Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Best Solar String Lights for Backyard (2026): 4 Compared

Four solar string lights for backyards compared on length, bulb count, remote features, charging and warranty, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Solar String Lights for Backyard (2026): 4 Compared
On this page

Last summer the backyard went dark at 9 when the old plug-in string lights tripped the outdoor outlet. The best solar string lights for backyard evenings run on their own panels and remotes, so the glow does not depend on an outlet at all. We compared four picks on what each listing states: length, bulb count, remote features, charging options and warranty. The Brightown 76-footer leads with dual solar and Type-C charging plus a 2-year term, while the Bdrofn stretches 200 feet with 60 plus 2 spare bulbs.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Brightown 76FT String Lights
    Best Overall Brightown 76FT String Lights: 76-ft string, USB charging and 26-hour runtime stated Check price on Amazon
  • Stright 100FT String Lights
    Best Certifications Stright 100FT String Lights: CE, FCC, RoHS, UL and ETL compliance stated Check price on Amazon
  • Yusist 100FT G40 Lights
    Best Sealed Sockets Yusist 100FT G40 Lights: fully sealed sockets with 500 lumens stated Check price on Amazon
  • Bdrofn 200FT String Lights
    Longest String Bdrofn 200FT String Lights: 200-ft string with 60 plus 2 spares and solar plus USB charging Check price on Amazon

The picks

Brightown 76FT String Lights

Brightown 76FT String Lights

Brightown9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 76-foot string of 23 plus 1 spare LED bulbs with a 3-mode remote, Type-C charging and up to 26 hours of light stated.

Pros

  • Dual solar and Type-C charging; 4 to 6 hours of charging stated
  • Up to 26 hours of light stated on a full charge
  • Remote with 4 brightness levels, 3 modes and 6 or 8-hour timers
  • IP65 weather resistance and a 2-year manufacturer term stated

Cons

  • Title claims 30+ hours of runtime while bullets say up to 26 hours; the bullets' figure is the detailed one
  • Spec table lists 2 12V batteries required, an odd figure for a solar string light
  • White color only, with no multicolor option stated
  • 2700 Kelvin stated; no lumen figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 76-foot string with 23 plus 1 spare shatterproof LED bulbs on an E12 base, a remote with 4 brightness levels (25%, 50%, 75%, 100%), 3 modes (Steady On, Breath, Flash) and 6 or 8-hour auto-off timers, dual solar and Type-C charging, 4 to 6 hours of charging for up to 26 hours of light, a 180-degree adjustable solar panel, automatic dusk-to-dawn operation and an IP65 weather rating. The title claims 30+ hours of runtime while the bullets say up to 26 hours, so treat the higher figure with caution. Coverage is 2 years manufacturer.

Who it's for: backyard owners who want dual charging and a real 2-year term on a mid-length string. Who should skip it: buyers who want the longest possible string or a stated lumen figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length76 ft, 23+1 bulbs
ControlsRemote, 3 modes, 4 dim levels
ChargingSolar + Type-C, up to 26 h light
RatingIP65, 2-year term

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 weather resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Stright 100FT String Lights

Stright 100FT String Lights

Stright9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100-foot string of 30 ST38 bulbs with an 8-mode dimmable remote, a large 8.7 by 4.7-inch panel and listed certifications.

Pros

  • CE, FCC, RoHS, UL and ETL compliance stated, the most certifications here
  • 8 lighting modes with a dimmable remote stated
  • Large 8.7 by 4.7-inch solar panel with 12+ hours of supply stated
  • Shatterproof plastic bulbs with 2700 Kelvin warm white stated

Cons

  • Wattage field lists 3000 milliamp-hours, a battery figure rather than watts
  • No USB backup charging is stated
  • Bulb count comes from the spec table (30), not the title or bullets
  • Only a 1-year warranty is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 100-foot string with 30 ST38 LED bulbs (30 sockets in the product style), an 8-mode dimmable remote, a very large 8.7 by 4.7-inch solar panel with a high-capacity battery supplying 12 hours or more on a full charge, automatic night on and sunrise off, 2700 Kelvin warm white light, a 30-volt system and CE, FCC, RoHS, UL and ETL compliance. The wattage field reads '3000 milliamp_hours', which is a battery figure, not watts, so there is no watt figure to quote. Coverage is 1 year.

