On this page
A deck needs light that survives weather and states its terms. A best solar lights for a deck pick should state its brightness, its runtime, its water rating and its warranty. We compared five solar deck lights by stated brightness, count, rating, runtime and warranty. Every figure below comes from the listings; where a listing contradicts itself, we say so.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Top pick Brightown String: 52ft string lights, IP65, 1-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best steel XLUX Warm White: 6-pack, stainless steel, 1-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best stainless JSOT 6-Pack: 6-pack, stainless steel, 180-day warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best 20-pack BKBB 20-Pack: 20-pack, 800 lumens, 6-month warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best 16-pack SOLPEX 16-Pack: 16-pack, warm white, dusk-to-dawn. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Brightown String | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | XLUX Warm White | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | JSOT 6-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | BKBB 20-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | SOLPEX 16-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 52 feet with 15 bulbs plus 1 spare
- IP65 rating stated
- Solar and USB charging with 30+ hours stated
- 1-year warranty stated
Cons
- 1.4W, the lowest power stated
- Polyethylene build
- Bulbs need hanging, not step mounting
- 2700K only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 52-foot solar string light with 15 plus 1 spare shatterproof bulbs, IP65 rating, dual solar and USB charging, a remote with 4 brightness levels and 3 modes, 6 or 8-hour auto-off timers, up to 30+ hours of runtime and 2700K color temperature. A 1-year warranty is stated.
Who it's for: readers wanting deck ambiance. Who should skip it: anyone needing step lights.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 52 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | IP65 |
| Runtime | 30+ hours |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Stainless steel housing
- Warm white 2900K stated
- Auto on/off, not motion-activated
- 1 year warranty stated
Cons
- 20 lumens, accent-level
- No runtime stated
- Not motion-activated
- 6-pack only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-pack of warm white solar step lights with 20 lumens, 2900K, stainless steel housing with black coating, automatic dusk on/off, no motion activation and a mono-crystalline panel. It advises at least four hours of direct sunlight. A 1-year warranty is stated.
Who it's for: readers wanting steel step lights. Who should skip it: anyone needing bright area light.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 2/10 and warranty 3/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 6-pack |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 20 lumens |
| Housing | Stainless steel |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Stated water protection, no IP rating, so safety scores 2 of 10. 1 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Stainless steel, anti-rust stated
- 30 lumens with 8-hour runtime
- 18% solar conversion stated
- 180-day warranty stated
Cons
- Cool white only
- No stated water rating
- 6-pack only
- 1.2 lbs total
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-pack of stainless steel solar step lights with cool white 3000K, 30 lumens, dusk-to-dawn, up to 8 hours of illumination, an 18% solar conversion rate and screw or double-sided tape mounting. It measures 3.2 by 1 by 3.94 inches. A 180-day warranty is stated.
Who it's for: readers wanting steel step lights with a warranty. Who should skip it: anyone wanting warm white.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 2/10 and warranty 2/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 6-pack |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 30 lumens |
| Runtime | Up to 8 h |
| Warranty | 180 days |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Stated water protection, no IP rating, so safety scores 2 of 10. 180 days. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 20-pack, the largest here
- 800 lumens stated
- 10-14 hours runtime stated
- 6-month warranty stated
Cons
- ABS build
- No stated water rating
- Switch type states motion sensor but not described
- 1.77 by 1.86 by 3.46 in each
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20-pack of warm white solar step lights with 800 lumens, 2700K, dusk-to-dawn sensors, 10-14 hours of illumination after 4-5 hours of charging, double-sided stickers or screws and an ABS shell. It measures 1.77 by 1.86 by 3.46 inches. A 6-month warranty is stated.
