On this page
The tent is dark, the trail back is unlit, and you need one light for the campsite and another for your hands. That two-light problem is what solar lantern vs headlamp comes down to. The short verdict: pick a solar lantern if you want area light that charges by day, like the LuminAID Max with 200 lumens, phone charging and an inflatable pack-flat body, or the AYTPU hanging pair for porch and patio. Pick a headlamp if you want hands-free light that follows your eyes, like the LHKNL 2 pack with 1200 lumens stated and a rechargeable cell, or the GearLight AAA 2 pack for kits and backups. We compared the four listings on brightness, power, weight, weather figures and warranty terms.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
solar lantern vs headlamp: side by side
| Solar lantern vs headlamp | LuminAID Max 2-in-1 lantern | AYTPU solar lantern 2-pack | GearLight headlamp 2-pack | LHKNL headlamp 2-pack | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Side | Solar lantern | Solar lantern | Headlamp | Headlamp | |
| Light stated | 200 lumens | Not stated | 200 lumens | 1200 lumens | |
| Power | Solar + USB, 16-20h solar | Solar + AA, 6-8h night | 3x AAA, 10 hours | 1500mAh rechargeable, 4-10h | |
| Weight | Less than 10 ounces | Not stated | 3 ounces | 1.87 ounces | |
| Weather | IP67 stated | No code stated | Water resistant stated | IPX4 stated | |
| Warranty | 1 year full | No term stated | No term stated | 2-year |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
Brightness and beam
Lumens spread wide here. The LHKNL headlamp states 1200 lumens white brightness with 2 light sources, a 60 degree beam angle and a 984.25 feet light path distance, plus 8 modes including red beam and SOS red strobe. The LuminAID lantern states 200 lumens with multiple brightness settings including Turbo mode and a 90 degree beam angle. The GearLight headlamp states 200 lumens with 7 modes, a red light mode and a 45 degree adjustable tilt. The AYTPU lantern states no lumen figure at all; it describes a classical hanging design for porch, patio and yard. Lumen figures describe each listing only: the LHKNL 1200 lumens say nothing about the AYTPU.
Power and runtime
The lanterns run on sun. The LuminAID recharges in 16-20 hours of direct outdoor sunlight or 1-2 hours by USB with the cord included, and its 5V 2.1 Amp output port provides 75-100% battery charge for most smartphones. The AYTPU offers dual power: solar outdoors with 6-8 hours of night light stated, and AA batteries, not included, for indoor use on tables and windowsills. The headlamps run on batteries. The GearLight runs on 3x AAA batteries, not included, with 10 hours of runtime stated at 4.5 volts. The LHKNL has a built-in 1500mAh rechargeable battery that can charge and light at the same time, with 4-10 hours of runtime stated at 3.7 volts and USB-C cables included in the 2 pack.
Weight, build and weather figures
The LuminAID inflates to a 6 inch cube and packs down to 1 inch thick at less than 10 ounces, in heavy duty TPU with IP67 stated, dustproof and shatterproof, and it floats on water when inflated. The AYTPU measures 5.5 by 5.5 by 13.25 inches in ABS plastic and glass with built-in silicone protection and a hanging ring. The headlamps are featherweights: the LHKNL at 1.87 ounces with IPX4 stated and an anodized, sealed leak-proof shell, and the GearLight at 3 ounces with water resistant ABS and a washable adjustable headband. The LuminAID carries a 1 year full warranty, the LHKNL a 2-year term, the AYTPU a “No.” in the warranty field, and the GearLight a model number where the warranty description should be.
What the listings leave unclear
The AYTPU bullets say AA batteries, not included, while the spec table says 1 AAA battery required and included; the two do not agree. The LuminAID bullets say less than 10 ounces while the spec table says 10 ounces. The GearLight warranty description reads “B07qgrwznb”, which is the ASIN, not a term. The LHKNL title claims water protection for the 2 pack while the spec table states IPX4 and water resistant; trust the IPX4 code over the title word. The AYTPU states no lumen figure, so its brightness cannot be compared on paper.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | LHKNL headlamp 2-pack | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | LuminAID Max 2-in-1 lantern | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | GearLight headlamp 2-pack | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | AYTPU solar lantern 2-pack | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

LHKNL headlamp 2-pack
A 2 pack of rechargeable headlamps with 1200 lumens stated, a 1500mAh cell, 8 modes and a motion sensor.
