Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Chargers and Power Banks

Best Solar Charger for Ultralight Backpacking: 5 Compared

Five solar chargers for ultralight backpacking compared on panel watts, stated weight, outputs, protections and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Solar Charger for Ultralight Backpacking: 5 Compared
On this page

The best solar charger for ultralight backpacking earns its weight the afternoon the phone drops to 12 percent at the second overlook, with the trailhead four miles down and the map on the screen. A panel light enough to forget on the pack feeds the phone while you walk, no outlet needed for days. We compared five solar chargers from BigBlue, Ecosonique, Lixada, SOLUPUP and FlexSolar on panel watts, stated weight, outputs, listed protections and warranty terms. The Ecosonique 15W leads with USB-C and USB-A outputs, a smart display and an IP67 rating at 0.82 lb.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Ecosonique 15W Solar Charger
    Best Overall Ecosonique 15W Solar Charger: 15W with USB-C and USB-A, smart display and IP67 stated Check price on Amazon
  • FlexSolar 10W Solar Charger
    Lightest Foldable FlexSolar 10W Solar Charger: 0.44 lb foldable with IP67 rating and 1-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • BigBlue 14W Solar Charger
    Highest Efficiency BigBlue 14W Solar Charger: 14W at 0.75 lb with 25.4% conversion and 18-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • SOLUPUP 2-in-1 Solar Charger
    Best with Battery SOLUPUP 2-in-1 Solar Charger: 10000mAh bank plus 15W panel with PD 20W and 6 outputs Check price on Amazon
  • Lixada 10W Solar Charger
    Lightest Panel Lixada 10W Solar Charger: 2.88 oz paper-thin 10W panel with no battery inside Check price on Amazon

The picks

Ecosonique 15W Solar Charger

Ecosonique 15W Solar Charger

Ecosonique Technology9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15W foldable charger with USB-C and USB-A outputs, a smart display, ETFE coating and an IP67 rating at 0.82 lb.

Pros

  • USB-C and USB-A outputs for charging two devices
  • Smart display shows power, voltage and current in real time
  • IP67 rating stated
  • ETFE-coated 23.5% monocrystalline cells

Cons

  • 0.82 lb is heavier than the 10W foldables here
  • No built-in battery for night charging
  • No charging cable is listed in the package
  • Efficiency figure applies under ideal conditions, per the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 15W foldable panel with 23.5% high-efficiency monocrystalline cells, an ETFE coating, 5V USB-C and USB-A outputs, a built-in digital display showing power, voltage and current, intelligent protection against overcharging, overheating and short circuits, a weight of 0.82 lb, 2 carabiners and a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: backpackers who want two-device charging with real-time output feedback and a stated weather rating. Who should skip it: gram-counters who want the absolute lightest panel, where the 2.88-ounce Lixada wins.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel15W, ETFE
OutputsUSB-C + USB-A, 5V
Weight0.82 lb
DisplayBuilt-in digital display

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating stated; intelligent protection against overcharging, overheating and short circuits, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1-YEAR WARRANTY. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 10W Solar Charger

FlexSolar 10W Solar Charger

FlexSolar9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10W foldable charger at 0.44 lb with USB-A 5V/2A output, ETFE lamination, an IP67 rating and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 0.44 lb stated weight, the lightest foldable here
  • IP67 rating stated
  • Smart IC with overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection
  • Folds to 6.3 by 4.8 by 1 inches with 2 carabiners

Cons

  • Single USB-A port only
  • Cannot store power, charges only in sunlight
  • Bullets mention a 15W model that conflicts with the 10W title
  • Junction box is not covered by the rating, per the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 10W foldable panel with monocrystalline A+ cells, ETFE film lamination, up to 24% conversion, USB-A 5V/2A maximum output, a smart IC chip with overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection, an LED charging status light, an IP67 rating, 2 carabiners and a 1-year manufacturer warranty. The bullets give the weight as 0.44 lb (200g) while the spec table lists 9.12 ounces; we trust the bullets. The bullets also mention a 15W FlexSolar charger, which conflicts with the 10W title and spec table; we trust the 10W figure.

Who it's for: ultralight hikers who want the lightest foldable here with a stated weather rating and warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB-C or a second port, which this single USB-A panel does not state.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 22/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel10W, monocrystalline A+
OutputUSB-A, 5V/2A max
Weight0.44 lb (200g)
Unfolded size19.4 x 6.3 x 0.5 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating stated; smart IC chip with overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BigBlue 14W Solar Charger

BigBlue 14W Solar Charger

BigBlue9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 14W foldable charger with USB-A 5V/2.4A output, up to 25.4% stated efficiency and an 18-month warranty at 0.75 lb.

