Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Controllers and Inverters

Best Rv Converter Charger for Travel Trailer (2026)

Four RV converter chargers for travel trailers compared on output, lithium compatibility, protection and warranty, from a 100 amp PowerMax to two title-only 55 amp picks.

Best Rv Converter Charger for Travel Trailer (2026)
On this page

At a campsite at dusk, dimming trailer lights show why the best rv converter charger for travel trailer setups matters. A converter charger turns shore power into steady DC power for the trailer and keeps the house battery charged. This guide compares converter chargers for travel trailers, from a high-output PowerMax unit to title-only deck mount picks.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • PowerMax PM3-100LK
    Best Overall PowerMax PM3-100LK: 100 amp output with UL and CUL certifications and 3-stage charging Check price on Amazon
  • PowerMax PM3-55LK
    Best Lithium-Ready PowerMax PM3-55LK: Adjustable output for lead-acid or lithium banks in a deck mount format Check price on Amazon
  • USSKYBOY WF-9855
    55 Amp Deck Mount USSKYBOY WF-9855: 55 amp deck mount charger and converter Check price on Amazon
  • WFCO WF-9855-AD-CB
    55 Amp RV Converter WFCO WF-9855-AD-CB: 55 amp RV converter and charger Check price on Amazon

The picks

PowerMax PM3-100LK

PowerMax PM3-100LK

PowerMax9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100 amp converter charger for RV use, 110V to 12V, with UL and CUL certifications, reverse battery protection and 3-stage charging.

Pros

  • 100 amp output for larger DC loads
  • UL and CUL certifications stated
  • Reverse battery protection stated
  • 3-stage charging with adjustable output from 13.0 to 16.5 Vdc

Cons

  • No lithium compatibility stated in the listing
  • Heavier than the PM3-55LK at 6.7 pounds
  • No deck-mount design stated in the listing
  • Designed as a replacement for the WF-9800 series, so check fit for other centers
Detailed Review

The listing states a 110V to 12V converter charger at 100 amp, with a voltage range of 13.6 to 14.4 Vdc and an adjustable output between 13.0 and 16.5 Vdc, plus 3-stage charging. It states UL and CUL certifications, reverse battery protection, a temperature control system that keeps the fan quiet, an LED indicator light, a weight of 8 pounds and a size of 10 x 7 x 4 inches. It states a 2 Years warranty term and is designed as a replacement for the WF-9800 series, fully compatible with the WFCO WF-9855.

Who it's for: a travel trailer owner who wants the highest output here with UL and CUL listings. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated lithium compatibility, since this listing states none.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output100 Amp, 12V
Input110V
Charging3-stage, 13.0-16.5Vdc
Warranty2 Years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL and CUL certifications; reverse battery protection, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 Years. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PowerMax PM3-55LK

PowerMax PM3-55LK

PowerMax9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 55A deck mount converter charger with adjustable output for lead-acid or lithium batteries, current limiting, reverse-polarity and thermal safeguards.

Pros

  • Adjustable output for lead-acid or lithium batteries
  • Deck-mount design for install near the battery bank
  • Current limiting, reverse-polarity and thermal safeguards stated
  • 2 Year Warranty stated

Cons

  • Title states 55A while bullets state up to 60 amp output
  • No UL or CUL certification stated in the listing
  • No LED indicator stated in the listing
  • Lithium charging requires proper configuration, per the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 55A deck mount converter charger with adjustable output for lead-acid or lithium batteries, current limiting, reverse-polarity and thermal safeguards, a weight of 6.7 pounds and a size of 10 x 7 x 4 inches. It states a 2 Year Warranty term. The listing also states a Type B plug and a black finish. The listing disagrees with itself on output: the title and model name state 55A, while the bullets state up to 60 amp DC output, so this guide goes by the 55A title figure.

