Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Rigid and Flexible Panels

Best Solar Panel for Cloudy Days: 5 Panels Compared

Five solar panels for overcast skies, from a 7.2W camera panel to a 350W portable, compared on low-light performance, efficiency and warranty terms.

Best Solar Panel for Cloudy Days: 5 Panels Compared
On this page

An overcast sky at noon, the sun a bright smudge behind the clouds: the best solar panel for cloudy days still pulls in usable power when direct sun is gone. We compared five panels, from a 7.2W camera panel to a 350W portable, on low-light claims, efficiency, wattage, weather ratings and warranty terms their listings publish. N-Type cell efficiency and stated low-light performance decided the ranking.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • ZOUPW 350W Portable
    Best Overall ZOUPW 350W Portable: 350W with 25% N-Type cells, IP68 and 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Renogy ShadowFlux 120W
    Anti-Shading Pick Renogy ShadowFlux 120W: 120W ShadowFlux with 25% cells, IP67 and 5-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • ZOUPW 100W Portable
    Ultralight Pick ZOUPW 100W Portable: 100W at 7.98 lb with 25% cells, IP67 and 5-in-1 cable Check price on Amazon
  • HQST 200W Portable
    200W Pick HQST 200W Portable: 200W with 25% N-Type cells, IP67 and 3-in-1 cable Check price on Amazon
  • Tactacam Reveal 7.2W
    Camera Pick Tactacam Reveal 7.2W: 7.2W folding panel with built-in battery for trail cameras Check price on Amazon

The picks

ZOUPW 350W Portable

ZOUPW 350W Portable

ZOUPW9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 350W portable panel with 25% N-Type cells, IP68, ETFE coating and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 350W, the highest wattage here
  • IP68 with junction box at IP67
  • 25% N-Type 16BB cells
  • 3-year warranty plus lifetime support

Cons

  • 22.2 lb, the heaviest portable here
  • 50.2V input needs a compatible station
  • Not for small 12-20V power stations
  • Not for long-term fixed connections per the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 350W portable panel with N-Type 16BB cells at 25% efficiency, a 50.2V open circuit voltage for 1kWh+ stations, and 4 reinforced kickstands at 45 degrees for 30% more sun than flat laying. It lists an IP68 rating (junction box IP67), ETFE coating, bypass diodes and anti-shading protection, a 4-in-1 cable (XT60, Anderson, DC7909, DC8020), a 13.12 ft 14AWG extension cable and a storage bag at 22.2 lb. It states capture in low-light and cloudy conditions, a 3-year warranty and lifetime technical support.

Who it's for: owners of big power stations who want maximum cloudy-day harvest. Who should skip it: anyone with a small 12-20V station or a tight weight budget.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power350W, 25% N-Type
RatingIP68 (box IP67)
Voltage50.2V open circuit
Weight22.2 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 rating (junction box IP67) and ETFE coating stated, plus bypass diodes and anti-shading protection, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Renogy ShadowFlux 120W

Renogy ShadowFlux 120W

Renogy9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 120W rigid panel with ShadowFlux anti-shading, 25% N-Type cells, IP67 or higher and a 5-year warranty.

Pros

  • ShadowFlux anti-shading technology
  • 25% N-Type 16BB cells
  • 5-year materials plus 25-year output warranty
  • IP67 or higher rating stated

Cons

  • 120W, less than the portable rivals
  • 15.9 lb rigid, no folding
  • Panel only, no cable stated
  • 41.42 by 22.76 in needs roof space
Detailed Review

The listing states a 120W rigid panel with ShadowFlux anti-shading technology for partial shade from trees, roofs, buildings, leaves and snow, using N-Type 16BB cells at 25% efficiency. It lists an IP67 or higher rating for snow, rain and small hail, advanced encapsulation against water vapor, and 10% smaller size than PERC panels. The spec table gives 41.42 by 22.76 by 1.2 inches, 15.9 lb, aluminum and tempered glass, a 5-year materials and craftsmanship warranty and 25-year output at 80%.

Who it's for: RV and rooftop owners who want anti-shading with the longest warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a folding portable panel.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power120W, 25% N-Type
TechShadowFlux anti-shading
RatingIP67 or higher
Size41.42 x 22.76 x 1.2 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 or higher rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 5-year materials and craftsmanship plus 25-year 80% output stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ZOUPW 100W Portable

ZOUPW 100W Portable

ZOUPW9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100W ultralight portable panel with 25% N-Type cells, IP67, ETFE, a 5-in-1 cable and a 12-month warranty.

