Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Chargers and Power Banks

Best Solar Charger for Backpacking (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four solar chargers for backpacking compared on watts, efficiency, USB ports, weight and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Solar Charger for Backpacking (2026): 4 Picks Compared
On this page

You top out at golden hour with a dead phone and the trailhead map on it. The best solar charger for backpacking is the one that turns the last hour of sun on your pack into enough charge to navigate home. We compared four: three foldable solar panels from GEYOTO and FlexSolar, plus the Uukto solar power bank that stores daytime sun for later. Every figure below comes from the listings, and we ranked the four with the Solar Score on performance, build, value, safety and warranty.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger
    Best Overall GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger: 45W panel, 26% conversion, 25W PD USB-C, IP68 rating stated Check price on Amazon
  • Uukto 20000mAh Solar Bank
    Best Power Bank Uukto 20000mAh Solar Bank: 20000mAh battery, 3 built-in cables, camp light, 2-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • FlexSolar 40W Solar Charger
    Best Triple-Output FlexSolar 40W Solar Charger: QC3.0 USB-A, PD2.0 USB-C and 19V DC port, IP67 rating stated Check price on Amazon
  • FlexSolar 25W Solar Charger
    Best Ultralight FlexSolar 25W Solar Charger: 25W at 1.2lbs, MPPT harvest, IP67 rating, folds to tablet size Check price on Amazon

The picks

GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger

GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger

GEYOTO9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 45W foldable solar panel with 25W PD USB-C charging, a stated 26% conversion rate and an IP68 rating.

Pros

  • 45W panel, the most watts in this group
  • 25W PD USB-C fast charging stated
  • IP68 water and dust resistance rating stated
  • 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Bullets say 1.65lbs while the spec table says 1.7 pounds
  • Charging ports must stay dry, per the listing
  • Output varies with sunlight, panel angle and device
  • 1.65lbs, heavier than the 25W FlexSolar
Detailed Review

The listing states a 45W monocrystalline panel with a stated 26% conversion rate, a 25W PD USB-C port plus a second USB-C port and a USB-A port, and an IP68 rating on the panel surface. It folds to 8.44 by 12.52 by 1.26 inches and includes a USB-C extension cable, a storage pouch and two carabiners. The bullets list 1.65lbs while the spec table lists 1.7 pounds; the bullets win on that point.

Who it's for: backpackers who want the biggest stated panel and the fastest USB-C port in this group. Who should skip it: anyone counting grams, since the 25W FlexSolar is lighter at 1.2lbs.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel45W, 26% conversion rate
Ports25W PD USB-C, 2 USB-C, 1 USB-A
RatingIP68
Weight1.65lbs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 water and dust resistance rating stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Uukto 20000mAh Solar Bank

Uukto 20000mAh Solar Bank

Uukto9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20000mAh solar power bank with three built-in cables, six ports, a camping light and two flashlights.

Pros

  • 20000mAh lithium polymer capacity
  • Three built-in cables and six ports
  • Camping light plus two flashlights
  • 2-year warranty and lifetime support stated

Cons

  • Solar panel wattage is not stated
  • No conversion efficiency is stated
  • No IP number is stated
  • At 6.97 inches long it is a full pocket, not a mini bank
Detailed Review

The listing states a 20000mAh lithium polymer power bank with three built-in cables, a USB-C port that handles both input and output, a camping light and two multi-mode flashlights. It lists overcharge, short-circuit and overheat protection, a 2-year warranty with lifetime customer support, and a weight of 503.8g at 1.26 by 3.74 by 6.97 inches. The solar panel's wattage is not stated.

Who it's for: backpackers who want stored power and light in one pocketable unit. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a panel-first setup with stated watts and efficiency.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity20000mAh, lithium polymer
PortsUSB-C in/out, iOS, USB-A, 6 ports
Weight503.8g
FeaturesCamping light, 2 flashlights

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overcharge, short-circuit and overheat protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2-year warranty and lifetime customer support stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 40W Solar Charger

FlexSolar 40W Solar Charger

FlexSolar9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 40W foldable panel with QC3.0 USB-A, PD2.0 USB-C and a 19V DC port, plus a stated 24% conversion rate.

Pros

  • 40W with a stated 24% conversion rate
  • Three outputs: QC3.0 USB-A, PD2.0 USB-C and 19V DC
  • IP67 dust and water resistance rating stated
  • Overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 1.76lbs, heavier than the 25W model at 1.2lbs
  • The junction box lacks full water protection, per the listing
  • Shade can cut output by up to 70%, per the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 40W foldable monocrystalline panel with QC3.0 USB-A and PD2.0 USB-C ports at 18W max each, a 19V DC port up to 40W, and a stated 24% conversion rate. It folds to 8.0 by 11.1 by 1.8 inches at 1.76lbs and carries an IP67 rating on the panel, though the junction box lacks full water protection. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: backpackers who want the most charging options in one panel, including a DC port for small stations. Who should skip it: ultralight hikers, who get 25W at 1.2lbs from the FlexSolar 25W.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel40W, 24% conversion rate
PortsQC3.0 USB-A, PD2.0 USB-C 18W, 19V DC
RatingIP67
Folded8.0 x 11.1 x 1.8 inches, 1.76lbs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection stated, IP67 rating, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 25W Solar Charger

FlexSolar 25W Solar Charger

FlexSolar9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 25W foldable panel at 1.2lbs with stated MPPT tech, 23.2% conversion and an IP67 rating.

