On this page
When a delivery driver steps onto a dark porch, a camera that already has power is the difference between a clear clip and a black frame, and the blink solaris vs ring outdoor cam question comes down to this: whether the camera brings its own solar panel or leans on a rechargeable battery. The short verdict: pick the Blink side for solar charging and sharper stated video, and pick the Ring side for a plain battery camera with live talk and a choice of pack sizes. We compared what each listing states: video, power, weather codes, night vision, voice control and pack contents.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Blink Solaris vs Ring Outdoor Cam: side by side
| Blink Solaris vs Ring Outdoor Cam | Blink Solaris 2K+ 2-Camera System | Blink Solaris 2K+ Add-On | Ring Outdoor Cam 4-Pack | Ring Outdoor Cam 2-Pack | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Video | 2K | 2K | Not stated | HD | |
| Power | Solar panel plus battery pack | Solar panel plus battery pack | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery | |
| Weather code | IP-65 | IP-65 | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Night vision | Color at low light, then infrared | Color at low light, then infrared | Color Night Vision | Color Night Vision | |
| Voice control | Alexa+ | Alexa+ | Alexa | Alexa | |
| Pack | 2 cameras, Sync Module Core included | 1 camera, Sync Module not included | 4 cameras | 2 cameras | |
| Warranty | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.
Video and power
Video and power are where the two sides split. Both Blink listings state 2K video from the Outdoor 2K+ camera, with a fixed solar panel and a battery pack, and the listing claims as little as 45 minutes of direct sunlight keeps the camera running. The Blink app reports battery life in 5% increments, so the charge state is visible without climbing up to the camera. The Ring listings are battery cameras with no solar panel: the listing describes inserting a rechargeable battery pack and connecting to Wi-Fi. On video, the Ring 2-pack title states HD, while the Ring 4-pack title states no resolution at all and its bullets state none either, so the 4-pack leaves video sharpness unclear rather than losing a comparison it never enters.
Night vision and voice control
Night vision is common ground, with a difference in how each listing describes it. The Blink listings state color video at low light levels before switching to infrared black and white. The Ring listings state Color Night Vision with Live View and Two-Way Talk, so a person on camera can be seen, heard and spoken to through the Ring app. On voice control, the Blink listings state Works with Alexa+ for live view and arming from an Alexa-enabled device, while the Ring listings state Works with Alexa for notifications on Echo Dot and video on Echo Show. Neither listing states a resolution for the Ring 4-pack, and neither side states a warranty term, so those two lines stay blank for all four listings.
What the listings leave unclear
Several lines in these listings need a careful read. The Ring weight line is one: the 4-pack spec table gives 1.56 pounds and the 2-pack gives 0.78 pounds, while both give the same 2.36 x 2.36 x 4.61 inches dimensions, so the listing does not say whether the weight covers one camera or the pack. The Blink add-on title states that the required Sync Module is not included, so that listing is not a complete system on its own, while the 2-camera system includes one Sync Module Core. On the Ring side, rewatching missed clips and intelligent alerts need a compatible Ring Protect subscription sold separately, and the ceiling mount is sold separately too. None of the four listings states a warranty term, so warranty scores sit at zero across the group.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Blink Solaris 2K+ 2-Camera System | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Blink Solaris 2K+ Add-On | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Ring Outdoor Cam 4-Pack | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Ring Outdoor Cam 2-Pack | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Blink Solaris 2K+ 2-Camera System
A solar-powered battery camera system with 2K video, a fixed solar panel, an IP-65 code and a Sync Module Core in the box.
Pros
- Fixed solar panel with battery pack, so no battery swaps per the listing
- 2K video with color night vision at low light
- IP-65 code for rain, dust and severe weather per the listing
- Sync Module Core included with two cameras and two mounting kits
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Battery life is reported in 5% increments only
- Solar charging needs direct sunlight per the listing
- No weight or dimension figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a solar-powered battery camera with 2K video, a fixed solar panel, an IP-65 code, night vision that gives color video at low light levels before switching to infrared black and white, voice control with Alexa+, and app checks on battery levels and charging status with battery life reported in 5% increments. It claims as little as 45 minutes of direct sunlight keeps the camera running. The box includes two battery packs, two cameras, one Sync Module Core, two mounting kits, one power adapter and one USB-C cable.
Who it's for: buyers who want a complete solar camera system with the Sync Module in the box. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or a stated weight figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Video | 2K |
|---|---|
| Weather | IP-65 |
| Sun | 45 minutes direct sunlight |
| Pack | 2 Camera System |
| App | Battery in 5% increments |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP-65 code stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Blink Solaris 2K+ Add-On
A solar-powered battery camera add-on with 2K video, a fixed solar panel and an IP-65 code, without a Sync Module in the box.
Pros
- Fixed solar panel with battery pack, so no battery swaps per the listing
- 2K video with color night vision at low light
- IP-65 code for rain, dust and severe weather per the listing
- Clicks onto the included Outdoor 2K+ camera and mount
Cons
- Required Sync Module is not included
- No warranty term is stated
- Battery life is reported in 5% increments only
- No weight or dimension figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states the same solar-powered battery camera as the system listing: 2K video, a fixed solar panel, an IP-65 code, night vision that gives color video at low light levels before switching to infrared black and white, voice control with Alexa+, and app checks on battery levels and charging status with battery life reported in 5% increments. It claims as little as 45 minutes of direct sunlight keeps the camera running. The box includes one battery pack, one camera and one mounting kit, and the title states the required Sync Module is not included.