Who it's for: buyers who want the strongest stated certifications and the most lighting modes here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB backup charging or a 2-year warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length100 ft, 30 ST38 bulbs
ControlsRemote, 8 modes, dimmable
Panel8.7 x 4.7 in, 12+ h supply
RatingWeatherproof, 1-year term

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE, FCC, RoHS, UL and ETL compliance stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Yusist 100FT G40 Lights

Yusist 100FT G40 Lights

Yusist9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 100-foot string of 30 plus 2 spare G40 bulbs with a 3-mode remote, USB backup and 500 lumens stated.

Pros

  • 30 plus 2 spare G40 bulbs with 500 lumens stated
  • Solar panel plus USB charging port stated
  • Fully sealed sockets and shatterproof PET bulbs stated
  • 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • No IP rating is stated; the weather claim rests on sealed sockets
  • 20%+ panel conversion rate is stated with no panel size
  • Timer is 6 or 8 hours only, with no shorter setting stated
  • 2500 Kelvin stated; no multicolor option stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 100-foot string with 30 plus 2 spare G40 LED bulbs, a remote with 4 brightness levels (25%, 50%, 75%, 100%), 3 modes (flash, steady on, breath) and 6 or 8-hour timers, a solar panel with a 20%+ conversion rate plus a USB charging port, 500 lumens, 2500 Kelvin, fully sealed sockets and shatterproof PET bulbs. No IP rating is stated, so the weather claim rests on the sealed sockets. Coverage is 2 years.

Who it's for: patio and bistro decorators who want sealed sockets and a stated lumen figure. Who should skip it: buyers who want an IP rating on the listing or a multicolor option.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length100 ft, 30+2 G40 bulbs
ControlsRemote, 3 modes, 4 dim levels
Output500 lumens, 2500 Kelvin
ChargingSolar + USB, 2-year term

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Fully sealed sockets and shatterproof PET bulbs stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. 2 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bdrofn 200FT String Lights

Bdrofn 200FT String Lights

Bdrofn9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 200-foot string of 60 plus 2 spare ST38 bulbs with a 4-mode remote and solar plus USB charging.

Pros

  • 200 feet with 60 plus 2 spare bulbs, the longest string here
  • Solar panel plus USB port; 8 hours of sun stated for 10 hours of work
  • Remote with 4 brightness levels, 4 modes and 3 or 5-hour timers
  • Shatterproof plastic shells with 2700 Kelvin warm white stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table says B17 shape and G38 base while the title says ST38 Edison; trust the title
  • 5-watt figure stated with no battery capacity figure
  • 2.59 kg stated with no per-section breakdown
Detailed Review

The listing states a 200-foot string with 60 plus 2 spare ST38 Edison LED bulbs, a remote with 4 brightness levels (25%, 50%, 75%, 100%), 4 modes (Steady, Slow Flash, Quick Flash, Breath) and 3 or 5-hour timers, solar plus USB charging, 8 hours of sunlight for 10 hours of work, 2700 Kelvin warm white and shatterproof plastic shells. The spec table lists a B17 shape size and G38 base against the title's ST38 Edison bulbs, so trust the title. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: anyone lighting a very long backyard run or multiple zones with one string. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or a battery capacity figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length200 ft, 60+2 ST38 bulbs
ControlsRemote, 4 modes, 4 dim levels
ChargingSolar + USB, 10 h after 8 h sun
RatingWeatherproof, 5 W

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Shatterproof plastic shells and weatherproof construction stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Light Solar Score Length Bulbs Remote Weather rating Warranty Amazon
Brightown 76FT String Lights 9.7/10 76 ft 23+1 Remote, 3 modes IP65 2 years View on Amazon
Stright 100FT String Lights 9.6/10 100 ft 30 ST38 Remote, 8 modes Weatherproof 1 year View on Amazon
Yusist 100FT G40 Lights 9.6/10 100 ft 30+2 G40 Remote, 3 modes Sealed sockets 2 years View on Amazon
Bdrofn 200FT String Lights 9.6/10 200 ft 60+2 ST38 Remote, 4 modes Weatherproof Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For string lights, safety means stated weather ratings and certifications: two picks state IP65 or weatherproof construction with shatterproof bulbs, the Stright states CE, FCC, RoHS, UL and ETL compliance, and the Yusist states fully sealed sockets. Three of the four state a concrete warranty term; the Bdrofn states none. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Brightown 76FT String Lights 9.7 30 21 21 5 3
Stright 100FT String Lights 9.6 29 21 20 7 3
Yusist 100FT G40 Lights 9.6 28 20 21 4 3
Bdrofn 200FT String Lights 9.6 32 21 22 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar string lights for backyard use

