Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Deep Cycle and RV Batteries

Best 12V Battery for Electric Trolling Motor (2026): 3 Compared

Three 12V batteries for electric trolling motors compared on stated amp-hours, cycle life, BMS protections, run time estimates and warranty terms.

Best 12V Battery for Electric Trolling Motor (2026): 3 Compared
On this page

A kayak drifting off the weed line at dusk with the trolling motor slowing is the moment the best 12v battery for electric trolling motor proves itself, holding its charge while the motor draws steady current. We compared three batteries that state trolling motor use on the listing: two LiFePO4 models and one sealed AGM, checking stated amp-hours, cycle life, BMS protections, IP ratings, run time estimates and warranty terms. Every number below comes from the listings themselves, and the ranking follows the Solar Score, which weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty from those stated figures.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Dyness 12V 100Ah Mini
    Best Overall Dyness 12V 100Ah Mini: 100Ah LiFePO4 in a Group 24 mini case, 6000+ cycles, 5-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Redodo 12V 50Ah LiFePO4
    Best Compact Pick Redodo 12V 50Ah LiFePO4: 640Wh in an 11.6 lb case with 4000+ cycles and IP65 Check price on Amazon
  • VMAXTANKS V35-857 35Ah AGM
    Best AGM Pick VMAXTANKS V35-857 35Ah AGM: 35Ah sealed AGM with stated run times for a 30 lb thrust motor Check price on Amazon

The picks

Dyness 12V 100Ah Mini

Dyness 12V 100Ah Mini

Dyness9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery in a Group 24 mini case, with a built-in 100A BMS, 6000+ deep cycles stated and a 5-year warranty.

Pros

  • 100Ah and 1280Wh in a Group 24 mini case stated as nearly 25% smaller than Group 31
  • 6000+ deep cycles and a 10-year lifespan stated
  • 100A BMS with low-temperature charging protection stated
  • FCC, CE, RoHS and UN38.3 certifications stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists Lithium Ion for cell type against LiFePO4 in the title and bullets
  • A LiFePO4-specific charger is recommended and not included
  • The 20.48kWh expansion figure assumes up to 16 batteries
  • No Bluetooth or app monitoring is stated
Detailed Review

The title states a 12V 100Ah mini LiFePO4 battery for trolling motors and RVs in Group 24 size, with a built-in 100A BMS, low-temperature protection, 1280Wh of energy capacity and marine boat compatibility. The bullets state the case is nearly 25% smaller than Group 31, that up to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (16 batteries) build a 20.48kWh system, A+ grade cells with 6000+ deep cycles and a 10-year lifespan, and low-temperature charging protection that cuts off charging below 32°F, resumes above 41°F and shuts down at -4°F. It lists FCC, CE, RoHS and UN38.3 certifications, 20.9 pounds, 6.61 by 10.23 by 8.22 inches and a 5-year manufacturer warranty. The spec table lists Lithium Ion as the battery cell type against the LiFePO4 in the title and bullets, so trust the title and bullets.

Who it's for: anglers and RVers who want the most amp-hours and the longest stated cycle life in a Group 24 footprint. Who should skip it: anyone who wants Bluetooth monitoring, which this listing does not state, or who wants to keep using a lead acid charger.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 87 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 100Ah, 1280Wh, 12.8V
Cycle life6000+ deep cycles, 10-year lifespan stated
BMS100A with low-temperature charging protection
Warranty5 years stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Built-in 100A BMS with overcharging, over-discharging, overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection, low-temperature charging protection, and FCC, CE, RoHS and UN38.3 certifications stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5 Year Manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Redodo 12V 50Ah LiFePO4

Redodo 12V 50Ah LiFePO4

Redodo9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 trolling motor battery with a 50A BMS, 640Wh of stated energy, 4000+ deep cycles and an IP65 rating.

