Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Batteries and Charging

Best Extra Long Battery Cables (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five extra long battery cables, from 16 feet to 25 feet, compared on length, gauge, rating, certification and warranty term.

Best Extra Long Battery Cables (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

A dead battery with the other car parked nose to nose is a solved problem, and a battery that dies with the cars parked apart is not, and the best extra long battery cables are the ones long enough to bridge that gap without repositioning either car. We compared five jumper cables, from 16 feet to 25 feet, on stated length, gauge, rating, certification and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • TOPDC 20 ft
    Top Pick TOPDC 20 ft: 20 foot cable with stated certification and 5-year term Check price on Amazon
  • TOPDC 25 ft
    Best Long Reach TOPDC 25 ft: 25 foot cable with stated certification and 5-year term Check price on Amazon
  • A ABIGAIL 25 ft
    Best Heavy Gauge A ABIGAIL 25 ft: 25 foot cable, thickest gauge stated, with stated rating Check price on Amazon
  • ExtreSpo 20 ft
    Best Kit Value ExtreSpo 20 ft: 20 foot cable with case, gloves and brushes included Check price on Amazon
  • Goodyear 16 ft
    Best Short Reach Goodyear 16 ft: 16 foot cable with insulated build and carrying case Check price on Amazon

The picks

TOPDC 20 ft

TOPDC 20 ft

TOPDC9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 gauge jumper cable at 20 feet, with UL certified clamps, a 5-year quality guarantee and a carry bag.

Pros

  • 20 foot length for cars parked apart
  • UL certification stated for the clamps
  • 5-year quality guarantee stated
  • Carry bag included, plus a step-by-step guide stated

Cons

  • No current rating is stated
  • 20 feet is shorter than the 25 foot picks here
  • Copper clad aluminum, not pure copper, per the listing
  • 5.15 pound item weight with no capacity context
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4 gauge, 20 foot jumper cable with four alligator clamps, copper clad aluminum wire, a premium PVC surface resistant to freezing, cracking and folding, and a carry bag. It states UL certification for the clamps, with performance from minus 40 degrees F to 140 degrees F, and a 5-year quality guarantee with full after-sales support. No current rating is stated. The listing states suitability for SUVs, full-size cars, mid-size cars and compact cars.

Who it's for: a trunk kit that wants a stated certification and a stated term at 20 feet. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 25 feet or a stated current rating, since this cable states neither.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length20 ft
Gauge4 gauge
ClampsAlligator, UL certified
BagCarry bag included

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL certification stated for the clamps, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5-year quality guarantee. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TOPDC 25 ft

TOPDC 25 ft

TOPDC9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 gauge jumper cable at 25 feet, with UL certified clamps, a 5-year quality assurance and a carry bag.

Pros

  • 25 foot length, the longest stated here with the A ABIGAIL
  • UL certification stated for the clamps
  • 5-year quality assurance stated
  • Carry bag included for storage

Cons

  • No current rating is stated
  • Heavier than the 20 foot TOPDC at 6.09 pounds, per the spec table
  • Copper clad aluminum, not pure copper, per the listing
  • No gloves or brushes are stated as included
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4 gauge, 25 foot jumper cable with four alligator clamps, an insulating material to prevent rust and corrosion, a premium PVC surface resistant to freezing, cracking and folding, and a carry bag. It states UL certification for the clamps, with performance from minus 40 degrees F to 140 degrees F, and a 5-year quality assurance with complete after-sales service. No current rating is stated. The listing states suitability for trucks, SUVs, full-size cars, mid-size cars and compact cars.

Who it's for: a driveway where cars park apart and 25 feet is needed. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated current rating or included gloves, since this cable states neither.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length25 ft
Gauge4 gauge
ClampsAlligator, UL certified
BagCarry bag included

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL certification stated for the clamps, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5-year quality assurance. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

A ABIGAIL 25 ft

A ABIGAIL 25 ft

A ABIGAIL9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1 gauge jumper cable at 25 feet, with an 800 AMP rating, serrated clamps and a 36 month replacement promise.

Pros

  • 25 foot length for cars parked apart
  • 1 gauge wire, the thickest gauge stated here
  • 800 AMP rating stated
  • 36 month replacement promise stated, plus a 30 day return

Cons

  • No certification is stated
  • 1 gauge wire is the thickest stated here, with a heavier build
  • No gloves or brushes are stated as included
  • 8.84 pound item weight with no capacity context
Detailed Review

The listing states a 1 gauge, 25 foot jumper cable with an 800 AMP rating, copper clad aluminum wires, serrated jaws, high-tension parrot clamps and a non-slip rubber coating, plus a carrying bag. It states an oil, chemical and water-resistant PVC jacket that keeps the cables flexible in all weather conditions. It states a 30 day hassle-free return and a 36 month unlimited replacement promise. No certification is stated. The listing states suitability for cars, motorcycles, trucks, vans and SUVs.

