On this page
The short answer on blink vs ring solar camera: pick the Ring side if you want a solar panel in the box, and pick the Blink side if you want a floodlight camera that runs on batteries. We compared Blink and Ring listings on video, lighting, power, detection and subscriptions, using two listings from each side.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Blink vs Ring solar camera: side by side
| Blink vs Ring Solar Camera | Ring Spotlight Cam Plus Bundle | Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight | Ring Outdoor Cam Battery | Blink Floodlight Mount | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Side | Ring | Blink | Ring | Blink | |
| Video | 1080p HD | 1080p HD | Not stated | No camera included | |
| Lighting | 2 LED spotlights | 700 lumens | Not stated | 700 lumens | |
| Power | Battery pack and solar panel | Two AA lithium batteries | Rechargeable battery pack | Four D-Cell batteries | |
| Night vision | Color Night Vision | Infrared night vision | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Motion detection | Customizable motion zones | Dual-zone enhanced detection | Not stated | Motion-triggered lights | |
| Voice assistant | Works with Alexa | Works with Alexa | Works with Alexa | Works with Alexa | |
| Subscription | Ring Protect, sold separately | Blink Subscription Plan, sold separately | Ring Protect, sold separately | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 29 October 2026.
Power: a solar panel against batteries
This is the sharpest split. The Ring Spotlight Cam Plus bundle is the only listing here that includes a solar panel, alongside a Quick Release Battery Pack, so its power story is a panel plus a removable pack. The Ring Outdoor Cam runs on a rechargeable battery pack that is set up by inserting the pack and connecting to Wi-Fi. On the Blink side, the Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera runs on two AA Energizer lithium batteries with up to two years of battery life, and it includes a Sync Module Core, while the Blink Floodlight Mount runs on four D-Cell batteries. Neither Blink listing mentions a solar panel, so a shopper who wants solar charging in the box should look at the Ring bundle, not at these Blink listings.
Lighting
Both Blink listings state 700 lumens of motion-triggered LED lighting: the Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera and the Floodlight Mount. The Ring bundle states 2 motion-activated LED spotlights but gives no lumen figure, so the two sides cannot be compared on brightness from these listings. The Ring Outdoor Cam listing states no light at all. A shopper who wants a stated brightness figure will find one only on the Blink side here.
Video and detection
Video is stated clearly on two listings and left unclear on the other two. The Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera states 1080p HD live view with infrared night vision and two-way audio, and the Ring Spotlight Cam Plus bundle states wide-angle 1080p HD video with Color Night Vision and Two-Way Talk. The Ring Outdoor Cam listing states Live View and Two-Way Talk but gives no resolution, and the Blink Floodlight Mount is a mount, not a camera, so its video comes from the paired Outdoor 4 or Outdoor 2K+ camera. For detection, the Blink Outdoor 4 listing states dual-zone enhanced motion detection with AI-powered smart detection through an optional Blink Subscription Plan, while the Ring bundle states customizable motion zones with AI-powered alerts through a compatible Ring Protect subscription. Both sides put their smarter alerts behind a subscription sold separately.
What the listings leave unclear
None of the four listings states an IP code, a warranty term or a detection range, so none of those can decide this comparison. The Ring Outdoor Cam listing gives no resolution and no light, and the Ring bundle gives no lumen figure for its spotlights. The Blink Floodlight Mount gives no camera of its own: it needs an Outdoor 4 or Outdoor 2K+ camera and a Sync Module, both sold separately. The Blink Outdoor 4 listing is the only one that includes a Sync Module Core in the box.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ring Spotlight Cam Plus Bundle | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Ring Outdoor Cam Battery | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Blink Floodlight Mount | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Ring Spotlight Cam Plus Bundle
A Ring bundle with a Spotlight Cam Plus, a Quick Release Battery Pack and a solar panel for watching over a home day or night.
