On this page
The best lithium battery for starting boat engines is the one that states real cranking amps for cold mornings and keeps the electronics alive the rest of the day. We compared what each listing states: cranking amps, amp-hours, BMS current, cold-weather behavior and warranty terms. Only one listing here is built for cranking; the others are deep-cycle batteries, and the scores follow the listings: stated cranking power, stated cold behavior and a stated warranty term decide the order.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall LiTime 12V 165Ah Dual Purpose: 1200 CCA dual-purpose cranking with self-heating and 5-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Deep-Cycle Pick LiTime 12V 100Ah Bluetooth: 100Ah with Bluetooth, 100A BMS and 5-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Biggest Capacity VATRER POWER 12V 300Ah: 300Ah with 200A BMS, title-only listing Check price on Amazon
100Ah Alternative DC HOUSE 12V 100Ah: 100Ah with Bluetooth and 100A BMS, title-only listing Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | LiTime 12V 165Ah Dual Purpose | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | LiTime 12V 100Ah Bluetooth | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | VATRER POWER 12V 300Ah | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | DC HOUSE 100Ah Bluetooth | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

LiTime 12V 165Ah Dual Purpose
A 12V 165Ah dual-purpose LiFePO4 battery with 1200 CCA, self-heating, IP67 and a 5-year warranty.
Pros
- 1200 CCA at 14F and 1300 MCA at 32F stated
- Self-heating activates below 32F and heats to 50F
- 15% emergency reserve preserves starting power
- 5-year warranty stated
Cons
- Title names Mercury among fits while the spec table lists Mercury outboards as not compatible
- 33.5 pounds stated
- Not for Yamaha outboards, inboards or some voltage-regulator-less motors
- AIG insurance line is marketing, not a warranty term
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 165Ah dual-purpose LiFePO4 battery with 1200 CCA at 14F and 1300 MCA at 32F, 2112Wh, Group 31, IP67, self-heating and a 5-year warranty. It lists 2-in-1 duty that powers both outboard motor cranking and marine electronics such as fish finders and trolling motors, eliminating the need for two heavy batteries, with 3.5 times the energy of a 12V 100Ah lead-acid battery at half the weight. It lists a 15% emergency reserve that cuts discharge below 15% SOC, self-heating that activates below 32F and heats to 50F, discharge cutoff at -4F, 4000+ deep cycles, 33.5 pounds, 12.8 volts and ABYC-compliant installation standards. The title names Mercury among compatible motors while the spec table lists Mercury outboard motors as not compatible, so confirm fit with the maker.
Who it's for: outboard cranking with a lithium battery that states its cold-weather behavior. Who should skip it: owners of the excluded motors and inboard systems.
Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V 165Ah, 2112Wh |
|---|---|
| Cranking | 1200 CCA at 14F |
| Size | Group 31 |
| Cold behavior | Self-heating below 32F |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67, ABYC-compliant installation and self-heating stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 5 Years warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LiTime 12V 100Ah Bluetooth
A 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with Bluetooth 5.0, 100A BMS, IP65 and a 5-year warranty, for deep-cycle use.
Pros
- Bluetooth 5.0 monitoring via the LiTime app
- 100A BMS with 20+ safeguards stated
- IP65 and salt-spray resistance stated
- 5-year warranty stated
Cons
- Usage note says not for starting
- Bullets say 22.85 lbs while the spec table says 22.9 lbs
- Low-temp protection stated without figures
- AIG insurance line is marketing, not a warranty term
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with Bluetooth 5.0 monitoring via the LiTime app, a 100A BMS, IP65, low-temp protection, 4000+ deep cycles and a 5-year warranty. It lists Group 27 size at 6.69 by 12.13 by 8.31 inches, M8 terminals, 20+ safeguards, salt-spray resistance and expansion to 16 batteries at 20.48kWh. It notes that Bluetooth activation needs a charge from a LiFePO4-compatible or MPPT charger, and that marine use needs a marine-rated LiFePO4 charger. The bullets say 22.85 pounds while the spec table says 22.9 pounds, a small mismatch. The usage note says it is designed for deep-cycle energy storage and not for starting, so it does not belong on the cranking side of this comparison.
