On this page
A walkway after dark asks for light that marks each step, greets a visitor and switches itself off when nobody passes. The short answer on best solar motion light for walkway: pick a stake-mounted path set for edging the walk, a hanging lantern for a patio end, or a step light for stairs beside the walk. We compared walkway lights on what each listing states: detection range, modes, charging, weather codes and warranty terms. The picks below cover a garden path, a patio edge and a step, so the choice comes down to where feet actually land.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall DuoGolden Pathway Light 2-Pack: 3 mounting styles with dual charging and a 1-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Pathway Set AURAXY Pathway Light 4-Pack: 10-16 feet detection with IP44 and a 1-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Step Light Option Aootek Step Light: 120 LEDs with a 270-degree angle and IP65 stated Check price on Amazon
2400 Lumen Option SEZAC Motion Light 6-Pack: 6-pack motion sensor set with 2400 lumens stated Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | DuoGolden Pathway Light 2-Pack | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SEZAC 6-Pack Motion Light | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | AURAXY Pathway Light 4-Pack | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Aootek 120-LED Step Light | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

DuoGolden Pathway Light 2-Pack
A 2-pack pathway light with 3 mounting styles, 3 modes, dual solar or USB charging and a 160-degree sensor detecting 16-26 feet.
Pros
- 3 mounting styles: in-ground, wall-mounted or hanging
- Dual charging by solar or USB from an 1800mAh battery
- 160-degree sensor detecting movement 16-26 feet away
- 3 modes, with each motion burst lasting 20 seconds at high brightness
Cons
- No lumen figure is stated
- No IP code is stated
- ABS and aluminum build, with no metal-only claim
- Permanent-on mode runs at low brightness all night
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack pathway light with 3 mounting styles for in-ground, wall-mounted or hanging use, 3 lighting modes including a motion-only mode, a dim mode and a permanent-on low mode, a 160-degree motion sensor detecting 16-26 feet, motion bursts of 20 seconds at high brightness, an 1800mAh battery upgraded from 1200mAh, dual charging by solar or USB, 5-6 hours of charging giving 8-10 hours of light, auto on at dusk and auto off at dawn, a water-resistant and rust-resistant design, and a 1-year warranty. No lumen figure or IP code is stated.
Who it's for: readers who want a light to serve as a path light, wall light or hanging lantern, with USB backup for shade. Who should skip it: readers who need a stated lumen figure or a stated IP code.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 1/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Detection | 16-26 feet, 160 degrees |
|---|---|
| Charging | Solar or USB |
| Battery | 1800mAh |
| Modes | 3 modes |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water-resistant design, rust-resistant build stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SEZAC 6-Pack Motion Light
A 6-pack of solar motion sensor wall lights with 2400 lumens, IP65 and a stated 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 2400 lumens stated, the brightest here
- 120° PIR with a 16.4 ft detection range
- 3 modes: constant medium, dim-to-bright, motion-activated
- 18650 battery rated for 1200 charge cycles
Cons
- White light only; no color temperature stated
- Sensor sensitivity is fixed, not adjustable
- Mount 6 to 8 ft high and away from heat sources
- 898 g stated with no per-light split
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-pack of solar motion sensor wall lights with 2400 lumens, 42 LEDs, IP65 water resistance, and a 1-year warranty. It states 10 by 4 by 4 inches, 898 g, a 120° PIR sensor with a 16.4 ft range, 3 modes, a rechargeable 18650 battery rated for 1200 charge cycles, and no wiring. The listing says to mount 6 to 8 ft high and away from heat sources.
Who it's for: gates, driveways and entries where bright motion-triggered light matters. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a steady decorative glow.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 2400 lm |
|---|---|
| Sensor | 120° PIR, 16.4 ft |
| Weather rating | IP65 |
| Pack | 6-pack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 water resistance stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AURAXY Pathway Light 4-Pack
A 4-pack pathway light with a PIR sensor detecting 10-16 feet, 15 lumens, IP44 stated and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- PIR sensor detecting movement within 10-16 feet
- Light turns off after 20 seconds of no activity
- IP44 stated, with CE, FCC and RoHS listed
- Ground stakes included for pathways, fences or driveways
Cons
- 15 lumens, a low figure for a walkway light
- Included list names 2 poles and 2 ground stakes for 4 lights
- No USB charging is stated
- No color temperature choice beyond warm light
Detailed Review
The listing states a 4-pack pathway light with a PIR motion detector sensing movement within 10-16 feet, the light turning off after 20 seconds of no activity, a solar panel charging in 6-8 hours under sunlight, 15 lumens, warm light at 3700K, IP44 stated, CE, FCC and RoHS listed, an ABS plastic build, a height of 20.51 inches, and a 1-year warranty. The included list names 2 poles and 2 ground stakes for 4 lights, so check the pack contents before ordering.