Pros

  • 640Wh in a compact case, 100% usable capacity stated
  • 4000+ deep cycles at 100% DOD with a 10-year lifespan stated
  • 2-hour full charge with a 0.5C (25A) charger stated
  • 50A BMS and IP65 stated with a 5-year warranty

Cons

  • Bullets state 11.6 lb while the spec table lists 5.58 kg
  • 50Ah is half the amp-hours of the 100Ah pick here
  • No certifications beyond the BMS and IP65 are stated
  • The 10.24kWh expansion figure assumes the maximum 4P4S arrangement
Detailed Review

The title states a 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 trolling motor battery with 4000+ deep cycles, IP65, a 5-year warranty, 640Wh and boat, kayak, yacht and camping use. The bullets state 11.6 pounds with 100% usable capacity, a 50A BMS supporting 640W max load with over-charge, over-current, short-circuit and high-temp protection, 4P4S support to 48V 200Ah (10.24kWh), and a 2-hour full charge with a 0.5C (25A) charger. The spec table lists 5.58 kg for item weight against 11.6 pounds in the bullets, so trust the title and bullets.

Who it's for: kayak and small-boat anglers who want a light lithium pick with stated fast charging and a 5-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 100Ah, where the Dyness states double the amp-hours.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 50Ah, 640Wh, 12.8V
Cycle life4000+ at 100% DOD, 10-year lifespan stated
Charge0.5C (25A), 2 hours full stated
Warranty5 years stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 50A BMS with over-charge, over-current, short-circuit and high-temp protection, and IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 5 years warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VMAXTANKS V35-857 35Ah AGM

VMAXTANKS V35-857 35Ah AGM

VMAXTANKS9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 35Ah sealed AGM deep cycle battery in Group U1 size, with stated run times for a 30 lb thrust motor and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Estimated run times for a 30 lb thrust motor: 1.2 h WOT, 3.5 h medium, 5.8 h low
  • 75-minute reserve capacity stated
  • Sealed AGM, maintenance free, installs in any orientation
  • Group U1 size, 26 lb, with marine terminals

Cons

  • 35Ah is the lowest capacity of the three picks
  • 1 year warranty is the shortest term stated here
  • 26 lb for 35Ah, heavier per amp-hour than the lithium picks
  • No IP rating, BMS or other electronic protection is stated
Detailed Review

The title states a 12V 35Ah AGM marine deep cycle battery in Group U1 for 30 pound electric trolling motors. The bullets state estimated run times for a 30 lb thrust motor of 1.2 hours at wide open throttle, 3.5 hours at medium and 5.8 hours at low speed, a 75-minute reserve capacity, sealed maintenance-free operation with installation in any orientation, and a recommended VMAX BC1204 or BC1205 charger. The spec table lists 26 pounds, 6 cells with marine terminals and a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: boat owners who want a sealed AGM with stated motor run times and no lithium charger questions. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the cycle life or the lighter weight of the lithium picks.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity12V 35Ah AGM, Group U1
Motor run time30 lb thrust: 1.2 h WOT, 3.5 h medium, 5.8 h low
Reserve75 minutes stated
Warranty1 year stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Sealed AGM construction with maintenance-free operation stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Pick Solar Score Capacity Chemistry Warranty Amazon
Dyness 12V 100Ah Mini 9.7/10 12V 100Ah, 1280Wh LiFePO4 5 years View on Amazon
Redodo 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 9.6/10 12V 50Ah, 640Wh LiFePO4 5 years View on Amazon
VMAXTANKS V35-857 35Ah AGM 9.5/10 12V 35Ah AGM 1 year View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trolling motor battery, safety means the protections the listing actually states, such as a BMS with stated safeguards, an IP rating or sealed AGM construction; a listing that states none scores lower on that line. All three listings state a warranty term, from 1 year to 5 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Dyness 12V 100Ah Mini 9.7 32 22 21 8 4
Redodo 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 9.6 29 20 20 7 4
VMAXTANKS V35-857 35Ah AGM 9.5 26 19 19 6 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best 12v battery for electric trolling motor

Match amp-hours to the motor’s draw

The two Newport trolling motors in this data set state a 30A max amp draw and list one 12V deep cycle battery as the requirement, and the 62 lb version recommends 50Ah with a 60A circuit breaker. The VMAX AGM states estimated run times for a 30 lb thrust motor: 1.2 hours at wide open throttle, 3.5 hours at medium and 5.8 hours at low speed. The Dyness states 100Ah and 1280Wh, the Redodo states 50Ah and 640Wh, and the VMAX states 35Ah, so step up in amp-hours for longer days on the water. See the deep cycle RV batteries guides for more on matching a battery to its load.

