On this page
The phone died on day three of a five-day loop, twenty miles from the trailhead, with the map on it. That is the moment the best solar charger for backcountry earns its place in the pack. We compared five solar chargers on stated watts, battery capacity, USB ports, weather ratings and warranty terms, from a 35W folding panel to a 48000mAh power bank.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall BigBlue 35W Charger: 35W with PD 25W USB-C and an IP68 rating Check price on Amazon
Best Panel Pick BigBlue 28W Charger: 28W foldable with a digital ammeter, 18-month warranty Check price on Amazon
Biggest Battery SOARAISE 48000mAh Bank: 48000mAh bank with 4 panels and 4 built-in cables Check price on Amazon
Slim Power Bank A ADDTOP 20000mAh Bank: 20000mAh with 4 cables and wireless charging Check price on Amazon
Lightest Panel BLAVOR 10W Charger: 10W at 0.81 lb with carabiners for a pack Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BigBlue 35W Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | BigBlue 28W Charger | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | A ADDTOP 20000mAh Bank | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | SOARAISE 48000mAh Bank | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | BLAVOR 10W Charger | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

BigBlue 35W Charger
A 35W foldable panel with PD 25W USB-C, dual parallel shade-tolerant wiring and an IP68 rating.
Pros
- PD 25W USB-C with PPS plus QC 18W USB-A
- Dual parallel circuit keeps one section charging if the other is shaded
- IP68 rating stated, the highest here
- Folds to 8.29 by 4.84 by 1.89 inches at 1.54 pounds
Cons
- Type-C1 port is not compatible with Apple devices
- USB junction box is not water-resistant, per the listing
- No battery; charges devices in direct sun only
- Listing advises keeping devices in the shade while charging to avoid thermal slowdowns
Detailed Review
The listing states a 35W foldable panel with monocrystalline cells and a claimed 25.4% conversion efficiency, two Type-C ports and one USB-A port, with USB-A QC at 18W and Type-C1 PD at 25W with PPS. It lists a dual parallel circuit so one section keeps charging if the other is shaded, an IP68 rating, a folded size of 8.29 by 4.84 by 1.89 inches, a 1.54-pound weight and a 2-year warranty. The USB junction box is not water-resistant; Type-C1 does not support Apple devices, and the panel stores no electricity.
Who it's for: backpackers who want the fastest USB charging here with shade tolerance. Who should skip it: iPhone owners who need every port to work with Apple devices, since Type-C1 is excluded.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel | 35W, 25.4% claimed |
|---|---|
| Ports | 2 x USB-C, USB-A |
| Fast charge | PD 25W, QC 18W |
| Folded size | 8.29 x 4.84 x 1.89 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BigBlue 28W Charger
A 28W foldable panel with a digital ammeter, USB-A and USB-C outputs and an 18-month warranty.
Pros
- Digital ammeter shows real-time current output
- USB-A at 5V/2.4A and USB-C at 3A, up to 5V/4A combined
- 1.47 pounds with carabiners and a zippered device compartment
- 18-month warranty stated
Cons
- IP44 rating, lower than the IP67 and IP68 picks here
- Maker says to keep the USB ports and ammeter dry
- No battery; charges in direct sun only, and output is not enough for laptops or large power stations
- Spec table's 40.6 x 11 inch folded size reads like the unfolded size
Detailed Review
The listing states a 28W foldable monocrystalline panel with a claimed 25.4% conversion efficiency, USB-A at 5V/2.4A and USB-C at 3A for up to 5V/4A combined, and a digital ammeter showing real-time current. It lists a 1.47-pound weight, carabiners, a USB-C to USB-C cable, a zippered device compartment, PET polymer fabric, an IP44 rating and an 18-month warranty. The spec table's 40.6 by 11 inch folded size reads like the unfolded size, and the maker says the panel stores no energy and is not enough for laptops or large power stations.
Who it's for: hikers who want to watch their charge rate and top up phones, tablets and power banks. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stored power or laptop charging.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel | 28W, 25.4% claimed |
|---|---|
| Ports | USB-A 2.4A, USB-C 3A |
| Weather rating | IP44 |
| Weight | 1.47 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP44 water resistance and short circuit protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 18-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

A ADDTOP 20000mAh Bank
A 20000mAh solar power bank with 4 built-in cables, wireless charging and a 2-year replacement promise.
Pros
- 4 built-in cables plus 2 USB-A ports, a USB-C port and a wireless pad for up to 7 devices
- 4 solar panels; maker claims 6 times faster solar recharging than single-panel chargers
- Over-temperature, overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuit protection stated
- LED flashlight with steady, SOS and strobe modes
Cons
- Bullets promise 2-year replacement while the spec table says 1 year; trust the bullets
- No IP rating is stated
- 6.54 by 3.54 by 1.57 inches, the bulkiest bank here
- Maker's 6-times-faster and 7-device claims are not backed by stated figures
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20000mAh lithium-polymer solar power bank with 4 solar panels, 4 built-in cables, 3 USB ports, a wireless charging pad and PD QC 3.0 fast charging, plus an LED flashlight with steady, SOS and strobe modes and an ABS and PC shell. It lists protection against over-temperature, overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuits. The bullets promise 2-year replacement with 24/7 support while the spec table says 1 year; trust the bullets. No IP rating is stated.