Who it's for: readers edging a walkway who want a motion set with a stated detection range. Who should skip it: readers who want bright light, USB charging or a full set of stakes for every light.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 1/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 15 lumens |
|---|---|
| Detection | 10-16 feet |
| Charging | 6-8 hours solar |
| Height | 20.51 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP44 stated, CE, FCC and RoHS listed, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Aootek 120-LED Step Light
A compact 120-LED step light with three modes including smart brightness control, 26-foot PIR sensing and IP65 weather resistance.
Pros
- Three modes: motion sensor, permanent on at 10 percent brightness for 8 hours, and smart brightness control
- 120 LEDs in a compact 4.13 by 2.75 inch body
- 20. 5% solar conversion rate stated for the 1.2W monocrystalline panel
- IP65 weather resistance and a 1-year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- The title says 270-degree wide angle while the bullets say 120 degrees; both figures appear
- The 1.2W panel is the lowest stated panel wattage here
- Motion-sensor mode gives 15 seconds of high brightness per trigger, the shortest stated here
- Touch control; no remote is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 120 LEDs, a PIR motion sensor with a stated 26-foot detection distance, and three modes: motion sensor mode (the lights stay on high brightness for 15 seconds when motion is detected), permanent on mode (10 percent brightness for 8 hours) and smart brightness control mode (slightly bright all night, jumping to high for 15 seconds on motion). It states a 1.2W monocrystalline panel with a 20. 5% conversion rate, IP65 weather resistance, a 4.13 by 2.75 inch body, 4.32 ounces and a 1-year manufacturer warranty. One mismatch: the title says 270-degree wide angle while the bullets say 120 degrees, so the angle is the least certain spec here.
Who it's for: buyers who want mode variety in a small step or wall light, including a smart standby mode. Who should skip it: buyers who want a wide-angle figure they can trust; the listing states two different ones.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Detection | 26 ft PIR |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 120 |
| Weather rating | IP65 |
| Panel | 1.2W monocrystalline |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 weather resistance stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
AURAXY Pathway Light 8-Pack8-pack version with 10-19 feet detection and IP44 statedCheck on Amazon
XMCOSY+ Pathway Light 8-Pack8-pack metal light with 26ft detection and 300 lumens statedCheck on Amazon
Varmtalys Pathway Light 4-Pack4-pack light with 3 color temperatures and dual charging statedCheck on Amazon
VerLuce Paragon Pathway Light 4-Pack4-pack path light with 55 hours runtime and 2200K or 2700K statedCheck on Amazon
VerLuce Victorian Bollard Light 4-Pack4-pack bollard light with motion sensor and 35 hours runtime statedCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Solar motion light | Solar Score | Detection stated | Modes | Charging | Weather code | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DuoGolden Pathway Light 2-Pack | 9.7/10 | 16-26 feet, 160 degrees | 3 modes | Solar or USB | No IP code stated | 1-year warranty | View on Amazon |
| AURAXY Pathway Light 4-Pack | 9.6/10 | 10-16 feet | Motion sensor only | Solar only | IP44 | 1-year warranty | View on Amazon |
| Aootek Step Light | 9.6/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Solar | IP65 | Not stated | |
| SEZAC Motion Light 6-Pack | 9.7/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Solar | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety here means a stated weather code or a build the listing describes for outdoor weather: the AURAXY listing states IP44 with CE, FCC and RoHS listed, the DuoGolden listing states a water-resistant and rust-resistant design with no IP code, and the Aootek title states IP65. The full-data listings state a 1-year warranty each, while the title-only picks state no warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DuoGolden Pathway Light 2-Pack | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 7 | 1 |
| AURAXY Pathway Light 4-Pack | 9.6 | 26 | 20 | 21 | 8 | 1 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar motion light for walkway
Start from the walk surface
A garden path suits stakes, a patio end suits a hanging lantern, and a step suits a step light. The AURAXY pick stakes along pathways, fences or driveways with ground stakes, while the DuoGolden pick offers several placements: in-ground along a walkway, wall-mounted as a security light, or hanging as a lantern. The Aootek title names a step light, which fits stairs beside a walk rather than the walk edge itself. For a deck edge rather than a garden walk, the best solar motion light for deck guide covers that setting.
