Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Electric Cooler for Tailgating (2026): 5 Compared

Five electric coolers for tailgating compared on stated capacity, power options, cooling figures and warranty terms, with contradictions in the listings noted.

Best Electric Cooler for Tailgating (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

The parking lot before kickoff is a race between the sun and the ice, and the best electric cooler for tailgating skips the ice entirely: a 12V thermoelectric box that plugs into the car and keeps drinks cold without a single cube. This article compares five electric coolers on stated capacity, power options, cooling figures and warranty terms, and flags the contradictions inside two of the listings. The top pick adds heating, wheels and a stated warranty to its cooling.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Igloo 45-Can Iceless Cooler
    Best Overall Igloo 45-Can Iceless Cooler: heating and cooling with wheels and a 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Wagan 14L Cooler and Warmer
    UL Listed Pick Wagan EL6214 14L Cooler: 14 liter thermoelectric cooler and warmer, UL listed Check price on Amazon
  • Ivation 25L Cooler and Warmer
    Dual Power Pick Ivation 25L Cooler Warmer: 25L with 110V AC and 12V DC power Check price on Amazon
  • Igloo 52-Can Iceless Cooler
    Big Capacity Pick Igloo 52-Can Iceless Cooler: 52 cans per the bullets, adjustable interior shelf Check price on Amazon
  • Wagan 6QT Thermoelectric Cooler
    Compact Pick Wagan EL6206 6Qt Cooler: 6 quart 12V cooler and warmer Check price on Amazon

The picks

Wagan 6QT Thermoelectric Cooler

Wagan 6QT Thermoelectric Cooler

Wagan9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-quart thermoelectric cooler and warmer at 5.5 pounds with UL listed.

Pros

  • Cools and warms stated
  • 5.5 pounds with carry strap stated
  • No CFCs or refrigerant stated
  • UL Listed stated in title

Cons

  • Cools only about 36F below ambient
  • 6-quart capacity, 9 cans
  • 48W consumption stated
  • No battery protection stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 6-quart (6 liter) thermoelectric cooler and warmer with cooling to about 36°F below ambient and warming to about 140°F, 48W consumption on 12/24V DC, room for 9 12oz cans, no CFCs or refrigerant, a carry strap, external beverage holders, an 8.1 by 5.3 by 8.1 inch interior, a 15 by 11 by 8.0 inch exterior, UL Listed in the title and a 1 YEAR warranty. The unit weighs 5.5 pounds.

Who it's for: day trips and commuters who want cooled or warmed drinks in a light box. Who should skip it: anyone who needs to freeze food.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity6 qt, 6 liters
Cooling36F below ambient
Warmingto 140F
Power48W, 12/24V DC

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL Listed stated in title, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 YEAR warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Igloo 45-Can Iceless Cooler

Igloo 45-Can Iceless Cooler

Igloo9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An Igloo thermoelectric cooler with cooling and heating, wheels and a tow handle, and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Cooling and heating function stated
  • Holds 45 cans per the bullets
  • Wheels and tow handle stated
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists 32 cans against 45 cans in the bullets
  • Weight stated as both 10 lbs and 11.9 pounds
  • Capacity stated as both 28 QT and 35 qt
  • No certification stated
Detailed Review

The listing states an Igloo iceless thermoelectric cooler with a modular lid, cooling and heating function, a quiet brushless motor, durable wheels and a tow handle, molded side handles, and 45 cans per the bullets, with 12V power, 36 F below ambient cooling and heating to 135 F per the item highlight. The spec table contradicts the bullets: 32 cans, 28 QT against a 35 qt size, and both 10 lbs and 11.9 pounds; trust the bullets. Coverage is a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: tailgaters who want cooling and heating with wheels and a tow handle and a stated 1-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who wants consistent listing figures or a stated certification.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity45 cans (bullets)
Power12V
Cooling36 F below ambient
HeatingHeats to 135 F

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Wagan 14L Cooler and Warmer

Wagan 14L Cooler and Warmer

Wagan9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 14L thermoelectric cooler and warmer with a carry strap, UL Listed.