Pros

  • 1.2lbs, the lightest panel in this group
  • Stated MPPT tech for better harvest in partial shade
  • 23.2% conversion rate stated
  • IP67 dust and water resistance rating stated

Cons

  • 25W, the least panel power in this group
  • No warranty term is stated
  • USB output capped at 5V/3A, per the listing
  • Rides outside the pack on carabiners, not inside it
Detailed Review

The listing states a 25W foldable panel with USB-A and USB-C outputs delivering 5V/3A, stated MPPT technology for better harvest in partial shade, and a 23.2% conversion rate. It folds to 7.7 by 5.1 by 1.5 inches at 1.2lbs with an IP67 rating, and the maker claims over 2,000 fold cycles. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: weight-first backpackers who accept 25W for a 1.2lb panel. Who should skip it: anyone who wants PD fast charging or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel25W, 23.2% conversion rate
PortsUSB-A and USB-C, 5V/3A
RatingIP67
Folded7.7 x 5.1 x 1.5 inches, 1.2lbs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Over-voltage, over-current and overheating protection stated, IP67 rating, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Panel watts USB output Weight Warranty Amazon
GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger 9.7/10 45 25W PD USB-C, 3 ports 1.65lbs 2-year View on Amazon
Uukto 20000mAh Solar Bank 9.6/10 Not stated USB-C in/out, 6 ports 503.8g 2-year View on Amazon
FlexSolar 40W Solar Charger 9.6/10 40 QC3.0 USB-A, PD2.0 USB-C, 19V DC 1.76lbs Not stated View on Amazon
FlexSolar 25W Solar Charger 9.5/10 25 USB-A and USB-C, 5V/3A 1.2lbs Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trail charger, safety means the protections and IP ratings the listing actually states; a charger that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its watts. Two of the four state a warranty term, and three state an IP67 or IP68 rating. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger 9.7 32 22 20 5 3
Uukto 20000mAh Solar Bank 9.6 28 20 20 5 3
FlexSolar 40W Solar Charger 9.6 30 21 20 5 0
FlexSolar 25W Solar Charger 9.5 28 21 20 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar charger for backpacking

Panel watts and USB speed

The GEYOTO lists the most panel watts at 45, followed by the FlexSolar 40W and the FlexSolar 25W. The GEYOTO also lists the fastest USB-C port at 25W PD, while the FlexSolar 40W lists 18W max on each of its USB-A and USB-C ports and the FlexSolar 25W lists 5V/3A across both ports. The Uukto is a battery first: it lists no panel watts, so it lives or dies on its 20000mAh capacity. See our best solar charger for backcountry picks for more trail chargers.

Charger Panel watts USB-C speed Ports
GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger 45 25W PD 2 USB-C, 1 USB-A
FlexSolar 40W Solar Charger 40 18W max per port USB-A, USB-C, DC
FlexSolar 25W Solar Charger 25 5V/3A USB-A, USB-C
Uukto 20000mAh Solar Bank Not stated USB-C in and out 6 total, 3 built-in cables

Weight and folded size

The FlexSolar 25W is the lightest panel at 1.2lbs and folds to 7.7 by 5.1 by 1.5 inches, while the GEYOTO folds to 8.44 by 12.52 by 1.26 inches and the FlexSolar 40W folds to 8.0 by 11.1 by 1.8 inches at 1.76lbs. The Uukto is the smallest item overall at 503.8g and 1.26 by 3.74 by 6.97 inches, which fits a hip-belt pocket where the panels cannot. All three panels attach to the outside of a pack with the included carabiners. See our best solar panel for backpacking guide for ultralight panel picks.

Warranty and weather ratings

Only the GEYOTO and the Uukto state a warranty: the GEYOTO lists a 2-year warranty and the Uukto lists 2 years of warranty plus lifetime customer support. The GEYOTO states an IP68 rating and both FlexSolar panels state IP67; note the FlexSolar 40W listing says its junction box lacks full water protection and should stay indoors in heavy rain. Browse every solar chargers and power banks guide to see the wider category.

Sizing Notes

  • Match USB output to your devices: 25W PD (GEYOTO) for tablets, 18W per port (FlexSolar 40W) for phones, 5V/3A (FlexSolar 25W) for basic gear.
  • Bank daytime sun for the night: the Uukto stores 20000mAh, and the GEYOTO tip pairs a panel with a power bank for after dark.
  • Angle the panel at about 45 degrees to direct sun, per the FlexSolar 40W notes; shade can cut output by up to 70%.
  • IP ratings cover the panel surface; keep the charging ports dry and wipe the panel before storage, per the listings.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which charger here has the most panel watts?

The GEYOTO with 45W and a stated 26% conversion rate.

Which is the lightest?

The FlexSolar 25W panel at 1.2lbs; the Uukto is 503.8g but it is a battery, not a panel.

Which ones state a warranty?

The GEYOTO with a 2-year warranty, and the Uukto with a 2-year warranty plus lifetime customer support. Neither FlexSolar lists a term.

Which charges the most devices at once?

The Uukto, which lists up to 5 devices at once through its built-in cables and ports; the GEYOTO charges three at once.

Can these charge in the rain?

The GEYOTO states an IP68 panel rating and both FlexSolar panels state IP67; keep the ports dry and wipe the panels before storage, per the listings.

GEYOTO 45W Solar Charger
Still deciding? Our top pickGEYOTO 45W Solar Charger
Check price on Amazon

See every portable power stations guide and all blog guides. Also see our best portable power station for camping. Also see our best solar panel for backpacking.

More picks: browse backcountry chargers and blog.