Who it's for: a trailer owner with lead-acid or lithium banks who wants adjustable output. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated UL or CUL listing, since this listing states none.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output55A
Input110V
Battery typesLead-acid or lithium
Weight6.7 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Current limiting, reverse-polarity and thermal safeguards, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

USSKYBOY WF-9855

USSKYBOY WF-9855

USSKYBOY9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 55A deck-mount converter/charger with UL/ETL/CE, 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 55A output with automatic 3-stage charging
  • UL, ETL and CE stated
  • 1-year warranty stated
  • No interference with TVs/radios stated

Cons

  • No battery-chemistry detection stated
  • 660W peak rating modest
  • No inverter function
  • 10.1 by 6.2 by 4.3 inches
Detailed Review

The listing states a 55A deck-mount charger/converter for RV trailer camper 9800 series, with 13.2-14.4 Vdc output, 110-120 Vac input, 660W peak, automatic three-stage charging and UL/ETL/CE compliance. It states no interference with televisions or radios. A 1-year warranty is stated.

Who it's for: RV owners replacing a 9800 series unit. Who should skip it: anyone wanting auto lithium detection.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output55A, 13.2-14.4 Vdc
Input110-120 Vac
Peak660W
CertsUL, ETL, CE

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL, ETL, CE stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WFCO WF-9855-AD-CB

WFCO WF-9855-AD-CB

WFCO9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 55A deck-mount converter/charger with Auto Detect, 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 55A output with Auto Detect technology
  • Lead acid and lithium compatibility stated
  • 2-year warranty stated
  • 3-stage charging with built-in protection

Cons

  • Spec table lists 35A alongside 55A
  • No stated certifications
  • 5.5 lbs, mid-weight
  • No inverter function
Detailed Review

The listing states a 55A deck-mount converter/charger with patented Auto Detect technology for lead acid and lithium batteries, built-in protection, a cooling fan and 3-stage charging. It measures 11 by 5.88 by 4 inches and weighs 5.5 lbs. A 2-year warranty is stated. Note: the spec table lists 35A alongside 55A; take 55A from the title and output line.

Who it's for: RV owners wanting auto battery detection. Who should skip it: anyone needing AC inversion.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output55A DC
ChargingMulti-stage, Auto Detect
Weight5.5 lbs
Warranty2 Year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CB specification met stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • WF-9855 55A Converter ChargerWF-9855 55A Converter Charger55 amp RV power converter chargerCheck on Amazon
  • WF-8735-AD Converter ChargerWF-8735-AD Converter Charger30 amp power center with auto-detect for lithium or lead-acidCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Converter Solar Score Output Battery types Protection Warranty Amazon
PowerMax PM3-100LK 9.7/10 100 Amp, 12V Not stated Reverse battery protection 2 Years View on Amazon
PowerMax PM3-55LK 9.6/10 55A, 12V Lead-acid or lithium Current limiting, reverse-polarity, thermal 2 Year Warranty View on Amazon
USSKYBOY WF-9855 9.6/10 55 Amp Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
WFCO WF-9855-AD-CB 9.6/10 55 Amp Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a converter charger, safety means stated certifications and protection features. Two listings state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
PowerMax PM3-100LK 9.7 30 21 21 8 3
PowerMax PM3-55LK 9.6 29 20 20 7 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best rv converter charger for travel trailer

Match the output to the trailer

Output decides how much DC load the converter can carry while charging the battery. The PowerMax PM3-100LK lists 100 amp output, while the PowerMax PM3-55LK lists 55A in its title, so the 100 amp unit suits a trailer with more DC loads and the 55 amp unit suits a smaller setup. Both PowerMax units list the same 10 x 7 x 4 inch size, so the larger output does not take more space. Pair the converter with a battery sized for the trailer; our best 12 volt deep cycle battery for travel trailer picks cover trailer batteries.

