On this page
Deck steps take foot traffic every night, and the best solar lights for deck steps survive it while outlining each tread. We compared four step lights from DetarZinLED, JOFIOS, VWCYL+ and Herzila on what each listing states: brightness, LED count, run time, ingress protection and warranty. The DetarZinLED leads with IP68 and a 2-year quality assurance, while the JOFIOS states 13 LEDs with 100 lumens and a lifetime warranty.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best IP68 DetarZinLED 6 Pack Step Light: IP68, 1000mAh, 8-10h, 2-year assurance Check price on Amazon
Best 13 LEDs JOFIOS 12 Pack Step Light: 100 lumens, IP67, 10h, lifetime warranty Check price on Amazon
Best 3 Color Temps VWCYL+ 6 Pack Step Light: 30 lm, 3000K/4000K/5000K, 8-12h, CE Check price on Amazon
Best 8 Pack Herzila 8 Pack Deck Light: IP44, 3000K, 8 LEDs, low profile Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | JOFIOS 12 Pack Step Light | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | DetarZinLED 6 Pack Step Light | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | VWCYL+ 6 Pack Step Light | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Herzila 8 Pack Deck Light | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 13 LEDs with 100 lumens stated
- IP67 rating stated in the listing
- Lifetime warranty stated in the listing
- 10 hours of light after 4 hours of charge
Cons
- 800mAh is smaller than the 1000mAh DetarZinLED
- Triangular design suits corners more than flat treads
- Warm brown only in this listing
- 12 lamps need 12 mounts on the steps
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-pack of solar step lights with 13 LEDs, 100 lumens, an IP67 rating, an 800mAh battery, 4 hours of charge, 10 hours of light, ABS and PC construction, a triangular design, double-sided tape or screw mounting, automatic dusk to dawn operation, and a lifetime warranty stated in the listing.
Who it's for: staircases that need 13 LEDs per light with a warranty. Who should skip it: buyers who want the highest stated IP rating or fewer lamps.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 13 |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 100 lumens |
| Run time | 10 hours |
| Ingress protection | IP67 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 rating stated in the listing, so safety scores 7 of 10. Lifetime warranty stated in the listing. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- IP68 rating, the highest stated of the four
- 1000mAh battery with 8 to 10 hours of light
- 2 years of quality assurance with 24-hour response
- Polycarbonate shell rated for 5 tons of loading
Cons
- No lumen figure is stated
- 6 hours of charge for the full run
- Adhesive pads only, no screw option
- 6 lamps against the 12-pack JOFIOS
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-pack of solar step lights with an IP68 rating, a 1000mAh battery, 6 hours of charge, 8 to 10 hours of light, warm white LEDs, a polycarbonate shell rated for 5 tons of loading, adhesive pads, automatic dusk to dawn operation, and 2 years of quality assurance with 24-hour response. No lumen figure is stated.
Who it's for: deck steps that need the highest stated sealing with a warranty. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated lumen figure or screws.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 1000mAh |
|---|---|
| Run time | 8-10 hours |
| Loading | 5 tons |
| Ingress protection | IP68 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 rating stated in the listing, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 years of quality assurance stated in the listing. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 30 lumens stated, the second-highest of the four
- 3000K, 4000K or 5000K per light
- 8 to 12 hours of light stated
- CE stated in the listing
Cons
- Non-removable fixture type
- No IP rating number is stated
- 3 to 8 hours in winter against 8 to 12 in summer
- 6 to 8 hours of charge for the full run
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-pack of solar step lights with 30 lumens, 3000K, 4000K or 5000K per light, 6 to 8 hours of charge, 8 to 12 hours of light (3 to 8 hours in winter), a widened polysilicon panel, a built-in lithium battery, CE, a 2-year warranty, and dusk to dawn operation. No IP number is stated.
Who it's for: steps that want 3 color temperatures with CE. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated IP rating.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 30 lumens |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 3000K/4000K/5000K |
| Run time | 8-12 hours |
| Certification | CE |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE stated in the listing, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2-year warranty stated in the listing. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- IP44 rating stated in the listing
- 8 LEDs at 3000K warm white
- Low profile 3 by 2.2 inch design
- Foam strips or screws for installation
Cons
- 8 lamps against the 12-pack JOFIOS
- No lumen figure is stated
- No run time figure is stated
- 8 hours of charge recommended before first use
Detailed Review
The listing states an 8-pack of solar deck lights with an IP44 rating, 8 LEDs at 3000K warm white, a low profile 3 by 2.2 inch design, weather resistant ABS, automatic dusk to dawn operation, installation with foam strips or screws, and a 1-year manufacturer warranty stated. No lumen figure or run time is stated.
