Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Extension Cable for 12V Power (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five 12V extension cables compared on length, current, wire gauge, connector type, stated protections and warranty, using only what each listing states.

Best Extension Cable for 12V Power (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

A camera mounted under the eaves with its adapter on the far side of the garage, a fridge humming in the back of the SUV, a tire inflator that cannot reach the trailer tires: every one of them is a power source too far from the device. The best extension cable for 12v power closes that gap, carrying low-voltage DC from the outlet or adapter to where the device actually sits. We compared five 12V extension cables on what each listing states: length, current, wire gauge, connector type, stated protections and warranty. The Gibbab cord leads with the longest reach and the longest stated warranty, and the ANLINK two-pack follows with the highest stated input current.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Gibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord
    Best Overall Gibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord: Longest cable here at 13 ft with a 5-year warranty stated. Check price on Amazon
  • ANLINK 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack
    Best DC Barrel 2-Pack ANLINK 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack: 10 ft white two-pack with 6A input and 10000+ bend lifespan. Check price on Amazon
  • CHANZON 6FT Cig Lighter Cord
    Best Fused Car Cord CHANZON 6FT Cig Lighter Cord: 16 AWG car cord with a 15A fuse and LED indicator. Check price on Amazon
  • Security-01 10FT DC 2-Pack
    Best White 2-Pack Security-01 10FT DC 2-Pack: 10 ft two-pack with a 1-year replacement warranty stated. Check price on Amazon
  • SIOCEN 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack
    Best Basic 2-Pack SIOCEN 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack: 10 ft two-pack of pure copper DC extension cords. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Gibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord

Gibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord

Gibbab9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 13 ft 16 AWG cigarette lighter extension cord rated 15A and 156W, with two 15A fuses and a water resistant cap.

Pros

  • 13 ft, the longest cable in this group
  • 16 AWG copper wire rated 15A with 156W stated
  • Two 15A fuses and a water resistant cap stated
  • 5 Year Manufacturer Warranty stated

Cons

  • Bullets say max current 20A and a built-in 20A fuse, conflicting with the 15A title and spec table
  • Bullets describe the wire as UL Certified 6 foot copper wire on a 13 ft cord
  • LED lights in the title are not described in the bullets
  • Single cable, not a two-pack
Detailed Review

The title states a 13 ft 16 AWG 12V/24V cigarette lighter extension cord rated 15A and 156W, with two 15A fuses, LED lights and a water resistant cap. The bullets add 1.31mm² copper wire, bakelite plugs, a 5 Year Manufacturer Warranty and uses from tire inflators to seat heaters. The bullets also say max current 20A and a built-in 20A fuse, which conflicts with the 15A figure in the title and spec table, and they call the wire 6 foot copper wire on a 13 ft cord; trust the title and spec table for the 15A figure.

Who it's for: drivers who need the longest fused reach for high-draw 12V gear. Who should skip it: buyers who need a DC barrel cord for cameras or routers.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length13 ft (156 in)
Wire16 AWG copper
Current15A, 156W
ProtectionTwo 15A fuses, water resistant cap

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Water resistant cap and built-in fuse stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 5 Year Manufacturer Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ANLINK 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack
ANLINK9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A white two-pack of 10 ft 5.5 x 2.1mm DC extension cords in pure copper with a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Two 10 ft cables: cascade them for a longer run
  • 100% pure copper wire with 6A input current and 72W stated
  • 10000+ bend lifespan and weather protection stated
  • 1 Year Warranty stated

Cons

  • Only 5.5 x 2.1mm plugs: will not fit other sizes
  • No fuse is stated
  • No wire gauge is stated
  • Two-pack only, no single-cable option
Detailed Review

The listing states two 10 ft male-to-female 5.5 x 2.1mm DC extension cords in white, made of 100% pure copper wire, with 6A input current, 72W, weather protection and a 10000+ bend lifespan. Two or more cables can be cascaded for a longer run, and it suits cameras, routers, LED strips, monitors and printers on 12V down to 5V. The spec table gives 118.11 inches, the per-cable length.

Who it's for: buyers wiring cameras or LED strips who want a white two-pack with a stated warranty. Who should skip it: buyers who need a fused cord for high-draw car gear.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length10 ft (118.11 in) per cable
Plug5.5 x 2.1mm male-to-female
Current6A input, 72W
Pack2 cables, white

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Weather protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CHANZON 6FT Cig Lighter Cord

CHANZON 6FT Cig Lighter Cord

CHANZON9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6 ft 16 AWG cigarette lighter extension cord with a 15A fuse, LED indicator and UL-listed wire.