Who it's for: a heavy-duty setup that wants the thickest gauge and the highest stated rating here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated certification, since this cable states none.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length25 ft
Gauge1 gauge
Rating800 AMP
BagCarrying bag included

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 36 months unlimited replacement promise. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ExtreSpo 20 ft

ExtreSpo 20 ft

ExtreSpo9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 gauge jumper cable at 20 feet, with a 600Amp rating, UL listed build and a kit of case, gloves and brushes.

Pros

  • 20 foot length for cars parked apart
  • 600Amp rating stated
  • UL listed cables stated
  • Carrying case, gloves and brushes included

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 20 feet is shorter than the 25 foot picks here
  • Copper clad aluminum, not pure copper, per the listing
  • No engine fit beyond 6.0 L gas and 3.0 L diesel is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4 gauge, 20 foot jumper cable with a 600Amp rating, high density copper clad aluminum wire, a patented clip design with serrated teeth and spring, a thick vinyl coating and a carrying case with gloves and brushes. It states UL listed cables that work from minus 40 degrees F to 140 degrees F, and suitability for 6.0 L gas and 3.0 L diesel engines and 12V vehicles. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a trunk kit that wants gloves and brushes included with a stated rating. Who should skip it: anyone who wants 25 feet or a stated warranty term, since this cable states neither.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length20 ft
Gauge4 gauge
Rating600Amp
KitCase, gloves, brushes

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL listed cables stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Goodyear 16 ft

Goodyear 16 ft

Goodyear9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 gauge jumper cable at 16 feet, with a PVC insulated build and a carrying case.

Pros

  • 16 foot extra-long reach stated
  • 4 gauge wire for energy transfer stated
  • Premium PVC insulation that remains flexible in extreme temperatures stated
  • Durable carrying case included for tangle-free storage

Cons

  • No certification is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No current rating is stated
  • 16 feet is the smallest length stated here
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4 gauge, 16 foot jumper cable with premium PVC insulation that remains flexible in extreme temperatures and a durable carrying case for tangle-free storage. It states an extra-long design that makes it easy to connect vehicles without repositioning, and universal fit for cars, trucks and SUVs. No certification, no current rating and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: a garage where cars park close and 16 feet is enough. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 25 feet, a stated rating or a stated certification, since this cable states none.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length16 ft
Gauge4 gauge
InsulationPremium PVC
CaseCarrying case included

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Ruikarhop 40 ft Cable KitRuikarhop 40 ft Cable Kit40 foot total cable kit with terminals and heat shrinkCheck on Amazon
  • CMRVBNQ 4 Gauge Cable KitCMRVBNQ 4 Gauge Cable Kit25 foot red and black cable kit with terminalsCheck on Amazon
  • WotyWire 2 Gauge Cable KitWotyWire 2 Gauge Cable Kit15 foot red and black cables with lugs includedCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Battery cable Solar Score Length Gauge Rating Warranty Amazon
TOPDC 20 ft 9.7/10 20 ft 4 gauge Not stated 5-year View on Amazon
TOPDC 25 ft 9.7/10 25 ft 4 gauge Not stated 5-year View on Amazon
A ABIGAIL 25 ft 9.6/10 25 ft 1 gauge 800 AMP 36 months View on Amazon
ExtreSpo 20 ft 9.6/10 20 ft 4 gauge 600Amp Not stated View on Amazon
Goodyear 16 ft 9.4/10 16 ft 4 gauge Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026. Ratings and certifications are stated per listing, not shared across listings.

How we scored them

The Solar Score scores each cable on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a jumper cable, safety means a stated safety certification, and warranty means a concrete term in years or months. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
TOPDC 20 ft 9.7 32 21 21 8 4
TOPDC 25 ft 9.7 30 21 21 8 4
A ABIGAIL 25 ft 9.6 30 21 21 0 4
ExtreSpo 20 ft 9.6 29 21 21 8 0
Goodyear 16 ft 9.4 28 20 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best extra long battery cables

Length first: 25 feet versus 16 feet

Length is the biggest stated difference here. The TOPDC 25 foot cable and the A ABIGAIL 25 foot cable state 25 feet, the TOPDC 20 foot cable and the ExtreSpo state 20 feet, and the Goodyear states 16 feet. A longer cable reaches a battery parked apart from the donor car without repositioning either car, which the Goodyear listing names as the reason for its extra-long design. For a truck or a driveway where cars park apart, the 25 foot cables are the stated reach picks; for a garage where cars park nose to nose, 16 feet may be enough. See every batteries and charging guide for related gear.