Pros

  • Up to 25.4% conversion efficiency stated, the highest here
  • 18-month warranty stated, the longest here
  • USB-A to USB-C cable and 2 carabiners included
  • Folds to 5.98 by 6.34 by 1.38 inches

Cons

  • Single USB-A port with no fast charging
  • Cannot store electricity, direct charging only
  • IPX4 rating does not cover the junction box, per the listing
  • Output depends on sun angle and intensity, per the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 14W foldable panel with up to 25.4% conversion efficiency, a single USB-A port at 5V/2.4A maximum, a folding size of 5.98 by 6.34 by 1.38 inches, a weight of 0.75 lb, an IPX4 rating, a USB-A to USB-C cable, 2 carabiners and an 18-month warranty. It states the charger cannot store electricity, does not support fast charging and is for direct charging only.

Who it's for: hikers who want the highest stated efficiency here with the longest warranty term. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB-C output or multi-device charging, which this single-port panel does not state.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel14W
OutputUSB-A, 5V/2.4A max
EfficiencyUp to 25.4%
Weight0.75 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 rating stated for the panels; the listing notes the junction box is not covered by that rating, so safety scores 6 of 10. 18-month Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SOLUPUP 2-in-1 Solar Charger

SOLUPUP 2-in-1 Solar Charger

SOLUPUP9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15W panel paired with a 10000mAh battery, PD 20W output and 6 stated outputs for cloudy days and night.

Pros

  • 10000mAh battery for night and cloudy-day use
  • 6 outputs including built-in iOS and USB-C cables
  • PD 20W fast charging stated
  • IPX5 rating with LED SOS for emergencies

Cons

  • 1.45 lb, the heaviest here
  • No concrete warranty term is stated
  • Title lists PD 20W while the bullets describe a 15W panel
  • Spec table lists 4 ports against the bullets' 6 outputs
Detailed Review

The listing states a 15W solar panel with a 10000mAh battery, PD 20W fast charging, 6 outputs (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C, a built-in iOS cable and a built-in USB-C cable), a digital battery display, a 3-mode LED with SOS, an IPX5 rating, a weight of 1.45 lb and a folded size of 8.26 by 4.72 by 1.61 inches. The title lists PD 20W while the bullets describe a 15W panel; the 20W figure matches the stated PD charging output. No concrete warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: backpackers who want power after dark and through cloudy stretches, with the only battery here. Who should skip it: ultralight purists, since 1.45 lb is the heaviest here.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel15W
Battery10000mAh
Outputs6 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C, 2 built-in cables)
Weight1.45 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX5 rating stated; 3-mode LED includes SOS for emergency signaling, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Lixada 10W Solar Charger

Lixada 10W Solar Charger

Lixada9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A paper-thin 10W panel at 2.88 ounces with a USB port and 22 to 23% stated conversion, and no battery inside.

Pros

  • 2.88 ounces, the lightest here
  • Paper-thin 0.3-inch profile fits like a notebook page
  • No battery inside, so no heat concerns per the listing
  • 22 to 23% conversion stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No weather rating is stated
  • Panel only, no cables or carabiners listed
  • Spec table voltage figures conflict (5V maximum vs 6.8V output)
Detailed Review

The listing states a 10W monocrystalline panel at 8.1 by 5.6 by 0.3 inches, a weight of 2.88 ounces, a USB connector, 1200 milliamps amperage capacity, 22 to 23% photoelectric conversion, a frosted scratch-resistant surface and no built-in battery. The spec table lists 5V maximum and 6.8V output, which conflict with each other. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: gram-counters who want the lightest panel here for fair-weather day hikes. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated weather rating, protections or warranty, which this listing does not give.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel10W, monocrystalline
Size8.1 x 5.6 x 0.3 in
Weight2.88 oz
BatteryNone inside

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No protection feature or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Panel watts Outputs Weight Warranty Amazon
Ecosonique 15W Solar Charger 9.7/10 15W USB-C + USB-A 0.82 lb 1 year View on Amazon
FlexSolar 10W Solar Charger 9.7/10 10W USB-A 0.44 lb 1 year View on Amazon
BigBlue 14W Solar Charger 9.6/10 14W USB-A 0.75 lb 18 months View on Amazon
SOLUPUP 2-in-1 Solar Charger 9.6/10 15W 6 outputs 1.45 lb Not stated View on Amazon
Lixada 10W Solar Charger 9.4/10 10W USB 2.88 oz Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a solar charger, safety means the protections and weather ratings the listing actually states: IP ratings, overcurrent and short-circuit protection, and anything that keeps the charge path safe. Four of the five state an IP rating or a protection feature, and three of the five state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Ecosonique 15W Solar Charger 9.7 32 22 21 8 3
FlexSolar 10W Solar Charger 9.7 28 22 22 8 3
BigBlue 14W Solar Charger 9.6 29 21 21 6 4
SOLUPUP 2-in-1 Solar Charger 9.6 33 21 22 7 0
Lixada 10W Solar Charger 9.4 27 20 22 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar charger for ultralight backpacking