Who it's for: campers who want cables, wireless charging and a light in one pocketable bank. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated weather rating.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 20000mAh |
|---|---|
| Cables | 4 built-in, wireless pad |
| Ports | 2 x USB-A, USB-C |
| Size | 6.54 x 3.54 x 1.57 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Over-temperature, overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuit protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2-year replacement promise and 24/7 customer support stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SOARAISE 48000mAh Bank
A 48000mAh solar power bank with 4 panels, 4 built-in cables, wireless charging and flashlights.
Pros
- 48000mAh, the largest battery among the main picks
- 4 solar panels with PD QC 3.0 fast charging and a 5V/3A USB-C port
- 4 built-in cables and a wireless pad for up to 7 devices
- Flashlights for camp use
Cons
- No IP rating is stated
- 12-month warranty, shorter than the 2-year terms of other picks
- Maker's 5-times-faster and 80% more charging cycles claims are not backed by stated figures
- Wireless pad adds bulk for owners who only use cables
Detailed Review
The listing states a 48000mAh lithium-polymer solar power bank with 4 solar panels, 4 built-in cables, 3 ports, a wireless charging pad, PD QC 3.0 fast charging with a 5V/3A USB-C port and flashlights. It lists auto shut-off and a 12-month warranty. The maker claims 5-times-faster solar charging and 80% more charging cycles without supporting detail, and no IP rating is stated.
Who it's for: long trips where the biggest built-in battery matters most. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated weather rating or a longer warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 48000mAh |
|---|---|
| Panels | 4 built-in |
| Ports | 2 x USB-A, USB-C |
| Fast charge | PD QC 3.0, 5V/3A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Auto shut-off stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 0.81 pounds, the lightest panel here, with carabiners for a pack
- USB-C and USB-A outputs at 5V/2A max
- ETFE film with a claimed 24% conversion rate
- Folds to 7.4 by 7.5 by 1 inches
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- IPX4 rating, the lowest stated here
- 10W is the smallest panel output in the group
- No battery; charges in direct sun only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10W foldable monocrystalline panel with ETFE film and a claimed 24% conversion rate, USB-C and USB-A outputs at 5V and 2A max, and an IPX4 rating. It lists a 0.81-pound weight, a folded size of 7.4 by 7.5 by 1 inches, two carabiners and a USB-A to USB-C cable. No warranty term is stated, and the panel stores no electricity.
Who it's for: ultralight hikers who want the smallest panel that still charges a phone. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a battery bank, a warranty term or faster USB-C PD charging.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel | 10W, 24% claimed |
|---|---|
| Ports | USB-C, USB-A, 5V/2A |
| Weather rating | IPX4 |
| Weight | 0.81 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX4 rating stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Uukto Solar Charger Power Bank 20000mAh FastCheck on Amazon
FlexSolar 25W Portable Solar PanelCheck on Amazon
FlexSolar 36W Ultra-PortableCheck on Amazon
GEYOTO 45W Solar Panel Charger Fast ChargingCheck on Amazon
XACZKOM Solar Power Bank 49800mAhCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Charger | Solar Score | Type | Output | Weather rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BigBlue 35W Charger | 9.7/10 | 35W panel | USB-C PD 25W, USB-A | IP68 | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| BigBlue 28W Charger | 9.6/10 | 28W panel | USB-A 2.4A, USB-C 3A | IP44 | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| A ADDTOP 20000mAh Bank | 9.6/10 | 20000mAh bank | 4 cables, wireless | Not stated | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| SOARAISE 48000mAh Bank | 9.6/10 | 48000mAh bank | 4 cables, wireless | Not stated | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| BLAVOR 10W Charger | 9.5/10 | 10W panel | USB-C, USB-A | IPX4 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For solar chargers, safety means stated weather ratings and listed protections such as short circuit protection or auto shut-off; a charger that states neither scores low on that line. Four of the five state a warranty term, from 12 months to 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BigBlue 35W Charger | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| BigBlue 28W Charger | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| A ADDTOP 20000mAh Bank | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| SOARAISE 48000mAh Bank | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 4 | 2 |
| BLAVOR 10W Charger | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 4 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar charger for backcountry
Panel, power bank, or both
The group splits two ways: pure panels that charge in direct sun only, and banks that store power. The BigBlue 28W and 35W and the BLAVOR 10W state plainly that they store no electricity, while the SOARAISE and A ADDTOP banks carry 48000mAh and 20000mAh. If your days are sunny and your nights are short, a panel plus the phone’s own battery can be enough; for cloudy stretches, the bank is the safer pick. Our best portable power station for camping roundup covers the bigger end of stored power.