Pros
- 1080p HD video with Color Night Vision and Live View
- 2 motion-activated LED spotlights plus a built-in security siren
- Bundle includes a solar panel and a Quick Release Battery Pack
- Customizable motion zones and Two-Way Talk
Cons
- No lumen figure is stated for the spotlights
- No weight or dimensions are stated in the spec table
- AI-powered alerts need a compatible Ring Protect subscription sold separately
- No warranty term is stated on the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a bundle with a Spotlight Cam Plus, a battery and a solar panel, with wide-angle 1080p HD video, Color Night Vision, Live View, 2 motion-activated LED spotlights, a built-in security siren, customizable motion zones, a Quick Release Battery Pack and Two-Way Talk. AI-powered alerts come with a compatible Ring Protect subscription sold separately, and the bundle works with Alexa.
Who it's for: shoppers who want a solar panel in the box with spotlights and a siren. Who should skip it: shoppers who want a stated lumen figure for the spotlights.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Resolution | 1080p HD |
|---|---|
| Night vision | Color Night Vision |
| Spotlights | 2 motion-activated LED spotlights |
| Power | Quick Release Battery Pack and solar panel |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating or FCC statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight
A Blink floodlight camera with 700 lumens, 1080p HD live view and up to two years of battery life.
Pros
- 700 lumens of motion-triggered LED lighting
- 1080p HD live view with infrared night vision and two-way audio
- Up to two years of battery life with two AA lithium batteries
- Includes a Sync Module Core and a mounting kit
Cons
- AI-powered smart detection needs an optional Blink Subscription Plan sold separately
- Local backup needs a Sync Module XR and a MicroSD card, each sold separately
- No detection range figure is stated on the listing
- No warranty term is stated on the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a floodlight camera with 700 lumens of motion-triggered LED lighting, 1080p HD live view, infrared night vision, two-way audio, dual-zone enhanced motion detection and up to two years of battery life from two AA Energizer lithium batteries, with a Sync Module Core included. AI-powered smart detection uses an optional Blink Subscription Plan sold separately, and cloud storage starts with a free 30-day trial.
Who it's for: shoppers who want a wire-free floodlight camera with a long stated battery life. Who should skip it: shoppers who want local backup without buying a Sync Module XR and a MicroSD card.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Resolution | 1080p HD |
|---|---|
| Floodlight | 700 lumens |
| Battery life | Up to two years |
| Includes | Sync Module Core |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating or FCC statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ring Outdoor Cam Battery
A Ring battery camera for placing on a flat surface or mounting to a wall with a versatile bracket.
Pros
- Rechargeable battery pack with Wi-Fi setup
- Live View and Two-Way Talk through the Ring app
- Mounts on a flat surface or to a wall with a versatile bracket
- Works with Alexa for custom notifications and Echo Show video
Cons
- No resolution is stated on the listing
- No light or siren is stated on the listing
- Clip history and intelligent alerts need a compatible Ring Protect subscription sold separately
- No warranty term is stated on the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a battery-powered camera for outside use, with Live View, Two-Way Talk, a versatile mounting bracket for a flat surface or a wall, and a rechargeable battery pack set up by inserting the pack and connecting to Wi-Fi. It works with Alexa, and clip history and intelligent alerts come with a compatible Ring Protect subscription sold separately.
Who it's for: shoppers who want a rechargeable Ring camera they can move between a surface and a wall. Who should skip it: shoppers who want a stated resolution or a built-in light.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | Rechargeable battery pack |
|---|---|
| Mounting | Flat surface or wall bracket |
| Dimensions | 2.36 x 2.36 x 4.61 inches |
| Weight | 0.39 Pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating or FCC statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Blink Floodlight Mount
A Blink floodlight mount that adds 700 lumens to an Outdoor 4 or Outdoor 2K+ camera sold separately.
