On this page
When the lights go out during dinner and the storm warnings keep coming, a best emergency radio under 20 keeps weather alerts and news coming through a hand crank, solar panel or spare batteries. This list compares emergency radios on bands, power sources, battery life and stated warranty terms, with more options after the picks. The listings state what each radio covers, how it charges, and how long its maker says it runs, so the ranking follows those stated figures.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall XHDATA D221 Radio: FM, AM, shortwave and NOAA bands with a DSP chip for reception Check price on Amazon
Best Charging Options iRonsnow Emergency Radio: Hand crank, solar and USB charging with NOAA alerts and an SOS alarm Check price on Amazon
Best Battery Life Coby Pocket AM FM Radio: Up to 800 hours of battery life from 2 AA batteries in a pocket size Check price on Amazon
Also to Consider WVL Emergency Weather Radio: Title pairs a weather radio with a 2000mAh charger Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | XHDATA D221 Radio | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | iRonsnow Emergency Radio | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | WVL Navy Green Radio | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Coby Pocket AM FM Radio | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

XHDATA D221 Radio
A pocket FM, AM, shortwave and NOAA weather radio with DSP reception, running on 2 AA batteries.
Pros
- FM, AM, shortwave and NOAA bands with 7 NOAA weather stations
- DSP chip for reception across FM 87-108 MHz, AM 520-1730 KHz and SW 5.6-22.0 MHz
- 125 g without batteries and 125 x 74 x 30 mm pocket size
- 3.5 mm headphone jack and built-in speaker
Cons
- Battery powered only, with no hand crank or solar charging listed
- Not water resistant
- Needs 2 AA batteries, with no rechargeable battery listed
- No flashlight or SOS alarm is listed
Detailed Review
The listing states FM, AM, shortwave and NOAA bands, a DSP chip, WB 162.40-162.55 MHz, a size of 125 x 74 x 30 mm and a weight of 125 g without batteries, running on 2 AA batteries. No contradiction stands out: the title, description and spec table agree on the bands, the battery type and the pocket size.
Who it's for: a listener who wants shortwave and NOAA weather bands in a pocket radio. Who should skip it: someone who wants hand crank or solar charging, since this listing states battery power only.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Bands | FM, AM, SW, NOAA |
|---|---|
| Size | 125 x 74 x 30 mm |
| Weight | 125 g without batteries |
| Power | 2 AA batteries |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year after-service. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

iRonsnow Emergency Radio
A hand crank, solar and USB emergency weather radio with AM, FM and NOAA bands, a 2000mAh phone charger, SOS alarm and LED flashlight.
Pros
- AM, FM and NOAA bands with 7-band tuning
- Hand crank, solar and USB charging in one radio
- 2000mAh charger with Type C USB for phones
- SOS alarm and 1W LED flashlight for emergencies
Cons
- Flashlight versions ship randomly: 1 light with 3 brightness levels, or 3 lights with 1 brightness level
- No shortwave band is listed, only AM, FM and NOAA
- Water resistance is listed only as water resistant, with no IP rating stated
- Daily charging still relies on USB, with crank and solar as backup sources
Detailed Review
The listing states AM, FM and NOAA bands, a 2000mAh charger with Type C USB, hand crank and solar charging, an SOS alarm and a 1W LED flashlight, in a size of 5.7 x 2.2 x 2.7 inches. One contradiction needs care: the description says the new version features 1 light with 3 brightness levels while the old version has 3 lights with 1 brightness level, and versions are shipped randomly, so the flashlight configuration on arrival is not fixed.
Who it's for: a household that wants NOAA alerts plus phone charging from crank, solar or USB power. Who should skip it: a listener who wants a simple battery-only radio without charging features.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Bands | AM, FM, NOAA |
|---|---|
| Battery | 2000mAh |
| Power sources | USB, hand crank, solar |
| Size | 5.7 x 2.2 x 2.7 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 18-month returns stated in bullets
- Motion sensor reading lamp stated
- 231 grams, compact
- 1.5W flashlight stated
Cons
- No IPX code stated
- 2000mAh, the smallest here
- No shortwave stated
- Spec table states 1 year against the bullets
Detailed Review
The listing states an emergency radio with a 2000mAh phone charger, AM/FM/NOAA bands, a 1.5W LED flashlight, a motion sensor reading lamp, an SOS siren, 3 power sources (hand crank, solar, built-in rechargeable battery), a 130 by 50 by 60mm size, 231 grams and 18-month returns with lifetime technical support in the bullets. The spec table states 1 year, so trust the bullets.
Who it's for: bedside kits that want a motion sensor lamp. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated IPX code.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 2000mAh |
|---|---|
| Bands | AM/FM/NOAA |
| Light | 1.5W, motion sensor |
| Size | 130x50x60mm |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 18-month returns stated in bullets. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Coby Pocket AM FM Radio
A pocket AM/FM radio with up to 800 hours of battery life from 2 AA batteries and a 3.5 mm audio jack.
Pros
- Up to 800 hours of battery life from 2 AA batteries
- Pocket size with LCD display
- 3.5 mm audio jack for wired listening
- Clear AM/FM reception with reduced static, per the description
Cons
- No NOAA weather band is listed, only AM and FM
- Not water resistant
- Mono audio output only
- No hand crank, solar or USB charging is listed
Detailed Review
The listing states AM and FM bands, up to 800 hours of battery life, 2 AA batteries, a pocket size, an LCD display and a 3.5 mm audio jack, with mono audio output. No contradiction stands out, but the gap matters for this topic: the listing states no NOAA weather band, so it cannot serve as a weather alert radio.
