On this page
A battery that slides in a rough sea or on a bumpy road is a hazard, and the best group 25 battery tray holds the battery firm with a strap or a crossbar.
One honest note up front: no listing here states Group 25 fitment. Every tray in this article states Group 24 or 24M series, and the extra options include Group 27 trays. This article compares five trays from the listings: three with full details and two title-only trays, on hold-down, size, standards and warranty. The Attwood 9096-5 tray leads on standards and hold-down, while the Attwood 9092-5 tray leads on height capacity.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Attwood 9096-5 Tray: USCG-approved adjustable hold-down tray for 24 series Check price on Amazon
Best Strap Tray Attwood 9092-5 Tray: 24/24M tray with strap for batteries up to 10 1/2 inches tall Check price on Amazon
Best 2-Pack NSBGPSD Group 24 Tray: Group 24 trays with straps, 2 in the pack Check price on Amazon
The kits we chose
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NOCO BT24S Group 24 Tray | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Attwood 9096-5 Tray | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Attwood 9092-5 Tray | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | NSBGPSD Group 24 Tray | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Group 24 Battery Tray | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

NOCO BT24S Group 24 Tray
A Group 24 heavy-duty battery tray with a 42-inch nylon webbing strap and buckle, meeting USCG and ABYC specifications stated.
Pros
- Group 24 tray with 42-inch strap and buckle
- USCG 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications stated
- Impact resistant to minus 20 degrees Fahrenheit stated
- Resists acid, gas and oil stated
Cons
- No stated tray dimensions beyond Group 24
- Strap length fixed at 42 inches
- Tray material is not stated
- Single Group 24 size only
Detailed Review
The NOCO is a Group 24 heavy-duty tray with a 42-inch water resistant nylon webbing strap and heavy-duty buckle, stated to withstand a tensile load of over 120 kilograms force. It meets USCG Code of Federal Regulations 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications, is impact resistant to minus 20 degrees Fahrenheit, and resists acid, gas and oil. The listing states a 1-Year Limited warranty.
Who it's for: anyone needing a Group 24 marine tray with a stated strap and USCG and ABYC specifications. Who should skip it: anyone needing a stated tray material or a different group size.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Group | 24 |
|---|---|
| Strap | 42-inch nylon |
| Specs | USCG 183.420, ABYC E-10.7 |
| Warranty | 1-Year Limited |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. USCG 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1-Year Limited. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Attwood 9096-5 Tray
A USCG-approved 24 series marine tray with an adjustable height crossbar and stainless steel retaining fasteners.
Pros
- Adjustable height crossbar for a firm fit
- Stainless steel retaining fasteners
- Meets ABYC E-10 and U.S. Coast Guard requirements
- Fits 24 series batteries
Cons
- Install fasteners are #10 fasteners, not included
- No footprint size stated
- No height figure stated beyond the adjustable crossbar
- No strap is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a USCG-approved 24 series heavy duty marine tray with an adjustable height crossbar and stainless steel retaining fasteners. It states ABYC Standard E-10 and U.S. Coast Guard requirements, and installs with #10 fasteners, not included. It states a weight of 1.4 pounds and a 90 day warranty term. Attwood is stated to be a member of the American Boat and Yacht Council and the National Marine Manufacturers Association.
Who it is for: boat owners who want a documented marine tray with an adjustable crossbar. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated footprint size, a strap hold-down, or included fasteners.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 1/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Series | 24 series |
|---|---|
| Hold-Down | Adjustable crossbar |
| Fasteners | Stainless steel |
| Weight | 1.4 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ABYC E-10 and U.S. Coast Guard requirements, so safety scores 5 of 10. 90 days. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Attwood 9092-5 Tray
A 24/24M series tray with a strap, sized 7 by 11 inches, for batteries up to 10 1/2 inches tall.
