On this page
The best solar panel for backpacking disappears into a pack until the phone hits 10 percent at mile nine, then unfolds on a rock and starts feeding it amps. Trail chargers live or die on three things: weight you barely notice, a weather rating you can trust, and ports that match the devices you carry. We compared five ultralight USB solar chargers from 15W to 28W, all built to hang from a pack or lie flat at a rest stop, ranked by our Solar Score. Two more options wait in the More picks section below.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall BigBlue 25W Solar Charger: 25W at 0.84 pounds with IP68 and 25.4% efficiency Check price on Amazon
Best 25W Runner-Up ELECAENTA 25W HPBC: 25.4% HPBC cells and IP68 at 0.9 pounds Check price on Amazon
Best 28W Pick ELECOM NESTOUT 28W: 28W SunPower Maxeon with adjustable stands Check price on Amazon
Best 15W Value FlexSolar 15W Foldable: 2-year warranty and IP67 at 0.99 pounds Check price on Amazon
Lightest Foldable FlexSolar 20W Foldable: 20W at 14 ounces with dual USB ports Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BigBlue 25W Solar Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | ELECAENTA 25W HPBC | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | ELECOM NESTOUT 28W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | FlexSolar 15W Foldable | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | FlexSolar 20W Foldable | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

BigBlue 25W Solar Charger
A 25W folding solar charger with USB-A and USB-C ports, an IP68 rating and 25.4% stated efficiency at 0.84 pounds.
Pros
- 25W output with 25.4% conversion efficiency stated
- 0.84 pounds, the lightest panel in this comparison
- IP68 water and dust resistance rating stated
- 2 Year Warranty stated, the longest term here
Cons
- USB-C port capped at 5V/3A with no PD fast charging stated
- Folds to 4.65 x 6.42 x 1.38 inches, the thickest fold here
- No hanging holes, only carabiners and an elastic strap
- 100% safe charging is a maker claim, not a certification
Detailed Review
The listing states a 25W foldable charger with USB-A (5V/2.4A) and USB-C (5V/3A) ports for two devices at once, N-type cells without front metal lines, up to 25.4% power conversion efficiency, and an IP68 rating for splashes, spills and light rain. It folds to 4.65 x 6.42 x 1.38 inches, weighs 0.84 pounds and ships with a USB-C to USB-C cable, 2 carabiners and an elastic strap. The ETFE coating, UV-resistant EVA and solid baseplate are stated to resist hidden cracks.
Who it's for: backpackers who want the most watts per ounce with a real IP68 rating. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB-C PD fast charging or a slimmer folded pack.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 25W, USB-A 5V/2.4A and USB-C 5V/3A |
|---|---|
| Weight | 0.84 lbs |
| Folded size | 4.65 x 6.42 x 1.38 inches |
| Efficiency | Up to 25.4% |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 rating and smart charging technology stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ELECAENTA 25W HPBC
A 25W pocket-size solar panel with 25.4% HPBC conversion, USB-C and USB-A ports and an IP68 rating.
Pros
- 25W with 25.4% conversion from HPBC cells stated
- 0.9 pounds in a pocket-size fold
- IP68 rating stated with ETFE lamination
- USB-C and USB-A ports charge two devices at once
Cons
- 12-month warranty is shorter than the BigBlue 2-year term
- 50% lighter claim has no stated baseline
- No folded dimensions are stated
- Flame retardant claim carries no fire certification
Detailed Review
The listing states a 25W HPBC panel with 25.4% conversion, dual USB-C and USB-A output ports for simultaneous charging, a weight of only 0.9 pounds, an IP68 rating with ETFE lamination, and a box containing the panel, 2 climbing carabiners, a USB-C to USB-C cable and a user manual. The 50% lighter and smaller claim names no baseline panel, and absolute durability claims are marketing, not specification. The maker backs it with a 12-month warranty and 24/7 customer support.
Who it's for: hikers who want 25W and IP68 in the lightest pocket-size form. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a longer warranty or stated folded dimensions.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 25W, USB-C and USB-A dual ports |
|---|---|
| Weight | 0.9 lbs |
| Efficiency | 25.4% conversion stated |
| In the box | Panel, 2 carabiners, USB-C cable, manual |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 rating stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ELECOM NESTOUT 28W
A 28W folding panel with SunPower Maxeon cells, dual USB-A ports and built-in adjustable stands.