Check detection range before brightness
Detection range decides whether the light switches on in time for the next step. The DuoGolden listing states a 160-degree sensor that detects movement 16-26 feet away, while the AURAXY listing states movement detected within 10-16 feet with the light turning off after 20 seconds of no activity. The title-only picks state no detection figure, so their range stays open. Place the sensor where walkers approach, not where they already stand, and check the best solar pathway lights outdoor 4 pack guide for more path sets.
Match modes and charging to the night
Modes decide whether the walk stays dimly lit or waits in darkness for motion. The DuoGolden pick offers 3 modes: motion-only light, a dim mode that brightens on motion, and a permanent-on low mode, with each motion burst lasting 20 seconds at high brightness. It also charges by solar or USB from an 1800mAh battery, with 5-6 hours of charging giving 8-10 hours of light. The AURAXY pick charges by solar in 6-8 hours and runs on motion sensing alone, with no USB charging stated and no lumen figure beyond 15 lumens. A shaded walk favors the dual-charging pick, since solar charging alone depends on direct sun.
Place the panel side in sun
Charging times set where each light belongs. The DuoGolden pick charges in 5-6 hours for 8-10 hours of light, while the AURAXY pick charges in 6-8 hours under sunlight for all-night motion lighting. A walk under trees or beside a tall fence gives less direct sun, so the DuoGolden pick with USB charging suits that spot better than a solar-only pick. Check the sun on the walk at midday before fixing stakes or brackets in place.
Read the warranty lines closely
The DuoGolden and AURAXY listings state a 1-year warranty each, while the title-only picks state no warranty term in their titles. That split matters for lights left out through every season: a stated term gives a clear route for a faulty unit, while a title-only pick leaves the question open. Check the pack contents too, since the AURAXY included list names 2 poles and 2 ground stakes for 4 lights, which reads as short for a full path run.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| A stake set with a stated detection range | AURAXY Pathway Light 4-Pack, with 10-16 feet detection |
| Versatile mounting with USB charging | DuoGolden Pathway Light 2-Pack, with 3 mounting styles |
| A step light for stairs beside a walk | Aootek Step Light, with 120 LEDs stated |
Sizing Notes
- Match detection range to the approach: 16-26 feet for the DuoGolden pick, 10-16 feet for the AURAXY pick, and no figure stated for the title-only picks.
- Match modes to the night: 3 modes for the DuoGolden pick, motion sensing only for the AURAXY pick, and no modes stated for the title-only picks.
- Match charging to shade: solar or USB charging for the DuoGolden pick, solar charging only for the AURAXY pick.
- Match the weather code to exposure: IP44 stated for the AURAXY pick, IP65 stated in the Aootek title, and no IP code stated for the DuoGolden and SEZAC picks.
- Check the stated warranty term before buying: 1 year for the DuoGolden and AURAXY picks, and none stated for the title-only picks.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick here states the widest detection range?
The DuoGolden pick states 16-26 feet with a 160-degree sensor, ahead of the AURAXY pick at 10-16 feet. The title-only picks state no detection figure.
Which pick here charges by USB?
The DuoGolden pick charges by solar or USB from an 1800mAh battery. The AURAXY listing states solar charging only, with no USB charging stated.
Which picks here state a warranty term?
The DuoGolden and AURAXY listings state a 1-year warranty each. The title-only picks state no warranty term in their titles.
Do all the picks here state an IP code?
No. The AURAXY listing states IP44 and the Aootek title states IP65, while the DuoGolden and SEZAC picks state no IP code.
Related guides
See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar motion light for deck. Also see our best solar pathway lights outdoor 4 pack.
More picks: best solar motion lights, best solar lights for wall, best solar outdoor lights for driveway.