Lithium or lead-acid

Battery type decides the pick more than output does. The PM3-55LK states adjustable output for lead-acid or lithium batteries, with the note that lithium charging needs proper configuration. The PM3-100LK states no lithium compatibility, so a lithium bank points to the 55LK instead. Our best lithium battery for a camper picks cover lithium banks for small trailers.

Protection and certifications

Protection features are the safety story for a converter charger. The PM3-100LK states UL and CUL certifications plus reverse battery protection, and it also lists a temperature control system that keeps the fan quiet while holding the ideal temperature. The PM3-55LK states current limiting, reverse-polarity and thermal safeguards with no UL or CUL listing stated. The title-only picks state no protection features at all, so check the listing before buying if protection matters. If the converter ties into fixed RV wiring, have a licensed electrician install it.

Weight and size

Size and weight decide where the converter can mount. Both PowerMax units list the same 10 x 7 x 4 inch size, so the choice between them is about output and battery type rather than footprint. Weight differs: the PM3-100LK lists 8 pounds and the PM3-55LK lists 6.7 pounds, so the higher-output unit is the heavier one to mount. The title-only picks list no size or weight at all, so measure the mounting space and check the listing before ordering a deck mount unit with no stated dimensions.

Title-only picks and fit

Two picks here come with title data only, which limits what can be checked before buying. The USSKYBOY WF-9855 and the WFCO WF-9855-AD-CB both list 55 amp RV converter chargers in deck mount form, but neither lists dimensions, battery types, protection features or a warranty term. The PM3-100LK, by contrast, is designed as a replacement for the WF-9800 series and is compatible with the WFCO WF-9855, so check the existing center model before ordering a replacement.

Sizing Notes

  • Match output to the trailer load: the listings here state 100 amp and 55 amp outputs.
  • Match battery type to the charger: the PM3-55LK states lead-acid or lithium with adjustable output, while the PM3-100LK states no lithium compatibility.
  • Check replacement fit: the PM3-100LK is designed as a replacement for the WF-9800 series and is compatible with the WFCO WF-9855.
  • Check size and weight: both PowerMax units list 10 x 7 x 4 inches, at 8 pounds and 6.7 pounds.
  • Check warranty: both PowerMax units state a 2 year term, while the title-only picks state no term.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does an RV converter charger do?

It turns 110V shore power into 12V DC power for the trailer and charges the house battery. The PM3-100LK lists a 110V to 12V converter charger with 3-stage charging, and the PM3-55LK lists clean 12V DC power with smart multi-stage charging. Both PowerMax units list 110V input and 12V output.

Can a converter charger charge lithium batteries?

It depends on the listing. The PM3-55LK states adjustable output for lead-acid or lithium batteries, with lithium charging needing proper configuration. The PM3-100LK states no lithium compatibility, so do not assume it suits a lithium bank.

What is the difference between the 55 amp and 100 amp PowerMax units?

Output and weight differ while size and warranty match. The PM3-100LK lists 100 amp output at 8 pounds with UL and CUL certifications, while the PM3-55LK lists 55A at 6.7 pounds with no UL or CUL listing stated. Both list 10 x 7 x 4 inches and a 2 year warranty term.

What do the title-only picks list?

Only their titles: the USSKYBOY WF-9855 lists a 55 amp deck mount charger and converter, and the WFCO WF-9855-AD-CB lists a 55 amp RV converter and charger. Neither lists dimensions, battery types, protection features or a warranty term, so check the listing before buying. Check the listing title and photos before ordering a title-only pick.

Does the PowerMax 100LK replace a WFCO unit?

The listing states it is designed as a replacement for the WF-9800 series and is fully compatible with the WFCO WF-9855. It also states a 3-stage charging system with fixed single output modes. Check the existing center model against that fit before ordering.

PowerMax PM3-100LK
Still deciding? Our top pickPowerMax PM3-100LK
Check price on Amazon

See every Controllers and Inverters guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.

More picks: lithium battery for an RV, DC to DC converter and lithium battery for a camper.