Pros
- 28W, the highest output among the main picks
- SunPower Maxeon cells stated
- Two built-in adjustable stands for aiming at the sun
- Current checker LED display for the USB output
Cons
- Dual USB-A ports only, no USB-C
- No weight is stated in the listing
- No IP rating stated, only water-resistant ripstop nylon
- 1-year warranty is the shortest stated term among the panels
Detailed Review
The listing states a 28W two-panel folder with SunPower Maxeon cells, dual USB-A ports, a current checker LED display, two built-in adjustable stands, a water-resistant ripstop nylon bag with mesh pouches and exterior loops, and a USB-A to USB-C cable in the box. The 24% figure is described as an increase over traditional cells, which is a relative claim, not an absolute efficiency. The NESTOUT series won an IF Design Gold Award, and the product carries a 1-year warranty.
Who it's for: campers who want the most watts and a stand for table-top aiming. Who should skip it: ultralight hikers who need a stated weight or USB-C.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 28W, dual USB-A ports |
|---|---|
| Cells | SunPower Maxeon stated |
| Aiming | 2 built-in adjustable stands |
| Extras | Current checker LED, storage bag with pouches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water-resistant ripstop nylon stated; no IP rating stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 15W Foldable
A 15W three-fold solar charger with USB-A output, smart IC chip and IP67 rating at 0.99 pounds.
Pros
- 2 year manufacturer warranty stated
- 0.99 pounds (450g) with a 3-fold iPad-size pack
- IP67 protection class stated with ETFE lamination
- Smart IC chip with LED charging indicator
Cons
- 15W, the lowest output in this comparison
- USB-A port only, no USB-C
- Cannot store power; charges only in direct sunlight
- Junction box is not rated for water exposure
Detailed Review
The listing states a 15W foldable charger with a built-in USB-A (5V/3A max) port, up to 24% conversion from monocrystalline A+ cells with ETFE lamination, an IP67 protection class, a smart IC chip with an LED status light, and overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection. It unfolds to 23.5 x 8.8 x 0.1 inches, folds to 7.8 x 8.8 x 0.7 inches and weighs 0.99 pounds (450g) with 2 carabiners. The listing cautions not to charge through glass and notes the junction box is not rated for water exposure.
Who it's for: minimalists who want the lowest-output entry with a real 2-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone charging USB-C devices or two gadgets at once.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 15W, USB-A 5V/3A max |
|---|---|
| Weight | 0.99 lbs (450g) |
| Folded size | 7.8 x 8.8 x 0.7 inches |
| Efficiency | Up to 24% |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 rating with overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection; junction box not rated for water exposure, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 20W Foldable
A 20W three-fold solar charger with USB-A and USB-C ports, smart charging chip and IP67 rating.
Pros
- 20W with up to 24% conversion stated
- 14.0 ounces (396g), light for a 20W folder
- Dual 5V USB-A and USB-C ports with intelligent chip
- IP67 dust and water resistance stated with ETFE film
Cons
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- Overheat protection can stop charging in strong sun
- Unfolds to 26.3 x 8.5 inches, the longest open size here
- One bullet mentions a 30W charger while the title states 20W
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20W foldable charger with dual 5V USB-A and USB-C ports, up to 24% conversion from monocrystalline cells with ETFE film at up to 90% light transmission, an intelligent chip with an LED indicator, and overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection. It weighs 14.0 ounces (396g), unfolds to 26.3 x 8.5 x 0.1 inches and folds to 8.7 x 8.5 x 1.2 inches with 4 hanging holes and 2 carabiners. One bullet mentions a 30W panel charger while the title and the rest of the listing state 20W; trust the title.
