On this page
The best solar panel for a boat is the one that survives salt spray, fits the deck you have, and keeps the batteries topped up between trips. We compared four solar panels from Renogy and SUNER POWER on power, efficiency, water rating, mounting and the warranty each listing states. Two are 100W panels for real charging, and two are 20-30W trickle maintainers.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Renogy 100W N-Type Panel: 100W at 25% efficiency with IP67 and 10-year plus 25-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best for Curved Decks Renogy 100W Flexible Panel: 100W panel bending 240 degrees at 5.3 pounds with IP67 box Check price on Amazon
Best Maintainer SUNER POWER 20W Trickle: 20W MPPT trickle charger with 8 protections for 12V batteries Check price on Amazon
Best 30W Maintainer SUNER POWER 30W Trickle: 30W MPPT with charge level indicators and 3 battery modes Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Renogy 100W N-Type Panel | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Renogy 100W Flexible Panel | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SUNER POWER 20W Trickle | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | SUNER POWER 30W Trickle | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Renogy 100W N-Type Panel
A 100W rigid N-type panel at 25% efficiency with IP67 protection and a 10-year plus 25-year warranty.
Pros
- 100W with 25% conversion efficiency stated
- IP67 protection; 2400Pa wind and 5400Pa snow load figures stated
- 16BB cells with low temperature coefficient stated
- 10-year material warranty plus 25-year performance at 80% stated
Cons
- 13 pounds and rigid; needs flat mounting
- Panel only; controller and wiring are separate
- 34.1 by 22.8 inches needs a clear roof or deck run
- 20W-more-than-PERC claim is the maker's own comparison
Detailed Review
The listing states a 100W rigid N-type panel with 25% conversion efficiency, 16BB cell technology, a low temperature coefficient and 20W more output than conventional PERC panels of the same design, per the maker. It carries IP67 protection, lists 2400Pa wind loads and 5400Pa snow loads, and uses low-iron tempered glass with a corrosion-resistant aluminum frame. It measures 34.1 by 22.8 by 1.2 inches, weighs 13 pounds, and the maker states degradation of 1% or less in the first year and 0.4% or less annually, with a 10-year material and workmanship commitment plus a 25-year performance guarantee at 80% output.
Who it's for: boat owners who want a high-efficiency rigid panel with the strongest warranty here for a cabin roof or arch. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a bendable panel for a curved deck.
Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 100W, 25% efficiency |
|---|---|
| Cell tech | N-type 16BB |
| Water rating | IP67 |
| Size | 34.1 x 22.8 x 1.2 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 protection stated; 2400Pa wind and 5400Pa snow load figures listed, so safety scores 9 of 10. 10-year material and workmanship plus 25-year performance at 80% stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Renogy 100W Flexible Panel
A 100W flexible panel that bends 240 degrees at 5.3 pounds, with an IP67 junction box.
Pros
- Bends 240 degrees for curved decks and cabins
- 5.3 pounds, about 1/3 of a rigid panel per the listing
- IP67 junction box; 5400Pa snow and 2400Pa wind stated
- 500 watt-hours per day average stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 22% efficiency, below the 25% N-type panel
- 2.3 ft cables may need extensions for long runs
- Half-cut PERC, not the newer N-type cells
Detailed Review
The listing states a 100W flexible panel that bends within 240 degrees for curved surfaces, weighs 5.3 pounds (about 1/3 of the rigid panel), and uses half-cut PERC cells at 22% efficiency. The IP67 junction box and connectors withstand 5400Pa snow and 2400Pa wind, and the maker states an average of 500 watt-hours per day depending on sun. It measures 43 by 22.9 by 0.8 inches with pre-drilled holes and 2.3 ft cables. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: boat owners with curved decks or cabin tops where a rigid panel will not sit flat. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the highest efficiency or a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 100W, 22% efficiency |
|---|---|
| Flex | 240-degree bend |
| Weight | 5.3 lb |
| Water rating | IP67 junction box |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 junction box stated; 5400Pa snow and 2400Pa wind loads listed, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNER POWER 20W Trickle
A 20W solar trickle charger with a smart MPPT controller, 8 protections and IP65 rating.