Pros
- Strap with positive-locking, quick-disconnect buckle
- Holds batteries up to 10 1/2 inches tall
- Molded base mounts with 4 10 panhead fasteners
- Battery stays accessible for charging or replacing
Cons
- No ABYC or Coast Guard requirement stated
- 30 day window only, shorter than the 90 day term on the 9096-5 tray
- No adjustable crossbar stated
- Polypropylene strap only, no stainless fasteners stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a battery tray with strap for a 24/24M series battery up to 10 1/2 inches tall, measuring 7 by 11 inches. It states a molded base that mounts with 4 10 panhead fasteners, a battery that remains accessible for charging or replacing, and a polypropylene hold-down strap with a positive-locking, quick-disconnect buckle. It states a weight of 8 ounces and a 30 day window from receipt for issues. No ABYC or Coast Guard requirement is stated.
Who it is for: owners who want a strap tray with a stated height capacity and easy battery access. Who should skip it: buyers who need stated marine standards, a crossbar hold-down, or a longer warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 1/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Series | 24/24M |
|---|---|
| Hold-Down | Strap with buckle |
| Size | 7 x 11 inches |
| Height | Up to 10 1/2 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 30 days from receipt. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NSBGPSD Group 24 Tray
A Group 24 tray 2-pack with straps for automotive, marine, boat and RV use, sized 7 by 11 inches.
Pros
- 2 trays in the pack for two batteries
- Quick-release buckle holds the battery firm
- Adjustable buckles for rough seas or bumpy roads
- High-strength plastic with impact resistance
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- No ABYC or Coast Guard requirement stated
- No height figure stated
- No stainless fasteners stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a Group 24 battery tray 2-pack for automotive, marine, boat and RV use, for 24 series batteries up to 7 by 11 inches. It states a strong quick-release buckle, adjustable buckles for positioning during rough seas or bumpy roads, and high-strength plastic with impact resistance and extended service life. It states a weight of 1.01 pounds. No warranty term and no marine standard are stated.
Who it is for: owners with two batteries who want a strap tray 2-pack. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated warranty term, a stated height capacity, or stated marine standards.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Series | 24 series |
|---|---|
| Hold-Down | Strap with buckle |
| Size | 7 x 11 inches |
| Pack | 2-pack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Fits 24 series up to 7 by 11 in.
- High impact polypropylene.
- 8 mounting points stated.
- Safety strap and buckle included.
Cons
- No temperature rating stated.
- No chemical resistance stated.
- No certification stated.
- No warranty term is stated.
Detailed Review
The group 24 tray listing describes an extreme-duty battery tray for automotive, marine and RV batteries, built from high impact heavy polypropylene plastic. It keeps the battery securely mounted with its included battery strap, accommodates 24 series batteries up to 7 by 11 inches, and includes a safety strap and buckle with 8 mounting points, 4 per long length.
Who it's for: a buyer with group 24 batteries who wants stated bolt-down mounting. Who should skip it: anyone with group 31 batteries or marine certification needs.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Fits | Group 24 |
|---|---|
| Size | Up to 7x11 in |
| Mounts | 8 points |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Attwood Adjustable TrayGroup 24/24M tray with adjustable crossbar and ABYC E-10 requirementsCheck on Amazon
NSBGPSD Group 27 TrayGroup 27 tray with strap for batteries up to 7 by 12.5 inchesCheck on Amazon
NSBGPSD Group 27 2-PackGroup 27 trays with straps, 2 in the pack, for batteries up to 7 by 12.5 inchesCheck on Amazon
GGTE Group 24 TrayGroup 24 tray with strap, 7 by 11 inches, for cars, boats and RVsCheck on Amazon
Numbers side by side
| Tray | HQ Score | Series | Hold-Down | Size | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Attwood 9096-5 Tray | 9.6/10 | 24 series | Adjustable crossbar | Not stated | 90 days | View on Amazon |
| Attwood 9092-5 Tray | 9.5/10 | 24/24M | Strap with buckle | 7 x 11 inches | 30 days | View on Amazon |
| NSBGPSD Group 24 Tray | 9.5/10 | 24 series | Strap with buckle | 7 x 11 inches | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| A.A Group 24 Tray | 9.4/10 | 24 series | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| NOCO BT24S Tray | 9.7/10 | 24 series | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
Where the points went
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery tray, safety means ABYC and Coast Guard requirements the listing actually states; a tray that states none scores zero on that line. Two of the five trays state a warranty term, and only the 9096-5 tray among the five states ABYC and Coast Guard requirements. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Attwood 9096-5 Tray | 9.6 | 30 | 22 | 21 | 5 | 1 |
| Attwood 9092-5 Tray | 9.5 | 28 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 1 |
| NSBGPSD Group 24 Tray | 9.5 | 27 | 21 | 22 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best group 25 battery tray
Group 24 trays, Group 25 question
Every tray here states Group 24 or 24M series, so a Group 25 battery owner must measure before ordering. Compare the battery footprint against the tray size stated here, such as 7 by 11 inches on the 9092-5 and NSBGPSD trays, and compare the battery height against the 10 1/2 inch height capacity stated for the 9092-5 tray. A tray that is too small cannot hold the battery, and a tray that is too large leaves room for sliding. Do not assume a Group 24 tray fits a Group 25 battery from the group number alone.
