
| QWORK Battery Hold-Down Kit | Groups 65, 48, 94R | J-bolt |
| NOCO BT31S Group 31 Tray | Group 31 | Not stated |
| Camco Group 27 Hold-Down Tray | Group 27 | Not stated |
Match material to the environment
Material decides how a tray survives water, acid and vibration. The NSBGPSD pick is high-strength plastic with impact resistance stated, and the QWORK pick is corrosion-resistant steel with a vinyl coating and a groove design that keeps the battery off the fasteners. The NOCO pick states impact resistance down to minus 20 degrees Fahrenheit, resistance to acid, gas and oil, and immunity to UV exposure, with a spec table size of 13.3 inches by 8.4 inches by 1.3 inches.
Check the hold-down
Hold-down design decides whether the battery stays put on rough roads and rough water. The NSBGPSD pick uses a quick-release buckle with adjustable buckles for positioning, and the QWORK pick uses a J-bolt sized at 23cm with an adjustable width of 161-221mm. The NOCO pick uses a 42 inch nylon webbing strap with a heavy-duty buckle, with a tensile load of over 120 kilograms force stated, so its hold-down figures are the fullest in this group.
Read the warranty line before you rely on it
Warranty wording is thin in this group. The NOCO pick states a 1-year limited term, and the NSBGPSD pick states a warranty description of 1 with no unit, so no term is counted for it. The QWORK and limited picks state no warranty term, so buyers who want written coverage should weigh the single stated term beside group and material.
Sizing Notes
- Match battery group first: Group 27, Group 31 and groups 65, 48 and 94R are all stated in this group.
- Check inner size figures: the QWORK pick states an inner size of 188mm by 337mm, with a tray inner size of 340mm also stated.
- Check strap figures: the NOCO pick states a 42 inch nylon webbing strap with a heavy-duty buckle.
- Match the warranty line to the role: only the NOCO pick states a concrete 1-year limited term in this group.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which trays fit Group 27 batteries?
The NSBGPSD, NOCO BT27S and Camco picks are Group 27 trays. The limited NOCO pick is a Group 31 tray, and the QWORK pick suits groups 65, 48 and 94R.
Which tray is steel?
The QWORK pick is corrosion-resistant steel with a vinyl coating and a groove design. The NSBGPSD pick is high-strength plastic, and the NOCO pick states no tray material figure.
Which tray states USCG and ABYC specifications?
The NOCO pick states USCG Code of Federal Regulations 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications. The other picks state no such specifications.
Which tray states a warranty term?
The NOCO pick states a 1-year limited term. The NSBGPSD pick states a warranty description of 1 with no unit, so no term is counted, and the other picks state no term.
Which pick is a 2-pack?
The NSBGPSD Group 27 pick is a 2-pack. The other picks are single units as listed.
Related guides
See every Batteries and Charging guide. Also see our best dual battery tray. Also see our best universal battery tray. Also see our best aluminum marine battery tray.
More picks: battery tray wall mount, steel vs aluminum battery box and battery box for rv.





