On this page
A campsite at dusk with a dead phone is the wrong time to learn a lantern needs charging, and the best solar camping lantern with usb keeps light and a phone charge in one small kit. We compared four lanterns by stated charging, battery, light modes and warranty, plus five more options for camp and home backup. Two of the four picks carry full listing data and two carry title-only data, so the ranking keeps the full-data picks ahead of the short cards.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Lichamp Solar Lantern 1-Pack: Three light modes with USB, solar and AA power plus phone charging Check price on Amazon
Best Two-Pack XTAUTO Lantern 2-Pack: Two collapsible lanterns with solar and USB charging for camp and home Check price on Amazon
Also Featured XTAUTO Solar Lantern 2-Pack: Collapsible lantern also featured in another guide on this site Check price on Amazon
Also Featured Mesqool CL1000 Solar Lantern: Hand crank lantern also featured in another guide on this site Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lichamp Solar Lantern 1-Pack | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Mesqool CL1000 Lantern | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | XTAUTO Collapsible 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | XTAUTO Lantern 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Lichamp Solar Lantern 1-Pack
A collapsible solar lantern with 3 light modes, USB, solar and AA charging and a rechargeable battery that doubles as a power bank.
Pros
- 3 light modes up to 600 lumens bright white
- USB, solar and AA charging in one lantern
- Rechargeable battery doubles as a power bank for Android devices
- CE certification with overcharge protection stated
Cons
- Single lantern only, not a pack
- Spec table lists 3 AA batteries required beside the rechargeable battery
- No battery capacity stated
- No stated run time in hours
Detailed Review
The Lichamp listing describes a collapsible solar lantern with 3 light modes, 600 lumens bright white, 200 lumens standard white and warm orange light, charged by USB, solar or AA batteries, with a rechargeable battery that doubles as a power bank for Android devices. The spec table lists 3 AA batteries required beside the rechargeable battery, which fits the three power modes rather than contradicting them. The listing states CE certification and overcharge protection.
Who it's for: campers wanting one lantern with three charging options and phone charging in emergencies. Who should skip it: campers wanting a multi-pack or a stated battery capacity.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charging | USB, solar, AA |
|---|---|
| Light modes | 600 lumens bright white, 200 lumens standard white, warm orange |
| Size | 3.74 x 3.62 x 5.1 inches |
| Weight | 0.35 kg |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE certification and overcharge protection, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mesqool CL1000 Lantern
A collapsible lantern with a 200LM main light and a 350LM flashlight, three charging methods, a USB phone charger and an 18-month warranty stated.
Pros
- Solar, hand crank and 5V USB charging stated
- 200LM main light and 350LM flashlight stated
- USB charger for cellphones stated
- 18 months warranty stated, the longest here
Cons
- 0.296 kg stated for a compact lantern
- Spec table dimensions of 1 by 1 by 1 inch clash with the 4.96 by 3.19 by 3.11 inch bullets; trust the bullets
- 5 watt light source wattage against the 2.4W and 3W bulb figures
- Green color only stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a Mesqool CL1000 collapsible lantern with 12 LEDs at 200LM for 4 hours of strong light and up to 40 hours of low light, plus a 3W flashlight at 350LM for 8 hours of strong light and up to 35 hours of low light. It lists a 3000mAh battery, solar panel, hand cranking and 5V USB charging, a USB port for charging phones, 6000K, IPX4, water resistance, 4.96 by 3.19 by 3.11 inches and 0.296 kg. The spec table gives 1 by 1 by 1 inch dimensions that clash with the bullets; trust the bullets. The manufacturer warranty description states 18 months.
Who it's for: buyers who want the only hand crank pick here with three charging methods. Who should skip it: buyers who want a 2-pack or a kerosene lantern.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 200LM lantern, 350LM flashlight |
|---|---|
| Battery | 3000mAh |
| Charging | Solar, crank, 5V USB |
| Weather | IPX4 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX4 and water resistant stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 18 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XTAUTO Collapsible 2-Pack
A 2-pack of collapsible XTAUTO solar lanterns with 1600mAh batteries, solar and USB charging, and more than 25 hours of stated runtime.