Who it's for: readers wanting many lights with high stated brightness. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a stated water rating.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 2/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 20-pack |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 800 lumens |
| Runtime | 10-14 h |
| Warranty | 6 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Stated water protection, no IP rating, so safety scores 2 of 10. 6 months warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 16-pack with warm white 2700K
- Within 10-100 lumens stated
- Dusk-to-dawn automatic
- Easy screw installation
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- No stated water rating
- No runtime stated
- 1.7 lbs total
Detailed Review
The listing states a 16-pack of warm white solar deck lights with 10-100 lumens, 2700K, automatic dusk-to-dawn, screw installation and ABS build. It measures 7 by 3.5 by 4.5 inches. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: readers wanting a mid-size warm white pack. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 2/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 16-pack |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 10-100 lumens |
| Color | 2700K warm white |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Stated water protection, no IP rating, so safety scores 2 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
PATIOWIN Solar Deck LightsCheck on Amazon
KOOPER Solar Fence Lights Outdoor 10 PackCheck on Amazon
Herzila 16 Pack Solar Deck Lights OutdoorCheck on Amazon
SOLPEX Solar Deck LightsCheck on Amazon
VOLISUN 24 Pack Solar Deck Lights OutdoorCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Solar Light | Solar Score | Type | Brightness | Rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brightown String | 9.6/10 | String lights | 1.4W | IP65 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| XLUX Warm White | 9.5/10 | Step lights | 20 lumens | Not stated | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| JSOT 6-Pack | 9.5/10 | Step lights | 30 lumens | Not stated | 180 days | View on Amazon |
| BKBB 20-Pack | 9.5/10 | Step lights | 800 lumens | Not stated | 6 months | View on Amazon |
| SOLPEX 16-Pack | 9.5/10 | Step lights | 10-100 lumens | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For solar deck lights, safety means stated water ratings: IP65 on the Brightown, stated water protection without a rating on the other four. Four of the five state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brightown String | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| XLUX Warm White | 9.5 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 2 | 3 |
| JSOT 6-Pack | 9.5 | 28 | 21 | 21 | 2 | 2 |
| BKBB 20-Pack | 9.5 | 29 | 19 | 21 | 2 | 2 |
| SOLPEX 16-Pack | 9.5 | 29 | 19 | 21 | 2 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar lights for a deck
Step lights vs string lights
Four of the five are step and stair lights: the JSOT 6-pack (stainless steel, cool white, 30 lumens), the SOLPEX 16-pack (warm white, within 10-100 lumens), the BKBB 20-pack (warm white, 800 lumens) and the XLUX 6-pack (stainless steel, warm white, 20 lumens). The Brightown is the string light: 52 feet with 15 bulbs plus 1 spare, IP65, solar and USB charging, remote control. Step lights mark edges; string lights set the mood. See our best solar light for mailbox post for post-mounted picks.
Brightness and runtime
Stated brightness: 800 lumens on the BKBB, 30 lumens on the JSOT, 20 lumens on the XLUX, within 10-100 lumens on the SOLPEX; the Brightown states 1.4W. Stated runtime: up to 8 hours on the JSOT, 30+ hours on the Brightown, 10-14 hours on the BKBB; the SOLPEX and XLUX state no runtime. Color: warm white on four, cool white on the JSOT (3000K). Also see best solar light for inside shed.
| Light | Count | Brightness | Rating | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brightown | 15+1 bulbs | 1.4W | IP65 | 1 year |
| XLUX | 6-pack | 20 lumens | Not stated | 1 year |
| JSOT | 6-pack | 30 lumens | Not stated | 180 days |
| BKBB | 20-pack | 800 lumens | Not stated | 6 months |
| SOLPEX | 16-pack | 10-100 lumens | Not stated | Not stated |
Build and install
Housings: stainless steel on the JSOT and XLUX, ABS on the SOLPEX and BKBB, polyethylene on the Brightown. Install: screws or double-sided tape on the JSOT, screws on the SOLPEX, double-sided stickers or screws on the BKBB, screws or outdoor tape on the XLUX, hooks at every bulb on the Brightown. All five are dusk-to-dawn automatic.
Alternates worth knowing
Five more listings did not make the main five. The PATIOWIN is a 12-pack of warm white deck lights with 3 lumens and a 1-year warranty. The KOOPER is a 10-pack of fence lights with 9 colors, IP65 and a 1-year manufacturer warranty. The Herzila is a 16-pack of warm white step lights with IP44 and a 1-year manufacturer warranty. The SOLPEX 16-pack (second listing) is a warm white step light with IP44 and 90 days warranty. The VOLISUN is a 24-pack of warm white step lights with IP44 and a 1-year warranty.
Sizing Notes
- Match the form: step lights for edges, string lights for ambiance.
- Check brightness: 800 lumens on one, 20-30 on three, within 10-100 on one.
- Site them for direct sun; the JSOT advises 8 hours of sun before installation.
- Four of five state a warranty: 1 year, 180 days or 6 months.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which has the highest lumen count?
The BKBB at 800 lumens. The others state 20-100 lumens or wattage.
Which state IP65?
The Brightown only. The other four state water protection without a rating.
Which state a warranty?
The Brightown and XLUX state 1 year; the JSOT states 180 days; the BKBB states 6 months. The SOLPEX states no term.
Which is the string light?
The Brightown: 52 feet, 15 bulbs plus 1 spare, remote, solar and USB charging.
Related guides
See every solar path and string lights guide and all solar outdoor guides.
More picks: solar light for mailbox post, solar light for inside shed.