LiFePO4 or AGM chemistry

The Dyness and Redodo state LiFePO4 chemistry with built-in BMS protection and 6000+ and 4000+ deep cycles respectively, against the VMAX sealed AGM with a 75-minute reserve capacity. Lithium gives far more cycles per pound: the Dyness weighs 20.9 pounds for 100Ah while the VMAX weighs 26 pounds for 35Ah. The VMAX names its recommended chargers (VMAX BC1204 or BC1205), the Dyness recommends a LiFePO4-specific charger, and the Redodo states a 0.5C (25A) charger fills it in 2 hours. Our best lithium battery for Minn Kota trolling motor guide compares more lithium options.

BMS and weather protection

The Dyness states a 100A BMS with overcharge, overdischarge, overcurrent, overheating and short circuit protection plus low-temperature charging protection that cuts off charging below 32°F and resumes above 41°F. The Redodo states a 50A BMS with over-charge, over-current, short-circuit and high-temp protection and IP65. The VMAX states sealed AGM construction and maintenance-free operation with no electronic protections listed.

Pick BMS Weather and ratings
Dyness 12V 100Ah Mini 100A, five protections plus low-temp charge cutoff FCC, CE, RoHS and UN38.3
Redodo 12V 50Ah LiFePO4 50A, four protections IP65
VMAXTANKS V35-857 35Ah AGM Not stated Sealed, maintenance free

Check warranty terms and contradictions

The Dyness and Redodo state 5 years and the VMAX states 1 year. Two listings in this data set show internal contradictions: the Redodo bullets state 11.6 pounds while its spec table lists 5.58 kg, and the Dyness spec table lists Lithium Ion for cell type while its title and bullets say LiFePO4. Trust the title and bullets in both cases. Our best battery charger for trolling motor guide covers the charging side.

Sizing Notes

  • Match amp-hours to the motor’s stated draw: the Newport motors here list 30A max draw and one 12V deep cycle battery as the requirement.
  • Compare stated capacity on the same terms: 100Ah and 1280Wh on the Dyness, 50Ah and 640Wh on the Redodo, 35Ah on the VMAX.
  • Match the charger to the chemistry: the Dyness listing recommends a LiFePO4-specific charger.
  • Check the listed dimensions against the battery box: the Dyness is 6.61 by 10.23 by 8.22 inches, the Redodo is 6.54 by 7.68 by 6.77 inches and the VMAX is 7.7 by 5 by 6.1 inches.
  • Check the warranty line before buying: 5 years on the Dyness and Redodo, 1 year on the VMAX.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which battery here states the most capacity?

The Dyness at 12V 100Ah and 1280Wh, then the Redodo at 12V 50Ah and 640Wh, then the VMAX at 12V 35Ah.

Which battery states the longest cycle life?

The Dyness at 6000+ deep cycles, then the Redodo at 4000+ deep cycles at 100% DOD. The VMAX AGM states no cycle count.

How long will the VMAX AGM run a trolling motor?

The listing estimates a 30 lb thrust motor runs 1.2 hours at wide open throttle, 3.5 hours at medium and 5.8 hours at low speed.

Which listings state a warranty term?

The Dyness and Redodo state 5 years, and the VMAX states 1 year.

Can the Dyness charge in cold weather?

It states low-temperature charging protection that cuts off charging below 32°F, resumes above 41°F and shuts down at -4°F.

What does the Redodo BMS protect against?

Over-charge, over-current, short-circuit and high-temp conditions, per the listing, with a 640W max load.

Dyness 12V 100Ah Mini
Still deciding? Our top pickDyness 12V 100Ah Mini
Check price on Amazon

See all Batteries guides. Also see our best lithium battery for Minn Kota trolling motor. Also see our best deep cycle battery for 24 volt trolling motor. Also see our best battery charger for trolling motor.

More picks: lithium battery for kayak fish finder, lithium battery for jon boat, lithium battery for solar. Also from this data set: GOKWH 12V 100Ah Bluetooth LiFePO4, CHITOLI 12V 100Ah TM LiFePO4, POERUNI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 and WannaPow 12V 120Ah LiFePO4.