Start from weight, not watts

Every gram counts past mile ten, and the spread here is wide: the Lixada 10W panel lists 2.88 ounces, the FlexSolar 10W lists 0.44 lb, the BigBlue 14W lists 0.75 lb, the Ecosonique 15W lists 0.82 lb and the SOLUPUP 2-in-1 lists 1.45 lb with its 10000mAh battery. Pick the heaviest panel your base weight allows, then check that its outputs match your devices. See our best solar panel for backpacking picks for more ultralight options.

Direct-charge panels vs a battery in the loop

The BigBlue 14W states it has no internal battery and does not store electricity, the Lixada 10W states no battery inside, and the FlexSolar 10W notes it cannot store power: these charge your device only while the sun is out. The SOLUPUP 2-in-1 is the exception, pairing a 15W panel with a 10000mAh battery for cloudy stretches and night. If you hike dawn to dusk in open country, a direct panel is lighter; if your route runs through forest, the battery earns its 1.45 lb. Also see our best solar charger for backpacking roundup.

Count the ports you actually need

One USB-A port covers a phone and nothing else, which is what the BigBlue 14W, FlexSolar 10W and Lixada 10W state. The Ecosonique 15W adds USB-C beside USB-A for charging two devices, and the SOLUPUP 2-in-1 lists 6 outputs: 2 USB-A, 2 USB-C, a built-in iOS cable and a built-in USB-C cable. More ports mean more simultaneous devices but also more weight to carry.

Charger Panel Outputs stated Weight stated
Ecosonique 15W Solar Charger 15W USB-C + USB-A 0.82 lb
FlexSolar 10W Solar Charger 10W USB-A 0.44 lb
BigBlue 14W Solar Charger 14W USB-A 0.75 lb
SOLUPUP 2-in-1 Solar Charger 15W 6 outputs 1.45 lb
Lixada 10W Solar Charger 10W USB 2.88 oz

Mind the weather rating and the fine print

The Ecosonique 15W and FlexSolar 10W state an IP67 rating, the SOLUPUP 2-in-1 states IPX5, and the BigBlue 14W states IPX4 while noting its junction box is not covered. The Lixada 10W states no weather rating at all. For storm-prone routes, the rated picks are the safer carry; for fair-weather day hikes, the Lixada’s 2.88 ounces is hard to argue with. For camp power after dark, see our best portable power station for camping picks.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the panel’s stated 5V USB output to devices that charge over USB; the picks that state a voltage all list 5V.
  • Weigh the panel against your base weight: 2.88 ounces (Lixada) to 1.45 lb (SOLUPUP) here.
  • Count outputs before you pack: one USB-A port charges one device at a time.
  • Hang the panel with the stated carabiners (BigBlue, Ecosonique, FlexSolar and SOLUPUP include them) so it faces the sun while you walk.
  • Only the BigBlue (18-month), Ecosonique (1-year) and FlexSolar (1-year) state a warranty term; the Lixada and SOLUPUP state no concrete term.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which charger here is the lightest?

The Lixada 10W at 2.88 ounces, a paper-thin panel with no battery inside. The FlexSolar 10W is next at a stated 0.44 lb.

Which chargers state a warranty?

The BigBlue 14W states an 18-month warranty, and the Ecosonique 15W and FlexSolar 10W each state a 1-year warranty. The Lixada and SOLUPUP listings state no concrete warranty term.

Which pick has a built-in battery?

Only the SOLUPUP 2-in-1, with a 10000mAh battery behind its 15W panel. The BigBlue, Lixada and FlexSolar listings state their chargers cannot store power.

Can these charge two devices at once?

The Ecosonique 15W states USB-C and USB-A outputs, and the SOLUPUP 2-in-1 lists 6 outputs. The BigBlue, FlexSolar and Lixada each state a single USB port.

Which states the highest conversion efficiency?

The BigBlue 14W at up to 25.4%, followed by the FlexSolar 10W at up to 24%.

Ecosonique 15W Solar Charger
Still deciding? Our top pickEcosonique 15W Solar Charger
Check price on Amazon

See every Solar Chargers and Power Banks guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best solar charger for backcountry. Also see our best solar lights for camping. Also see our best solar charger for elk hunting.

More picks: one FlexSolar listing stayed out of the ranked five as an extra option: the 36W charger with USB-A, USB-C and DC outputs, MPPT, a 24% stated conversion rate and an IP67 rating at 1.7 lb. Also see best solar charger for backpacking, best solar panel for backpacking and best solar charger for backcountry.