Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Solar Bug Zapper for Mosquitoes (2026): 5 Compared

Five solar bug zappers compared for mosquitoes, from a physical trap lamp to a 1-acre 4200V unit, ranked on coverage, grid voltage and water resistance.

Best Solar Bug Zapper for Mosquitoes (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

The evening air was thick with mosquitoes and the porch light was only making it worse, which is the moment the best solar bug zapper for mosquitoes has to work. Five units, one yard, and the listings to judge them by. We compared five solar bug zappers the listings describe for mosquito control, scored them on coverage, grid voltage, runtime, water resistance and charging options, and ranked them below. Every figure comes from what the listings publish.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper
    Best Overall OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper: 4200V, EPA registered, IPX5 with 1-year warranty service Check price on Amazon
  • zechuan 4200V Acre Zapper
    1 Acre zechuan 4200V Acre Zapper: 4200V with safety mesh and 1.5M stake height Check price on Amazon
  • Tolf 4200V Heat Zapper
    Bionic Heat Tolf 4200V Heat Zapper: dual UV plus 97-100F heat with 5000mAh battery Check price on Amazon
  • jepwe 4500V Dual Panel Zapper
    Dual Panel jepwe 4500V Dual Panel Zapper: 4500V, 1/2 acre with dual solar panels Check price on Amazon
  • zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp
    Trap Style zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp: physical trap with LED night light and SOS Check price on Amazon

The picks

OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper

OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper

OnBeam9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4200V solar bug zapper with EPA registration, IPX5 and 1-year warranty service.

Pros

  • EPA registered with a 0.25-inch mesh gap
  • IPX5 stated on the listing
  • 1-year warranty service stated
  • LED light and SOS modes with a dusk-to-dawn sensor

Cons

  • 2100 sq ft is mid-range coverage here
  • No runtime figure is stated
  • No battery capacity is stated
  • 6.2 by 6.2 by 9.8 inches is compact for 2100 sq ft
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar bug zapper with a 4200V shock grid, 365-395 nm LED light, up to 2100 sq ft of coverage, solar and USB-C charging with 3-4 hours for a full charge, LED light and SOS modes, a dusk-to-dawn sensor, an ABS housing with a protective mesh at a 0.25-inch safety gap, IPX5, EPA registration and 1-year warranty service. The listing states 6.2 by 6.2 by 9.8 inches.

Who it's for: buyers who want the only EPA-registered pick with a stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated runtime or bigger coverage.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Coverage2100 sq ft
Grid4200V
ChargingSolar plus USB-C in 3-4 hours
Water resistanceIPX5

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. EPA registered with 0.25-inch mesh gap and IPX5 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year warranty service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

zechuan 4200V Acre Zapper

zechuan 4200V Acre Zapper

zechuan9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4200V solar bug zapper with 1-acre coverage, safety mesh and IPX5.

Pros

  • 1 acre, the largest coverage stated here
  • Protective safety mesh stated
  • IPX5 stated with ABS and aluminum build
  • 1.5M total height with a metal ground stake

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated on the listing
  • No EPA registration is stated
  • 4 detachable rods need assembly
  • 7.48 by 7.48 by 60 inches needs open space
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar bug zapper with a 4200V grid, 365-395nm light, up to 1 acre of coverage, a protective safety mesh, solar and Type-C USB charging with 3-4 hours for a full charge, up to 12 hours of runtime, IPX5, ABS and aluminum build, 4 detachable stainless steel rods with a metal ground stake for 1.5M total height and 3.8 pounds. No warranty term is stated on the listing.

Who it's for: buyers who want the biggest stated coverage on a tall stake. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty or EPA registration.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Coverage1 acre
Grid4200V
RuntimeUp to 12 hours
Height1.5M with stake

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Protective safety mesh and IPX5 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Tolf 4200V Heat Zapper

Tolf 4200V Heat Zapper

Tolf9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4200V solar bug zapper with bionic heat, 5000mAh and IPX5.