Pros

  • 16 AWG pure copper wire with UL listing stated
  • Integrated 15A fuse with a red LED indicator
  • 240W stated, the highest wattage here
  • Bakelite plugs resist heat and melting, per the listing

Cons

  • Bullets say it extends power up to 10A while the title and spec table say 15A
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Only 6 ft, less reach than every other cable here
  • Single cable, not a two-pack
Detailed Review

The listing states 6 ft of 16 AWG (1.31mm²) pure copper wire with UL listing, a male-to-female cigarette lighter socket, an integrated 15A fuse with a red LED indicator, 240W and 15A input current. The bullets say it extends a 12V-24V source up to 10A, which conflicts with the 15A fuse in the title and the 15A input current in the spec table; trust the title and spec table. Uses named include tire inflators, mini-fridges, vacuums and coffee makers.

Who it's for: drivers who want a fused, UL-wired cord for car gear. Who should skip it: buyers who need more than 6 ft or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length6 ft (72 in)
Wire16 AWG pure copper, UL stated
Current15A fuse, 240W
PlugCigarette lighter male-to-female

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL-listed wire and 15A fuse with LED indicator stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Security-01 10FT DC 2-Pack

Security-01 10FT DC 2-Pack

Security-019.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A white two-pack of 10 ft 5.5 x 2.1mm DC extension cords rated 3A and 36W with a 1-year replacement warranty.

Pros

  • Two 10 ft cables for cameras, DVRs and LED strips
  • 3A max load current with 36W stated
  • Supports 5V to 24V DC devices
  • 1-year replacement warranty in the bullets, plus 30-day money-back

Cons

  • Bullets say a 1-year replacement warranty while the spec table says a 2-Year Warranty
  • Spec table lists 33ft/10m length and 1-Pack quantity against the 10 ft 2-pack in the bullets
  • No fuse is stated
  • No wire gauge is stated
Detailed Review

The bullets state two 10 ft female-to-male 5.5 x 2.1mm cords in white, pure copper wire, 5V to 24V support, 3A max load, 36W and a 30-day money-back guarantee with a 1-year replacement warranty and lifetime support. The spec table disagrees on two lines: it says 2-Year Warranty and 33ft/10m length with 1-Pack quantity; trust the bullets. It suits CCTV cameras, DVRs, WiFi cameras, LED strips and routers.

Who it's for: buyers who want a white two-pack with warranty wording in the bullets. Who should skip it: buyers who need a fuse or a stated wire gauge.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length10 ft per cable
Plug5.5 x 2.1mm female-to-male
Current3A, 36W
Pack2 cables, white

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year replacement warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SIOCEN 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack

SIOCEN 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack

SIOCEN9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A two-pack of 10 ft 5.5 x 2.1mm DC extension cords in pure copper, rated 2A and 24W.

Pros

  • Two 10 ft cables for indoor or outdoor cameras
  • Pure copper wire with 2A and 24W stated
  • Compatible with 5V, 6V, 9V, 12V and 24V DC devices
  • Male-to-female connectors fit 5.5 x 2.1mm plugs

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No fuse is stated
  • No wire gauge is stated
  • 2A is the lowest current figure in this group
Detailed Review

The listing states two 10 ft 5.5 x 2.1mm male-to-female DC extension cords made of pure copper, with 2A, 24W and 12V, for cameras, routers, LED strips, monitors and more on 5V to 24V. The spec table gives 120 inches, the per-cable length. It is the simplest listing in this group, with no warranty, fuse or gauge stated.

Who it's for: buyers who need a basic two-pack for low-draw 12V devices. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty or higher current.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length10 ft (120 in) per cable
Plug5.5 x 2.1mm male-to-female
Current2A, 24W
Pack2 cables

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • ANLINK 20FT DC Extension 2-PackANLINK 20FT DC Extension 2-Pack20 ft white two-pack for long runs to cameras and LED strips.Check on Amazon
  • CHANZON 12FT Cig Lighter CordCHANZON 12FT Cig Lighter Cord12 ft 16 AWG car cord with a 15A fuse for inflators and fridges.Check on Amazon
  • SIOCEN 6FT DC Extension CableSIOCEN 6FT DC Extension CableSingle 6 ft DC extender for short hops to cameras.Check on Amazon
  • SIOCEN 6FT DC 2-PackSIOCEN 6FT DC 2-PackTwo-pack of 6 ft DC cords for nearby camera setups.Check on Amazon
  • IMIYORE 3.3FT DC 2-PackIMIYORE 3.3FT DC 2-PackShort 3.3 ft 18 AWG pair for routers and printers.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Extension Cable Solar Score Length Current Wire / Plug Warranty Amazon
Gibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord 9.7/10 13 ft 15A 16 AWG, cig lighter 5 years View on Amazon
ANLINK 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack 9.6/10 10 ft 6A 5.5×2.1mm, pure copper 1 year View on Amazon
CHANZON 6FT Cig Lighter Cord 9.6/10 6 ft 15A 16 AWG, cig lighter Not stated View on Amazon
Security-01 10FT DC 2-Pack 9.5/10 10 ft 3A 5.5×2.1mm, pure copper 1 year View on Amazon
SIOCEN 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack 9.4/10 10 ft 2A 5.5×2.1mm, pure copper Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an extension cable, safety means the stated protections: fuses, UL-listed wire and weather protection the listing actually carries; a cable that states none scores zero on that line. Three of the five cables state a warranty term, and two state UL wire or a built-in fuse. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Gibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord 9.7 32 21 21 7 4
ANLINK 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack 9.6 29 21 21 5 3
CHANZON 6FT Cig Lighter Cord 9.6 30 21 20 7 0
Security-01 10FT DC 2-Pack 9.5 28 20 21 0 3
SIOCEN 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack 9.4 28 20 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best extension cable for 12v power