Match the length to the yard

The four picks run from 76 feet to 200 feet. The Brightown states 76 feet with 23 plus 1 spare bulbs, the Yusist and Stright each state 100 feet, and the Bdrofn states 200 feet with 60 plus 2 spares. Walk the fence or pergola line before choosing, since none of these split into two strings. For path and deck options, see our solar path and string light guides.

Check the remote’s modes and timers

Every pick includes a remote with dimming. The Brightown states 3 modes with 4 brightness levels and 6 or 8-hour timers, the Bdrofn states 4 modes with 3 or 5-hour timers, the Yusist states 3 modes with 6 or 8-hour timers, and the Stright states 8 modes with dimming but no timer counts. The Brightown, Bdrofn and Yusist all state the same 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% brightness steps.

Light Length Bulbs Timer
Brightown 76FT String Lights 76 ft 23+1 6 or 8 h
Stright 100FT String Lights 100 ft 30 Not stated
Yusist 100FT G40 Lights 100 ft 30+2 6 or 8 h
Bdrofn 200FT String Lights 200 ft 60+2 3 or 5 h

Look for USB backup charging

Three of the four state a USB charging option for cloudy stretches. The Brightown lists Type-C charging with 4 to 6 hours stated for up to 26 hours of light, the Bdrofn lists a USB port with 8 hours of sun stated for 10 hours of work, and the Yusist lists a USB charging port alongside the solar panel. The Stright lists solar charging only, with a large 8.7 by 4.7-inch panel and 12+ hours of supply stated.

Read the weather and warranty lines

The Brightown states IP65, the Bdrofn and Stright state weatherproof construction with shatterproof bulbs, and the Yusist states fully sealed sockets with no IP rating. On warranty, the Brightown and Yusist state 2 years, the Stright states 1 year, and the Bdrofn states no term. For fence runs in rough weather, see our best outdoor solar string lights for fence.

Sizing Notes

  • Measure the backyard run first: 76 feet at the short end, 200 feet at the top of this group.
  • Count the bulbs: 23 plus 1 spare at the low end, 60 plus 2 spares at the top.
  • Check the charging: dual solar and USB on three picks, solar only on the Stright.
  • Match the runtime to the evening: up to 26 hours stated on the Brightown, 10 hours on the Bdrofn, 12+ hours on the Stright.
  • Read the warranty line: 2 years on two picks, 1 year on one, no term stated on one.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which pick states the longest string?

The Bdrofn, at 200 feet with 60 plus 2 spare ST38 bulbs.

Which picks state USB backup charging?

The Brightown states Type-C charging, and the Bdrofn and Yusist each state a USB charging port. The Stright lists solar charging only.

Which pick states the longest runtime?

The Brightown states up to 26 hours of light on a full charge, though its title claims 30+ hours. The Stright states 12+ hours and the Bdrofn states 10 hours after 8 hours of sun.

Which picks state a warranty term?

The Brightown and Yusist each state 2 years, and the Stright states 1 year. The Bdrofn states no warranty term.

Which pick states certifications?

The Stright states CE, FCC, RoHS, UL and ETL compliance. None of the other three state a certification.

Which pick states the most bulbs?

The Bdrofn, with 60 plus 2 spare bulbs. The Yusist states 30 plus 2 spares, the Stright states 30 sockets, and the Brightown states 23 plus 1 spare.

Brightown 76FT String Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickBrightown 76FT String Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.

More picks: the Brightown 151-ft string lights (48 plus 2 spare bulbs, solar and USB charging, 30+ hours stated), the Brightown 202-ft string lights (65 plus 2 spare bulbs, solar and USB charging, 30+ hours stated), the BLIATLUS 100-ft string lights (32 ST38 bulbs with remote, 1-year term stated), the addlon 198-ft string lights (60 sockets with 4 spare bulbs, IP65, 1-year term stated) and the Skoiuc 200-ft string lights (two 100-ft strings with remote and timer, solar and USB charging).