Who it's for: hikers who want dual USB ports and the lightest 20W fold. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or charges mostly in extreme heat.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 20W, dual 5V USB-A and USB-C |
|---|---|
| Weight | 14.0 ounces (396g) |
| Folded size | 8.7 x 8.5 x 1.2 inches |
| Efficiency | Up to 24% |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 rating with overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
FlexSolar 25W Portable Solar PanelCheck on Amazon
GEYOTO 45W Solar Panel Charger Fast ChargingCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Panel | Solar Score | Watts | Weight | Weather rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BigBlue 25W Solar Charger | 9.7/10 | 25W | 0.84 lbs | IP68 | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| ELECAENTA 25W HPBC | 9.7/10 | 25W | 0.9 lbs | IP68 | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| ELECOM NESTOUT 28W | 9.6/10 | 28W | Not stated | Water-resistant | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| FlexSolar 15W Foldable | 9.5/10 | 15W | 0.99 lbs | IP67 | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| FlexSolar 20W Foldable | 9.5/10 | 20W | 14.0 oz | IP67 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For trail panels, safety means the stated weather rating, the encapsulation materials, and the charging protections: overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection plus smart charging chips. Four of the five listings state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BigBlue 25W Solar Charger | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 4 |
| ELECAENTA 25W HPBC | 9.7 | 32 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| ELECOM NESTOUT 28W | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 19 | 6 | 3 |
| FlexSolar 15W Foldable | 9.5 | 24 | 19 | 19 | 7 | 3 |
| FlexSolar 20W Foldable | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar panel for backpacking
Chase watts per ounce, not watts alone
On the trail every ounce is carried uphill, so divide the watts by the weight. The BigBlue 25W weighs 0.84 pounds, the ELECAENTA 25W weighs 0.9 pounds, the FlexSolar 15W weighs 0.99 pounds (450g) and the FlexSolar 20W weighs 14.0 ounces (396g). That puts the 25W class ahead on paper: more watts for less weight than the 15W option. The ELECOM NESTOUT states 28W, the highest output here, but lists no weight at all, so you cannot do that math before buying, which is a real gap for a panel marketed to backpackers. Folded size matters too: the BigBlue folds to 4.65 x 6.42 x 1.38 inches, the FlexSolar 15W to 7.8 x 8.8 x 0.7 inches and the FlexSolar 20W to 8.7 x 8.5 x 1.2 inches, all in the rough footprint of a tablet. See our best solar charger for backcountry roundup for more off-grid charging options.
Demand a weather rating you can read
IP ratings beat adjectives. The BigBlue 25W and the ELECAENTA 25W both state an IP68 rating, while the FlexSolar 15W and 20W state IP67. Read the fine print anyway: the FlexSolar 15W listing cautions that its junction box is not rated for water exposure, so the panel can take rain that the wiring box cannot, and the ELECOM NESTOUT claims only water-resistant ripstop nylon with no IP rating stated. ETFE lamination shows up across the rated panels here, which the listings credit for light transmission and abrasion resistance. The FlexSolar 20W adds its own caution: in strong heat the overheat protection can stop charging, so shade the connected device and keep air moving. See our best solar panel for all weather roundup for panels rated for harsher exposure.
Count the ports and mind the limits
Two ports beat one when a phone and a power bank both need sun. The BigBlue, ELECAENTA and FlexSolar 20W each pair a USB-A with a USB-C port, while the ELECOM NESTOUT and the FlexSolar 15W offer USB-A only. Check the amperage too: the BigBlue lists USB-A at 5V/2.4A and USB-C at 5V/3A, and the FlexSolar 15W lists its single USB-A at 5V/3A max. None of these panels store power: the FlexSolar 15W listing notes the charger cannot store energy and charges only in direct sunlight, so a power bank in the chain is still the way to bank watts for the night. The NESTOUT helps here with a current checker LED that shows what the USB ports are actually receiving, which takes the guesswork out of cloudy stretches.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which panel here is the lightest?
The BigBlue 25W at 0.84 pounds. The FlexSolar 20W lists 14.0 ounces (396g), the ELECAENTA 25W lists 0.9 pounds and the FlexSolar 15W lists 0.99 pounds (450g); the ELECOM NESTOUT states no weight.
Do any of these panels store power?
No. The FlexSolar 15W listing states the charger cannot store power and charges devices only in sunlight. Pair any of these panels with a power bank to save energy for the night.
Which panels state an IP68 rating?
The BigBlue 25W and the ELECAENTA 25W. The FlexSolar 15W and 20W state IP67, and the ELECOM NESTOUT states water-resistant ripstop nylon with no IP rating.
Which panel states the highest efficiency?
The BigBlue 25W and the ELECAENTA 25W both state 25.4% conversion efficiency. The FlexSolar 15W and 20W state up to 24%, and the NESTOUT cites SunPower Maxeon cells with up to a 24% increase over traditional cells, which is a relative claim.
Which listings state a warranty?
The BigBlue states a 2 Year Warranty, the ELECAENTA states a 12-month warranty, the FlexSolar 15W states a 2 year manufacturer warranty and the ELECOM NESTOUT states a 1-year warranty. The FlexSolar 20W listing states no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Rigid and Flexible Panels guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides.
More picks: FlexSolar 25W with MPPT and IP67, GEYOTO 45W with 25W PD USB-C, portable solar panel with charge controller.