Pros
- Smart MPPT controller with 99% tracking efficiency stated
- 8 protections including reverse polarity and over-temperature
- IP65 rating and UL listing in the spec table
- 3-stage charging for 12V lead-acid and LiFePO4 batteries
Cons
- 20W is for maintenance, not for running loads
- No warranty term is stated
- Needs a 12V battery; not a standalone power source
- 20-30% utilization improvement is the maker's own comparison
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20W 12V solar trickle charger with a smart MPPT controller at up to 99% tracking and 98% peak conversion efficiency, 3-stage charging (bulk, absorption, float) and 8 protections: over-charge, over-discharge, over-voltage, over-current, over-load, short circuit, reverse polarity and over-temperature. It suits 12V lead-acid (flooded, gel, AGM, SLA) and LiFePO4 batteries, stops at full charge and resumes on discharge, and the spec table lists IP65 and UL. It connects by alligator clips, cigarette lighter or bare wire with pre-drilled mounting holes and screws. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: boat owners who want to keep a 12V starter or house battery topped up at the dock. Who should skip it: anyone who needs real charging power for depleted batteries.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 20W, 12V |
|---|---|
| Controller | Smart MPPT, 3-stage |
| Protections | 8 listed |
| Water rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 and UL listed in the spec table; 8 protections named, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNER POWER 30W Trickle
A 30W solar trickle charger with smart MPPT, charge level indicators and 3 battery modes.
Pros
- 30W with smart MPPT at 99% tracking efficiency stated
- Charge level indicators at 25%-50%-75%-100% stated
- 3 battery modes: 12V, 12V AGM and 12V Lithium
- 8 protections with auto charge and cut-off stated
Cons
- No IP rating is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Suction-cup mounting suits glass, not rough decks
- 30W is for maintenance, not for running loads
Detailed Review
The listing states a 30W 12V solar trickle charger with a smart MPPT controller, 3-stage charging, charge level indicators at 25%, 50%, 75% and 100%, and three battery modes for 12V, 12V AGM and 12V lithium batteries. Eight protections cover over-charge, over-discharge, over-voltage, over-current, over-load, short circuit, reverse polarity and over-temperature. It mounts with included suction cups and connects by plug-and-play SAE cables. No IP rating or warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: boat owners who want a slightly larger maintainer with a visible charge level and lithium mode. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated water rating or real charging power.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 30W, 12V |
|---|---|
| Controller | Smart MPPT, 3-stage |
| Modes | 12V, AGM, Lithium |
| Mounting | Suction cups |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP rating stated; 8 protections and auto cut-off listed, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
SUNER POWER 12V 30W Solar Battery TrickleCheck on Amazon
Renogy Flexible Solar Panel 200 WattCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Solar panel | Solar Score | Power | Type | Water rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Renogy 100W N-Type Panel | 9.8/10 | 100W | Rigid, 25% | IP67 | 10 + 25 years | View on Amazon |
| Renogy 100W Flexible Panel | 9.6/10 | 100W | Flexible, 22% | IP67 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SUNER POWER 20W Trickle | 9.6/10 | 20W | Trickle + MPPT | IP65 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SUNER POWER 30W Trickle | 9.5/10 | 30W | Trickle + MPPT | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a boat panel, safety means a water rating the listing actually states, such as IP67 or IP65, plus the wind and snow load figures where given. One of the four listings states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Renogy 100W N-Type Panel | 9.8 | 33 | 22 | 21 | 9 | 4 |
| Renogy 100W Flexible Panel | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| SUNER POWER 20W Trickle | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| SUNER POWER 30W Trickle | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar panel for a boat
Charging panel or maintainer: pick the job
The four split into two jobs. The two Renogy 100W panels charge batteries and run loads: the rigid N-type at 25% efficiency and the flexible at 22% with 500 watt-hours per day stated. The SUNER POWER 20W and 30W are trickle maintainers with smart MPPT controllers that keep a 12V battery topped up and stop at full charge. For a boat that sits at the dock all week, a maintainer prevents a dead battery; for off-grid cruising, you need the 100W class.
