On this page
A dead camera at a dark campsite and a power station that cannot take the panel cable you own are the moments when the best solar charger adapters earn their place. This roundup compares adapter cables and converter sets on connector type, gauge, length and stated safety features, so the cable you buy fits the port you own. Some listings give full spec tables, and a Ring listing gives a title and bullets only, so the comparison says plainly where each figure comes from.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall COMeap Solar Panel Adapter: 12 Months Warranty, 16AWG cable, DC converter set included Check price on Amazon
Thickest Cable Goupchn Solar to SAE Adapter: 10AWG tinned copper, 50A and 600V stated, dust cap included Check price on Amazon
Best Converter Set COMeap SAE to DC8mm Adapter: 14AWG cable, polarity reverse adapter, DC converters included Check price on Amazon
Ring-Only Pick Ring Barrel Plug Adapter: Barrel-plug panels to USB-C cameras, per the listing Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | COMeap Solar Panel Adapter | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Goupchn Solar to SAE Adapter | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | COMeap SAE to DC8mm Adapter | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Ring Barrel Plug Adapter | 9.2/10 | Buy on Amazon |

COMeap Solar Panel Adapter
An MC4 to DC adapter cable with a converter set for Jackery and Goal Zero power stations, with 12 Months Warranty stated.
Pros
- MC4 to DC 5.5x2.1mm with converters for 3.5x1.35, 5.5x2.5 and 8mm ports
- 16AWG heavy-duty copper wire stated
- 12 Months Warranty stated
- Plug and play, no installation stated
Cons
- No maximum voltage or current figure stated in the spec table
- 5ft cable, shorter than the 6ft SAE adapter here
- No BLUETTI models named in the compatible list
- Converter size must match the device port, and the listing says to confirm port size before buying
Detailed Review
The listing states a 5ft (1.5m) solar panel adapter cable from MC4 connectors to DC 5.5x2.1mm, with a converter for DC 3.5x1.35mm, DC 5.5mmx2.5mm and DC 8mm (DC 7.9x0.9mm) ports. It lists compatibility with Goal Zero Yeti and Jackery solar generators, Suaoki, Renogy and EnerPlex solar power stations, solar battery packs, electric vehicles, UPS batteries, storage batteries, golf carts and forklifts. The spec table gives 16AWG heavy-duty copper wire, 60 inches item length, 4 pins, male-to-female gender, black color, round shape, 0.12 kg item weight and 12 Months Warranty. Polarity guidance states the female plug of the solar connector is positive and the male is negative, with the red wire positive and the black wire negative. The 5ft length and the 60 inch spec table length agree, so no contradiction is present.
Who it's for: someone who wants one cable plus converters to cover several DC port sizes on Jackery or Goal Zero stations. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated maximum voltage figure or a longer cable than 5ft.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Gauge | 16AWG |
|---|---|
| Length | 5ft (1.5m) |
| Connectors | MC4 to DC 5.5x2.1mm |
| Warranty | 12 Months Warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Polarity marks on solar connectors; red wire positive, black wire negative, per the listing, so safety scores 4 of 10. 12 Months Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Goupchn Solar to SAE Adapter
A 10AWG solar to SAE extension cable with a dust cap and two polarity reversal adapters for RV and outdoor solar setups.
Pros
- 10AWG tinned copper core stated
- 50A rated current and 600V rated voltage stated
- Dust cap covers the SAE connector when not in use
- Two SAE to SAE polarity reversal adapters included
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 60cm cable, shorter than the 5ft and 6ft cables here
- No DC converter sizes listed for power station ports
- Spec table lists Unit Count 2 against Number of Items 1
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10AWG SAE to solar extension cable with a tinned copper inner core, length 60cm/2ft, rated current 50A and rated voltage 600V, a dust cap on the SAE connector, and two SAE to SAE polarity reversal adapters. It lists use for recharging portable generators with solar panels, connecting to RV solar panels, automotive, motorcycles and outdoor solar installations, with a silicone outer material, male-to-female gender, 2 pins, black color, round shape, 0.12 kg item weight and 60 centimeters item length. The spec table lists Unit Count 2 Count against Number of Items 1; the bullets describe 1 cable plus 2 adapters, so trust the bullets for the package contents.
Who it's for: someone who wants the thickest cable here with stated current and voltage figures for RV solar use. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term or a cable longer than 60cm.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Gauge | 10AWG |
|---|---|
| Length | 60cm (2ft) |
| Rated Current | 50A |
| Rated Voltage | 600V |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Two SAE to SAE polarity reversal adapters and a dust cap on the SAE connector, per the listing, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

COMeap SAE to DC8mm Adapter
A 6ft SAE to DC8mm adapter with two DC converters and a polarity reverse adapter for Jackery and BLUETTI power stations.
