On this page
The apartment has no outdoor outlet, the balcony railing gets afternoon sun, and the power bank is dead again, which is exactly the setup the best solar panel for apartment balcony has to fit. We compared four panels, from a 21W folding phone charger to two rigid 400W bifacial panels, on rated watts, folded size, weather rating, included cables and warranty terms. Three fold flat for storage, and one bolts down for good.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall TWELSEAVAN 200W Foldable Panel: 200W foldable with 60W USB-C and 24-month warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Kit DOKIO 150W Foldable Kit: 150W panel with PWM controller and 4 DC adapters Check price on Amazon
Most Panel Watts HQST 400W Bifacial Panels: two 200W bifacial panels at 25.4% efficiency Check price on Amazon
Smallest Panel ALLPOWERS 21W Foldable Panel: 21W foldable with dual USB for phones Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | TWELSEAVAN 200W Foldable Panel | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | DOKIO 150W Foldable Kit | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | HQST 400W Bifacial Panels | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | ALLPOWERS 21W Foldable Panel | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

TWELSEAVAN 200W Foldable Panel
A 200W ETFE foldable panel with USB-C PD 60W output, a 5-in-1 MC4 cable and a stated 24-month warranty.
Pros
- 24% efficiency stated with ETFE lamination at over 95% light transmittance
- Type-C PD 60W, QC3.0 18W and USB 5V/3A ports for devices
- 5-in-1 MC4 cable plus 3 DC adapters, 9.8-foot cable included
- 24-month warranty stated
Cons
- Spec table lists both a 19.8-volt maximum and a 23.4-volt output; trust the 19.8-volt maximum
- 15.7 pounds is the heaviest foldable here
- No certification beyond the IP65 rating is stated
- Anker is named only at brand level, with no balcony mounting hardware stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 200W foldable panel with A+ grade monocrystalline cells at 24% efficiency, ETFE lamination at over 95% light transmittance, a 10.8-amp maximum, Type-C PD 60W, QC3.0 18W and USB 5V/3A ports, a device-detecting IC chip, a 5-in-1 MC4 cable, 3 DC adapters and a 9.8-foot cable. It folds to 23 by 22 inches at 15.7 pounds with a magnetic handle and 4 kickstands, states IP65 and a polyester canvas back, and offers a 24-month warranty with 30-day money-back. The spec table lists both a 19.8-volt maximum and a 23.4-volt output; trust the maximum.
Who it's for: balcony and camping users who want the most complete cable set and USB-C device charging in a 200W foldable. Who should skip it: buyers who want stated certifications beyond the IP rating.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Rated power | 200W, 24% efficiency |
|---|---|
| USB output | Type-C PD 60W, QC3.0 18W |
| Cable | 5-in-1 MC4, 9.8 ft, 3 DC adapters |
| Folded size | 23 x 22 in, 15.7 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating and IC chip overcharging and overload protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 24-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DOKIO 150W Foldable Kit
A 150W foldable panel kit with a standalone PWM controller, USB ports and 4 DC adapters for 12V batteries and power stations.
Pros
- Standalone PWM controller with reverse polarity, overcharge, overload and short-circuit protection
- 9.8-foot cable plus 3.3-foot cable and 4 DC adapters included
- Folds to 19.3 by 20.9 by 1.1 inches at 7.3 pounds
- USB ports for phones and lights
Cons
- Spec table claims 160W maximum against the 150W title; trust the title
- Weight is 7.3 pounds in the bullets but 9 pounds in the spec table
- No IP rating is stated
- 150W exceeds the 60 to 100W solar cap the listing notes on some power stations
Detailed Review
The listing states a 150W foldable panel kit with a standalone PWM controller for 12V batteries, full protections (reverse polarity, overcharge, overload, short-circuit), a 9.8-foot cable plus a 3.3-foot cable, a JY60 short connector, 4 DC adapters, USB ports, a 9.14-amp maximum, 22.5-volt maximum and 18-volt output. It folds to 19.3 by 20.9 by 1.1 inches at 7.3 pounds, ships with a storage bag and manual, states a weather-resistant surface and a 1-year warranty. The spec table claims 160W maximum and 9 pounds, and the title says it folds to 21 by 20 inches; trust the title for watts and the bullets for size and weight.