Who it's for: the house and trolling-motor side of the boat. Who should skip it: anyone who needs cranking amps.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V 100Ah |
|---|---|
| BMS | 100A |
| Size | Group 27 |
| Weather protection | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65, 100A BMS and salt-spray resistance stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 5 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VATRER POWER 12V 300Ah
A 12V 300Ah LiFePO4 battery with 200A BMS, app monitoring, dual energy-storage and starting modes, and over 5000 cycles.
Pros
- 300Ah with a 200A BMS and 2560W max load power
- Over 5000 cycles stated with Grade A cells
- Dual-mode BMS doubles as a starting battery with 1500A instantaneous current
- Expands from 3.84kWh to 61.44kWh in 4P4S
Cons
- No concrete warranty term is stated; the listing points to the official website
- 55.2 pounds in one case
- Starting mode is a niche feature for a house battery
- No third-party safety certification is named
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12.8V 300Ah battery with a 200A BMS, over 5000 cycles, high and low temperature cutoffs, app monitoring of voltage, current, power, SOC and cycle count, and expansion from 3.84kWh to 61.44kWh. A dual-mode BMS offers a starting mode with 1500A instantaneous current. The warranty description points to the official website rather than stating a term, so no concrete warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: large 12V banks that may also need engine-start capability. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term before ordering.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 300Ah |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 12.8V |
| BMS | 200A |
| Cycles | Over 5000 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 200A BMS with overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent, short-circuit and temperature protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DC HOUSE 100Ah Bluetooth
A 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with Bluetooth 5.1, 100A BMS and up to 15000 cycles claimed.
Pros
- Up to 15000 cycles and 10 years of service life claimed
- Bluetooth 5.1 with cell-level monitoring in the app
- UL/UN38.3 certification stated
- Low-temp charge cutoff at 19.4 degrees F with auto resume
Cons
- 3 years of service, shorter than the 5-year terms here
- Not designed for starting or cranking
- 0.32 inches taller than the standard Group 24 size
- Expansion capped at 8 batteries total
Detailed Review
The listing states 12.8V 100Ah, a 100A BMS, Bluetooth 5.1 monitoring with cell-level data and fault display, up to 15000 cycles, 10 years of service life, UL/UN38.3 certification stated, low-temp protection that cuts charging below 19.4 degrees F and discharge below -4 degrees F with auto resume at 32 degrees F, 23.8 pounds, expansion up to 4 in series or 4 in parallel, and 3 years of service. The listing says it is not designed for starting or cranking.
Who it's for: trolling motor owners who want app monitoring and the longest cycle claim here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs cranking, or a strict Group 24 fit.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 100Ah |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 12.8 volts |
| BMS | 100A |
| Cycles | Up to 15000 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL/UN38.3 certification stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3 years of service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Interstate Batteries Marine/RV BatteryCheck on Amazon
VEVOR 12V 60Ah LiFePO4 Dual PurposeCheck on Amazon
VEVOR 12V 105Ah LiFePO4 Dual PurposeCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Battery | Solar Score | Capacity | Cranking | BMS | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LiTime 12V 165Ah Dual Purpose | 9.8/10 | 12V 165Ah, 2112Wh | 1200 CCA | Not stated | 5 years | View on Amazon |
| LiTime 12V 100Ah Bluetooth | 9.6/10 | 12V 100Ah | Not for starting | 100A | 5 years | View on Amazon |
| VATRER POWER 12V 300Ah | 9.6/10 | 12V 300Ah | Not stated | 200A | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| DC HOUSE 12V 100Ah | 9.6/10 | 12V 100Ah | Not stated | 100A | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a starting battery, safety means the cranking protections, cold-weather behavior and certifications the listing actually states; a listing that states none of these scores zero on that line. Two of the four listings state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LiTime 12V 165Ah Dual Purpose | 9.8 | 33 | 22 | 21 | 9 | 4 |
| LiTime 12V 100Ah Bluetooth | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best lithium battery for starting boat use
Cranking amps decide
Only the LiTime 165Ah states cranking figures: 1200 CCA at 14F and 1300 MCA at 32F, in a dual-purpose battery that also runs fish finders and trolling motors. The LiTime 100Ah usage note says it is designed for deep-cycle energy storage and not for starting, and the other two listings state no cranking figure at all. For this topic, a stated cranking figure outweighs every other spec, because a deep-cycle battery without one cannot be compared on the starter. See every LiFePO4 battery guide for the wider category.