Pros
- SAE polarity reverse adapter included for switching polarity
- Two DC converters included: DC7909 to DC8020 and DC7909 to DC5525
- 14AWG heavy-duty wire with 80°C double PVC jacket
- Wide compatibility list including Explorer and BLUETTI stations
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 24 volts maximum, lower than the Goupchn 600V rated voltage
- Outdoor only in the spec table indoor/outdoor field
- Male-to-male gender only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6ft (1.8m) SAE to DC 8mm (DC 7.9x0.9mm) adapter with a polarity reverse adapter, a DC7909 to DC8020 converter for Explorer power stations, and a DC7909 to DC5525 converter for stations with a DC5.5x2.5mm port. It lists compatibility with Goal Zero, Yeti, Bluetti and Jackery solar generators, Explorer power stations, IMTOM Rebel 440, BLUETTI EB3A, EB70 and EB70S, Suaoki and Renogy solar power stations, portable power generators, solar battery packs, electric vehicles, UPS batteries, storage batteries, golf carts and forklifts. The spec table gives 14AWG wire, 80°C heat resistance on the double PVC jacket, 24 volts maximum voltage, 4 pins, male-to-male gender, SAE specification, outdoor use, black color, 0.15 kg item weight and 1.8 meters item length. The 6ft length and the 1.8 meter spec table length agree, so no contradiction is present.
Who it's for: someone who wants SAE to DC conversion with polarity switching for Jackery Explorer and BLUETTI stations. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term or an indoor-rated cable.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Gauge | 14AWG |
|---|---|
| Length | 6ft (1.8m) |
| Max Voltage | 24 volts |
| Connectors | SAE to DC8mm |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. SAE polarity reverse adapter for switching polarity, per the listing, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ring Barrel Plug Adapter
A barrel-plug to USB-C adapter that connects Ring solar panels to Ring USB-C security cameras.
Pros
- Connects barrel-plug Ring solar panels to USB-C Ring cameras
- Names compatible panels: Solar Panel (1st Gen) and Super Solar Panel
- Names compatible cameras: Stick Up Cam Pro, Spotlight Cam Plus, Spotlight Cam Pro
- Direct barrel-plug to USB-C connection for its stated Ring pairings
Cons
- No cable gauge or length figure stated
- Ring-only: not recommended for use with other products, per the listing
- No warranty term is stated
- No polarity or protection features stated
Detailed Review
The listing gives a title and bullets with no spec table. It states an adapter to connect a current Ring barrel-plug solar panel to a new Ring USB-C security camera, compatible with barrel-plug solar panels Solar Panel (1st Gen) and Super Solar Panel, and with USB-C security cameras Stick Up Cam Pro, Spotlight Cam Plus and Spotlight Cam Pro. It states the adapter is for use with compatible Ring solar panels and security cameras only, and is not recommended for use with other products. No gauge, length, weight, voltage or warranty figure is stated, and no contradiction is present in the title and bullets.
Who it's for: someone with a Ring barrel-plug panel and a Ring USB-C camera who needs the two connected. Who should skip it: anyone who needs an adapter for a non-Ring panel or camera, or a stated gauge or warranty figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 15/25, value 15/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 51 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Connectors | Barrel plug to USB-C |
|---|---|
| Compatible Panels | Solar Panel (1st Gen), Super Solar Panel |
| Compatible Cameras | Stick Up Cam Pro, Spotlight Cam Plus, Spotlight Cam Pro |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
ACOPOWER USB Charger AdapterDual USB charger with voltmeter and switch for phones and tabletsCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Adapter | Solar Score | Gauge | Length | Connectors | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COMeap Solar Panel Adapter | 9.5/10 | 16AWG | 5ft (1.5m) | MC4 to DC 5.5×2.1mm | 12 Months Warranty | View on Amazon |
| Goupchn Solar to SAE Adapter | 9.5/10 | 10AWG | 60cm (2ft) | Solar to SAE | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| COMeap SAE to DC8mm Adapter | 9.5/10 | 14AWG | 6ft (1.8m) | SAE to DC8mm | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Ring Barrel Plug Adapter | 9.2/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Barrel plug to USB-C | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an adapter cable, safety means stated polarity features and protections the listing actually states; a cable that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its gauge. 1 of the 4 listings states a warranty term, and the polarity reverse adapters on the SAE and Goupchn picks are the clearest safety features here. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COMeap Solar Panel Adapter | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 4 | 3 |
| Goupchn Solar to SAE Adapter | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| COMeap SAE to DC8mm Adapter | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Ring Barrel Plug Adapter | 9.2 | 21 | 15 | 15 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar charger adapters
Match the connector to the port
Connectors decide fit before anything else. The COMeap 5FT cable runs from MC4 connectors to DC 5.5×2.1mm with converters for DC 3.5×1.35mm, DC 5.5mmx2.5mm and DC 8mm ports. The SAE and Goupchn cables use SAE connectors, and the Ring adapter runs from a barrel plug to USB-C. Both COMeap listings say to confirm the input DC port size or dimension before buying, and that check matters more than any other figure here. For connector background, see the MC4 vs XT60 connectors comparison.