Who it's for: buyers who already have a Sync Module and want one more solar camera. Who should skip it: buyers who need a complete system in the box.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 18/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Video | 2K |
|---|---|
| Weather | IP-65 |
| Sun | 45 minutes direct sunlight |
| Pack | Add-On |
| Includes | 1 battery pack, 1 camera, 1 mounting kit |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP-65 code stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ring Outdoor Cam 4-Pack
A battery-powered outdoor camera 4-pack with Live View, Two-Way Talk, Color Night Vision and motion alerts through the Ring app.
Pros
- Live View and Two-Way Talk through the Ring app
- Color Night Vision and motion alerts
- Flat surface or wall mounting with the versatile bracket
- 4 cameras to cover multiple corners
Cons
- No solar panel: rechargeable battery only
- No weather code is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Ceiling mount is sold separately
Detailed Review
The listing states a battery-powered outdoor camera with Live View, Two-Way Talk, Color Night Vision and motion alerts through the Ring app, placement on a flat surface or a wall with the versatile mounting bracket, and a rechargeable battery pack with Wi-Fi setup. The ceiling mount is sold separately, and rewatching missed clips with intelligent alerts needs a compatible Ring Protect subscription sold separately. The spec table gives 1.56 pounds and 2.36 x 2.36 x 4.61 inches for a 4-camera pack, while the 2-pack gives 0.78 pounds at the same dimensions, so the weight line does not say whether it covers one camera or the pack.
Who it's for: buyers who want several battery cameras on one app without solar panels. Who should skip it: buyers who want solar charging, a stated weather code or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | Rechargeable battery |
|---|---|
| Pack | 4 Cameras |
| Weight | 1.56 pounds |
| Dimensions | 2.36 x 2.36 x 4.61 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating or FCC statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ring Outdoor Cam 2-Pack
A battery-powered outdoor camera 2-pack with HD video, Live View, Two-Way Talk, Color Night Vision and motion alerts through the Ring app.
Pros
- HD video stated in the title
- Live View and Two-Way Talk through the Ring app
- Color Night Vision and motion alerts
- Flat surface or wall mounting with the versatile bracket
Cons
- No solar panel: rechargeable battery only
- No weather code is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Ceiling mount is sold separately
Detailed Review
The listing states a battery-powered outdoor camera with HD video in the title, Live View, Two-Way Talk, Color Night Vision and motion alerts through the Ring app, placement on a flat surface or a wall with the versatile mounting bracket, and a rechargeable battery pack with Wi-Fi setup. The ceiling mount is sold separately, and rewatching missed clips with intelligent alerts needs a compatible Ring Protect subscription sold separately. The spec table gives 0.78 pounds and 2.36 x 2.36 x 4.61 inches for a 2-camera pack.
Who it's for: buyers who want a pair of battery cameras with HD stated and no solar panel. Who should skip it: buyers who want solar charging, a stated weather code or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Video | HD |
|---|---|
| Power | Rechargeable battery |
| Pack | 2 Cameras |
| Weight | 0.78 pounds |
| Dimensions | 2.36 x 2.36 x 4.61 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating or FCC statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a security camera, safety means the weather code the listing actually states: both Blink listings state an IP-65 code, while both Ring listings describe a weather-resistant design but state no code, so the Ring pair scores zero on that line. No listing here states a warranty term, so the warranty line is zero for all four. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blink Solaris 2K+ 2-Camera System | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| Blink Solaris 2K+ Add-On | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 18 | 7 | 0 |
| Ring Outdoor Cam 4-Pack | 9.4 | 23 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Ring Outdoor Cam 2-Pack | 9.3 | 24 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Blink solaris vs ring outdoor cam: which should you choose?
Choose the Blink side if the camera will sit in direct sun and you want solar charging with 2K video and an IP-65 code, and take the 2-camera system if you need the Sync Module Core in the box. Choose the Blink add-on only if a Sync Module is already in place, since its title states the required module is not included. Choose the Ring side if a plain battery camera suits the spot and solar charging is not needed: the 2-pack states HD video, and the 4-pack covers several corners with one app, but neither states a weather code or a warranty term.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Solar charging | Blink Solaris 2K+ 2-Camera System: fixed solar panel, 2K video, IP-65 code |
| A single add-on camera | Blink Solaris 2K+ Add-On: same camera and panel, Sync Module not included |
| A battery camera without solar | Ring Outdoor Cam 2-Pack: HD stated, Two-Way Talk, Color Night Vision |
| Covering several corners | Ring Outdoor Cam 4-Pack: 4 cameras, battery powered, Ring app |
Sizing Notes
- Match the Blink panel to direct sun: the listing claims as little as 45 minutes of direct sunlight keeps the camera running.
- Check the Sync Module line before buying the add-on: its title states the required Sync Module is not included.
- Match the Ring mount to the spot: flat surface or wall mounting with the bracket, with the ceiling mount sold separately.
- Check the Ring dimensions against the mounting spot: 2.36 x 2.36 x 4.61 inches per the spec table.
- Check the warranty line before buying: none of the four listings states a warranty term.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which side uses solar power?
The Blink side. Both Blink listings pair a fixed solar panel with a battery pack, while both Ring listings use a rechargeable battery pack with no solar panel.
Which listings state a weather code?
Both Blink listings state an IP-65 code. Both Ring listings describe a weather-resistant design but state no code.
Do any of these cameras state a warranty term?
No. None of the four listings states a warranty term.
Does the Blink add-on include a Sync Module?
No. Its title states the required Sync Module is not included, while the 2-camera system includes one Sync Module Core.
Which Ring listing states HD video?
The 2-pack title states HD. The 4-pack title and bullets state no resolution.
Related guides
See every Solar Security Cameras guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. For the panel side, see the best solar panel kit for RV, and for portable power, the best portable power station for camping.