Pros
- More than 25 hours of lighting when fully charged
- Solar and USB charging with automatic power-off protection
- Collapsible design that doubles as a flashlight
- 6 months warranty stated
Cons
- Title claims full water sealing; spec table says water resistant
- Spec table lists 2 AA batteries required, against the built-in 1600mAh battery in the bullets
- No lumen figure is stated
- No IP code is stated
Detailed Review
XTAUTO lists a 2-pack of collapsible lanterns with 6+1 LED chips, a built-in 1600mAh rechargeable battery, solar and USB charging, and more than 25 hours of lighting when fully charged. The bullets describe 360-degree coverage, a lantern and flashlight double role with brightness adjusted by how far the lantern is pulled up, an ABS body and automatic power-off protection. Two contradictions: the title claims full water sealing while the spec table says Water Resistant, and the spec table lists 2 AA batteries required while the bullets describe a built-in 1600mAh rechargeable battery; trust the bullets on both.
Who it's for: campers and households who want a long claimed runtime and two charging methods in a 2-pack. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated lumen figure or an IP code.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 1600mAh |
|---|---|
| Runtime | More than 25 hours |
| Charging | Solar + USB |
| Pack | 2-pack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Automatic power-off protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 6 months warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XTAUTO Lantern 2-Pack
A 2-pack of collapsible lanterns with solar and USB charging, a 1600mAh rechargeable battery and more than 25 hours of light when fully charged.
Pros
- 2-pack of collapsible lanterns for camp and home
- Solar and USB charging with a 1600mAh rechargeable battery
- More than 25 hours of light when fully charged
- Lantern and flashlight in one with adjustable brightness
Cons
- Spec table lists 2 AA batteries required against the built-in rechargeable battery
- No safety certification is stated
- No lumens figure is stated
- Weight of 1.3 pounds listed with no per-lantern split stated
Detailed Review
The XTAUTO listing describes a 2-pack of collapsible lanterns with 6 plus 1 LED chips, solar and USB charging, a built-in 1600mAh rechargeable battery and more than 25 hours of light when fully charged. The spec table contradicts the bullets on batteries, listing 2 AA batteries required against the built-in rechargeable battery. Trust the title and bullets over the spec table.
Who it's for: campers wanting two collapsible lanterns with solar and USB charging. Who should skip it: campers wanting a stated lumens figure or a safety certification.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 1600mAh rechargeable |
|---|---|
| Run time | More than 25 hours |
| Charging | Solar, USB |
| Count | 2-pack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 6 months warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
SAMUUN Solar Lantern 2000 LumensFor campers wanting a bright lantern with phone charging.Check on Amazon
DIBMS Solar Lantern 4-PackFor campers wanting four collapsible lanterns for camp and home.Check on Amazon
Solar Camping Lantern 7000mAhRechargeable lantern with 7000mAh battery, 5 light modes and IP65 rating.Check on Amazon
Outdoor Solar Lantern LampPortable solar lantern and flashlight with USB and solar charging.Check on Amazon
DIBMS Solar Lantern 2-PackCollapsible 2-pack lantern and flashlight for emergencies.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Lantern | Solar Score | Charging | Battery | Light modes | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lichamp Solar Lantern 1-Pack | 9.7/10 | USB, solar, AA | Rechargeable with power bank | 3 modes, up to 600 lumens | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| XTAUTO Lantern 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | Solar, USB | 1600mAh rechargeable | Lantern and flashlight | 6 months warranty | View on Amazon |
| XTAUTO Solar Lantern 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | Solar, USB | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Mesqool CL1000 Solar Lantern | 9.7/10 | Solar, hand crank | 3000mAh | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with safety covering stated certifications such as the CE mark and overcharge protection. Two of the four picks state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lichamp Solar Lantern 1-Pack | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| XTAUTO Lantern 2-Pack | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar camping lantern with usb
Charging options first
A lantern that charges by USB and solar covers camp and home, while AA support adds a fallback when the sun is gone. The Lichamp listing gives three charging options, USB, solar and AA batteries, and its rechargeable battery doubles as a power bank for an Android device in emergencies, so one kit covers light and a phone charge together. The XTAUTO 2-pack charges by solar and USB, with automatic power-off protection against overcharging, and the two title-only picks add a hand crank option on the Mesqool listing. Charging flexibility matters most on longer trips, where a lantern may sit through cloudy days and still need to light the tent at night. Our solar lights for emergency guide covers more backup lights.