Who it's for: a listener who wants long battery life for music and news in a pocket radio. Who should skip it: someone who needs NOAA weather alerts, which this listing does not state.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Bands | AM, FM |
|---|---|
| Battery life | Up to 800 hours |
| Power | 2 AA batteries |
| Audio | Mono speaker with 3.5 mm jack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Stansport AM FM ReceiverFor a listener who wants a simple AM/FM receiver on 2 AA batteries.Check on Amazon
JENSEN JEP-100 Weather RadioFor a listener who wants NOAA weather bands with a flashlight.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Radio | Solar Score | Bands | Power sources | Battery | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XHDATA D221 Radio | 9.5/10 | FM, AM, SW, NOAA | 2 AA batteries | 2 AA | 1 year after-service | View on Amazon |
| iRonsnow Emergency Radio | 9.5/10 | AM, FM, NOAA | USB, hand crank, solar | 2000mAh | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Coby Pocket AM FM Radio | 9.3/10 | AM, FM | 2 AA batteries | 2 AA | 1 Year | View on Amazon |
| WVL Emergency Weather Radio | 9.4/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety here means stated safety ratings and features: no listing states a UL, ETL, CSA, FCC or IP rating, so every pick scores zero on safety. Two listings state a 1 year term, while the other two state no concrete warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XHDATA D221 Radio | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
| iRonsnow Emergency Radio | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Coby Pocket AM FM Radio | 9.3 | 23 | 19 | 19 | 0 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best emergency radio under 20
Start with the weather bands
NOAA weather bands matter most when the forecast turns severe, and only two listings here state them: the iRonsnow radio lists AM, FM and NOAA bands, and the XHDATA D221 lists FM, AM, shortwave and NOAA bands with 7 NOAA weather stations. The Coby listing states AM and FM only, so it suits music and news rather than storm alerts. For more gear in this category, browse all camping and emergency gear guides.
Pick a power source that works without an outlet
An outage radio should not depend on wall power, and the listings split two ways: the iRonsnow listing states USB charging as the main daily power way, with hand crank and solar power as backup sources, while the XHDATA and Coby listings state 2 AA batteries. A crank or solar option keeps the radio going when spare batteries run out, while a battery-only radio is simpler to run. For charging gear of other kinds, see solar chargers and power banks guides.
Check size, weight and battery life
The XHDATA D221 lists a size of 125 x 74 x 30 mm and a weight of 125 g without batteries, so it fits a pocket or handbag, while the iRonsnow listing states a size of 5.7 x 2.2 x 2.7 inches. The Coby listing claims up to 800 hours of battery life from 2 AA batteries, which suits long stretches between battery changes. For larger backup power, see all power stations guides.
Read the warranty term before you buy
Warranty terms here are short and plain: the Coby and XHDATA listings state a 1 year term each. The iRonsnow and title-only listings state no concrete warranty term, so check their full listings before deciding. A stated term does not change reception or battery life, but it does say how long the maker stands behind the radio.
Sizing Notes
- Match the bands to the alerts you need: the iRonsnow and XHDATA listings state NOAA weather bands, while the Coby listing states AM and FM only.
- Match the power source to the outage: the iRonsnow listing states USB, hand crank and solar charging, while the XHDATA and Coby listings state 2 AA batteries.
- Match the charger to the phone: the iRonsnow listing states a 2000mAh charger with Type C USB.
- Check the stated warranty term: 1 year on the Coby and XHDATA listings, and no concrete term stated on the iRonsnow and title-only picks.
Frequently Asked Questions
What bands should an emergency radio have?
NOAA weather bands carry official weather broadcasts, and the iRonsnow and XHDATA listings both state them, with the XHDATA listing naming 7 NOAA weather stations. The Coby listing states AM and FM only, so it cannot pick up weather band broadcasts. For storm alerts, choose a listing that states NOAA bands.
Can an emergency radio charge a phone?
The iRonsnow listing states a 2000mAh charger with Type C USB for phones, plus a charging indicator with 4 lights for 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% of power. The XHDATA and Coby listings state no phone charging, so a phone charger must come from elsewhere with those picks.
How long does the Coby radio run?
The Coby listing claims up to 800 hours of battery life from 2 AA batteries, which the description presents as the reason battery changes stay rare. That figure is the maker’s claim for the listing, not a measured result, so treat it as a stated maximum rather than a promise for every use.
Do these radios need an outlet to charge?
The iRonsnow listing states USB charging as the main daily power way, with hand crank and solar power as backup sources that regenerate power in an emergency. The XHDATA and Coby listings state 2 AA batteries and no charging input, so they need fresh batteries rather than an outlet.
Are these radios water resistant?
The iRonsnow listing states a water resistance level of water resistant, with no IP rating stated, so do not read it as a rated water-protection claim. The Coby and XHDATA listings state a water resistance level of not water resistant, so keep those two dry.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: solar flood light with CCTV camera, solar fan for greenhouse and solar panel for home office.