Pros

  • 7.98 lb, the lightest big panel here
  • 5-in-1 cable plus 10-in-1 DC connectors
  • 25% N-Type 16BB cells
  • Smart IC chip with overcharge, overheat and short-circuit protection

Cons

  • 100W, the smallest of the big panels
  • 12-month warranty
  • 30-day money-back only
  • Kickstands only angle 35 to 60 degrees
Detailed Review

The listing states a 100W portable panel with N-Type 16BB cells at 25% efficiency, stated for stable output on cloudy days, early mornings and late afternoons. It lists 7.98 lb folding to 23.39 by 23.23 by 1.77 inches, a 5-in-1 cable (DC8020, XT60, Anderson, DC7909, DC5521) plus 10-in-1 DC connectors, two kickstands from 35 to 60 degrees, and a smart IC chip with overcharge, overheat and short-circuit protection. It states IP67 with ETFE lamination, a 12-month warranty, 30-day money-back and 7x24 support.

Who it's for: hikers and RVers who want the lightest panel with the richest cable kit. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 200W or more.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power100W, 25% N-Type
Weight7.98 lb
Cable5-in-1 + 10-in-1 DC
RatingIP67

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating and ETFE lamination stated, plus overcharge, overheat and short-circuit protection, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HQST 200W Portable

HQST 200W Portable

HQST9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 200W portable panel with 25% N-Type cells, IP67, kickstands, a 3-in-1 cable and a 12-month warranty.

Pros

  • 200W with 25% N-Type 16BB cells
  • 11.82 lb, 37% lighter than most 200W portables stated
  • 3-in-1 adapter cable included
  • Adjustable kickstands, 40 to 60 degrees

Cons

  • 12-month limited warranty
  • No ETFE stated
  • 11.82 lb for one-hand carry is optimistic
  • Folds to 1.97 in thick
Detailed Review

The listing states a 200W portable panel with N-Type 16BB cells at up to 25% efficiency, stated to capture more energy on cloudy days, at 11.82 lb and folding to 1.97 in thick. It lists a 4.9 ft 3-in-1 adapter cable (XT60, DC7909, DC5521) for Jackery, EcoFlow, BLUETTI, Goal Zero, Anker and FlashFish, two kickstands from 40 to 60 degrees, and series or parallel connection for advanced users. It states an IP67 rating with fully laminated construction and PVDF coating, a 12-month limited warranty and lifetime technical support.

Who it's for: campers and RVers who want 200W in a folding package. Who should skip it: anyone who needs ETFE or a longer warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power200W, 25% N-Type
Weight11.82 lb
Cable3-in-1 adapter
RatingIP67

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12-month limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Tactacam Reveal 7.2W

Tactacam Reveal 7.2W

TACTACAM9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7.2W folding panel with a built-in 4900mAh battery and 12V/2A output for Tactacam trail cameras.

Pros

  • Built-in 4900mAh battery for night and cloudy stretches
  • 2.9 lb, folds flat for transport
  • 12V/2A output for REVEAL and DEFEND cameras
  • 1-year warranty with in-house support

Cons

  • 7.2W cannot run a power station
  • No IP rating is stated
  • Trail cameras only
  • USB connector type in the spec table
Detailed Review

The listing states a 7.2W folding solar panel with a built-in 4900mAh lithium battery, capturing energy all day and storing it for night and cloudy-day use. It lists 12V/2A output for Tactacam REVEAL and DEFEND cameras, a folding design for transport between stands and trucks, and a DC power cable plus USB-C charging cable. The spec table gives 7.9 by 6.1 by 1.6 inches, 2.9 lb, and a 1-year warranty with in-house support; no IP rating is stated.

Who it's for: hunters running Tactacam cell cameras who want set-and-forget power. Who should skip it: anyone charging a power station or other devices.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power7.2W
Battery4900mAh built-in
Output12V/2A
Weight2.9 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, TÜV or IEC listing and no weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Panel Solar Score Wattage Efficiency Low-light claim Weather rating Warranty Amazon
ZOUPW 350W Portable 9.7/10 350W 25% N-Type Low-light/cloudy stated IP68 3 years View on Amazon
Renogy ShadowFlux 120W 9.7/10 120W 25% N-Type Anti-shading tech IP67 or higher 5 years + 25-yr output View on Amazon
ZOUPW 100W Portable 9.7/10 100W 25% N-Type Cloudy-day stable stated IP67 12 months View on Amazon
HQST 200W Portable 9.7/10 200W 25% N-Type Cloudy-day capture stated IP67 12 months View on Amazon
Tactacam Reveal 7.2W 9.4/10 7.2W Not stated Cloudy-day storage stated Not stated 1 year View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For panels, safety means the protection features the listing actually states: an IP68 or IP67 rating, ETFE lamination and short-circuit and anti-shading protection score here, while a panel that states no rating scores lower. All five listings state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
ZOUPW 350W Portable 9.7 33 21 20 8 3
Renogy ShadowFlux 120W 9.7 33 21 19 7 3
ZOUPW 100W Portable 9.7 30 21 21 7 2
HQST 200W Portable 9.7 32 21 20 7 2
Tactacam Reveal 7.2W 9.4 26 20 19 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar panel for cloudy days