Battery and run time
Run time follows the battery the listing states, so compare milliamp-hours beside hours. The XTAUTO 2-pack lists a 1600mAh rechargeable battery with more than 25 hours of light when fully charged, while the Mesqool title names a 3000mAh battery with no run time stated. The Lichamp listing states no battery capacity, so its run time cannot be compared on that figure, and its size and weight are the figures to compare instead: 3.74 by 3.62 by 5.1 inches and 0.35 kg. Match the battery figure to the nights the lantern must cover, and remember that a brighter mode drains a battery faster than a low mode, even when the listing states only one run time figure.
Light modes and brightness
Modes matter more than a single brightness figure at camp. The Lichamp listing gives 3 light modes, 600 lumens bright white, 200 lumens standard white and warm orange light, while the XTAUTO 2-pack adjusts brightness by how high the lantern is pulled open and doubles as a flashlight. A lantern with a low mode suits a tent at night, while a bright mode suits a cooking area, and a warm orange mode suits an evening when harsh white light feels wrong. The XTAUTO listing also describes 6 plus 1 LED chips with wide visibility, and a folding handle for hanging the lantern on a tent or a tree. Check the modes before the lumens.
Read the battery line twice
One listing contradicts itself on batteries. The XTAUTO bullets describe a built-in 1600mAh rechargeable battery, while its spec table lists 2 AA batteries required, so trust the title and bullets over the spec table. The Lichamp listing is clearer, since its three power modes cover USB, solar and AA together, and its battery carries overcharge protection. The XTAUTO listing also claims ABS construction with water resistant, heat-resistant and freeze resistant properties, so it suits rough handling at camp. For chargers and banks that pair with a lantern, see our solar chargers and power banks guides.
Packs and spares
Pack size changes how a lantern fits a trip. The XTAUTO 2-pack gives two collapsible lanterns for a tent and a cooking area, or one for camp and one for home backup, while the Lichamp listing gives a single lantern with a folding handle that fits into the lantern to save space. The two title-only picks add a second 2-pack and a hand crank lantern to the list, but their short cards carry no pack details beyond the titles. A 2-pack suits a group or a family, while a single lantern suits a solo camper who packs light. When the trip runs longer than a weekend, a spare lantern beats a spare battery, since the listings state no replaceable battery size for the rechargeable packs.
Sizing Notes
- Match the charging method to the trip: USB, solar and AA support on the Lichamp listing, solar and USB on the XTAUTO listings.
- Match battery size to run time: the XTAUTO 2-pack lists 1600mAh with more than 25 hours of light when fully charged.
- Match light modes to the job: the Lichamp listing gives 600 lumens bright white, 200 lumens standard white and warm orange light.
- Check the battery line against the title: the XTAUTO spec table lists AA batteries against a built-in rechargeable battery in the bullets.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can these lanterns charge a phone?
The Lichamp listing states its rechargeable battery doubles as a power bank to charge an Android device in emergencies, so it covers both light and a phone charge from one kit. The XTAUTO 2-pack listing does not state phone charging, so campers who need that feature should weigh the Lichamp listing first.
How long does the XTAUTO 2-pack light last?
More than 25 hours of light when fully charged, per its listing, with brightness adjusted by how high the lantern is pulled open.
What light modes does the Lichamp lantern offer?
600 lumens bright white, 200 lumens standard white and warm orange light.
Do any of these picks state a warranty?
The Lichamp listing states 1 year and the XTAUTO 2-pack listing states 6 months warranty. The two title-only picks state no warranty term, so warranty cover is another reason the full-data picks rank ahead.
What does the hand crank lantern offer?
The Mesqool title names a solar hand crank lantern with a 3000mAh battery, but no further details are stated, so its light modes, size and weight cannot be compared with the full-data picks.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: solar lights for emergency, portable power stations and home backup power stations.