Pros
- 700 lumens of motion-triggered LED lighting
- Drill and no-drill installation with an included mounting kit
- Lights and camera controlled from the Blink app
- Includes four D-Cell batteries
Cons
- Not a camera: it needs a Blink Outdoor 4 or Outdoor 2K+ sold separately
- Required Sync Module is sold separately
- No night vision of its own is stated on the listing
- No warranty term is stated on the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a floodlight mount that works with the Blink Outdoor 4 and Outdoor 2K+, sold separately, delivering 700 lumens of motion-triggered LED lights, app control of the lights and camera, and drill and no-drill installation with an included kit. It includes four D-Cell batteries, and the required Sync Module is sold separately.
Who it's for: shoppers who already own an Outdoor 4 or Outdoor 2K+ and want floodlighting added. Who should skip it: shoppers who want a camera in the box.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 60 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Floodlight | 700 lumens |
|---|---|
| Works with | Blink Outdoor 4 or Outdoor 2K+ |
| Sync Module | Sold separately |
| Batteries | Four D-Cell batteries |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 29 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating or FCC statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Cameras and privacy. Point cameras at your own property, check local rules on recording audio and neighbors' areas, and treat battery life and night vision range as the maker's figures.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For solar security cameras, safety means a stated certification or protection code, and none of the four listings states one, so no safety points were given. None of the four states a warranty term either, so no warranty points were given, and the ranking rests on performance, build and value. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ring Spotlight Cam Plus Bundle | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight | 9.4 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Ring Outdoor Cam Battery | 9.4 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Blink Floodlight Mount | 9.3 | 23 | 19 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Blink vs ring solar camera: which should you choose?
Choose the Ring side if you want a solar panel in the box, a siren and customizable motion zones: the Spotlight Cam Plus bundle is the only listing here that combines all three. Choose the Blink side if you want a floodlight camera with a stated brightness figure and a long stated battery life: the Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera states 700 lumens and up to two years of battery life. Choose the Ring Outdoor Cam if you want a rechargeable Ring camera for a surface or a wall and do not need a light. Choose the Blink Floodlight Mount only if you already own an Outdoor 4 or Outdoor 2K+ camera and want to add floodlighting to it.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Solar panel in the box | Ring Spotlight Cam Plus Bundle |
| Stated floodlight brightness | Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight, 700 lumens |
| Rechargeable camera without a light | Ring Outdoor Cam Battery |
| Floodlighting for an existing Blink camera | Blink Floodlight Mount |
Sizing Notes
- Match the Blink Floodlight Mount to an Outdoor 4 or Outdoor 2K+ camera, since the mount listing names only those two.
- Check the Sync Module position: the Outdoor 4 listing includes a Sync Module Core, while the Mount listing sells the Sync Module separately.
- Match power to the listing: the Ring bundle includes a solar panel and a Quick Release Battery Pack, while the Blink listings use AA lithium or D-Cell batteries.
- Check the subscription: Blink smart detection uses an optional Blink Subscription Plan, and Ring alerts use a compatible Ring Protect subscription, both sold separately.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which side includes a solar panel?
The Ring Spotlight Cam Plus bundle lists a solar panel in the box. Neither Blink listing lists a solar panel.
Do Blink and Ring cameras both work with Alexa?
Yes, all four listings state Works with Alexa, with the Mount listing stating it for use with a paired camera.
Which cameras record in 1080p?
The Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera and the Ring Spotlight Cam Plus bundle state 1080p HD video. The Ring Outdoor Cam listing states no resolution, and the Blink Floodlight Mount is a mount, not a camera.
Do these cameras need a subscription?
Both sides list subscriptions sold separately: Blink smart detection uses an optional Blink Subscription Plan, and Ring alerts use a compatible Ring Protect subscription. The Blink listing also offers a free 30-day trial of its plan, and its local backup uses a Sync Module XR and a MicroSD card up to 256 GB, each sold separately.
Related guides
See every Solar Security Cameras guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. For another brand comparison, see Arlo vs Ring solar camera.
More picks: solar panel for Ring camera, solar panel for Blink camera, solar security camera for pets.