Pros

  • Cools 36F below ambient and warms to 140F in one box
  • UL Listed stated in the title
  • Built-in carry strap and a 6-foot DC power cord
  • 10.3 pounds, the lightest pick here

Cons

  • Thermoelectric cooling only, no true freezing
  • Bullets say 12 cans of 12 oz while the spec table says 9
  • Internal dimensions differ between the bullets and the spec table
  • No noise figure is stated on the listing
Detailed Review

The title and bullets describe a 14L thermoelectric cooler and warmer that cools 36F below ambient and warms to 140F, with a built-in carry strap, a 6-foot DC power cord, 12/24V DC input, no CFCs or refrigerant, and UL Listed in the title. The spec table contradicts the bullets twice: it lists 6-quart capacity and 9-can capacity against the bullets' 14 liters and 12 cans of 12 oz, and different internal dimensions, so trust the title and bullets. The spec table lists 10.3 pounds and a 1 year limited warranty.

Who it's for: van travelers who want a light box that also warms food, carried by a strap. Who should skip it: anyone who needs frozen storage on hot days.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity14L
Cooling36F below ambient, thermoelectric
WarmingUp to 140F
Power12/24V DC, 48W

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL Listed stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ivation 25L Cooler and Warmer

Ivation 25L Cooler and Warmer

Ivation9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 25L thermoelectric cooler and warmer with a collapsible handle and both power cords.

Pros

  • 25 liters, the largest thermoelectric pick here
  • Maintains drinks icy cold at 40F and hot food at 130F
  • Hideaway AC power cord and DC adapter included in the box
  • Collapsible handle with airtight and watertight lid cover

Cons

  • No safety certification is stated on the listing
  • No vehicle battery protection is stated
  • Spec table lists ethylene glycol as refrigerant against thermoelectric cooling
  • Thermoelectric cooling only, no true freezing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 25L thermoelectric cooler and warmer that maintains drinks icy cold at 40F and hot food at 130F, with a collapsible handle, built-in fans, a one-button hot and cold switch, a hideaway AC power cord and a DC adapter, in blue at 4.8 kg. The spec table lists ethylene glycol as the refrigerant while the cooling method is stated as thermoelectric, an odd pairing on the listing. The spec table lists a 1 Year Warranty.

Who it's for: truckers who want the biggest thermoelectric box with both cords in the box. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated safety mark or true freezer cold.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity25L
CoolingIcy cold at 40F, thermoelectric
WarmingHot food at 130F
Power110V AC and 12V DC

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Igloo 52-Can Iceless Cooler

Igloo 52-Can Iceless Cooler

Igloo9.3/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An Igloo thermoelectric cooler with 52 cans per the bullets, an adjustable shelf and dual orientation.

Pros

  • Holds 52 cans per the bullets
  • Cools 38 F below ambient per the highlight
  • Adjustable interior shelf stated
  • Dual orientation: horizontal or vertical stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists 32 cans and 28 Qt against 52 cans and 40 qt
  • Weight stated as both 10 lbs and 18.8 pounds
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No certification stated
Detailed Review

The listing states an Igloo iceless thermoelectric cooler with a fan that circulates cold air, Cool Riser Technology, dual horizontal or vertical orientation, an adjustable interior shelf, and 52 cans per the bullets, with 12V power and 38 F below ambient cooling per the item highlight. The spec table contradicts the bullets: 32 cans and 28 Qt against 52 cans and a 40 qt size, plus both 10 lbs and 18.8 pounds; trust the bullets. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: tailgaters who want the biggest stated can count here with a shelf and dual orientation. Who should skip it: anyone who wants consistent figures, a warranty term or heating.

Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity52 cans (bullets)
Power12V
Cooling38 F below ambient
MaterialPolypropylene

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Cooler Solar Score Capacity Power Cooling Warranty Amazon
Igloo 45-Can Iceless Cooler 9.5/10 45 cans (bullets) 12V 36 F below ambient, heats to 135 F 1 year View on Amazon
Wagan EL6214 14L Cooler 9.5/10 14 liter Not stated Cools and warms, no figure Not stated
Ivation 25L Cooler Warmer 9.4/10 25L 110V AC, 12V DC Cools and warms, no figure Not stated
Igloo 52-Can Iceless Cooler 9.3/10 52 cans (bullets) 12V 38 F below ambient Not stated View on Amazon
Wagan EL6206 6Qt Cooler 9.6/10 6 quart 12V Cools and warms, no figure Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an electric cooler, safety means stated certifications or registrations the listing actually states, and only one of the five picks states one: the Wagan EL6214, UL listed. One of the five picks states a warranty with a concrete term: the Igloo 45-can cooler with 1 year. Two listings contradict their own spec tables on capacity and weight; the reviews use the bullet figures and note the conflicts. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Igloo 45-Can Iceless Cooler 9.5 29 20 19 0 3
Igloo 52-Can Iceless Cooler 9.3 26 19 18 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best electric cooler for tailgating

Capacity: trust the bullets, not the table

Two listings here disagree with themselves. The 52-can Igloo states 52 cans in its bullets and 32 cans in its spec table, and the 45-can Igloo states 45 cans in its bullets and 32 cans in its spec table, so the reviews use the bullet figures and say so. On the stated figures the 52-can Igloo leads on can count, the 45-can Igloo follows, and the rest are measured differently: 25L on the Ivation, 14 liter on the Wagan EL6214 and 6 quart on the Wagan EL6206. Match the figure to the crowd, not to the tailgate. For soft-sided options, see the best 12V cooler bag guide.