Match the connector to the device

These cables fall into two families. The SIOCEN, ANLINK and Security-01 cords use a 5.5 x 2.1mm DC barrel plug, male to female, made for cameras, routers, DVRs, LED strips and printers. The CHANZON and Gibbab cords use a car cigarette lighter socket, male to female, made for tire inflators, mini-fridges, vacuums and coffee makers. A barrel plug will not fit a cigarette lighter socket, so check the device port before you order. If the device is a fridge, our solar fridge vs 12v refrigerator guide covers the power side.

Length, current and gauge

Length sets the reach and current sets the load. The Gibbab reaches 13 ft at 15A over 16 AWG wire, the ANLINK and Security-01 and SIOCEN cords each run 10 ft at 6A, 3A and 2A respectively, and the CHANZON runs 6 ft at 15A over 16 AWG. Heavier loads like inflators and fridges belong on the fused 16 AWG car cords; cameras and LED strips are fine on the barrel cords. The table below lines up the stated figures.

Cable Length Current Connector
Gibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord 13 ft 15A Cigarette lighter
ANLINK 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack 10 ft 6A 5.5 x 2.1mm barrel
CHANZON 6FT Cig Lighter Cord 6 ft 15A Cigarette lighter
Security-01 10FT DC 2-Pack 10 ft 3A 5.5 x 2.1mm barrel
SIOCEN 10FT DC Extension 2-Pack 10 ft 2A 5.5 x 2.1mm barrel

For more on picking a span, see 10 ft vs 20 ft solar extension cable.

Read the fuse, weather and warranty lines

The CHANZON states an integrated 15A fuse with a red LED indicator and UL-listed wire, and the Gibbab ships two 15A fuses with a water resistant cap. The ANLINK states weather protection and a 10000+ bend lifespan. On warranty, Gibbab states 5 years, ANLINK states 1 year, and the Security-01 bullets state a 1-year replacement warranty while its spec table says 2 years; the SIOCEN and CHANZON listings state no warranty term. The SIOCEN, CHANZON and Gibbab also state 12V to 24V support, which matters if your setup might move to 24V later: see 12v vs 24v deep cycle battery.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the plug first: 5.5 x 2.1mm barrel for cameras, routers and LED strips; a cigarette lighter socket for inflators, fridges and coffee makers.
  • Size the current to the load: 2A to 3A on the DC barrel cords here, 15A fuses on the two car cords.
  • Check the listing’s own length: the Security-01 spec table says 33ft/10m but its bullets say 10 ft, and the bullets win.
  • Two listings here are two-packs; ANLINK states two or more of its cables can be cascaded for a longer run.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the longest cable here?

The Gibbab at 13 ft. The ANLINK, Security-01 and SIOCEN cords are 10 ft each, and the CHANZON car cord is 6 ft.

Which cables have a fuse?

The CHANZON has an integrated 15A fuse with an LED indicator, and the Gibbab ships with two 15A fuses. The three DC barrel cords state no fuse.

Can I use these with a 24V device?

The Security-01 states 5V to 24V, the CHANZON and Gibbab state 12V to 24V, and the SIOCEN lists 5V, 6V, 9V, 12V and 24V compatibility. Check your device’s port size and current draw first.

Which cables state a warranty?

Gibbab states a 5-year manufacturer warranty and ANLINK states a 1-year warranty. The Security-01 bullets state a 1-year replacement warranty while its spec table says 2 years. The SIOCEN and CHANZON listings state no warranty term.

Can two cables be joined for a longer run?

ANLINK states two or more of its cables can be cascaded together. The SIOCEN 6 ft cable in More picks below says the same. Match the plug size on both ends.

Gibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord
Still deciding? Our top pickGibbab 13FT Cig Lighter Cord
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: our best 12v refrigerator for SUV and best solar extension cable for trailer picks.