What helps on cloudy days

Four of the five use N-Type cells at 25% efficiency, stated to capture more energy in low light than standard cells. The Renogy adds ShadowFlux anti-shading technology for partial shade from trees, roofs and buildings. The HQST and both ZOUPWs state stable output on cloudy days, and the Tactacam stores energy in a built-in battery for overnight and cloudy stretches.

Wattage and weight

Wattage runs 7.2W to 350W. The ZOUPW 350W gives the most harvest at 22.2 lb, the HQST 200W at 11.82 lb, the Renogy 120W rigid at 15.9 lb, the ZOUPW 100W at 7.98 lb, and the Tactacam 7.2W at 2.9 lb for trail cameras only.

Panel Wattage Efficiency Weather rating Warranty
ZOUPW 350W Portable 350W 25% N-Type IP68 3 years
Renogy ShadowFlux 120W 120W 25% N-Type IP67 or higher 5 years + 25-yr output
ZOUPW 100W Portable 100W 25% N-Type IP67 12 months
HQST 200W Portable 200W 25% N-Type IP67 12 months
Tactacam Reveal 7.2W 7.2W Not stated Not stated 1 year

Cables and compatibility

The ZOUPW 350W includes a 4-in-1 cable and a 13.12 ft 14AWG extension, the HQST a 3-in-1 cable for Jackery, EcoFlow, BLUETTI, Goal Zero and Anker, and the ZOUPW 100W a 5-in-1 cable plus 10-in-1 DC connectors. The Renogy uses standard solar connectors, and the Tactacam a DC cable for REVEAL and DEFEND cameras. For camera-specific picks, see our best solar panel for outdoor camera and best solar panel for game cameras.

Sizing Notes

  • Match wattage to the load: 350W for power stations, 100 to 200W for portable kits, 7.2W for trail cameras only.
  • Check the low-light claim: ShadowFlux anti-shading (Renogy), N-Type 25% cells (the other three big panels), battery storage (Tactacam).
  • Note the weight: 22.2 lb (350W), 11.82 lb (200W), 15.9 lb (120W rigid), 7.98 lb (100W).
  • Confirm the rating: IP68 (ZOUPW 350W), IP67 or higher (Renogy), IP67 (HQST, ZOUPW 100W).
  • Check the warranty: 3 years (ZOUPW 350W), 5 years plus 25-year output (Renogy), 12 months (HQST, ZOUPW 100W), 1 year (Tactacam).

Frequently Asked Questions

Which panel is best for heavy cloud cover?

The ZOUPW 350W states low-light and cloudy-condition capture at 350W with 25% N-Type cells. The Renogy ShadowFlux adds anti-shading technology for partial shade.

Which is the lightest?

The Tactacam at 2.9 lb, but it is a 7.2W camera panel. Among the big panels, the ZOUPW 100W at 7.98 lb is the lightest.

Which state the longest warranty?

Renogy states 5 years on materials and craftsmanship plus 25-year output at 80%. The ZOUPW 350W states 3 years.

Which work with my power station?

The HQST 3-in-1 cable lists Jackery, EcoFlow, BLUETTI, Goal Zero and Anker. The ZOUPW 100W 5-in-1 cable states fit for 99% of power stations.

Which have the highest weather rating?

The ZOUPW 350W states IP68 with a junction box at IP67. The Renogy states IP67 or higher, and the HQST and ZOUPW 100W state IP67.

Can the Tactacam run a power station?

No. It is a 7.2W panel with a built-in battery made for Tactacam REVEAL and DEFEND cell cameras.

ZOUPW 350W Portable
Still deciding? Our top pickZOUPW 350W Portable
Check price on Amazon

See every Rigid and Flexible Panels guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides. Also see our best solar panel for all weather. Also see our best solar panel for backpacking.

More picks: solar panel for outdoor camera, solar panel for game cameras, solar panel for campervan, solar panel for caravan.