Who it's for: deck edges that need 8 low-profile lamps. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated run time or the highest IP rating.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 8 |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 8 |
| Color temperature | 3000K |
| Ingress protection | IP44 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP44 rating stated in the listing, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year manufacturer warranty stated in the listing. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Light | Solar Score | Brightness | Run time | Ingress protection | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DetarZinLED 6 Pack Step Light | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 8-10 hours | IP68 | 2-year assurance | View on Amazon |
| JOFIOS 12 Pack Step Light | 9.7/10 | 100 lumens | 10 hours | IP67 | Lifetime warranty | View on Amazon |
| VWCYL+ 6 Pack Step Light | 9.6/10 | 30 lumens | 8-12 hours | None | 2-year warranty | View on Amazon |
| Herzila 8 Pack Deck Light | 9.6/10 | Not stated | Not stated | IP44 | 1-year warranty | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a step light, safety means the ingress protection the listing states; a listing that states no IP number scores zero on that line. All four state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JOFIOS 12 Pack Step Light | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| DetarZinLED 6 Pack Step Light | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| VWCYL+ 6 Pack Step Light | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| Herzila 8 Pack Deck Light | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar lights for deck steps
Read the brightness and LED counts as stated
The JOFIOS states 100 lumens from 13 LEDs and the VWCYL+ states 30 lumens. The DetarZinLED and Herzila state no lumen figure, so compare them on battery and pack size instead. See our solar path and string lights category for more ways to light a deck.
| Light | Brightness | Run time | Ingress protection |
|---|---|---|---|
| DetarZinLED 6 Pack Step Light | Not stated | 8-10 hours | IP68 |
| JOFIOS 12 Pack Step Light | 100 lumens | 10 hours | IP67 |
| VWCYL+ 6 Pack Step Light | 30 lumens | 8-12 hours | Not stated |
| Herzila 8 Pack Deck Light | Not stated | Not stated | IP44 |
Check the ingress rating against foot traffic
The DetarZinLED states IP68 with a polycarbonate shell rated for 5 tons of loading weight, the JOFIOS states IP67 with ABS and PC, and the Herzila states IP44. The VWCYL+ states no IP number. Steps take feet and weather, so the sealing line matters most here.
Compare the run times and batteries
The VWCYL+ states 8 to 12 hours, the JOFIOS states 10 hours after 4 hours of charge, and the DetarZinLED states 8 to 10 hours from a 1000mAh battery charged over 6 hours. The Herzila states no run time. Our best solar lights for deck stairs guide reads the same lines.
Check the warranty and service lines
The DetarZinLED states 2 years of quality assurance with 24-hour response, the JOFIOS states a lifetime warranty, the VWCYL+ states a 2-year warranty, and the Herzila states a 1-year manufacturer warranty. For lights stepped on nightly, the stated term is the tie-breaker. Our best solar lights for deck railing guide covers the same trade-off.
Sizing Notes
- Compare brightness as stated: 100 lumens, 30 lumens, or LED counts.
- Check the stated run time: 8-12 hours, 10 hours, or 8-10 hours.
- Read the ingress rating each listing states: IP68, IP67, IP44, or none.
- Count the LEDs: 13, 8, or 6 as stated.
- Note the pack size: 12, 8, or 6, against the number of steps.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which of these state IP68?
Only the DetarZinLED. The JOFIOS states IP67 and the Herzila states IP44.
Which state a warranty term?
The DetarZinLED states 2 years of quality assurance, the JOFIOS states a lifetime warranty, the VWCYL+ states a 2-year warranty, and the Herzila states a 1-year manufacturer warranty.
Which have 13 LEDs?
Only the JOFIOS, with 100 lumens stated. The Herzila states 8 LEDs and the DetarZinLED states 6 LEDs.
Which have adjustable color temperatures?
Only the VWCYL+, with 3000K, 4000K or 5000K per light. The other three list a single color temperature.
Which state the longest run time?
The VWCYL+, at 8 to 12 hours. The JOFIOS states 10 hours and the DetarZinLED states 8 to 10 hours.
Related guides
See every Solar Path and String Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar lights for deck stairs. Also see our best solar lights for deck railing.
More picks that missed our top four: the SHONELIGHTING 6-pack with 33 focused LEDs, the Follateas 2-pack step lights, the 16-pack warm white step lights, the second 16-pack warm white step lights, and the 6-pack 2-sided warm white deck stair lights.