Who it's for: 12V battery and power-station owners who want the controller, cables and adapters in one kit. Who should skip it: buyers whose station caps solar input below 150W.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Rated power | 150W (spec table says 160W) |
|---|---|
| Controller | Standalone PWM with protections |
| Cables | 9.8 ft + 3.3 ft, 4 DC adapters |
| Folded size | 19.3 x 20.9 x 1.1 in, 7.3 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Controller protections and weather-resistant surface stated, no IP rating given, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HQST 400W Bifacial Panels
Two rigid 200W N-Type bifacial panels at 25.4% efficiency with IP68 rating for balcony, RV or off-grid mounting.
Pros
- 400W total from two 200W bifacial panels at 25.4% efficiency
- Bifacial gain up to 30% stated, reaching 260W per panel in optimal conditions
- IP68 rating with 2400Pa wind and 5400Pa snow load ratings
- 30-year service life stated at 87.4% output
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Rigid 47.2 by 30.1 inch panels need real mounting space on a balcony
- Spec table gives 48 by 31 by 3.5 inches against the bullets' 47.2 by 30.1 by 1.2 inches
- No cables, controller or USB outputs are included
Detailed Review
The listing states two rigid 200W N-Type bifacial panels with 16BB Grade A+ cells at 25.4% efficiency, bifacial gain of up to 30% for 260W per panel in optimal conditions, a 30-year service life at 87.4% output, IP68 rating, 2400Pa wind and 5400Pa snow load ratings, and an anti-corrosion aluminum frame. Each panel is 47.2 by 30.1 by 1.2 inches at 21.58 pounds per the bullets; the spec table gives 48 by 31 by 3.5 inches and lists 200W maximum, the per-panel figure. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners with a fixed mounting spot who want the most stated watts and the toughest weather ratings here. Who should skip it: renters who need a panel that folds away.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Rated power | 400W, 2 x 200W |
|---|---|
| Cell | N-Type bifacial, 25.4% |
| Panel size | 47.2 x 30.1 x 1.2 in, 21.58 lb each |
| Weather rating | IP68 stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 rating, 2400Pa wind and 5400Pa snow load ratings stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ALLPOWERS 21W Foldable Panel
A 21W foldable panel with USB-A and USB-C outputs for charging phones on a balcony or outdoors.
Pros
- 25% conversion efficiency stated
- USB-A and USB-C at 5V and 3A per port
- FCC, RoHS and CE stated with short-circuit and surge protection
- Folds to 8.66 by 8.19 inches with a carry handle
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 21W only, for phones and small devices
- Weight is given only as a few pounds, not a number
- Listing mentions 12V DC design beside the 5V USB output in the spec table
Detailed Review
The listing states a 21W foldable panel at 25% conversion efficiency with USB-A and USB-C ports at 5V and 3A per port, FCC, RoHS and CE marks, short-circuit and surge protection, nylon build and an agile folding design at 8.66 by 8.19 by 0.79 inches with a carry handle and a pocket that fits a phone. The bullets mention a 12V DC design while the spec table gives a 5-volt output; trust the USB figures. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: phone-first users who want the smallest panel here for a balcony rail or backpack. Who should skip it: anyone charging a power station or 12V battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Rated power | 21W, 25% efficiency |
|---|---|
| USB output | USB-A + USB-C, 5V/3A |
| Folded size | 8.66 x 8.19 x 0.79 in |
| Certifications | FCC, RoHS, CE stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. FCC, RoHS and CE stated, plus short-circuit and surge protection, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Renogy 100 Watt ShadowFlux Flexible SolarCheck on Amazon
Weznbtev 100W 12V Flexible Solar PanelCheck on Amazon
ECO-WORTHY 200W Flexible HJT Solar PanelsCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Panel | Solar Score | Rated watts | Folded size | Weather rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TWELSEAVAN 200W Foldable Panel | 9.7/10 | 200W | 23 x 22 in | IP65 | 24 months | View on Amazon |
| DOKIO 150W Foldable Kit | 9.6/10 | 150W | 19.3 x 20.9 x 1.1 in | Not stated | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| HQST 400W Bifacial Panels | 9.6/10 | 400W | Rigid, 47.2 x 30.1 in | IP68 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| ALLPOWERS 21W Foldable Panel | 9.4/10 | 21W | 8.66 x 8.19 in | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a balcony panel, safety means the weather rating, certifications and controller protections the listing actually states; a panel that states none scores low on that line. Two of the four panels state a warranty term, and two state an IP rating. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TWELSEAVAN 200W Foldable Panel | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| DOKIO 150W Foldable Kit | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| HQST 400W Bifacial Panels | 9.6 | 33 | 22 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| ALLPOWERS 21W Foldable Panel | 9.4 | 21 | 19 | 19 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar panel for apartment balcony use
Check the mounting reality first
A balcony is a railing, a floor and a landlord, not a roof. The three foldable picks here lean on a railing or lie flat and fold away when the weather turns, while the HQST pair is rigid and wants a fixed mount. If the railing is curved or the space is tight, a flexible panel is the kinder fit; see our best flexible solar panels for van roof guide for that form factor. Measure the clear floor or railing space before choosing between 21W and 400W.