Pros
- 1200 lumens white brightness with a 984.25 feet light path distance
- 1500mAh rechargeable battery, charges while the light is on
- 8 modes with white, red and SOS red strobe plus a motion sensor
- 1.87 ounces with a 60 degree pivoting head
Cons
- Title claims water protection while the spec table states IPX4
- 4-10 hour runtime range is wide with no per-mode figures
- No beam angle lumens breakdown for the 2 light sources
- Motion sensor adds complexity some users may not want
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2 pack of rechargeable headlamps with 1200 lumens white brightness, 2 light sources, a 60 degree beam angle and a 984.25 feet light path distance. It states a 1500mAh built-in rechargeable battery that can charge and light at the same time, 4-10 hours of runtime, 3.7 volts, a motion sensor with hand-wave on and off, 8 lighting modes with white, red and SOS red strobe, IPX4, an anodized sealed leak-proof shell, UL specification met, and USB-C cables in the box. The title claims water protection for the 2 pack while the spec table states IPX4 and water resistant; trust the IPX4 code over the title word. The warranty is 2-year.
Who it's for: runners, anglers and DIYers who want the brightest stated headlamp with rechargeable power. Who should skip it: anyone who wants simple AAA power with no charging.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light | 1200 lumens, 60 degree beam |
|---|---|
| Battery | 1500mAh rechargeable |
| Runtime | 4-10 hours |
| Weather | IPX4 stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX4 stated, UL specification met, sealed leak-proof shell, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LuminAID Max 2-in-1 lantern
An inflatable 200 lumen solar lantern with phone charging, solar and USB recharge, and IP67 stated in a pack-flat body.
Pros
- 200 lumens with Turbo mode and multiple brightness settings
- 5V 2.1A phone charging for 75-100% of most smartphones
- Solar recharge in 16-20 hours or USB in 1-2 hours
- Inflates to a 6 inch cube and packs to 1 inch thick
Cons
- Bullets say less than 10 ounces while the table says 10 ounces
- 16-20 hours of sun is a long full recharge
- No panel wattage is stated
- 0.22 watts LED figure is low context without a comparison
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-in-1 inflatable solar LED camping lantern and phone charger with 200 lumens, Turbo mode, a 90 degree beam angle, 5 volts and 2.1 amps. It recharges in 16-20 hours of direct outdoor sunlight or 1-2 hours by USB with the cord included, and the 5V 2.1 Amp output port provides 75-100% battery charge for most smartphones. It inflates to a 6 inch cube, packs to 1 inch thick, is made of heavy duty TPU with IP67 stated, dustproof and shatterproof, and floats on water when inflated. The bullets say less than 10 ounces while the spec table says 10 ounces. The warranty is a 1 year full warranty.
Who it's for: campers and outage prep where one light must also top up a phone. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the brightest stated camp light.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light | 200 lumens, Turbo mode |
|---|---|
| Recharge | 16-20h solar, 1-2h USB |
| Phone | 5V 2.1A output |
| Weather | IP67 stated, floats |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 stated, dustproof, shatterproof TPU, floats when inflated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 year full warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GearLight headlamp 2-pack
A 2 pack of AAA-powered headlamps with 200 lumens, 7 modes, a red light and 10 hours of runtime stated.
Pros
- 200 lumens with 7 modes plus red light for night vision
- Runs on 3x AAA batteries with no charging downtime
- 10 hours of runtime stated at 4.5 volts
- 45 degree tilt with a washable adjustable headband
Cons
- Batteries are not included
- Warranty description is the ASIN, not a term
- No IP code is stated
- 200 lumens is lower than the LHKNL 1200 lumens
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2 pack of battery powered LED headlamps with 200 lumens, 7 lighting modes including white beam, strobe and red light, a 45 degree adjustable tilt, 10 hours of runtime, 4.5 volts, 3 ounces with batteries, and a washable adjustable headband. Each runs on 3x AAA batteries, not included, with water resistant ABS. The warranty description reads "B07qgrwznb", which is the ASIN rather than a term, so no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: emergency kits, vehicles and cold-weather use where swappable AAA power beats charging. Who should skip it: anyone who wants rechargeable power or the brightest beam.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light | 200 lumens, 7 modes |
|---|---|
| Power | 3x AAA, not included |
| Runtime | 10 hours |
| Weight | 3 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AYTPU solar lantern 2-pack
A 2 pack of hanging solar lanterns with dual solar and AA power and 6-8 hours of night light stated.