Dual purpose vs deep cycle
The 165Ah is a dual-purpose battery: cranking plus electronics, with a 15% emergency reserve that cuts discharge below 15% SOC to preserve starting power, and 2112Wh against the 100Ah class. The 100Ah, the VATRER and the DC HOUSE are deep-cycle batteries by their listings, suited to house and trolling-motor loads rather than the starter. Note the 100Ah’s own usage note rules it out for starting, so rank it as a house battery even though it sits second on overall score.
| Battery | Cranking | Capacity | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| LiTime 12V 165Ah Dual Purpose | 1200 CCA | 165Ah, 2112Wh | 5 years |
| LiTime 12V 100Ah Bluetooth | Not for starting, per listing | 100Ah | 5 years |
| VATRER POWER 12V 300Ah | Not stated | 300Ah | Not stated |
| DC HOUSE 12V 100Ah | Not stated | 100Ah | Not stated |
Cold behavior
The 165Ah lists self-heating that activates below 32F and auto-heats to 50F for normal charging, with discharge stopping at -4F, plus the 15% emergency reserve that guards the next start. The 100Ah lists low-temp protection without figures. The other listings state no cold behavior. Cold mornings are exactly when cranking amps matter most, so the stated figures here carry real weight. Our best deep cycle battery for ice fishing roundup covers more cold-weather picks.
Weight and group size
The 165Ah lists 33.5 pounds in Group 31 size. The 100Ah lists 22.85 pounds in the bullets and 22.9 pounds in the spec table, in Group 27 size at 6.69 by 12.13 by 8.31 inches. The VATRER and DC HOUSE listings state no weight or size, so plan the tray around the two LiTime figures.
Compatibility warnings
The 165Ah title names Mercury, Honda and Suzuki among fits, while the spec table lists Mercury outboard motors as not compatible and the tips exclude LiveScope chargers, outboards without voltage regulators and MerCruiser inboard systems. Confirm fit with the maker before you buy; see our best 12V battery for electric trolling motor roundup for the trolling-motor side.
Sizing Notes
- Match cranking amps to the motor: the LiTime 165Ah lists 1200 CCA at 14F and 1300 MCA at 32F.
- Use the reserve figure: the 165Ah cuts discharge below 15% SOC to preserve starting power.
- Check cold behavior: self-heating activates below 32F and heats to 50F, while discharge stops at -4F.
- Confirm motor compatibility before buying; the listing excludes some outboards and inboard systems, and the title and spec table disagree on Mercury.
- Charging setup matters: the 100Ah needs a LiFePO4-compatible or MPPT charger to activate Bluetooth, and marine use needs a marine-rated LiFePO4 charger.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which battery here can crank an outboard?
Only the LiTime 165Ah, with 1200 CCA at 14F and 1300 MCA at 32F stated. The LiTime 100Ah usage note says it is designed for deep-cycle energy storage and not for starting, and the VATRER and DC HOUSE listings state no cranking figure, so they cannot be judged on the starter.
What does the 15% emergency reserve do?
The 165Ah automatically cuts off discharge when SOC drops below 15%, preserving enough starting power for ignition and the return trip.
How does the self-heating work?
It activates when the temperature drops below 32F and auto-heats to 50F for normal charging. Discharge stops at -4F to protect the battery.
Which motors fit the 165Ah?
The title names Mercury, Honda and Suzuki, but the spec table lists Mercury outboard motors as not compatible, and the tips exclude outboards without voltage regulators, LiveScope fish finder system chargers and MerCruiser inboard systems. The bullets also name Honda, Suzuki, Evinrude and Tohatsu as compatible. Confirm fit with the maker.
Which listings state a warranty term?
Both LiTime listings state a 5-year warranty. The VATRER and DC HOUSE listings state no warranty term.
Can one battery run both the starter and the electronics?
The 165Ah is built for exactly that: its 2-in-1 duty powers outboard cranking and marine electronics, eliminating the need for two heavy batteries, and the 15% emergency reserve keeps enough charge for the next start. The other listings make no dual-purpose claim.
Related guides
See every LiFePO4 Batteries guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best deep cycle battery for a boat. Also see our best 12V battery for electric trolling motor. Also see our best deep cycle battery for ice fishing.