Pros

  • Bionic heat to 97-100F within 30 minutes stated
  • 5000mAh battery, the largest stated here
  • 4 foldable solar panels stated
  • 0.23-inch safety grid with IPX5

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated on the listing
  • No EPA registration is stated
  • 2100 sq ft is mid-range coverage here
  • No runtime figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar bug zapper with a 4200V grid, 365nm plus 395nm dual-wavelength UV, bionic heat warming to 97-100F within 30 minutes, 2100 sq ft of coverage, a 5000mAh battery, USB-C charging, 4 foldable solar panels, a light sensor for auto night operation, a 0.23-inch safety grid, IPX5, a hanging hook and LED light. The listing states 9.45 by 10.24 by 9.45 inches. No warranty term is stated on the listing.

Who it's for: buyers who want heat plus UV attraction with the biggest stated battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty or runtime.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Coverage2100 sq ft
Grid4200V
AttractionUV plus 97-100F heat
Battery5000mAh

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 0.23-inch safety grid and IPX5 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

jepwe 4500V Dual Panel Zapper

jepwe 4500V Dual Panel Zapper

jepwe9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4500V solar bug zapper with dual panels, 1/2-acre coverage and IPX5.

Pros

  • 4500V, the highest grid figure stated here
  • Dual solar panels stated
  • 4000mAh battery with up to 12 hours stated
  • IPX5 stated with a 10 ft extension cable

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated on the listing
  • No EPA registration is stated
  • No grid guard is stated
  • 14.9 by 9.8 by 11.1 inches is bulky
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar bug zapper with a 4500V grid, blue-violet UV light, up to 1/2 acre of coverage, dual solar panels, a 4000mAh battery with up to 12 hours of protection, USB charging, auto on and off, a 10 ft extension cable, ground stakes, a hanging chain, tabletop placement and IPX5. The listing states 14.9 by 9.8 by 11.1 inches. No warranty term is stated on the listing.

Who it's for: buyers who want the highest grid voltage with dual panels. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a grid guard or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Coverage1/2 acre
Grid4500V
PanelsDual solar panels
RuntimeUp to 12 hours

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX5 stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp

zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp

zechuan9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A physical-trap mosquito lamp with LED night light and SOS signal.

Pros

  • Physical trap, no grid and no chemicals
  • LED night light with SOS signal
  • Auto on and off with a panel sensor
  • Solar plus USB-C charging

Cons

  • No coverage figure is stated
  • No grid voltage, it is not a zapper grid
  • No water resistance figure is stated
  • No warranty term is stated on the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar bug zapper lamp with a physical trap instead of an electric grid, an LED night light, an SOS signal, auto on and off with a panel sensor, solar and USB-C charging and 6.5 by 6.5 by 10 inches at 2 pounds. The bullets advise minimizing surrounding light during use. No coverage figure, no water resistance figure and no warranty term are stated on the listing.

Who it's for: buyers who want a chemical-free trap with a night light and no high-voltage grid. Who should skip it: anyone who wants an electric zapper grid.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
MethodPhysical trap
LightLED night light plus SOS
ChargingSolar plus USB-C
Size6.5 by 6.5 by 10 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Physical trap, no chemicals stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Zapper Solar Score Coverage Grid Runtime Water resistance Amazon
OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper 9.7/10 2100 sq ft 4200V Not stated IPX5 View on Amazon
zechuan 4200V Acre Zapper 9.7/10 1 acre 4200V Up to 12 hours IPX5 View on Amazon
Tolf 4200V Heat Zapper 9.6/10 2100 sq ft 4200V Not stated IPX5 View on Amazon
jepwe 4500V Dual Panel Zapper 9.6/10 1/2 acre 4500V Up to 12 hours IPX5 View on Amazon
zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp 9.5/10 Not stated Physical trap Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For mosquito control, safety means the grid guard the listing states: the OnBeam is EPA registered with a 0.25-inch mesh gap and IPX5, the zechuan A-B569 states a protective safety mesh with IPX5, and the Tolf states a 0.23-inch safety grid with IPX5. Only the OnBeam states a warranty term: 1-year warranty service. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper 9.7 32 21 21 7 2
zechuan 4200V Acre Zapper 9.7 33 22 21 5 0
Tolf 4200V Heat Zapper 9.6 33 21 21 5 0
jepwe 4500V Dual Panel Zapper 9.6 33 21 21 4 0
zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp 9.5 26 20 21 4 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar bug zapper for mosquitoes