Weigh it before you pack it
Backcountry means carrying it. The BLAVOR 10W is 0.81 pounds, the BigBlue 28W is 1.47 pounds and the BigBlue 35W is 1.54 pounds, while the banks state no usable pack weight. Folded sizes run from 7.4 by 7.5 inches on the BLAVOR to 8.29 by 4.84 inches on the BigBlue 35W, and every panel here includes carabiners or straps for pack attachment.
| Charger | Weight | Folded size |
|---|---|---|
| BLAVOR 10W Charger | 0.81 lb | 7.4 x 7.5 x 1 in |
| BigBlue 28W Charger | 1.47 lb | Not stated |
| BigBlue 35W Charger | 1.54 lb | 8.29 x 4.84 x 1.89 in |
| SOARAISE 48000mAh Bank | Not stated | 6.38 x 3.43 x 1.57 in |
| A ADDTOP 20000mAh Bank | Not stated | 6.54 x 3.54 x 1.57 in |
Read the ports and the fine print
USB-C PD is the fastest phone charging here: the BigBlue 35W lists PD 25W with PPS on Type-C1, though that port does not support Apple devices, while the BigBlue 28W lists USB-A at 5V/2.4A and USB-C at 3A. The banks add wireless pads and built-in cables, which is convenient until a cable frays. Also note the BigBlue 35W’s USB junction box is not water-resistant even though the panel is IP68, and the BigBlue 28W’s ports and ammeter must stay dry. See our best solar panel for anker c2000 guide for panels that feed power stations.
Check the weather and warranty lines
Ratings run from IPX4 on the BLAVOR to IP44 on the BigBlue 28W and IP68 on the BigBlue 35W and the GEYOTO 45W in our more picks, while the two banks state no IP rating. Warranties run from 12 months on the SOARAISE to 18 months on the BigBlue 28W and 2 years on the BigBlue 35W, the A ADDTOP and the GEYOTO and XACZKOM more picks.
Sizing Notes
- Panels here charge in direct sun only; only the banks store power: 48000mAh on the SOARAISE and 20000mAh on the A ADDTOP.
- Match the port to the device: the BigBlue 35W’s Type-C1 port does not support Apple devices.
- The BigBlue 35W’s USB junction box is not water-resistant; keep it and the 28W’s ports and ammeter dry.
- For multi-day cloud, size the bank, not the panel: the banks list 20000mAh and 48000mAh.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I bring a panel or a power bank?
Panels here charge only in direct sun; the BigBlue 28W, 35W and BLAVOR 10W state they store no electricity. The SOARAISE and A ADDTOP banks store 48000mAh and 20000mAh for use after dark.
Which charger is the lightest?
The BLAVOR 10W at 0.81 pounds. The BigBlue 28W is 1.47 pounds and the BigBlue 35W is 1.54 pounds; the banks state no usable pack weight.
Can these charge an iPhone?
Yes, with a caveat: the BigBlue 35W’s Type-C1 PD port does not support Apple devices, so use its USB-A port or second Type-C port for an iPhone. The banks list wireless charging pads that work with wireless-capable phones.
Which weather ratings are stated?
IP68 on the BigBlue 35W, IP44 on the BigBlue 28W and IPX4 on the BLAVOR 10W. The two power banks state no IP rating.
Which warranties are stated?
2 years on the BigBlue 35W and the A ADDTOP bank, 18 months on the BigBlue 28W and 12 months on the SOARAISE bank. The BLAVOR 10W states no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Solar Chargers and Power Banks guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best portable power station for camping. Also see our best solar panel for anker c2000. Also see our best portable solar panel with charge controller. Also see our best solar charger for backpacking. Also see our best solar panel for campervan. Also see our best solar charger for electric fence. Also see our best solar charger for goats. Also see our best solar charger for ultralight backpacking. Also see our best solar power bank for backpacking. Also see our best solar power bank for multiple devices. Also see our best solar power bank for travel. Also see our best solar power bank for trekking. Also see our best solar power bank with crank. Also see our best solar power bank for camping. Also see our best solar garden lights for winter. Also see our best solar lantern for backpacking. Also see our best solar lantern for hurricane season. Also see our best 12v refrigerator for road trip. Also see our best 20 amp lithium battery charger. Also see our best solar power bank for laptop. Also see our best solar power bank for road trip. Also see our best solar charger for hikers. Also see our best solar power bank under 50. Also see our best solar charger for dump trailer under 70. Also see our best rv power converter charger under 150. Also see our solar charger vs wall charger. Also see our 20000mah vs 24000mah solar power bank. Also see our best solar power bank for earthquake kit. Also see our solar flood lights vs spotlights. Also see our best portable power charger under 50. Also see our smallest solar panel with highest wattage. Also see our solar charger adapters.
More picks: GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger (IP68, 2-year warranty stated), XACZKOM 49800mAh Solar Power Bank (IP65, 2-year warranty stated), Uukto 20000mAh Solar Power Bank (2-year warranty stated), FlexSolar 36W Solar Charger (IP67) and FlexSolar 25W Solar Charger (IP67).