Power: 12V DC, AC, or both

Most thermoelectric coolers here run on 12V from the car. The two Igloo coolers and the Wagan EL6206 state 12V, and the Ivation states both 110V AC and 12V DC, which matters when the tailgate starts in the garage before the car leaves. The Wagan EL6214 states no power figure at all. If the cooler will run off a portable power station instead of the car, see the best 12V cooler dual zone guide and the 12V cooler vs 12V refrigerator comparison.

Cooling and heating figures

Only the two Igloo listings state cooling figures: 36 F below ambient on the 45-can cooler and 38 F below ambient on the 52-can cooler, both per their item highlights. Heating is stated on four of the five picks: the 45-can Igloo heats to 135 F, and the two Wagans and the Ivation are titled cooler and warmer, though none of those three states a heating figure. The 52-can Igloo states cooling only.

Cooler Cooling stated Heating stated
Igloo 45-Can Iceless Cooler 36 F below ambient Heats to 135 F
Wagan EL6214 14L Cooler Not stated Cooler and warmer, no figure
Ivation 25L Cooler Warmer Not stated Cooler and warmer, no figure
Igloo 52-Can Iceless Cooler 38 F below ambient Not stated
Wagan EL6206 6Qt Cooler Not stated Cooler and warmer, no figure

Tailgate setup: wheels, handles and orientation

The 45-can Igloo is the hauler of the group: durable wheels and a tow handle for the walk from the car, plus molded side handles for two-handed loading. The Ivation has a carrying handle, and the 52-can Igloo works horizontally like a standard ice chest or vertically like a refrigerator, with an adjustable interior shelf for different sized items. The Wagans state the least about setup, which fits their smaller capacities: 14 liter and 6 quart. For more use cases, see the best 12V cooler for van and best 12V cooler with wheels guides.

Sizing Notes

  • Match capacity to the crowd: 45 and 52 cans on the Igloos per their bullets, 25L on the Ivation, 14 liter on the Wagan EL6214, 6 quart on the Wagan EL6206.
  • Check power: 12V on the two Igloos and the Wagan EL6206; 110V AC and 12V DC on the Ivation; not stated on the Wagan EL6214.
  • Compare cooling figures as stated: 36 F below ambient on the 45-can Igloo, 38 F below ambient on the 52-can Igloo, none stated on the others.
  • Note heating: heats to 135 F on the 45-can Igloo; cooler and warmer with no figure on the Wagans and the Ivation; cooling only on the 52-can Igloo.
  • Read the warranty line: 1 year on the 45-can Igloo; none stated on the other four.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which cooler here has wheels?

The 45-can Igloo, with durable wheels and a tow handle stated in its bullets, plus molded side handles for two-handed carrying.

Which coolers heat as well as cool?

The 45-can Igloo heats to 135 F per its item highlight. The two Wagans and the Ivation are titled cooler and warmer but state no heating figure. The 52-can Igloo states cooling only.

Which cooler states a certification?

The Wagan EL6214, which is UL listed. The other four listings state no certification.

Why do the Igloo listings give two can counts?

The bullets and the spec tables disagree: the bullets state 52 and 45 cans, while the spec tables state 32 cans. This article uses the bullet figures and notes the conflict in each review.

Which cooler states a warranty?

The 45-can Igloo, with a 1-year warranty in its spec table. The other four listings state no warranty term.

Wagan 6QT Thermoelectric Cooler
Still deciding? Our top pickWagan 6QT Thermoelectric Cooler
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see the best 12V cooler bag guide. Also see the best 12V cooler dual zone guide. Also see the 12V cooler vs 12V refrigerator guide. Also see the best 12V cooler for van guide. Also see the best 12V cooler with wheels guide.

More picks: best electric cooler under 100, best electric cooler for beach, best 12V cooler for boat, best 12V cooler for trucking.