Gauge and current rating

Gauge and rating are stated per listing and differ sharply. The A ABIGAIL states 1 gauge wire with an 800 AMP rating, the ExtreSpo states 4 gauge wire with a 600Amp rating, and the TOPDC cables and the Goodyear state 4 gauge wire with no current rating stated. A lower gauge number means thicker wire, and the A ABIGAIL listing states its 1 gauge copper clad aluminum wire with serrated jaws for optimal contact. Do not carry a rating from one listing to another: the TOPDC and Goodyear listings state no current rating, so this article marks them as not stated. For engine fit, the ExtreSpo listing states suitability for 6.0 L gas and 3.0 L diesel engines.

Certification, warranty and what comes in the kit

Certification and warranty separate the top two from the rest. Both TOPDC cables state UL certification for their clamps and a 5-year quality guarantee or assurance, with a carry bag included. The ExtreSpo states UL listed cables and includes a carrying case, gloves and brushes, but states no warranty term. The A ABIGAIL states a 30 day return and a 36 month replacement promise, but states no certification. The Goodyear states a carrying case but no certification and no warranty term. For a kit that stays in the trunk, a stated certification and a stated term matter more than a pattern.

Battery cable Length stated Gauge stated Rating stated
TOPDC 20 ft 20 ft 4 gauge Not stated
TOPDC 25 ft 25 ft 4 gauge Not stated
A ABIGAIL 25 ft 25 ft 1 gauge 800 AMP
ExtreSpo 20 ft 20 ft 4 gauge 600Amp
Goodyear 16 ft 16 ft 4 gauge Not stated

Figures as stated in each listing’s title and bullets; a rating stated on one listing is never applied to another.

Sizing Notes

  • Measure the gap between cars before choosing: 25 feet, 20 feet and 16 feet are stated here.
  • Check gauge for the vehicle: 1 gauge and 4 gauge are stated here.
  • Check the stated engine fit: the ExtreSpo states 6.0 L gas and 3.0 L diesel engines.
  • For cold weather, favor a stated temperature range, as on the TOPDC and ExtreSpo listings.
  • For trunk storage, favor a stated carry bag or case, as on all five listings.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long should jumper cables be?

Lengths stated here run from 16 feet to 25 feet. The TOPDC 25 foot cable and the A ABIGAIL 25 foot cable state 25 feet for cars parked apart, while the Goodyear states 16 feet for a closer setup. Choose the length that bridges the gap without repositioning either car.

What gauge jumper cable do I need?

Gauges stated here are 1 gauge on the A ABIGAIL and 4 gauge on the other four. The A ABIGAIL listing states its 1 gauge wire with an 800 AMP rating, while the ExtreSpo states 4 gauge wire with a 600Amp rating. The TOPDC and Goodyear listings state 4 gauge wire with no current rating stated.

Are UL listed jumper cables safer?

Three listings state UL certification or listing: both TOPDC cables state UL certification for their clamps, and the ExtreSpo states UL listed cables. The A ABIGAIL and Goodyear listings state no certification. A stated certification is a listing claim, not a guarantee, and this article reports it as stated.

Do jumper cables come with a carry bag?

All five state a bag or case: the TOPDC cables state a carry bag, the Goodyear states a carrying case, the ExtreSpo states a carrying case with gloves and brushes, and the A ABIGAIL states a carrying bag. The ExtreSpo kit is the only one here that states gloves and brushes included.

Can jumper cables work in cold weather?

The TOPDC listings state performance from minus 40 degrees F to 140 degrees F, and the ExtreSpo states the same range. The A ABIGAIL states tangle-free flexibility in warm and cold climates, and the Goodyear states PVC insulation that remains flexible in extreme temperatures. The Goodyear listing states no temperature range in numbers.

TOPDC 20 ft
Still deciding? Our top pickTOPDC 20 ft
Check price on Amazon

See every batteries and charging guide, plus battery chargers and maintainers and battery monitors and accessories.

More picks: Best Battery Cable for Solar System, battery chargers and maintainers, battery monitors and accessories.