Grid or trap

Four picks are electric grids and one is a physical trap. The OnBeam, zechuan A-B569 and Tolf state 4200V grids, the jepwe states a 4500V grid, and the zechuan SE563 uses a physical trap with no grid voltage stated. The trap adds an LED night light and an SOS signal, which the grids do not all state: the OnBeam also states LED and SOS modes. A physical trap avoids the grid entirely; the grids zap on contact.

Attraction beyond the bulb

The OnBeam and zechuan A-B569 state 365-395nm UV light, and the Tolf states 365nm plus 395nm dual-wavelength UV with bionic heat that warms to 97-100F within 30 minutes, simulating human body temperature. The jepwe states a blue-violet UV light with no wavelength figure, and the SE563 states no wavelength. Heat plus UV is the Tolf’s distinct claim; the others rely on UV alone. For the yard after dark, see our solar string lights for yard guides.

Zapper Grid Charging
OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper 4200V Solar plus USB-C
zechuan 4200V Acre Zapper 4200V Solar plus Type-C
Tolf 4200V Heat Zapper 4200V Solar plus USB-C
jepwe 4500V Dual Panel Zapper 4500V Solar plus USB
zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp Physical trap Solar plus USB-C

Coverage and water resistance

The zechuan A-B569 states up to 1 acre, the jepwe states up to 1/2 acre, and the OnBeam and Tolf state 2100 sq ft; the SE563 states no coverage. IPX5 is stated on the OnBeam, jepwe, zechuan A-B569 and Tolf, with the Tolf supporting direct rinsing. The SE563 states no water resistance figure. A mosquito zapper lives outside through rain, so IPX5 is the figure to look for. The zechuan A-B569’s 1.5M stake height puts the light above patio furniture, where mosquitoes hunt at dusk. A solar power bank for camping keeps the USB backup charged on trips.

Read the marks and the coverage

The OnBeam states EPA registration with a protective mesh at a 0.25-inch safety gap and 1-year warranty service. The zechuan A-B569 states a protective safety mesh with no registration and no warranty term. The Tolf states a 0.23-inch safety grid with no registration and no warranty term. The jepwe states IPX5 with no registration and no warranty term. The SE563 states a physical trap with no grid, no registration and no warranty term.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the coverage to the space: 2100 sq ft on the OnBeam and Tolf, 1/2 acre on the jepwe, 1 acre on the zechuan A-B569.
  • Match the grid to the household: 0.25-inch mesh gap on the OnBeam, 0.23-inch safety grid on the Tolf, safety mesh on the zechuan A-B569.
  • Match the water resistance to the weather: IPX5 stated on four of the five.
  • Match the charge to the night: 3-4 hours for up to 12 hours on the OnBeam and zechuan A-B569.
  • Keep the warranty term in view: 1-year warranty service on the OnBeam, none stated on the other four.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which are EPA registered?

The OnBeam. The other four state no EPA registration.

Which state IPX5?

The OnBeam, jepwe, zechuan A-B569 and Tolf. The SE563 states no water resistance figure.

Which use a physical trap instead of a grid?

The zechuan SE563 uses a physical trap with an LED night light and SOS signal. The other four use electric grids.

Which state a warranty term?

The OnBeam states 1-year warranty service. The other four state no warranty term.

Which state bionic heat?

The Tolf states bionic heat warming to 97-100F within 30 minutes. The other four state no heat figure.

Which state dual solar panels?

The jepwe states dual solar panels, and the Tolf states 4 foldable solar panels. The other three state a single panel.

OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper
Still deciding? Our top pickOnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: zechuan 4500V SE566 Zapper (B0CSSTGN7X), OnBeam 4500V Zapper (B0DWSJ9KX2), jepwe 4500V SE566 Zapper (B0DM4GRD1D), Tolf 2-Pack Zapper (B0H6HKW1HQ) and CXBER SE563 Trap (B0HH8N9BB7).