Foldable or rigid
The foldables trade watts for portability. The DOKIO folds to 19.3 by 20.9 by 1.1 inches at 7.3 pounds, the TWELSEAVAN folds to 23 by 22 inches at 15.7 pounds, and the ALLPOWERS folds to 8.66 by 8.19 inches with its weight given only as a few pounds. The HQST panels do not fold: each rigid panel is 47.2 by 30.1 inches at 21.58 pounds.
| Panel | Rated watts | Folded or rigid size | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| TWELSEAVAN 200W Foldable Panel | 200W | 23 x 22 in folded | 15.7 lb |
| DOKIO 150W Foldable Kit | 150W | 19.3 x 20.9 x 1.1 in folded | 7.3 lb |
| HQST 400W Bifacial Panels | 400W | 47.2 x 30.1 in rigid | 21.58 lb each |
| ALLPOWERS 21W Foldable Panel | 21W | 8.66 x 8.19 in folded | Not stated |
Controllers and cables matter on a balcony
Only the DOKIO ships a charge controller: a standalone PWM unit with reverse polarity, overcharge, overload and short-circuit protection, plus 4 DC adapters and two cables. The TWELSEAVAN ships a 5-in-1 MC4 cable and 3 DC adapters for power-station hookups, and the ALLPOWERS is USB only, which suits phones and nothing bigger. See our best portable solar panel with charge controller roundup for more controller-in-the-box options.
Read the warranty lines
The TWELSEAVAN states a 24-month warranty and the DOKIO states a 1-year warranty. The HQST and ALLPOWERS listings state no warranty term, though the HQST claims a 30-year service life. A stated term with a concrete length is the only kind that counts in the score.
Watch the spec tables
Three listings disagree with themselves, so read the title and bullets first. The DOKIO spec table claims 160W and 9 pounds against the 150W title and 7.3-pound bullets, the HQST spec table gives 48 by 31 by 3.5 inches against the bullets’ 47.2 by 30.1 by 1.2 inches, and the TWELSEAVAN spec table lists both a 19.8-volt maximum and a 23.4-volt output. When the numbers fight, trust the title and the bullets over the spec table.
Sizing Notes
- Match rated watts to the load: 21W for phones, 150 to 200W for power stations, and the 400W rigid pair for fixed mounting.
- Check folded size against balcony space: the DOKIO folds to 19.3 by 20.9 by 1.1 inches, while each HQST panel is a rigid 47.2 by 30.1 inches.
- Confirm the connector: the TWELSEAVAN ships a 5-in-1 MC4 cable, and the DOKIO ships a PWM controller with 4 DC adapters.
- Mind the weight on railings and floors: 7.3 to 21.58 pounds is stated here.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which of these panels are foldable?
The TWELSEAVAN, DOKIO and ALLPOWERS panels fold. The HQST panels are rigid, and the flexible balcony options sit in the more-picks links below.
Which listing includes a charge controller?
The DOKIO kit, with a standalone PWM controller that lists reverse polarity, overcharge, overload and short-circuit protection. The other three listings state no controller.
Which listings state a warranty term?
The TWELSEAVAN states a 24-month warranty and the DOKIO states a 1-year warranty. The HQST and ALLPOWERS listings state no warranty term.
Can the ALLPOWERS 21W panel charge a power station?
The listing claims phones, other equipment and power stations, with USB-A and USB-C at 5V and 3A per port. At 21W it is a phone-scale panel, not a station-scale one.
What is the largest panel here?
The HQST pair: two rigid 200W panels, each 47.2 by 30.1 inches at 21.58 pounds, for 400W total.
Related guides
See every Rigid and Flexible Panels guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides. Also see our best flexible solar panels for van roof. Also see our best portable solar panel with charge controller. Also see our best solar panel for a boat.
More picks: Renogy ShadowFlux 100W flexible panel, Weznbtev 100W flexible panel, ECO-WORTHY 200W flexible panel.