Gauge and length
Gauge and length set what a cable can carry and how far it reaches. The Goupchn cable is 10AWG, the SAE adapter is 14AWG, and the 5FT adapter is 16AWG, with lengths of 60cm, 6ft and 5ft in the same order. The Ring listing states no gauge or length at all, so it cannot be compared on those figures. Lengths in the spec tables read 60 inches for the 5FT cable, 60 centimeters for the Goupchn cable and 1.8 meters for the SAE adapter.
| Adapter | Gauge | Length | Connectors |
|---|---|---|---|
| COMeap Solar Panel Adapter | 16AWG | 5ft (1.5m) | MC4 to DC 5.5×2.1mm |
| Goupchn Solar to SAE Adapter | 10AWG | 60cm (2ft) | Solar to SAE |
| COMeap SAE to DC8mm Adapter | 14AWG | 6ft (1.8m) | SAE to DC8mm |
| Ring Barrel Plug Adapter | Not stated | Not stated | Barrel plug to USB-C |
Figures as stated in each listing. For wire background, see the 10 AWG solar panel wire guides.
Check polarity before connecting
Polarity is the part to check twice, because the listings say different brands of solar panel connectors may have different polarities. The SAE adapter includes a polarity reverse adapter for switching polarity, and the Goupchn cable includes two polarity reversal adapters. The 5FT adapter marks polarity instead: the female plug of the solar connector is positive and the male is negative, with the red wire positive and the black wire negative. Check the port size and the polarity before connecting, as both COMeap listings advise.
Warranty and safety features
Only the COMeap 5FT adapter states a warranty term, 12 Months Warranty, and the other three product listings state none. Safety features here are polarity features, not certifications: the SAE and Goupchn polarity adapters and the 5FT polarity marks. The ACOPOWER more pick below is the listing here with stated certifications, CE and RoHS, plus over-charge protection and a built-in voltmeter, but it is a USB charger adapter rather than a cable, so it sits outside the ranked picks.
Sizing Notes
- Match the connector to the power station input port: MC4, SAE, DC 5.5×2.1mm and DC7909 appear across these picks, and the listings say to confirm the input DC port size before buying.
- Match gauge to the run: 10AWG, 14AWG and 16AWG cables are listed here.
- Check polarity before connecting: brands differ, and the SAE and Goupchn picks include polarity reverse adapters.
- Check voltage limits: the SAE adapter states 24 volts maximum and the Goupchn cable states a 600V rated voltage.
- Check warranty terms: only the COMeap 5FT adapter states a warranty term, 12 Months Warranty.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which adapter fits a Jackery power station?
The COMeap 5FT cable lists Jackery with DC 5.5×2.1mm plus converters, and the SAE adapter lists Jackery with DC7909 converters for Explorer stations.
Why do polarity reverse adapters matter?
Different brands of solar panel connectors may have different polarities, per the listings, and the SAE and Goupchn picks include adapters for switching polarity.
What gauge are these adapter cables?
The Goupchn cable is 10AWG, the SAE adapter is 14AWG, and the 5FT adapter is 16AWG. The Ring adapter states no gauge.
Which adapter is for Ring cameras?
The Ring barrel-plug to USB-C adapter, for Solar Panel (1st Gen) and Super Solar Panel with Stick Up Cam Pro, Spotlight Cam Plus and Spotlight Cam Pro cameras.
Which adapter states a warranty?
Only the COMeap 5FT adapter, with 12 Months Warranty stated. The other three product listings state no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Solar Chargers and Power Banks guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: MC4 vs XT60 connectors, 10 AWG solar panel wire, solar extension cable for van.