Pros
- Dual power: solar outdoors, AA batteries indoors
- 6-8 hours of night light stated, working in winter
- Glass shade with ABS body and silicone protection
- Hanging ring for walls, trees, tables and terraces
Cons
- Bullets say AA while the table says AAA, included
- Warranty field reads "No."
- No lumen figure is stated
- No IP code is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2 pack of hanging solar lanterns with dual power: solar outdoors and AA batteries, not included, indoors. It states 6-8 hours of night light, normal winter operation, ABS plastic and glass with built-in silicone protection, and a hanging ring for walls, trees, tables and terraces, at 5.5 by 5.5 by 13.25 inches, model SL001. The bullets say AA batteries, not included, while the spec table says 1 AAA battery required and included; the two do not agree. The warranty field reads "No.", so no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: porch and patio decor where a classical hanging lantern fits. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated lumen figure or warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | Solar + AA dual |
|---|---|
| Night | 6-8 hours stated |
| Build | ABS, glass shade |
| Size | 5.5 x 5.5 x 13.25 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For lights, safety means stated weather codes or certifications the listing names: the LuminAID states IP67 and the LHKNL states IPX4 with UL specification met; the other two state no code. The LHKNL states a 2-year term and the LuminAID a 1 year full warranty; the AYTPU and GearLight state no term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LHKNL headlamp 2-pack | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| LuminAID Max 2-in-1 lantern | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| GearLight headlamp 2-pack | 9.4 | 28 | 19 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| AYTPU solar lantern 2-pack | 9.4 | 28 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
solar lantern vs headlamp: which should you choose?
Choose a solar lantern when the campsite, patio or outage needs area light. The LuminAID suits pack-light trips with its inflatable body, 200 lumens and phone charging; the AYTPU suits hanging decor with dual solar and AA power. Choose a headlamp when your hands need the light. The LHKNL suits running, fishing and repairs with 1200 lumens, a motion sensor and a rechargeable cell; the GearLight suits emergency kits and vehicles with AAA power and a 2 pack value. For more camp lighting, see the best solar lights for camping; for camp power, see the best solar power bank for camping.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Brightest stated output | LHKNL headlamp 2-pack, 1200 lumens |
| Area light plus phone charging | LuminAID Max 2-in-1 lantern, 200 lumens, 5V 2.1A |
| AAA-powered backup pair | GearLight headlamp 2-pack, 10 hours |
| Hanging decor lanterns | AYTPU solar lantern 2-pack, 6-8 hours night |
| Longest stated warranty | LHKNL headlamp 2-pack, 2-year |
Sizing Notes
- Match the light to the job: lanterns light an area, headlamps light where your hands work.
- Stated outputs run from 200 lumens to 1200 lumens; each figure describes its own listing.
- The LuminAID recharges in 16-20 hours of sun or 1-2 hours by USB; the LHKNL recharges its 1500mAh cell with cables included.
- The GearLight runs on 3x AAA batteries, not included; the AYTPU takes AA batteries, not included, or solar.
- Warranty terms: 2-year on the LHKNL, 1 year full on the LuminAID, and no term stated on the other two.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which light is brightest on paper?
The LHKNL at 1200 lumens stated. The LuminAID and GearLight each state 200 lumens, and the AYTPU states no lumen figure.
Can the LuminAID charge a phone?
Yes. Its 5V 2.1 Amp output port provides 75-100% battery charge for most smartphones, per the listing.
Do the headlamps need batteries?
The GearLight needs 3x AAA batteries, not included. The LHKNL has a built-in 1500mAh rechargeable battery with USB-C cables included.
Which listing has the longest warranty?
The LHKNL at 2-year, then the LuminAID at 1 year full. The AYTPU warranty field reads “No.” and the GearLight states no term.
Can the AYTPU run indoors?
Yes. The listing says AA batteries, not included, power it indoors, while solar powers it outdoors. Note the spec table says AAA instead, which conflicts.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: best solar lights for camping, best solar power bank for camping, best solar power bank for road trip, solar power bank vs power bank.