Rigid or flexible for the deck
The Renogy N-type is a rigid 13-pound panel at 34.1 by 22.8 inches for flat cabin roofs and arches, with the strongest warranty here. The Renogy flexible bends 240 degrees at 5.3 pounds for curved decks, with an IP67 junction box and pre-drilled holes. Measure the flat area first: a curved cabin top rules out rigid. For the battery side, see our LiFePO4 battery guides.
| Solar panel | Power | Water rating |
|---|---|---|
| Renogy 100W N-Type Panel | 100W, 25% | IP67 |
| Renogy 100W Flexible Panel | 100W, 22% | IP67 |
| SUNER POWER 20W Trickle | 20W | IP65 |
| SUNER POWER 30W Trickle | 30W | Not stated |
Read the water rating and the warranty
Salt spray punishes weak builds. The Renogy N-type and flexible state IP67, the SUNER 20W states IP65 with a UL listing, and the SUNER 30W claims water protection with no IP rating. On warranties, only the Renogy N-type states terms: 10 years on materials and workmanship plus 25 years of performance at 80%. The other three state no warranty term.
Mounting and connections
Check the mount and the plug. The Renogy flexible comes with pre-drilled holes and 2.3 ft cables, the SUNER 20W includes mounting screws with alligator clips, cigarette lighter and bare wire, and the SUNER 30W uses suction cups with plug-and-play SAE cables. The rigid N-type ships as the panel only, so plan the mount and controller separately. The 100W panels need a separate controller; see our charge controller guides.
Sizing Notes
- Match the panel watts to the job: 100W for charging, 20-30W for maintenance.
- Compare the panel’s 12V output with the battery bank voltage.
- For curved decks, only the flexible panel states a 240-degree bend.
- Check the water rating for spray zones: IP67 or IP65 stated beats a bare water-resistance claim.
- The 100W panels need a separate charge controller; the trickle chargers include MPPT.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size solar panel do I need for a boat?
For charging, the 100W Renogy panels suit a 12V system; the maker states 500 watt-hours per day for the flexible panel. For maintenance at the dock, the 20W and 30W SUNER POWER trickle chargers keep a 12V battery topped up.
Can I mount a rigid panel on a curved deck?
The rigid N-type needs a flat surface. The Renogy flexible panel bends 240 degrees for curved decks and cabin tops.
Do these panels work in salt spray?
The Renogy N-type and flexible state IP67, and the N-type adds a corrosion-resistant aluminum frame. The SUNER 20W states IP65; the 30W claims water resistance with no IP rating stated.
Do the trickle chargers need a separate controller?
No. Both SUNER POWER listings state a built-in smart MPPT controller with 3-stage charging and auto cut-off. The 100W Renogy panels ship without a controller.
Which panel has a warranty?
Only the Renogy N-type: 10 years on materials and workmanship plus 25 years of performance at 80% output. The other three listings state no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Rigid and Flexible Panels guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides. For the battery side, see our LiFePO4 battery guides. Also see our best solar panel for all weather. Also see our best solar panel for apartment balcony. Also see our best solar panel for backpacking. Also see our best solar lights for barn. Also see our best 3000 watt power inverter for truck. Also see our best solar panel for caravan. Also see our best solar charge controller for boat. Also see our best solar panel for cloudy days. Also see our best solar panel for cloudy weather. Also see our best solar panel for deer blind. Also see our best solar panel for deer feeder. Also see our best solar panel for domestic use. Also see our best solar panel for karachi. Also see our best solar lights for metal fence. Also see our best solar lights for my yard. Also see our best solar panel for pecron. Also see our best solar panel for pop top roof. Also see our best solar panel for shed. Also see our best solar panel for winter. Also see our best solar panel with high efficiency. Also see our best solar panels for new england. Also see our best solar panels for northern climates. Also see our renogy 200w vs dokio 300w solar panel kit. Also see our best solar panel for partial shade. Also see our best solar panel for rv roof. Also see our best solar panel for vehicle. Also see our best solar panels for goal zero yeti. Also see our best flexible solar panel for boat. Also see our polycrystalline vs thin film solar panel. Also see our best rigid solar panels for van. Also see our best flexible solar panel for tiny house. Also see our flexible solar panel vs solar blanket. Also see our best rigid solar panel under 250. Also see our foldable vs rigid solar panel. Also see our 20w vs 50w solar panel. Also see our best rigid solar panel under 150. Also see our best solar panel for small rv. Also see our single 800 watt solar panel. Also see our best solar panel for barn roof.
More picks: the SUNER POWER 30W pole-mount version adds an adjustable 0-15-30-45-60 degree bracket with a 3 m cable, and the Renogy 200W flexible panel doubles the 100W flexible for curved surfaces at 10.8 pounds with 1000 watt-hours per day stated.