Strap or crossbar hold-down
Hold-down style decides how the battery is kept in place. The 9092-5 tray uses a polypropylene strap with a positive-locking, quick-disconnect buckle, and the NSBGPSD trays use straps with quick-release buckles that adjust for rough seas or bumpy roads. The 9096-5 tray uses an adjustable height crossbar with stainless steel retaining fasteners instead of a strap. A crossbar suits a fixed mount that is adjusted once, while a strap with a quick buckle suits a battery that is removed for charging.
Height and footprint
Footprint and height capacity decide fit. The 9092-5 tray measures 7 by 11 inches and holds a 24/24M series battery up to 10 1/2 inches tall, and the NSBGPSD trays fit 24 series batteries up to 7 by 11 inches. The 9096-5 tray states an adjustable height crossbar but no footprint size, so its fit must be checked against the mounting space rather than a stated size. The title-only trays state no size at all, so they cannot be sized from this article.
Marine standards and warranty
Standards and warranty terms separate the documented trays from the rest. The 9096-5 tray states ABYC E-10 and U.S. Coast Guard requirements, plus a 90 day warranty term, and the 9092-5 tray states a 30 day window from receipt. The NSBGPSD trays and the title-only trays state no standards and no warranty term. A buyer who boats in regulated waters should weigh the stated standards, while a buyer who wants cover after purchase should weigh the stated term.
Pack count and spares
Pack count decides whether one order covers one battery or more. The NSBGPSD listing states a 2-pack, so one order covers two batteries, while each other product listing names one tray. A 2-pack suits a boat or RV with two batteries, while a single tray suits a single-battery install. The extra options below include another NSBGPSD 2-pack in Group 27, plus a single Group 24 tray from GGTE.
Sizing Notes
- Measure the battery footprint against 7 by 11 inches, the size stated for the 9092-5 and NSBGPSD trays.
- Check height: the 9092-5 tray holds batteries up to 10 1/2 inches tall.
- Use #10 fasteners for the 9096-5 tray, noting that its fasteners are not included, and 4 10 panhead fasteners for the 9092-5 tray base.
- Group 25 fitment is not stated for any tray here: measure before ordering.
- Mounting on a boat is a job for a qualified marine installer.
FAQ: power away from the grid
Does any tray here state Group 25 fitment?
No. All trays here state Group 24 or 24M series, and the extra options include Group 27 trays. Measure your battery against the stated tray size before ordering.
Which tray states marine standards?
The Attwood 9096-5 tray, which states ABYC E-10 and U.S. Coast Guard requirements. No other tray among the five states a standard.
Strap or crossbar: which hold-down is stated where?
The 9092-5 and NSBGPSD trays use straps with buckles, while the 9096-5 tray uses an adjustable height crossbar with stainless steel retaining fasteners.
Which trays state a warranty term?
The 9096-5 tray states 90 days, and the 9092-5 tray states 30 days from receipt. The other trays state no term.
Related solar guides
See every Batteries and Charging guide. Also see our best aluminum marine battery tray. Also see our best universal battery tray. Also see our best dual battery tray. Also see our best battery box for boat. Also see our group 24 vs group 27 rv battery. Also see our best battery tray wall mount.







